NARS • Sheer Matte • Liquid

rated 3.2(280 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sara44 on 6/18/2014 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation looked extremely cakey and made my face look very dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tinamariearnold on 6/11/2014 9:25:00 AM more reviews by Tinamariearnold

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is everything I read about and more. It is very light weight and amazing coverage. I didn't get the one with SPF because I don't like wear SPF in my makeup, but it is a very good formula. I will say one negative thing: I hate the bottle it comes in. The top breaks off into the cap holding it. It's hard to explain, but once you get it you will see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cara4444 on 6/4/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Cara4444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely adore this foundation! It has great coverage and a lovely light-weight feel. Also, it's super blendable! I use it with my fingers on a normal day, and with my Mac fixplus soaked beauty blender for more special days/events. it keeps my oil at bay in the heat, and, as the day goes on, gives me a little bit of a glow despite being "matte". some might not enjoy this, but I like how the glow keeps me looking human and not like a walking doll.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ccottam on 5/25/2014 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Ccottam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

In the ever so long search for the perfect foundation, this was one of my pit stops. I wanted a liquid foundation that would be long lasting and great for special occasions and when I wanted a full face of makeup. I never purchased this item, but tried it out twice in the store. Forewarning, if you are someone with sensitive skin, this is not the foundation for you. I felt like this product lived up to everything it represents itself to be, long lasting, sheer, however, in the two occasions i tried it in the store, I broke out with horrific pimples in the places I had tested this foundation. The first time I thought it was a coincidence, the second time confirmed it as a fact. I finally found Makeup forever HD liquid foundation which does work for my fickle skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 amberlightsss on 5/18/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by amberlightsss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

There's actually not much to say about this foundation because..... IT'S CRAP!!!!!

I got a sample size of this because I wasn't sure if it would be too drying on my combination skin (really dry and extremely oily at the same time, bah) and I wasn't sure about the coverage. I like light coverage foundations, but I've heard that this provides a really sheer coverage, almost like it's not visible on the skin at all and gives you nothing. Well, that's true. It provides ZERO coverage. A little bit of colour, that's it. I got it in the shade Gobi, which is a OK match for me. A little too yellow, but that's alright. The colour selection is big, which might be the only positive thing about this foundation.... It covers less than a translucent powder for christ's sake. And that's bad.

When it comes to application, I do not recommend applying it with a sponge. The first time I tried it out I used my BeautyBlender, and the sponge sucked up aaaall the product, leaving nothing on the skin. I don't know what it is about the foundation, because I apply every single foundation I use with my BeautyBlender and it always works, even with waterbased foundations like Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua (only tested it a couple of times, I don't got it in the fullsize). I've tried with different foundation brushes, but with no luck. No coverage, no even application. The formula is really dry and weird. When applied it doesn't feel like a regular liquid foundation, it just feels dried out and disgusting, not soft at all.

I don't know anything about the staying power, because I have never worn it for more than 1 hour. My skin looked terrible after applying it, even though it provided zero coverage and just a hint of colour, it clinged to my dry patches and made my skin even more oily than before. Instead of making my skin look healthy, matte and just ok, it made my face look almost destroyed. I don't know how it's possible... Worst foundation ever, will NEVER EVER buy it in fullsize!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Carybear on 4/26/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lemming this so bad!!! I had a sample in Stromboli and it's perfect. Perfect. I WANT IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 greenobsession on 4/16/2014 4:09:00 AM more reviews by greenobsession

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm just trying to finish up the bottle I have.
References: MAC NC40-42, MUFE HD 153, Revlon Nearly Naked 200 Warm Beige

I got this in the shade Barcelona. Now, at first, I loved this foundation. I thought the colour match was fantastic. I don't know why (or is it because I haven't noticed? I'm not sure.) but lately it has been looking a little too dark for me. I don't know if it oxidized or if it's just a bad colour match, or my skin's chemistry with this foundation has changed. It's just minutes after I apply it, too. Sometimes, this appears too matte, sometimes, just right, sometimes, it accentuates my dry patches, sometimes, it controls my oils. Bottomline is, there are too many sometimes with this foundation, it's too inconsistent. Also... this foundation TRANSFERS. It is so embarrassing sometimes, I take my exam, touch my face a little, and woops - I got foundation on my exam!

I'd get a sample before you try this out, stupid me did not. ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 immiaaxo on 4/12/2014 11:58:00 PM more reviews by immiaaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

everything is too yellow/too pink for my skin tone, but i picked this up and it's just right! also DOESNT OXIDES which is amaaazing. I mix this in with moisturizer because sheer glow makes me too oily and moisturizer + sheer matte gives the perfect sheen, and it covers well with out being cakey at all. feels very nice, wouldn't recommend using without moisturizer it looks horrid.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theseagrows on 4/7/2014 10:38:00 PM more reviews by theseagrows

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

after using powder foundations for years, and never having tried a NARS foundation, i went to the NARS counter and they helped me out. i tried on sheer matte and sheer glow but went with the matte, because i prefer a matte finish. i was a pretty good match for Mont Blanc so i ended up buying that one. i have combination skin that is getting drier as i age. i find that i have to put this on lightly, or it can get too heavy on the skin. as long as i use it kind of sparingly, it looks really good. it gives me even coverage and helps (along with concealer) to conceal my chronic undereye circles.

the only thing is that when i use it (especially in winter) it highlights the dryness around my mouth/nose area. i live in a mostly warm/mediterranean climate and we don't have super cold winters, and it honestly isn't the foundation's fault, but i just thought i would mention it. i have to moisturize that area a lot before and after i apply the foundation and then it looks a lot better.

besides my dryness issues, this is one of the better foundations i've tried in my lifetime. i love the near flawless finish i get and the more matte coverage it gives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 doaarahim on 3/21/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by doaarahim

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

didnt really care for the after feel

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Liquid products