eos • Lip Balm Sphere - Sweet Mint • Lip Treatments

rated 3.9(510 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 DY22 on 12/29/2014 1:21:00 PM more reviews by DY22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype about the eos lip balms....they cannot stand up against the cold Canadian winter. It's just a layer of wax over your lips that doesn't moisturize at all!! It leaves my lips chapped. Except the cute packaging and the nice smell, I don't see anything good in it. It might be better for summer when you don't want something too thick and oily. I like Nivea lip balms so much more and they are cheaper too.
For cracked lips I use Nivea Essential care: it works really well. I apply it for nighttime and after 2 days my lips are completely healed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CombatWombat on 12/27/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good alternative for me to Burt's Bees classic lip balm, which I find drying and irritating. Expect a fairly strong generic mint scent/flavour and a cooling tingle that lasts for five to ten minutes. Slightly less moisturizing than the other flavours - probably due to the mint - but still overall quite moisturizing and comfortable. I like this one before and after hot yoga: zing!

Like I said in my review for the summer fruit flavour, the packaging will probably be what makes or breaks this product for many people, so if you're trying it for the first time know that it's not going to fit into a pocket or a small bag, but that it doesn't get lost in a larger bag as easily as a tube and looks cuter on your nightstand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thiebautrenata on 12/25/2014 8:29:00 AM more reviews by thiebautrenata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an interesting lip balm. I have used in two flavors, mint and honey melon.
What I don't like:
1- I prefer fragrance free and organic products
2- I find it's a bit similar to my Burt's bees Acai one in terms of quality

What I like:
1- long lasting
2- moisturizing
It's a very good Chapstick but I would not say it's the best of 2014, like many awards claim.
Right now my winner is still the Little green.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cutieblakcat on 12/17/2014 7:40:00 PM more reviews by cutieblakcat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I loveeeee the minty feel of this lip balm! I feel like this lip balm is a lot better in terms of moisture compared to the other eos, because it doesn't make my lips feel warm, waxy or itchy. I have repurchased this many times!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gothspice on 12/7/2014 11:03:00 PM more reviews by gothspice

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First saw this product placed in Miley Cyrus' "We Can't Stop" video and finally succumbed to the hype. The EOS lip balm is packaged in a clever, egg shaped container. It would take up a lot of room in a travel bag, but is nice on my nightstand. The mint flavor is very refreshing. I took one lippie off as it is not super moisturizing, but that is probably due to the peppermint oil in this particular flavor. Just bought a Christmas set of three flavors - Pink Grapefruit, Strawberry Kiwi, and Orange Blossom. Highly tempted to gift them to myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaveofWonders on 11/25/2014 4:11:00 AM more reviews by CaveofWonders

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip balm a lot. I'm new to the bandwagon, and I must say this is my first eos balm, but I like it a lot. It tastes good but not overwhelming, it feels silky smooth on the lips and minty. This is my favorite lip balm i own. The packaging is cute but bulky at the same time but I don't care. I like this flavor and I'm really happy I gave this a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 keekz on 11/14/2014 1:45:00 PM more reviews by keekz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i think one word can sum this product up.... "MEH."
This lip balm has too much hype for no reason, all becasue of the cute packaging? Please, give me something useful. It does no better job to moisturize my lips than most other mediocre lip balms, or even Vaseline for that matter.

If you have severly chapped lips, or want something to really keep your lips hydrated, I use Jack Black Mint from Sephora and I love it. Give that a try instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aenflex on 11/14/2014 8:26:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A good, basic lip balm. I don't have chapped, cracked lips, I just use this for basic moisturization and it works well. I think if my lips were bad, I'd use Waxelene or something else that's thicker and more occlusive.

The only cons are the packaging, which while novel is inconvenient, and the flavoring. I don't like flavoring in products that aren't food.

I haven't had any reactions to this balm.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 11/8/2014 8:43:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 08 Nov. 2014:

I later found out that what I had on my lips is called chelatis - if you dare google-ing it, you can read about how horrible it feels and looks - it feels like you have kissed a hot iron, and looks/feels like your lips are dry, because they begin to peel. Apparently, I'm not the only person experiencing this either with this balm. Since that time, I have had to be even more careful with lip products - almost anything sets it off. Why did I get this? Weeeell... because of this lip balm! You can read an abstract from a scientific article about peppermint oils in lip balms here, but they also mention coconut oil and propolis (a beeswax-related product, that is the first ingredient in this balm, but beeswax is totally OK for me):
http://journals.lww.com/dermatitis/Abstract/2010/03000/Acute_Allergic_Contact_Dermatitis_of_the_Lips_from.8.aspx

Also: HOW do I know that it's the peppermint oil in this that made me allergic? Because I now also get rashes around my mouth from tooth paste with peppermint! Great, right? There are NO other products that I own that contain peppermint oil. I suggest tossing this before you too get problems, ESPECIALLY if you have sensitive skin, like me, because your lips are then more likely to be sensitive too.

END OF UPDATE

UPDATE: 13 Des. 2012: lowering to 1 lippie: did definitely not moisturize enough and I actually got allergic to this over time. Yes, I'm sure that it's THIS - I tried it out 3 times and the allergy appeared within about 15 minutes (and lasts about a week to go away).
END OF UPDATE
.
UPDATE 27. Nov. 2012:
I don't think I will repurchase this. It doesn't moisturize my lips very will and doesn't protect them at all. I could use only in the summer, I guess. It also seems this dries my lips out a little over time, and I'm still not a fan of the very hard consistency.
END OF UPDATE
.
I bought this because, in a magazine, they gave this 6/6 stars, while my absolute favourite lip balm only got 4/6. I thought: the one I'm using is so amazing, that this can't possibly beat it?! The main thing they said that I couldn't understand is that this was more moisturizing than my Cliniderm lip balm, which I will now refer to as C. Understand me right: I used to get THE WORST dry lips in the winter.ĘThey were so bad that pieces of my skin hung down, they cracked everywhere, were dry, bleeding and NOTHING could fix it before I got my C. balm, which fixed my lips in 2-4 days (at max) by applying each time after it had worn off. How could ANYTHING be better than this medical balm? And the magazine said EOS was BETTER at curing chapped lips and C. wasn't moisturizing enough... well, this needed to be tested out!
.
So, I bought this. I already had a painful dry spot on my lips. The first thing I noticed is that: if you already have dry chapped lips, this won't be very comfortable to apply because it's so solid. The second thing: this made my lips a tiny bit paler and less shiny. The minty smell is nice - better than the slightly medical vanilla smell of my C. It moisturized... not that well. The minty taste was nice in that it wasn't making me lick it from my lips.
.
My verdict is: this is an OK balm, but there are better things out there if you have REALLY dry lips. it feels like it sits a bit on top of the lips and doesn't really sink in that well. It's so frigging annoying seeing sponsored reviews in magazines that makes the really good products seem less attractive!

This is boyfriend friendly in that it has a nice smell and taste and isn't sticky at all. The packaging looks cute, but isn't very practical at all unless you have big pockets or carry your balm around in for example your purse. This doesn't leave you with that nasty white stripe on your lips. It's eco-friendly, they say. You can buy it if you want.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahi15 on 11/3/2014 7:51:00 PM more reviews by sarahi15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

my lips are soft and happy! ☺️

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More eos products

More Lip Treatments products