Korres • Lip Butter - Jasmine • Lip Treatments

rated 3.9(157 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 reinabeina on 3/4/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by reinabeina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like the feel of this product, but because it has no SPF and I have to use my finger to apply it, I only use this at night. It's pretty good as a prep for lipstick, and I use if before I go to bed. My lips feel soft but not greasy or waxy, and the next morning my lips are soft without feeling sticky. It smells really nice. A little also goes a long way. I've had this for months and barely made a dent in it. The colour is pretty natural so don't expect any additional colour to the lips.

I do live in a humid county so for those looking to this as a relief from winter's bite, I don't think it would do the job. Also, it's pretty expensive for a lip balm with no SPF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ochoseis on 1/18/2013 6:34:00 PM more reviews by ochoseis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's not the best lip balm, but I'm giving 4 stars because it smells so, so good, its like a vanilla-honey-gourmand smell that I really enjoy. It's humectant, and it gives a beautiful hint of nude color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peskypixie on 12/25/2012 1:40:00 PM more reviews by Peskypixie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

During the winter my already very dry lips get much drier. This is not HG, but still works very well. Smells great (like toasted marshmallow), lasts pretty well, non sticky. Best of all my lips are not more uncomfortable when it wears off. Will probably repurchase for a day balm, but not really enough for a night treatment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foufourina on 12/16/2012 5:06:00 PM more reviews by foufourina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I totally LOVE this product!!! I love both the texure and the color!It makes my chapped lips so soft..It has a wonderful burnt sugar smell and leaves my lips shiny and hydrated!I use it pure at home while outdoors under my matte fuchsia lipstic which deydrates my lips!The price here in Greece is satisfying!The only thing I didn't like so much was the material of the package..I found it somewhat cheap..but this is just an insignificant detail! I will sure buy it again and again!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 12/16/2012 4:17:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mainly because I need a lip butter and wanted to try something else from Korres. It smells nice, has a good natural lip tone color, and on the first use it made my lips soft and healthy looking. If it gives long lasting moisture then it's a keeper. A bit expensive, but the ingredients are not cheap. I will update if I change my mind. Update: This is a basic lip butter, but it's not intensive enough for winter and doesn't penetrate lips enough to give moisture. It's just a surface balm. I think what people love the most is the color, scent, and feel of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elf_107 on 11/11/2012 8:31:00 PM more reviews by elf_107

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I must admit this has been an HG of mine for years now. I first discovered these little pots of lip butter when I got the Pomegranate Korres one. I fell in love with it for being a richly pigmented butter -- which this product is not. It imparts very little pigment on my fair rosy lips, on me personally it's barely perceptible. It seems to just mute the colour slightly while imparting a tiny hint of pinkness. This is not what makes this product HG for me, although I do like the look of it...


What makes this product HG for me is that it reliably restores my lips when used overnight and is really pleasant to use. It also reliably does not give me me lip zits, which a majority of lip butters do when used to excess. I am very prone to these, and regular oily products like Badger type balms will literally do it overnight. This one, I can slather on generously, and it will not irritate or break out my lips. It is not overly heavy, which means that when my lips are flushing madly it doesn't trap the heat and make them feel unbearably hot. Heavier textured lip products have been guilty of being rather uncomfortable when I am experiencing angry rashy red lips in the past. For this reason I really treasure this tiny pot of understated butter.


The texture is somewhat waxy and forms a pleasant cushiony film that can be built up to a lush texture without being gloppy. People who like a very thick slippy Vaseliney texture may not like this as much, this is more like an emollient wax than a heavy duty coating. The smell is quite pleasant and mellow to my nose: a gentle caramel smell, fairly agreeable and natural smelling, with just a hint of Jasmine in the background. This follows the tradition Korres has of pleasantly scenting their little lip butter pots to match the name, but this one is less strongly scented than some of their other ones (Quince, I'm looking at you!) For this reason the scent doesn't seem to bother my particular skin, and in that regard it's slightly less joyless to use than Aquaphor (which is magical indeed but doesn't have an entertaining scent.) Because it also doesn't have much pigment, it doesn't have any kind of irritant or drying effect on me personally... I love the tinted varieties but they could not be used as an overnight treatment on my mouth, as these highly tinted products tend to dry me out ever so slightly.


The downside of this product is the obvious thing: having to dip your finger in the pot. For this reason I prefer it as an at-home product, when my hands are recently cleaned. On the other hand, Korres addressed this problem by releasing a tube version of a Korres Jasmine lip butter which I also have -- the latter not being near as nice for my needs as the original. The tube version is convenient, reasonably well moisturizing, has a hint of shimmer (original does not) and is scented lightly of a different vanilla-type smell. For whatever reason, the original in the pot *works* better on my particular lips, as far as actual moisturizing is concerned. I do like the tube product a lot for purse use, but the Jasmine butter in the pot holds a coveted place next to my bed.


I will definitely rebuy unless the company tampers with it, and have done so numerous times. On pot seems to last me a surprisingly amount of time, and the substance seems to keep quite well (ie: not turn.) Not something I can say for my many previous oily health food store lip balm purchases, which sometimes go rancid in 6 months or less.


I would recommend this product to someone who wants a subtle hint of colour, a nice bit of lip moisture without being too heavy and anyone struggling with dry lips that doesn't tolerate heavy oils and butters very well. It's probably also best for people who care for a light pleasant smell don't mind butter in a pot.


All in all a solid 5 lippies for me. Of the many dozen lip thingies in my stash, this is the one I hit pan on the fastest of all.


INGREDIENTS: Polybutene, Trimethylolpropane Triisostearate, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Polyethylene, Hydroxystearic Acid, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Sucrose Tetrastearate Triacetate, Jasminum Grandiflorum (Jasmine) Flower Wax, Tocopherol, Flavor (Aroma), Ascorbyl Palmitate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter Extract May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Iron Oxides, Red 7 Lake

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 afterthestorm on 11/6/2012 7:30:00 PM more reviews by afterthestorm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lip butter, it just melts onto the lips and keeps them feeling really soft and moisturised. The smell is divine. I really like the colour - it's a really natural baby pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathyz123 on 10/16/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by cathyz123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this lip balm - it's super moisturising, it smells really yummy and it leaves a healthy sheen on mine lips. i hate dipping my fingers into pots for any product but for this, i can overlook it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lk1119 on 10/16/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product after hearing many gurus rave about it on YouTube. However, it just doesn't work for me. I find it more so on the sticky side and not so moisturizing. The packaging also feels very cheap to me. I have better luck with some cheaper alternative lip products in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BonjurCutie on 10/16/2012 12:27:00 AM more reviews by BonjurCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When you first apply jasmine on, because its a light pink color it does give a pale sheer coat. This lip butter does moisturize but if your lips are already peeling and flaking the color only gets caught onto those flakes, making them super visible. I think the packaging is cute but I usually have to go to the restroom and apply it on. I have to use my finger which is kind of gross and sticky and then wash it afterwards so because of that inconvenience I don't use it as often as my stick moisturizers

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Korres products

More Lip Treatments products