OPI • Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees • Polishes

rated 3.2(45 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 roxyanne on 1/24/2012 10:46:00 PM more reviews by roxyanne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product recently and love it. It definitley caught my eye as soon as I saw it. It looked really different in the bottle. When I put the nail polish on inside it looks really dark almost black but it isn't when you are outside it looks very dark blue, almost navy/greyish. The only thing is you do need to put about 3 coats on. One coat is not enough. But this is definitley a color I would buy when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stef1208 on 10/31/2011 8:42:00 AM more reviews by stef1208

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My absolute favorite nail polish. I am a big fan of OPI (their formula, brush, color names, etc) and Suzi Skis is a great color. It looks nearly black, but in the light you can see the blue/grey undertones. I've worn it in the summer and winter, on my fingernails and my toes. It's a versatile color; definitely a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tamsins on 10/8/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by Tamsins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this colour for winter. It's very dark, but definitely not black - more of a bluey grey colour. Can't really see the shimmer though. Application was fine in two coats and it lasts well. Very similar to Nails Inc Elgin Avenue - so you probably won't need both.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 9/11/2011 5:41:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

1st of all, one lipstick must come off for it needing 3 coats! it shouldn't happen with dark colours, and this will run out quicker, which pains me because i love this.

i am obsessed with these 'it's not really black' shades at the moment! i just love having colours on my nails that need a 2nd look, and are just interesting and hard to find.

this colour is an off-black with faint hints of charcoal-ish blue. There is extremely dense, micro, compact shimmer in this that gives the colour this almost reflective effect where it catches the light. i think it's beautiful! very unique. i don't think i'll ever be able to use flat black nail polish ever again!

such a nice, deep, weird wintery colour! i know i'm going to get a LOT of use out of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gypcc on 1/18/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by gypcc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely LOVE this color!! I've never actually gone to the nail salon and repeatedly got a color, over & over again... as I have this polish. So often... that the last time I went they WERE OUT and I was p!ssed.... just completely irritated and i realized I needed to get the polish myself. Of course they didn't have it at the salon for purchase (otherwise they probably would have opened one for me)... I found it on ebay for $5. And.... I will admit... it's definitely a 2 coat to 3 coat polish, but I dont really mind the meticulousness that I need to do this at home... it also happens to be my sons favorite nail color so it's cute when he tells me do the bwack naiws mommy. All in all... it's this charcoal slate kinda of almost black color that looks FANTASTIC against my fair skin and really just plain ROCKS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tokkaebi on 12/26/2010 1:12:00 AM more reviews by Tokkaebi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

While I very much like this charcoal grey color, as others have said the formulation of this particular OPI nail polish is pretty problematic. I have a Charlotte Russe silver/grey nail polish I bought for $2 online to fill a free-shipping code and first used a coat of it on my nails, after reading what makeupalley members had said about the opaqueness of this nail polish. I find that with nail polishes that won't go on thickly color-wise, they do better after a coat of something complimentary: they stick better, functions as a colored base, and there's something darker on my nails first, rather than sweeping the brush over my nail just to see streaks of pink nail bed. So I used that silver, and with a slightly thicker coat, I got the right amount of opaqueness from "Suzi Skis" that I wanted (2 coats).


I got this nail polish for $5 buckos on ebay, so I don't feel as much as if I'd wasted my money as others may. Other pet peeves about this nail polish are it does not dry quickly whatsoever, and it smells absolutely horrible. I mean, nail polish, guaranteed it's going to smell bad, but this is just the worst polish I have ever smelled in my life.


I will not be repurchasing. I can get other near-black nail polishes elsewhere, I'm absolutely positive. Won't need to suffer through this one again. But! The one I do absolutely love is "Already Famous" in the Sephora by OPI collection. Just throwin' that out there. XD

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kstan75 on 10/31/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by kstan75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this color. i was looking for this color (slate grey, lead pencil grey) though i didn't have a name or brand & when i saw this i actually thought it was a dark navy blue. i got this *instead*. it takes 3 solid coats IMO to look it's best. i usually use ulta brands, but haven't found this color. i wear a lot of black polish, but wanted something a a little more unusual, while still using a neutral color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BellamenteDulce on 10/20/2010 1:04:00 PM more reviews by BellamenteDulce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The one thing I do NOT like about OPI is that their formulas are so inconsistent. This NP is the perfect example: unlike the typical OPI, this is super, super thin. I had to apply 4 coats of this to get it opaque. 4 coats! I'm willing to go three coats, but after that, painting my nails just becomes too time consuming.

Other than that, I love this color. It's one of those indescribable colors; in some lights, it's black, others, it's charcoal, blue, or purple. I just love that! And when I put Essie Matte About You over it, it's like angels sang in NP Heaven. If only the formula were a little better, this one would easily be one of my favorites.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Marybeth818 on 10/6/2010 9:27:00 PM more reviews by Marybeth818

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am on the fence so far but I think I like it. The reason I wanted to write a review is just to comment.... I can't believe people think this is black or grey because to me it's obviously blue, albeit a dark blue-grey. All the people who said it's too thin and it takes a lot of coats are right, but now that I have it on I kind of like it. When I brought all my new colors home (mainly a lot of minis), this is the only color my five year old niece hated. I would say it's more of an adult color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fourfootnine on 10/3/2010 2:41:00 AM more reviews by fourfootnine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I put that I wouldn't buy this product again, but my actual answer is "maybe."

As far as the color goes, I like it. It's just a basic, muted grey. By that, I mean that you can tell it's grey, and not black. I love neutral colors, and I really like this color because not a lot of people would wear grey polish. It's different from the typical blacks, whites, navy. I really love the color.

I HATE the formulation. It's so thin and watery, and dries too slowly for me. You'd need to put several layers on for it to completely cover your nail. Most people say 3 layers enough, but I find that I need to put up to 5 layers for it to look decent.

I'm just very disappointed in this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products