NARS Sheer Glow Foundation


1557 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$


Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene, Glycol, Glycerine, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinal Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethylhexanoin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Dis-Butydimethicone Polyglyceryl-3, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Glutamate, Sorbitan, Sesquiisostearate, 1-Methylhdantoin-2-Imide, Phenoxyenthanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polusilocone-2, Serralysin, Curcuma Longa, Glycuosyl Hesperidin, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Tocpherol, [ /- (May Contain): CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides)].

on 9/10/2015 9:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Update: After several days of wearing this foundation, and having photos snapped of me, catching my own reflection, etc., I've learned this does indeed get "greasy-looking" on me. It's not just in certain areas either; it's my entire face. It's not a "luminous glow", because I just look sweaty. What a shame. I thought I'd found a winner. I probably should have purchased the All Day Luminous Weightless, which I've heard is good for oiler skins. Drat.

Original review and kvetch about packaging:
I bought this for the first time ever just this week. I was shocked when I opened the bottle and noticed there's no pump! I guess the foundations I've bought in the last few years have had pumps, so I forgot about this old-fashioned bottle type.When I purchased the foundation I didn't know it came without a pump, because all the sampler bottles on the shelves had pumps.I apply foundation with either a damp Beautyblender or a brush, and it's impossible to pour just a drop of foundation out of this bottle without wasting a bunch of it or making a mess.

My MAC shade has always been determined as NC35, but the only MAC foundation I ever actually wear is Face & Body, and my shade is C4. At Sephora, the shade Barcelona was suggested to me, and I was told that it's the same range as NC35.. The lighting in Sephora always confuses me, so I went for the "expert" opinion. After wearing Barcelona 5-6 times, I realize, without a doubt, I should have gone with my own choice, Stromboli. I look a little washed-out in Barcelona.

I will likely repurchase this foundation (in Stromboli), but one thing that might make me think twice about it, is that lack of inclusion of a foundation pump (or having the foundation in a pump bottle). This foundation costs enough that customers should be able to expect quality, state-of-the-art packaging. Charging $6.00 extra to buy a pump is just plain cheap on Shiseido's part, and it makes me wonder where else they'll cut corners. I really shoulda bought

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/7/2015 3:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

NARS Sheer Glow is my favorite foundation. I have sensitive skin and my skin can handle this foundation without any problems. I always come back to NARS Sheer Glow.

on 9/6/2015 6:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this foundation in the shade Siberia, it was the first time I found a foundation that perfectly matches my skin tone. I often have trouble with them being too dark. NARS foundation had been recommended to me by my cousin who works in beauty. As soon as I got this I was so happy to have a foundation that matched my skin and gave me an even complexion. I do have some trouble with acne and its coverage isn't the best with blemishes but it's long lasting and feels light and smooth on the skin. I really enjoy this and it is my new go to foundation

on 9/3/2015 1:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The application was really easy as the product is quite sheer. It is for people without much skin troubles due to the sheerness of the product, it's more to even out skin tone. What I really like is the luminosity that it provides. Personally, I don't really like matte foundations as it tends to look cakey after awhile. One issue I have with it is that you have to buy the pump separately as it does not come with the bottle. It's like Nars is finding ways to justify it's already expensive price. It is overall a good product though. Favourite liquid foundation so far.

on 8/29/2015 9:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I recently got a decent sample size of the Nars Sheer Glow in Gobi and I was so excited to use it
I applied the foundation with a damp beauty blender and it looked flawless for the first 3 hours then it started to really really cake up and look disgusting. All my other foundations i use don't do that so i was really disappointed but still hopeful that i was just using the wrong products with it
so the next time i used the foundation I tried different powders and primers and products and used a brushed to apply it and the same thing happened

I don't think the product is bad i just think it's not working with my skin!
I have really dry skin and it didn't stick to my dry patches and it looked flawless for a few hours!

I highly recommend trying a sample first before you buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 8/29/2015 5:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm in love with this product
I have dry skin and rely on oily moisturisers to keep my thirsty skin quenched, this foundation, despite that doesn't slide off my face or look shiny at all.

The product isn't "sheer" as the name suggests, it's build able and offers medium to full coverage, it's semi matte and gives a nice dewy finish but also works well with powder for matte finish, I apply it with either a beauty blender or a real techniques expert five brush, both work well, the expert face brush gives more of a "made up" look.

This foundation lasts well on nights out (I prime with smash box primer water, can't comment on it on unprimed skin) which is when I tend to wear it most as I prefer less coverage during the day BUT I have mixed this with a couple of drops of Mac strobe liquid and applied with a beauty blender during the day and it creates a lovely finish!

I've found two pumps is perfect for full face coverage, it doesn't feel like I have loads of makeup on my face but offers a lot of covered, I'll use one pump if I'm using it mixed with strobe liquid as detailed above, however despite it being full coverage I felt I needed concealer around my eye area which I didn't with luminous weightless from Nars

It doesn't come with a pump, you have to buy it separately which is a little annoying to be honest but at £3 (I think) it's not a huge cost

Pros: great for dry skin, feels moisturising on the skin but not heavy
Offers a dewy finish
Good coverage and build able
Lasts hours

Cons: pump sold separately
Concealer still required under eyes and on dark areas

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 8/27/2015 7:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great multi purpose foundation that has buildable coverage. I can wear it daily without skin complaints. It's especially great for me as I have dry skin, but live in a humid country. It's more matte than I expected but I really like that and it has been lasting nicely all day (with use of a little bit of translucent powder on top). It's light, but can easily be built up for more of a night time look. I will probably buy this again once I run out, even though it's a bit pricier than I would usually buy. I do agree that I wish it had a pump.

on 8/21/2015 5:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For reference I wear MAC NC30, I have a slightly oily tzone and a few dry patches around the chin area. I have some freckles that I like to cover and some fine lines under my eyes and expression lines that I want my foundation to NOT sink into and crease. I also generally look for a long wearing foundation as I apply my make up at 6.30 am and sometimes don't get around to taking it off until 9pm at night.

I purchased this product from Mecca in the shade Punjab and it cost me $65 AUD. Firstly, as I think most would agree, the packaging is a little inconvenient as it doesn't come with a pump. Pouring the product out onto the back of your hand or onto a palette is not my favourite thing to do... And for $65.. You'd expect there to be a pump. The finish of the foundation, for me, was a semi matte finish. The coverage was very build-able. I used a damp beauty blender to apply and it provided me with a nice, medium coverage without looking cakey. Before applying the foundation I used Smashbox Photo Finish primer and I felt it worked really well with this.

Through out the day I blotted my tzone once, lightly powdered down twice and my makeup lasted me a whole 12 hours until I took it off! I was really surprised and prefer it much more over the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation. Overall it stays on, great coverage, nice finish, doesn't sink into my expression/smile lines or fine lines under my eyes, looks fresh and flawless, doesn't feel heavy, very pigmented, doesn't oil me out in the tzone and doesn't cling to dry patches!

The price is a bit of a downfall, but I really l am looking forward to experimenting with some different applications and different products with this foundation. Would repurchase!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 8/16/2015 2:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Since my skin is acne-prone, I was very relieved that this foundation did not break me out. It was a great match (Stromboli) for my very yellow skin tone. I've applied it with a brush and a beauty blender, and even then, it's still cakey. The coverage is a medium at the very most. It did not cover my acne scars very well. During the day, the foundation would rub off easily especially around the sides of my face, and it would transfer like CRAZY. I never wanted to wear white tops because this foundation transfers so much. It was not worth the money at all.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 8/14/2015 3:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this product without reading any reviews. The salesperson said that it would stay on long, and will make my skin look healthy. It's the total opposite. You should know how to apply it in order for it to work. I put it on my face at 10 am and by noon it was gone. It did not look like I have my make up at all. I would not recommend purchasing this product. If you are gonna buy a product and you can pay this much to a product you should definitely not pay this much to this prıduct.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

May/Current Favorites by TheAlicehere

Top Rated NARS Products


Coconut Grove

29 reviews

Jungle Red

61 reviews

Exhibit A

362 reviews
Back to Top