Wet 'n' Wild • MegaVolume Thickening Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.3(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 qianaqiana on 6/20/2013 1:39:00 PM more reviews by qianaqiana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was great for $ 2.99


I applied 3 coats to my lashes and I was happy camper
It's not a water-proof mascara.
This product lasted all day and I had no clumping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 5/1/2013 3:04:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love it! It gives length and thickness to my lashes and the formula is not too wet and not too dry, its just right for me! I also love that its not expensive either. It doesnt smear or flake on me either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LipstickOnCigarettes on 4/28/2013 6:37:00 PM more reviews by LipstickOnCigarettes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product before it came in a bigger tube and it was just skinny and the same circumference all around. That was when the product was at its finest. It was my favorite mascara and did give volume while not leaving clumpy residue on my lashes because the brush was perfect.
Unfortunately, I bought this again after I ran out. For some reason, the brush was bent at the end of the wand. The tube was fatter and loaded way too much of the mascara paste (whatever you want to call it) onto the brush and that just meant clumpy lashes.
I tried to start wiping off excess mascara to see if it was just that there was too much on the brush, but the quality is still much lower than it had been when I purchased it a few months earlier.
Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 4/15/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

No, no, no. Altho I love a lot of Wet 'n' Wild Products and think they are great for me, this one is a dud for me. It did not lengthen my lashes, rather, it clumped with gobs of black stuff that I then had to take a comb to clean them and straighten them to make them appear more lush.
No matter which way I used the brush, it still had the same effect. More gobs of black stuff stuck on my lashes. Normally, I use Buxom Amplified Lash and have no problems with that. I saw this on sale and figured what the heck, I'll try it. Since it was so inexpensive, I tried it. What a waste for me. I did try it on top of the Buxom, again, gobs of stuff that I had to straighten out. I tried it plain without using any other mascara. It didn't volumnize or thicken my lashes at all. It does absolutely nothing for me. Just didn't like it. All I can do now is clean the brush and use it for my eyebrows as a straightener or as a cleaner/straightener for my eyelashers. At least then I won't have totally wasted my money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sweetest_Taboo on 3/12/2013 3:27:00 PM more reviews by Sweetest_Taboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tried this based on recommendation of a YouTube beauty guru, but I'm not impressed. It was clumpy and went on unevenly. Even the NYC SkyRise mascara I got for $1.75 at Wal-Mart works much better than this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cakefaceangie on 2/11/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by cakefaceangie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Excellent mascara! I usually get the too faced size queen mascara but my aunt once gave me this mascara and it's wonderful! It's all I've been using ever since she got it for me. It leaves lashes looking long but natural and doesn't clump or make lashes stick together. This product has saved me a lot of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mintygreen02 on 1/17/2013 11:22:00 PM more reviews by mintygreen02

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i love natural looks and this gives me a natural look! i have somewhat long eyelashes so this is great for me(if you have short lashes and want something to elong them or a dramatic look this may not do much on that).. this also doesnt leave flakes or clump up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eilishfitz on 10/16/2012 10:44:00 PM more reviews by eilishfitz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this cause i needed a mascara and i don't mind it i think i'll buy it again in the future

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sheapie on 8/6/2012 5:37:00 AM more reviews by sheapie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My HG mascara (kind of embarrassing, but I just love this stuff). My lashes are already quite long and curly and thick-ish, and this mascara suits them perfectly. It's quite runny but not too much and it does dry quite quickly once applied. The brush is very nice and doesn't make my eyelashes clumpy or "spider-y" like many brushes do. This is also a very versatile product, if you only apply a little bit it gives a nice natural finish, but it can also be built up to make your lashes lovely and massive.

Loooove this product, unless WnW change the formula or discontinue the product I don't think I'll ever use any other mascara :D Dont fix it if it ain't broken.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aditswimbug on 5/28/2012 2:20:00 AM more reviews by aditswimbug

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to review this little gem. It's not perfect, by any means, but for $3, it's pretty darn close.


I was a die-hard Diorshow user for about a year, but that was the max amount of time I could justify spending $24 every three months on a tube of mascara, especially because by month three I was -unhygenically- adding eyedrops to the tube to boost it up.


I've always been attracted to extremely high end and extremely low end cosemtics, and not enticed by much in between. I'm an extreme kind of person, I guess, and finding a great product in a cute package in a display at the end of a drugstore aisle gives me the same giddy feeling as opening a new tube of Diorshow, pulling out that plump wand, and breathing in that glorious expensive rose scent.


So, I had to try megavolume when it went on sale for something around $1.99. In fact, I bought the last four on display (don't know what possessed me, I had a good feeling?) I think I thought they were cute. The ones I bought were in silver and black packaging, not the yellow like the one pictured, but perhaps it's been repackaged since I bought mine (a year or two ago)?


Anyways, I don't remember being "wowed" by the product back then. I decided it was a steal for the price and good for when I was "playing" with looks at home or not going anywhere fancy, but I wasn't like OMG HG HG HG or anything. I tried L'Oreal Telescopic and got hooked on that great stuff for a while.


About a month ago, I was running out of mascara and came across two unopened MegaVolumes. I discovered that now, I really really like them! The texture of my eyelashes has actually changed in the last couple of years (weird, perhaps?) I no longer need to curl them, and they are longer and more defined than they used to be. I accidentally ripped out many of them once upon a time while removing false eyelashes, and luckily for me, they grew back more lush and stronger. (I don't recommend trying this...I just lucked out!!!)


I now really like this mascara, more than the others I was using. I discovered that after it's been open for a while and given time to thicken, it gets REALLY good and reminds me of how Diorshow used to look and feel when I was applying it. This sounds kind of gross, but I love this mascara when it gets to the point where it's really thick and the brush starts to clump and look different. FYI: it doesn't take long to reach this stage, maybe a couple of weeks, so it's well within the three month mascara window.


Wow, I feel like this is the weirdest review I've written, but I've had such a unique relationship with this mascara that took a while to blossom, but I have a feeling I will be buying this or other wet 'n' wild mascaras (if it's discontinued) for years to come. That's saying a lot, since I am easily excited by new products and have a hard time remaining faithful to old ones. I think it's great that this mascara is so cheap (since I must continually repurchase mascara) and gives me the same thrill as good ol' Diorshow did. It makes my lashes thick, doesn't take out the curl, and doesn't flake. It even lengthens. Thank you, wet 'n' wild.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Mascara products