NARS Larger Than Life Volumizing Mascara


30 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$


on 1/14/2013 10:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel


on 5/25/2012 10:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have very sparse lashes and this mascara thickens as well as holds the curl. This is the only mascara that works for me. I'm an esthetician and am getting "steamed" all day long. Larger than Life mascara never smudges! I'm impressed by the fan-like lashes it creates and stays that way till I take it off!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 2/26/2012 2:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely bloody rubbish! The worst mascara on the entire planet. Spent the longest time ever trying to build up product. It was as if the product refused to adhere to my lashes. I exchanged it for Laura Mercier's Long lash which is superb! Nars should be ashamed of themselves for selling substandard garbage such as this.

on 1/29/2012 9:20:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was a die-hard Shu Uemera Basic lover. When they discontinued it, I was broken hearted because I could never find anything else that didn't straighten my lashes even after curling them with the Shu curler. The new Shu mascara, while decent was underwhelming.

I read about this and decided to give it a try at Sephora, knowing they would take it back if I didn't like it. When it's new, you really need to wipe off the excess before applying or you will get clumps and worse, tons of gunk on your lids. But, once you wipe off the wand, there is just the right amount left to get a very nice clump free application. It not only keeps the curl for me, it makes my lashes appear curlier. And, it is totally buildable. Three coats, with time to dry between, and no clumps. Although it's not a lengthening mascara, it does add a bit of length as well as volume. I get a bit of smudge with all mascaras, so this one is no worse than any from Shu.

The only inconvenient part is the brush is too thick for bottom lashes. I have some Shu left which has a thinner brush, so I am using that for now on the bottom, but when that is finished, I will experiment with d/s mascaras with thin brushes until I find one that doesn't smudge for my bottom lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 1/9/2012 6:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a bad idea. It did nothing for me! The brush was too big and it was really messy.

on 12/11/2011 12:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is my first department brand mascara and I've used it daily for a FULL YEAR. and it's designed as a volumizing mascara that will give the illusion of a fuller fringe of lashes.

When I first received that product, it flaked and wiggled it's self under my contacts causing irritation. After a couple days, it stopped flaking and I've never experienced it since. This is a very build-able mascara and it never clumped except for the first few days I applied it. It gives black and soft lashes. I can wear this for twelve hours, It did everything it said it would do, however, there are still cons.

One con is it smudges like whoa! I have contacts and sometimes I would have the instinct to itch. When I did, even for a second, I would literally look like a raccoon! It isn't very good for my just-about-non-existent-lower-lashes. The wand is way too large, would smear, and cause raccoon eyes. I would actually like to itch my eyes with this mascara, but it's just not possible. A good note is that it starts to loose it's effect after a full year of use. I would say this mascara is on the medium side of natural lashes.

Other than that, it does as advertised and I would purchase it again if I couldn't find any other mascara. It could be a bit more voluminous (in two coats) and seems like an overall good mascara. However, I want to try a few more mascaras before I comeback and call this my holy grail.

on 10/25/2011 12:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Worst mascara ever. Lashes were longer but skimpy on volume. Left lashes stuff and the stuff would not wash off! I too checked if I had gotten waterproof mascara, but alas I did not. I even used Nars makeup remover which is also lousy. Do not buy this there are so many better mascaras at the drugstore! I am a makeup artist and found it to be worthless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 10/21/2011 3:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have straight skimpy lashes and this bad boy separates, thickens and coats them with a rich, deep, intense black pigment. It's unique brush also does a great job in getting even the tiny lashes on the corners of my eye. I also love that I can literally pile as many coats as I want with zero clumping! In addition, I live in a very humid country and this mascara stays put all day long. It doesn't smudge, budge, transfer, flake and the best part.. it holds the curl of my lashes like nobody's business! Seriously, my lashes stay fuller, curled, and flirty for the entire day.

See pictures of my lashes here:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I've nearly finished the tube and it is still just as moist and lovely as it was brand new! I have spent more than 8 months using this mascara and ignoring all my others at every opportunity. It's a beautiful mascara to use and the results are so controllable. Like the other posters it creates beautiful, clump-free, smudge-proof, deep black lashes. And the lashes look so healthy, with just a healthy hair sheen. But the best trick to this mascara is how well it builds. One or two coats for me is a beautiful natural black lashes look; but continue to layer a 'tonne' of this and watch the nice full-lash fringe grow :-) So fun! and it is still healthy and clump-free looking. Did I mention that the formulation isn't harsh at all to your lashes - the macadamia nut oil keeps them nice and healthy even without mascara!!

on 4/30/2011 7:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The NARS makeover artist at the NARS boutique put this on me and I was very surprised. I have sensitive contact eyes that get floaters with every mascara except Blink Kiss Me, so I expected to go home half blind. I couldn't believe it, but I was totally fine. I am SO happy to have an alternative that adds a little more flavor than Blink.

I am hesitant to give it 5 stars and on packaging too bc I don't have much experience with it yet. I'll check back.

Top Rated NARS Products


Coconut Grove

29 reviews

Jungle Red

61 reviews

Exhibit A

362 reviews
Back to Top