OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees

3.2

45 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/24/2012 10:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product recently and love it. It definitley caught my eye as soon as I saw it. It looked really different in the bottle. When I put the nail polish on inside it looks really dark almost black but it isn't when you are outside it looks very dark blue, almost navy/greyish. The only thing is you do need to put about 3 coats on. One coat is not enough. But this is definitley a color I would buy when I run out!



on 10/31/2011 8:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My absolute favorite nail polish. I am a big fan of OPI (their formula, brush, color names, etc) and Suzi Skis is a great color. It looks nearly black, but in the light you can see the blue/grey undertones. I've worn it in the summer and winter, on my fingernails and my toes. It's a versatile color; definitely a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2011 1:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this colour for winter. It's very dark, but definitely not black - more of a bluey grey colour. Can't really see the shimmer though. Application was fine in two coats and it lasts well. Very similar to Nails Inc Elgin Avenue - so you probably won't need both.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

1st of all, one lipstick must come off for it needing 3 coats! it shouldn't happen with dark colours, and this will run out quicker, which pains me because i love this.

i am obsessed with these 'it's not really black' shades at the moment! i just love having colours on my nails that need a 2nd look, and are just interesting and hard to find.

this colour is an off-black with faint hints of charcoal-ish blue. There is extremely dense, micro, compact shimmer in this that gives the colour this almost reflective effect where it catches the light. i think it's beautiful! very unique. i don't think i'll ever be able to use flat black nail polish ever again!

such a nice, deep, weird wintery colour! i know i'm going to get a LOT of use out of this.


on 1/18/2011 3:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely LOVE this color!! I've never actually gone to the nail salon and repeatedly got a color, over & over again... as I have this polish. So often... that the last time I went they WERE OUT and I was p!ssed.... just completely irritated and i realized I needed to get the polish myself. Of course they didn't have it at the salon for purchase (otherwise they probably would have opened one for me)... I found it on ebay for $5. And.... I will admit... it's definitely a 2 coat to 3 coat polish, but I dont really mind the meticulousness that I need to do this at home... it also happens to be my sons favorite nail color so it's cute when he tells me do the bwack naiws mommy. All in all... it's this charcoal slate kinda of almost black color that looks FANTASTIC against my fair skin and really just plain ROCKS.


on 12/26/2010 1:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

While I very much like this charcoal grey color, as others have said the formulation of this particular OPI nail polish is pretty problematic. I have a Charlotte Russe silver/grey nail polish I bought for $2 online to fill a free-shipping code and first used a coat of it on my nails, after reading what makeupalley members had said about the opaqueness of this nail polish. I find that with nail polishes that won't go on thickly color-wise, they do better after a coat of something complimentary: they stick better, functions as a colored base, and there's something darker on my nails first, rather than sweeping the brush over my nail just to see streaks of pink nail bed. So I used that silver, and with a slightly thicker coat, I got the right amount of opaqueness from "Suzi Skis" that I wanted (2 coats).


I got this nail polish for $5 buckos on ebay, so I don't feel as much as if I'd wasted my money as others may. Other pet peeves about this nail polish are it does not dry quickly whatsoever, and it smells absolutely horrible. I mean, nail polish, guaranteed it's going to smell bad, but this is just the worst polish I have ever smelled in my life.


I will not be repurchasing. I can get other near-black nail polishes elsewhere, I'm absolutely positive. Won't need to suffer through this one again. But! The one I do absolutely love is "Already Famous" in the Sephora by OPI collection. Just throwin' that out there. XD


on 10/31/2010 12:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i LOVE this color. i was looking for this color (slate grey, lead pencil grey) though i didn't have a name or brand & when i saw this i actually thought it was a dark navy blue. i got this *instead*. it takes 3 solid coats IMO to look it's best. i usually use ulta brands, but haven't found this color. i wear a lot of black polish, but wanted something a a little more unusual, while still using a neutral color.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The one thing I do NOT like about OPI is that their formulas are so inconsistent. This NP is the perfect example: unlike the typical OPI, this is super, super thin. I had to apply 4 coats of this to get it opaque. 4 coats! I'm willing to go three coats, but after that, painting my nails just becomes too time consuming.

Other than that, I love this color. It's one of those indescribable colors; in some lights, it's black, others, it's charcoal, blue, or purple. I just love that! And when I put Essie Matte About You over it, it's like angels sang in NP Heaven. If only the formula were a little better, this one would easily be one of my favorites.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2010 9:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am on the fence so far but I think I like it. The reason I wanted to write a review is just to comment.... I can't believe people think this is black or grey because to me it's obviously blue, albeit a dark blue-grey. All the people who said it's too thin and it takes a lot of coats are right, but now that I have it on I kind of like it. When I brought all my new colors home (mainly a lot of minis), this is the only color my five year old niece hated. I would say it's more of an adult color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2010 2:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I put that I wouldn't buy this product again, but my actual answer is "maybe."

As far as the color goes, I like it. It's just a basic, muted grey. By that, I mean that you can tell it's grey, and not black. I love neutral colors, and I really like this color because not a lot of people would wear grey polish. It's different from the typical blacks, whites, navy. I really love the color.

I HATE the formulation. It's so thin and watery, and dries too slowly for me. You'd need to put several layers on for it to completely cover your nail. Most people say 3 layers enough, but I find that I need to put up to 5 layers for it to look decent.

I'm just very disappointed in this product.




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top