Boots Original Beauty Formula Cleansing Milk

4.0

23 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

water, olive fruit oil, glycerin, cocoa seed butter, cetearyl olivate, dimethicone, cetyl alcohol, sorbitan olivate, phenoxyethanol, xanthan gum, methylparaben, ethylparaben, citronellol, tetrasodium edta, geraniol, linalool, citric acid, pelargonium graveolens flower oil, limonene, parfum, rosa damascena flower oil.


on 1/24/2011 3:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this product! Takes off make-up gently and effectively. I love how it removes my waterproof mascara. Very affordable!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite cleansing product ever. I bought it on a lark and I am so glad I tried it. This is so gentle but it removes all my makeup even my waterproof mascara. I have to agree with another reviewer, it does sting around the eyes so I do use a separate product to remove eye makeup.

This product leaves the skin smooth and moisturized. I will definitely be buying this again.

+A for being affordable and for the adorable old time-y packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2010 9:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great for people with sensitive skin that can't use foaming cleansers without your skin feeling tight and rashy. My staple has been Shu Uemura's cleansing oil, but at 75 bucks a pop it's a hefty purchase! I tried this on a whim and love it. It smells like cold cream, comes in a lovely bottle, evaporates my makeup, and is so gentle on my skin in that it does not strip moisture but leaves it soft afterwards.

I use it by massaging a blob onto a dry face and then either washing it off or wiping it off with a cotton pad.


on 11/13/2010 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Boots cleansing milk > ponds cold cream. BY FAR.

this stuff rocks


on 9/4/2010 12:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The packaging is very refreshing and enjoyable to look at. In a glass bottle the pricing isn't going to make you empty your wallet. I sometimes just use my finger to rub over my face you don't always need a cotton ball as suggested. Feels great on the skin and makes mine feel a lot softer than before.


on 7/18/2010 2:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Never before tried a cleansing milk but I was very impressed! Completely had the look and smell of an old-timey product- pretty floral scented liquid in a glass bottle. I'm still figuring out how to use it best, but using a damp cotton pad did a great job of removing face and eye make up. I felt refreshed and hydrated afterwards, which is great as my skin tends to dry out easily when I wash it too much. I'd recommend to someone who wants an affordable alternative to ineffective foaming cleansers without shelling out the money for a cleansing oil. I'll probably use it in the evenings to remove my make up, and start the day with my usual face wash.

**edit: took off one lippie because its not the best for oily skin, and I feel like it leaves a layer that could be problematic for acne-prone skin

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was a little wary of the cleansing powers of a "milk" as I'm used to using plant/nut oils that cut through full makeup with ease. But, being pleasantly surprised by the vanishing cream from this range (and loving the prim Victorian vibe), I thought I'd give it a go. The texture is light, like a lighter lotion version of cold cream. But it really does work, removing longlasting foundation, mascara, even red lipstick with little effort. I tip a blob into my palm, rub my hands together and smooth it over my face, including eyes and lips. I spend about 20-30 seconds massaging it gently and then swipe it off with a damp muslin. The formula does make my eyes sting a little when it gets in them (which I don't find with my plant oils) - but the feeling lasts only a second or two. You may wish to use something else for your eye makeup if your eyes are sensitive - e.g. a dab of olive oil (which is one of the cleanser's main ingredients, too.) I find that my skin feels a lot cleaner than when I use oils. It's soft and smooth but not taut. I know a lot of people hate a residue when they cleanse, so this milk is a lovely light option that gets your skin thoroughly clean and feeling supple but without stripping away moisture.
I can't give it 5 lippies because I'm not keen on parabens. Plus, although the glass bottle looks pretty and ladylike, a pump would be easier to dispense the product.
Ingredients: water, olive fruit oil, glycerin, cocoa seed butter, cetearyl olivate, dimethicone, cetyl alcohol, sorbitan olivate, phenoxyethanol, xanthan gum, methylparaben, ethylparaben, citronellol, tetrasodium edta, geraniol, linalool, citric acid, pelargonium graveolens flower oil, limonene, parfum, rosa damascena flower oil.
(The ingredients of this product are extremely similar to those in the vanishing day cream, so if you like one, chances are you'll like the other.)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2010 12:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Typically with nontraditional cleansers (gels, powders, lotions, etc) I don't feel especially clean. If something doesn't foam or lather I still feel dirty. With this cleansing milk I felt very fresh. My skin was supple as well.

Using the milk is a bit strange, but I can get used to it. I will buy this again.


on 5/23/2010 9:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Excellent, excellent stuff. Smells like old-fashioned cold cream, which makes me nostalgic -- reminds me of my mom and being little and getting to try her make-up.

It is a moderately thick liquid, kind of like a very liquified cold cream. Very soothing, leaves my skin clean, neither oily nor dry. Great for heavy make-up days, as it gets rid of everything - again, like cold cream, but leaving much less greasy residue. The scent is strong enough that it would surely bother people sensitive to scents, but I quite like it and it fades pretty quickly.

The Victorian-ish glass bottle with metal cap is absolutely lovely for display, but I have to confess I'd prefer a pump or squeezy bottle when actually using the product. But it pours easily enough.

Lately has been on half-price at Boots, so a bottle is less than 2 quid - a bottle seems to last me a few months w/ say 4x/wk use (I alternate w/ Boots Expert and L'Occitaine, depending on how much make-up I'm wearing and how grimy I feel), so bargain city. Does this mean they're phasing it out? I hope not.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2009 3:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is for the Original Cleansing Milk NOT the Botanical Cleanser. Got this at Target for a steal. Love the pkg., especially that the whole line comes in glass bottles & jars. No pump. Love the feel & slip of this...it's the perfect consistency imo. I bought the Cold Cream for night & this for am use so I can't comment on its ability to remove m/u. I am going to give it a try at night though. I like the cold cream but I like this even better. If it does a good job of removing my mineral makeup then it's going to be my go to cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top