eos • Smooth Sphere Organic Lip Balm in Honeysuckle Honeydew • Lip Treatments

rated 3.5(373 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shoeboxoftrees on 1/29/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by shoeboxoftrees

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I had heard so many rave reviews on these lip balms, and finally decided to try one out. Honeysuckle honeydew seemed to be one that a lot of people enjoyed, plus I used to have a lip gloss pot that had a honeydew scent (I think it was wet n wild from the 90's) that I adored.

Scent: The scent of this product is pretty horrible in my opinion. It smells like a mixture of wax, high fructose corn syrup, and a very strong synthetic "melon" kind of scent. Softlips has eos beat on scent BY FAR. If I had to smell this product nonstop for more than a minute or so, I would probably be sick.

Performance: At first, this seemed to work well. It applied smoothly, not too heavily, and wasn't sticky. After a few hours it had worn off. Lip balm does that, so it wasn't a problem. Unfortunately, my lips had become super flaky over that period of time. Flakes were sticking up off of my lips and I found them irritating, so I removed them, which left my lips raw. My lips weren't flaky before I used this product. Essentially, it made my lips look and feel worse than before I had used this.

Packaging: I get it, the round packaging is supposed to be cute and unique. However, I found it actually rather difficult to apply because of the packaging. I have long fingers and they couldn't grip the packaging the way they would a normal lip product because there wasn't enough plastic to hold onto to steady the lip balm and keep it on my lips and not all over the surrounding area, as it is rather heavy packaging. Also, you can't put this lip balm in your pocket or in a clutch. It takes up a ton of space in a makeup bag because of all the extra plastic and the fact that it is round.

Overall: Big thumbs down. I will probably end up throwing this away, because I think it's pretty horrible and I wouldn't want to give it to someone else and screw up their lips too. This comes in second to last place of all the lip balms I've tried, last being the Yes to Pomegranates lip balm in the flattened tube packaging, which made my lips flaky like this one but about 10 times worse.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 1/15/2014 5:37:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this scent of lip balm. It is delicious! It's not the best lip balm out there, but for cute packaging and nice scent -- it's not a bad choice. I'm not sure how moisturizing these little balms are -- I feel like they sit on top of my lips vs. absorbing. But they are nice to have around and easy to grab and easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Betty647 on 1/15/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Betty647

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Worst lip balm ever!!! Not moisturising at all!! I bought this after watching Miley Cyrus' MV and I thought I would collect all the eos smooth sphere lip balms! but once i put this on my lips OMG IT WAS NIGHTMARE!!!! My lips got really really dry and it was extremely flaky and people would tell me to put more vaseline or lip balm. This made my lips more drier than ever!!! WILL NOT PURCHASE EVER AGAIN

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annicole72 on 1/14/2014 12:55:00 AM more reviews by annicole72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my first time to try this lip balm. I don't know why I used to ignore it when I had seen it at ULTA, but I finally gave it a try and I really love it bec it is so cute, yummy scent, its so moisturizing that it leaves my lips feeling so soft even the next day. I love this bec it doesn't leave a residue after applying it. I love it so much that I bought some for my bf and friends. I also bought the other flavors. I'm so excited to receive it :). I bought thiese at Target for $2.99. Its such a good deal compared to $4.99-$16 at ULTA and other places. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spetties on 1/6/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by spetties

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried and I think it is cute and I stays where I put. However I have very dry skin and lips and it really does not offer that much moisture, I have to apply several times. I think it is overpriced for something that really does not keep your lips moist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jakkieee on 12/16/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by Jakkieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

FINALLY something that helps my dry lips that doesn't have parabens and is natural.

This stuff is great. The smell can be a little overwhelming, but you get use to it. I still need to exfoliate my lips though, but I put this on right afterwards and don't need to exfoliate for another day or two.

Also the packaging is adorable. Only downside is you need two hand to open it instead of one with the burtsbees (big deal)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alimamoji on 11/26/2013 3:25:00 AM more reviews by Alimamoji

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a nasty lip biting habbit untill they bleed :( so they are often very dry and chapped. I have used so many products so far after a reasonable amount of researching from MUA and make up blogs. I have spend a lot of money on highend products, drug store products and also pharmacy products but none of them give me the result I needed. I have seen EOS lip balm while reading a couple of my favourite make up blogs but they all said cute packaging but an avarege, overrated product. EOS doesn't sell in my country so when I was in Finland for a business trip, I decided to buy one to give it a try :) even I knew about the reviews saying it doesn't do anything, I still wanted to have that little egg!! The result was amazing!! I really have soft and smooth lips now and I really love the smell. I think it is a suitable product for my skin type. I doesn't feel sticky at all and it lasts for a very long time compering the other balms I have tried. I haven't stopped biting my lips but as they are very smooth and soft now, it is very hard to find a dry skin to bite!!! Yeeaah !!! That is the best part of it, with this balm I think I can stop biting my lips. The only problem is that I will have to ask from someone who is going abroad to buy me a couple for stock.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 c4tl0v3r on 11/8/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by c4tl0v3r

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hoped for so much more from this scent. Instead of fresh and green it smells artificial and plasticky, tastes bad too. The product's performance is mediocre but I do enjoy the unique application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mimichat on 10/19/2013 12:59:00 AM more reviews by Mimichat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Must be my current favourite (I own five at the moment). Love love the smell, quite subtile, very good to the lips, in fact mine never been softer than with those eos lip balm. Totally love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 10/18/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my first Eos lip balm purchase and I hated it. It did not moisturize, the scent was horriblw - I returned it. After this experience, I did not purchase another eos lip balm for a year or two. Then I tried Eos Lemon balm - and I love it.
Only US$2.99 at Target.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More eos products

More Lip Treatments products