Batiste Original Dry Shampoo

3.9

80 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Butane, Isobutane, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch, Propane, Alcohol Denat, Parfume, Limonene, Linanool, Geranol, Benzyl Benzoate, Distearyldimonium, Cetrimonium Chloride


on 6/11/2014 4:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

As far as dry shampoo goes, this one is as good as the next. I guess I just don't really like dry shampoo. I always feels like by the time you spray it in and wait for it to absorb the oils and brush out the residue... well you could have simply washed and dried your hair and looked 100% better. I should mention that I have fairly short hair. So maybe this is a godsend for those with long thick hair. And I'm sure I would love this if I broke my arm or something and couldn't shower. However, under ordinary circumstances, I think I'll pass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I absolutely love this dry shampoo! I wash my hair every second day and I use this on days I don't wash my hair. I love the scent, it smells very clean and refreshing. I personally don't like the scents of their other products and I think that the original works best! I'd recommend this one! The packaging is great and very cute and this makes your hair feel very clean and grease-free. I'm definitely buying this again! -Anyasreviews


on 2/19/2014 3:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the first dry shampoo that I've tried that I like.
It's well-priced and works decently.
I'm a brunette and while people say it leaves a white residue - it's still perfect for getting rid of grease so you can go that one day without washing your hair. Make sure you comb it out properly or else it's going to seem as if you have dandruff.
I like that it leaves my hair clean. It also adds a bit of volume to my hair.
I don't love or hate the scent, but it could be better. The way I can describe it is that It's a slightly powdery smell.
I would purchase it again because it's relatively cheap and found easily.


on 12/4/2013 10:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

im not a fan of dry shampoo because it takes all the shine out of my hair and leaves it feeling stiff and powery and dry lol. girls train your hair if you find your roots get oily after 2days then just wash it three times a week your hair will get use to it and stop makeing unwanted oil


on 11/19/2013 11:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am allergic to this....my head broke out in an itchy rash that lasted for days.


on 11/19/2013 10:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

IMHO, this is only suitable for blonde or white hair. I tried using it on the whole family once, when our plumbing was out for 4 days. My son, a blondie, was the only one who didn't look like he was wearing a George Washington wig after use. I still do use it on him, as I rather like the old-fashioned barber-shoppy smell and he prefers Batiste to actual shampooing. But on most hair colors, this just looks chalky and weird, even after a vigorous brushing. Also: Do NOT spray it directly onto your hand, the butane burns!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I like the Batiste line of dry shampoos. This one seems to be the easiest to find and I'll use it but prefer the Fresh. You'll need to brush out the white residue. There's not too much and this doesn't bother me because I think it works really well.


on 10/31/2013 10:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was my first venture into dry shampoo, and I'm not impressed. It's hard to get just a little bit on, and as other reviewers have mentioned, once worked into my hair, it left a weird waxy feel, and also made my roots look slightly lighter in color (I have dark auburn-ish hair).

So, nope, won't repurchase. I'm going to try one made specifically for dark hair next.


on 10/16/2013 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like other reviewers, I've tried multiple kinds of dry shampoos. I have dyed/highlighted dry/damaged hair that definitely should not be washed everyday. But yes, the roots get oily gross and the lengths get lifeless in between washes. I have tried the Tresemme dry shampoo and had similar results with it as with this product. The Tresemme probably smelled just a tad better (but neither really smells great). I bought the Batiste in the green/blue can at Walgreens, and it was supercheap. I make sure to hold the can pretty far away from my head before spraying - just a dash or two on the top and one or two on the underside & that's it. I definitely wait a bit longer than the directions suggest (I brush my teeth or do something comparable while I wait), before brushing it in/out. I do not overbrush, just a few strokes and done...otherwise I've found my hair goes right back to flat. I wouldn't say that the volume is out of this world, but it is an improvement, and it makes my blond color look "brighter" and more clean and less dark/dirty. I tried it first years ago on my virgin hair at the time, and it did not work. Obviously, my hair has changed due to processing & now it responds positively. I plan to always keep a can on hand.


on 10/10/2013 10:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've only started using dry shampoo a year ago and am really in love with the concept. I believe that hair should be washed & shampooed only 1-2 times a week. However, given that I have dry bleached hair and go for touch-ups every 10-12 weeks, the roots can be very greasy in between washes. The Batiste dry shampoo really helps with this problem. Do shake it very well before spraying; otherwise, only aerosol comes out of the spray. It does go on white and very visible, so I have to really rub my scalp to work in the product. Once it's on, my hair feels amazing. The texture is fine, the volume is fuller, and the product has soaked up all the excess oil. It doesn't leave any nasty residue, and the scent isn't overbearing either. I think the effect last for 1-2 days, which is all you really need. Now I can't imagine living without dry shampoo! While I haven't tried any other brands for comparison, Batiste is well-priced and works well. Give it a try if you have oily roots!




Top Rated Batiste Products

image

Dry Shampoo

700 reviews
Back to Top