Neutrogena Ageless Intensives Deep Wrinkle Serum

3.6

31 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dipropylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isononyl Isononanoate, Adipic Acid/Diethylene Glycol/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Dimethicone PEG 10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Copolymer, Bisabolol, Squalane, Oat Kernel Extract (Avena Sativa), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Retinol, Tocopherol, BHT, Glycerin, Erythorbic Acid, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Chloride


on 8/9/2012 11:02:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I switched to Neutrogena in June from another retinol serum, and so far I am pleased with it.

My dermatologist recommends using retinol at night (increases sun sensitivity). Having used retinol serums for a long time, I am much less wrinkled than many of my peers and get compliments on my appearance.

I have also used and liked Boots 7 regular (not intense) serum and Olay Regenerist serum, which both came out tops in the Good Housekeeping tests. The Neutrogena offers better value. If I still like it this winter, I'll stay with it long-term.

Learn from this 61-year old with great skin: Use sun screen, don't burn, eat a healthy diet, get enough sleep, and exercise. Meditate; it will lower your stress level. Avoid toxic people. Practice compassion. Cultivate happiness. If you live well, your skin care products have a chance to work. And you will be happy!

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.



on 6/30/2012 8:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading all the great reviews I bought this one. Mistake I got biggest cystic pimples on my chin, I haven't had those since I was a teenager.I guess like others I can't handle the silicone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2012 3:55:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this serum after reading the reviews on MUA especially from bernsie. I bought the day cream as well. I really like this serum, others have said they don't like the silicone but I do. It makes your skin feel so smooth. I only use it in the morning on a clean face and then put the day cream over it. I sometimes mix the day cream with Philosophy Turbo Vit C powder for an extra hit. (Thanks, bernsie) The serum is in a pump bottle that opens and closes which is great. I won't buy creams that come in tubs or jars anymore. The bottle also unscrews so you can get the last of the serum out.

I recommend this serum. In Australia, where I am, it is a reasonable price too, compared to some other products that are relatively cheap overseas but not here. It is around AUD30 in priceline but is on special occasionally.

I have been using this for quite a while and have noticed a difference in the texture of my skin. I don't have any particular skin problems except aging and this has brightened my skin considerably. I only use it in the morning, I use other products at night.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2012 3:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive skin so I don't use too often. Maybe 3 times a week if that. When I do, what an improvement. I'm a chicken when it comes to putting things like this on my skin. After educating myself, retinol will improve your skin and help with aging. Anyway, my skin feels supple, plump, less dry and more youthful after using. I'm in my late thirties and feel this is one anti-aging product I will continue to use until I find something better. Plus, this doesn't seem to have any parabens on the ingredient list compared to RoC, but retinol seems to be lower on the list compared to RoC. I still prefer Neutrogena!


on 1/10/2012 6:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Amazing stuff. Would highly recommend.


on 12/4/2011 10:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love this product. Smells a little weird and I blame it for the occasional ugly zit, but every morning I wake up to plump rosy skin, so worth it to me. Have not experienced any irritation, though I did a long ramp up -- 3x/week for a month, then every other day, now every day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2011 4:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

This retinol serum is a good place to start if you want to incorporate a retinol product into your skin care routine. It's lightweight, non-greasy, and does not cause irritation. I find a lot of retinol products have heavy emollient bases that can clog oily skin. This one is silicone based so it has a smooth feel. I have started to use Retin-A Micro on my entire face (was using on my chin and jaw area only) and used this on my forehead and cheeks previously. My skin looked softer and smoother where I applied this. This serum comes in an airtight glass bottle with a pump to protect the retinol from oxidation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2011 11:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I read mixed reviews on this product and honestly, I just grabbed it while standing in the aisle. After debating on this one, the Neutrogena rapid repair, overnight and Roc's line, I gave up and just chose one. I wish they would say % of retinol in the ingredients. I couldn't tell which Neutrogena, if any, would have the higher amount, although you would think the rapid wrinkle repair would have the highest concentration, but who knows. I decided on this one because it did at least say it wouldn't clog pores and I was hooked by the "sustained action". I emailed the company to inquire about the rapid repair and if it was also non comodegenic but received no response.

I realize these brands aren't going to have high concentrations and that is fine with me. I am new to retinol, so wanted to work my way up. The first night I used this, it went on silky smooth. No redness or irritation. The first morning, my face had pretty severe peeling patches. These were concentrated around my problem areas. I took this as a sign the product did work. The dryness did not bother me as I am a stay at home mom. :) In addition, upon waking, I found my face much less oily than normal. I assume I just couldn't feel/see it with the silicone on top. I started using this every other night and once the initial skin flaked off (I helped it with a scrub) I didn't notice any other issues. I used it every other evening for two weeks then went to two nights using, 1 night off. On the off night I used equate spot treatment. My hopes are to 1) speed up cell turnover to help keep my pores unblocked since that seems to be a problem at my age (32) and 2) take care of beginning wrinkles. As far as my pores I *think* it is working. I know my skin has shed so something happened. My face does appear somewhat brighter than before and my pores do seem clearer, but may be the BP in conjunction. I did notice little plugs coming to the surface and of course I have spots appearing. I've read that with retinol, you get 4 months (I think??) of blemishes coming up in a month's time because it makes your skin turnover every 5-7 days rather than every 30 or so (for age 30s), so with my drawn out approach I am sure it will take much longer for me to get over breakouts. I use this serum under my eyes with NO problem and my crow's feet are gone. Granted they were beginning to show..enough I could SEE them, but now the skin is smooth and they are GONE. My forehead wrinkles are much more pronounced and they have also smoothed out. I still have them, but I can tell a difference. My under eye circles also seem lighter than before (horrible dark pools). I am happy with these results so far and plan to start using it every night. How do I use? I wash my face and do not put anything else on. I let my skin dry--around 10 mins or so then apply the retinol. I have read putting it on dry skin lessens the reactions. You can add a moisturizer on top if it stings as the package states. Also, I read combining BP with it can diminish effectiveness, but that salicylic acid is ok. I have Stridex alcohol free pads but have not used them before applying this. I cannot attest how it might affect it.

Now take into account: I have very oily, breakout prone skin that is pretty tough and not super sensitive. I can use peels, acids, scrubs, pretty much anything without concern. However, I have noticed that with using this, my skin has become somewhat more sensitive, so I am getting used to that. I steam and exfoliate my face 2x a week and when I don't forget I rub a small amount of baking soda in with my cleanser when I wash. Would I buy again? Probably. The bottle is a plus as it is opaque, has a pump, and you can actually close the pump to seal out air all features which I have read keep retinol potent. But, if nothing else, I would continue to use this for my eye area since it has worked so well.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2011 11:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I can't say that this product doesnt work because I didnt use it long enough or consistently enough to see. I can tell you that the smell is horrible. I dont know if I got a bad batch or what but it literally smelled just like nail polish remover! I swear. I could have even got past the smell but everytime I used this the next day I would wake up with cystic acne on my chin. It was the only different product I was adding to my regimen. I wish it would have worked for me but I think the breakouts had to do with the silicone (it has dimethicone in the ingredients) so if you are sensitive to silicones, you might want to steer clear of this one. Im sure it would work great if you weren't sensitive to silcones, I love all of the neutrogena products I have used, but this one went in the garbage last night sadly to say! The search goes on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2011 3:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

After turning 27, I felt I needed to add something to my skincare routine for wrinkles. I liked everything about this serum- I saw an improvement in the clarity and firmness of my skin. I must have had a bad batch because the smell was horrible, exactly like teryaki sauce. It was so bad I refuse to repurchase, despite this being a good product. I am from Canada so either the Canadian formulation is different or I had a bad bottle, seeing as no one else has commented on the smell.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
522 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews
Back to Top