Guerlain • La Petite Robe Noire • Fragrances

rated 3.4(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 goldrauschengel on 9/16/2013 5:20:00 PM more reviews by goldrauschengel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy wearing this because it won't turn too sweet on me, as lots of feminine scents do. This one is fruity and sexy but at the same time very sophisticated, there is some darker or spicier note to it that I cannot really recognize, but it makes this special. I also wear in the day and do not find it too heavy, though you might wanna compare the eau de toilette and eau de parfum...I am using edt right now and my impression is that I would get the perfume next time, it smells rounder and lingers better...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/7/2013 12:39:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smells like I spritzed myself with Cherry Coke! Of course there is a lot more to this amazing fragrance, but every time I wear it I think of Cherry Coke. :)
This is a delicious perfume that manages to be sweet, floral, and a little spicy all at once. When first spritzed on, you get a burst of sweet black cherry that is not medicinal or childish. The strong fruity scent lingers for about an hour before the rose scent begins to come through. When this scent dries down, I smell patchouli, licorice, vanilla, and tonka beans with the black cherry faintly in the background of it all. The dry down might be my favorite part -- it's such a gorgeous, spicy and sweet scent.
Looking at all the notes in this fragrance, I initially thought this would smell terrible and that the combination of all these wildly varying scents would not work. Obviously, I was wrong. This perfume combines heavy and light scents beautifully and create a fragrance that is mysterious and sexy. The scent is pretty strong, so I would save this one for nights. I can definitely see this being headache inducing for some, so if you are sensitive to scents, I would test this before buying. Also, while this scent is pretty strong, it fades considerably after only about 3 hours. It lasts on the skin for 8+ hours, but the scent is much softer and less noticeable.
Like I said, this is a heavy, sexy fragrance, and I think the name is perfect. It makes me want to get all dolled up, put on my LBD and go out on a hot date or hit the clubs. I also love the bottle, I think it is adorable! So glad I gave this perfume a chance, because it is now one of my favorites!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/7/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fruity, candy vanilla. A lovely bright zippy scent and still somehow formal. I like this one, and I'm not a fan of fruity florals. Can get very sweet on me (my skin amps sweet) so won't be a summer day scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 5/17/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've worn La Petite Robe Noire several times and i keep thinking of things to write a helpful review. After several wearings i think i can finally offer a good review. Since i first started wearing this the very first thing it reminds me of is tobacco leaves or just downright cigarette smoke. During this phase of the scent it is very masculine smelling. After a while, though, the smokey scent disappears and is replaced by fruits. Cherries and pomegranites to be exact and that is the color of the bottle too. A nice shade of red/pink with a pretty black dress. It lasts a decent amount of time on the skin too which i really like. All in all a wonderful scent. Also, La Petite Robe Noire is just ever-so-slightly masculine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 4/20/2013 5:35:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I very nearly passed this one by due to my fruity florals prejudice. I like fruit but in a bowl with ice cream, not behind my ears. Still I got a sample and although I dislike the black cherry topnote, I love the drydown which is spicy and warm. It has a lovely anise note combined with almond. The black tea note prevents it from venturing into sickly territory. All in all, very well worked out and balanced as I would expect from the house of Guerlain. One lippie off for staying power though. I have the edp and sp is only a couple of hours. Notes from Fragrantica are:

black cherry, bergamot, red berries and almond. Bulgarian and Turkish roses rule the heart, further developing with notes of licorice and smoked black tea. Aniseed, tonka bean, vanilla, iris and patchouli form the base.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DaeguChingu on 3/25/2013 8:54:00 AM more reviews by DaeguChingu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Many scents are "fun and fruity," but can come off as smelling cheap. I think this scent succeeds in being fruity and youthful while still maintaining some sophistication. I think the tea note achieves this. I have the eau de toilette, so it might smell different to others, but while I'm wearing it during the day, I definitely get a strong black cherries note, but also alternating whiffs of tea, pine, and wood. Somehow it does smell very piney to me, but luckily I love that scent. If you like the smell of black cherries, tea, and pine, this scent is for you! I sometimes get scared of perfumes claiming to have base notes of patchoulli or musk, but I didn't really notice these scents. Perhaps in the parfum it is more noticeable. I think black cherries is a unique scent and it's perfect for springtime!

Plus, the bottle is adorable if you are into that. It's beautiful to have on my vanity.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivana89 on 3/8/2013 6:38:00 PM more reviews by ivana89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love with this perfume. It is the mature kind of sweet/fruity/amber-y, so it remains sophisticated. For the record, I am usually never into the nauseating sugary, fruity, synthetic smelling fragrances. This one is an unusual scent, it really smells frisky and sweet but in a refined, mature way. My long, exhausting hunt for my next signature perfume stops here.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 3/5/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow. This is a huge mess on my skin. Some cherry coke and lemon opening soon to be mixed with Greek ouzo or Turkish raki -basically anise overdose and connotations of a sad hangover. All in a bakery setting. Congrats Guerlain.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 goldenjoy on 2/1/2013 8:12:00 PM more reviews by goldenjoy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can see why some have compared this one to Lolita Lempicka. Both have that fruity sweetness with a deeper amber type drydown. This Guerlain however replaces the anise note of Lolita for a cherry note that is fruity while not being overly sugary. I love the tea note in this, it is evident from beginning to end. This scent lasted over eight hours on me, so for lasting power and how smoothly the notes went from top to drydown, this fragrance is very well done. However, this fragrance is not for me anymore. I have worn fragrances like Lolita and others similar for over a decade and I guess I'm over that style now. Its a nice fragrance if you're looking for a warm fruity floral with an ambery drydown though....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shanx on 2/1/2013 2:15:00 AM more reviews by shanx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was shocked by this perfume...in a bad way. I have loved most of Guelain's perfumes. Sure I may not choose to wear some of them but I can appreciate them. This...nope no sell.
It felt I had strayed into the "celebrity fragrance" section of the fragrance department. Sweet, fruity, blackcurrant...just no from me on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Fragrances products