NARS • Larger Than Life Volumizing Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.3(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Rocky22 on 1/9/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Rocky22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This was a bad idea. It did nothing for me! The brush was too big and it was really messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yoshi3329 on 12/11/2011 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Yoshi3329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first department brand mascara and I've used it daily for a FULL YEAR. and it's designed as a volumizing mascara that will give the illusion of a fuller fringe of lashes.


When I first received that product, it flaked and wiggled it's self under my contacts causing irritation. After a couple days, it stopped flaking and I've never experienced it since. This is a very build-able mascara and it never clumped except for the first few days I applied it. It gives black and soft lashes. I can wear this for twelve hours, It did everything it said it would do, however, there are still cons.


One con is it smudges like whoa! I have contacts and sometimes I would have the instinct to itch. When I did, even for a second, I would literally look like a raccoon! It isn't very good for my just-about-non-existent-lower-lashes. The wand is way too large, would smear, and cause raccoon eyes. I would actually like to itch my eyes with this mascara, but it's just not possible. A good note is that it starts to loose it's effect after a full year of use. I would say this mascara is on the medium side of natural lashes.


Other than that, it does as advertised and I would purchase it again if I couldn't find any other mascara. It could be a bit more voluminous (in two coats) and seems like an overall good mascara. However, I want to try a few more mascaras before I comeback and call this my holy grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kathbrit on 10/25/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by kathbrit

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

Worst mascara ever. Lashes were longer but skimpy on volume. Left lashes stuff and the stuff would not wash off! I too checked if I had gotten waterproof mascara, but alas I did not. I even used Nars makeup remover which is also lousy. Do not buy this there are so many better mascaras at the drugstore! I am a makeup artist and found it to be worthless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wednesdei on 10/21/2011 3:12:00 AM more reviews by wednesdei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have straight skimpy lashes and this bad boy separates, thickens and coats them with a rich, deep, intense black pigment. It's unique brush also does a great job in getting even the tiny lashes on the corners of my eye. I also love that I can literally pile as many coats as I want with zero clumping! In addition, I live in a very humid country and this mascara stays put all day long. It doesn't smudge, budge, transfer, flake and the best part.. it holds the curl of my lashes like nobody's business! Seriously, my lashes stay fuller, curled, and flirty for the entire day.

See pictures of my lashes here: http://mygorgeouspinkcheeks.blogspot.com/2011/10/nars-larger-than-life-volumizing.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AliWhatWouldJoanDo on 8/18/2011 7:55:00 PM more reviews by AliWhatWouldJoanDo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I've nearly finished the tube and it is still just as moist and lovely as it was brand new! I have spent more than 8 months using this mascara and ignoring all my others at every opportunity. It's a beautiful mascara to use and the results are so controllable. Like the other posters it creates beautiful, clump-free, smudge-proof, deep black lashes. And the lashes look so healthy, with just a healthy hair sheen. But the best trick to this mascara is how well it builds. One or two coats for me is a beautiful natural black lashes look; but continue to layer a 'tonne' of this and watch the nice full-lash fringe grow :-) So fun! and it is still healthy and clump-free looking. Did I mention that the formulation isn't harsh at all to your lashes - the macadamia nut oil keeps them nice and healthy even without mascara!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Scazza on 4/30/2011 7:00:00 AM more reviews by Scazza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The NARS makeover artist at the NARS boutique put this on me and I was very surprised. I have sensitive contact eyes that get floaters with every mascara except Blink Kiss Me, so I expected to go home half blind. I couldn't believe it, but I was totally fine. I am SO happy to have an alternative that adds a little more flavor than Blink.

I am hesitant to give it 5 stars and on packaging too bc I don't have much experience with it yet. I'll check back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 talullabelle on 11/29/2010 10:44:00 PM more reviews by talullabelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my third tube of this mascara. It certainly isn't my HG, but since I'm not bothered to go looking for one right now it will do just fine. Before moving over to the UK, I lived in Hong Kong where it is incredibly humid and hot, particularly in the spring and summer seasons. I tried a good number of mascaras in hopes of finding one that wouldn't smudge and still hold a curl (all pitfalls of Southeast Asian climate). I tried Diorshow, Lancome Hypnose, Great Lash, and several others (all waterproof, might I add) and all of them smudged and left me with flat lashes within 20 minutes of stepping out of the door. NARS Larger Than Life mascara is the only one that hasn't smudged on me so far. It also gives me the volume and length that I want from a mascara after a few coats. It does dry out and get a bit crumbly, as others have mentioned, but it hasn't caused any major problems for me to be honest.

Until I find a better mascara, I am happy to stick with this one for now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rocksteadyb on 8/13/2010 8:52:00 PM more reviews by rocksteadyb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first NARS product I've ever returned, it was that bad. I'm a huge fan of NARS and over the years my makeup collection is starting to look like a NARS counter, save for their mascaras. I bought this because of the brush, which looked like I would love. Nope, this stuff clumped horribly on my lashes, making them look just gross. Then, when it came time to take it off, it wouldn't come off! I washed my face about 3 time's with my normal cleanser, which never has failed me. I finally had to coat my fingers in soap and pull at my lashes...not very nice. I looked all over the packaging to see if I had purchased a waterproof tube...nope. I definitely will not be buying this again, and I'm not sure I'll be trying any of their other mascaras for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivalaChr on 2/14/2010 6:06:00 PM more reviews by vivalaChr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A SA at Sephora suggested this mascara for me after I had told her what I was looking for. I wanted anti-smudge that could basically hold a curl. I had used Maybelline's Great Lash in college and then stopped using mascara all together because it seemed a bit of a hassle in the working world. Plus, taking off water-proof mascara is a bit of a pain at times...even with the special eye make-up remover. Anyhow, I decided that I wanted to get back into mascara so I shelled out the $25 to get this. I'm actually surprised that there aren't more good ratings for this. I really like this mascara. It holds a curl like no other and it does add a bit of lengthening & volumizing. I understand that different mascaras work for different people so it's definitely something you should try out first. My eyelashes are long, but they go straight down. Being able to hold a curl is a MUST HAVE for me in a mascara. I would like to transition to a cheaper mascara from a drugstore someday but I have yet to find one that does what Nars does for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DragonRhia on 1/23/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by DragonRhia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was an impulse buy after I tried in in Sephora. I won't buy it again. Pros: does volumize, does add rich color, doesn't run if applied certain way, can make lashes look good if applied certain way. Cons: brush clumps with product, need to apply it over my go-to mascara so I can keep it from clumping, it bleeds onto my lower lid if I don't apply it with go-to mascara (even though I don't wear it on my lower lashes), sometimes it bleeds onto my lower lid even when I do apply it with go-to mascara, way too expensive for the listed pros.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Mascara products