Wet 'n' Wild • MegaVolume Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.3(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kadytheredpanda on 8/26/2013 11:59:00 AM more reviews by kadytheredpanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Green    

The only really good thing I can say about this is that it didn't give me an allergic reaction. Not even the price is good if you want to return it, because it implies you're cheap when you're returning only this to get your two dollars back. The product was so dry I couldn't even apply it to my light red/blonde lashes. Into the trash it went.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2010 on 8/8/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by 2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is awful. It flakes, gives absolutely NO volume and has a very dry formula. It doesn't last at all on my eyes - after about 2 hours, it looks like I put no mascara on my eyes that day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FeralCreature on 8/8/2013 8:44:00 AM more reviews by FeralCreature

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

UPDATE: I used this about 4 or 5 times weekly for around a month before it started to really (REALLY!) irritate my eyes. I think the little fibers in there were to blame, but didn't effect me earlier because the product was much thinner/more liquidy when new than after a few weeks of being open so, at first, they stayed in place. Sad, because I really liked it. I'd still recommend if you're not sensitive to that sort of thing, but I won't repurchase again myself.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I bought this mascara last week for no better reason than my CVS had WnW on sale and I had a ton of $1 off coupons as well. I ended up paying 99 cents for this but at the full price of $2.99 it would still be a steal. I really didn't expect to like this mascara but have been wearing every day since I bought it.

First of all, application is super easy. The first time I used it it seemed dry and I had to swish the brush around in the tube quite a bit to kind of mix/loosen the product but since then it has had a thinner consistency and transfers from brush to lashes really smoothly. I generally don't let mascara dry in between coats, but just to test this out I tried applying additional coats both wet and dry and either way it works fine. If you do like to let each coat dry, this one dries pretty quickly - perhaps about a minute? Less? The brush is nice too - short bristles so it's easy to get all the way down to the lash line and I find I have less of a mess around my eyes than I do with most other mascaras and it keeps my lashes nicely separated.

This mascara also gives me NO issues with clumps as long as I use it alone. I did need to comb out some spots when I tried this over my HG primer (JI PureLash Conditioner) and it didn't seem to look as nice as when I wear it sans primer. Without primer, one coat completely covers my lashes, but looks a bit dull/gray rather than black. Two coats is my go-to with this as it looks black but still natural. Three coats looks super black and more dramatic. With primer, I only needed one coat to get super dark black but it just looked off to me.

What I love most about MegaVolume is that it stays put through my entire day. It is not waterproof, so if your eyes water a lot or you are out in the rain this comes off very quickly (as I learned when a rock hit my eye while bicycling to work two nights ago!). But on normal, no tears/rain/rocks days, I haven't experienced any smears, smudges, flakes or magic-disappearing-mascara syndrome. It also stays on my lower lashes and the very tips of my upper lashes, which are both problem areas for me with many other mascaras.

Also, no irritation. I don't have particularly sensitive eyes, but any time a mascara flakes even a bit and said flake gets into my eye I have major issues. This has not happened with WnW MegaVolume.

Overall a win for me BUT I have long lashes and more than one row of them and so I don't really seek out extra volume or length - I just want dark lashes rather than invisibly pale ones. This product loses one lippie for false advertising since the name implies VOLUMIZING and the package indicates not only volume but lengthening effects and I see absolutely NO added volume, even with three coats and the only lengthening is the because the product coats my lashes from root to tip and stays put rather than sliding off the ends and, thus, making my lashes appear shorter than they are.

I'm happy with it and would definitely buy it again. I love having a cheap option for day to day wear since I do not like to go out in public with my ultra-pale lashes naked, but don't like to waste my more expensive products for work, where I barely see any fellow humans anyway and certainly have no one to impress. If you want a nice, easy to apply, very black mascara that will coat all of your lashes and stay put I suggest trying this one out. For the price, you can't really go wrong.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soco13 on 7/7/2013 1:38:00 PM more reviews by soco13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this mascara. Picked up on a whim, $2.99 and I had a $1 off coupon. Provides natural lashes even though it does have a drier formula it can be worked with. The wand is large so I tend to get a little on my lids, but again for the price- its a win win!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 qianaqiana on 6/20/2013 1:39:00 PM more reviews by qianaqiana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was great for $ 2.99


I applied 3 coats to my lashes and I was happy camper
It's not a water-proof mascara.
This product lasted all day and I had no clumping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 5/1/2013 3:04:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love it! It gives length and thickness to my lashes and the formula is not too wet and not too dry, its just right for me! I also love that its not expensive either. It doesnt smear or flake on me either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LipstickOnCigarettes on 4/28/2013 6:37:00 PM more reviews by LipstickOnCigarettes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product before it came in a bigger tube and it was just skinny and the same circumference all around. That was when the product was at its finest. It was my favorite mascara and did give volume while not leaving clumpy residue on my lashes because the brush was perfect.
Unfortunately, I bought this again after I ran out. For some reason, the brush was bent at the end of the wand. The tube was fatter and loaded way too much of the mascara paste (whatever you want to call it) onto the brush and that just meant clumpy lashes.
I tried to start wiping off excess mascara to see if it was just that there was too much on the brush, but the quality is still much lower than it had been when I purchased it a few months earlier.
Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 4/15/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

No, no, no. Altho I love a lot of Wet 'n' Wild Products and think they are great for me, this one is a dud for me. It did not lengthen my lashes, rather, it clumped with gobs of black stuff that I then had to take a comb to clean them and straighten them to make them appear more lush.
No matter which way I used the brush, it still had the same effect. More gobs of black stuff stuck on my lashes. Normally, I use Buxom Amplified Lash and have no problems with that. I saw this on sale and figured what the heck, I'll try it. Since it was so inexpensive, I tried it. What a waste for me. I did try it on top of the Buxom, again, gobs of stuff that I had to straighten out. I tried it plain without using any other mascara. It didn't volumnize or thicken my lashes at all. It does absolutely nothing for me. Just didn't like it. All I can do now is clean the brush and use it for my eyebrows as a straightener or as a cleaner/straightener for my eyelashers. At least then I won't have totally wasted my money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sweetest_Taboo on 3/12/2013 3:27:00 PM more reviews by Sweetest_Taboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tried this based on recommendation of a YouTube beauty guru, but I'm not impressed. It was clumpy and went on unevenly. Even the NYC SkyRise mascara I got for $1.75 at Wal-Mart works much better than this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cakefaceangie on 2/11/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by cakefaceangie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Excellent mascara! I usually get the too faced size queen mascara but my aunt once gave me this mascara and it's wonderful! It's all I've been using ever since she got it for me. It leaves lashes looking long but natural and doesn't clump or make lashes stick together. This product has saved me a lot of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Mascara products