MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 1/13/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have to say much as the others have said it all - perfect shade of red for anyone / everyday / newbies to red lippies. It does have a hint of orange to it but i mostly find this attribute when it fades. When it's fresh on, all i see is the nice cherry yet subdued red which instatntly brightens my face. I love everything about this lipstick. I'm NC20 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChelsSos on 11/5/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by ChelsSos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

So here's what you need to know about this shade - I got it because I wanted to be trendy at the time and do the "Taylor Swift" thing where she did the red lips and the cat eyes with liquid black mascara, but I felt like I couldn't pull off red and was anxious about purchasing a lip color. So the friendly girl at the Macy's MAC counter (who had incidentally picked my favorite lipstick of all time two years back from when I went to my high school prom) put this one on me.

Here are the pros - I am not a very bold make-up person I like neutrals and I wasn't ready for a cherry red. This red has a slight orange tint and has the ability to go on very sheer or be built up heavily and it stains nicely so that when it does wear off its not like you never were wearing lipstick.

Here are the cons - The taste is AWFUL! It is like eating a crayon and it smells that way too. I don't really feel it stays very long but I also just apply and go without any effort to make it stick. I usually tend to suggest a 3 to 4 layer process if one is going to be serious about wearing their lipstick. (reminder: 1.moisturize; if necessary 2.line 3.lipstick 4.glaze)

Anywho! I can't stand the taste so I will probably re-shop when I run-out and find a new brand. If not well, beauty is pain my ladies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Annelien1987 on 8/23/2013 3:14:00 PM more reviews by Annelien1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great lipstick. Very smooth, pigmented and soft. Easy to wear red for everyday.
I also love the name, so cute :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xmaac on 5/7/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by xmaac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm loving this colour! It's perfect to wear everday/casually, it's a bit darker and more subtle compared to ruby woo. I would say it's a good beginner red lipstick for people who are still hesistant to try brighter reds. Out of the red lipsticks I tried on at MAC (ruby woo, russian red & ladybug) I would say that this red was the most suitable for my fair asian skin tone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 3/14/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice sheer red, feels supple on the lips, but it slids around too much for me to really love it. I have to be careful how much I apply, and how much I rub my lips together, or else it ends up seeping out over my lip line.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennc91 on 3/11/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by jennc91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am rating this lipstick a 5 stars because this is the best shade of red I have ever worn. This works well on every skin type including fair skin types. Since it has a yellowish undertone, the color is not overly red. The only thing that annoys me sometimes is how sheer it gets since it is a lustre lipstick. It is also a buildable color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveisblind1 on 12/27/2012 4:52:00 AM more reviews by loveisblind1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I believe this lipstick is best suited for yellow or olive based skin tones. I'm a fair skinned yellow based skin tone (fair asian skin) and this is the best red I've used thus far. Russian Red is better for neutral or cool toned women, or dark skin. But Russian Red looked too bold on me. I tend to shy away from red, worried I will look too clownish. But this lipstick, with one coat, is not too bold but gives a great color payoff and beautiful luster. Two coats or more obviously makes it more bold but the creaminess and slight luster keeps it from looking too severe.


The sales lady said it had orange tones in it. I have mid color berry lips and I bring out the pink in many lipsticks. So while I could see a little bit of orange, it also came out a little pink for me because of my natural lip color. But the little bit of orange (pretty subtle) gives the lipstick a little warmth, which compliments warm skin tones. I can imagine this lipstick still looking great on fair skin cool toned gals if they paired it with the right blush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 koreancutie on 12/8/2012 2:35:00 AM more reviews by koreancutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I usually find it hard to wear red, it always somehow clashes with my skin but lady bug is my perfect red. It's not a fussy red, I don't wear lipliner with it and can just slick it on and head out the door. If I ever run out of it, I would probably repurchase, however I'm not a huge lipstick fan so idk if that will ever happen lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 notquitesleeping on 9/24/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by notquitesleeping

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been searching for a red that is perky, subtle and a great day-time wear. I feel comfortable wearing this to work and still have that powerful, pulled-together feeling that accompanies red lipstick. It's on the tomato side, but has a warmth to it, almost berry-ish in lower lighting. Either way, I feel I can completely avoid the "clown" look that I felt when I put on Russian Red (and I LOVE matte lipstick). Best part is, I don't have to apply with a mirror, or even wear liner for it to look polished. Better alternative to bright gloss, with a similar wear time. Very moisturizing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 plasticbambi on 9/19/2012 2:35:00 PM more reviews by plasticbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite red lipstick I've used up to now. I think it works very well with my light-med olive skin tone. The lasting power could be better but the moisturizing power is awesome. The color goes on sheer and is very easy to build. Looks great either way. This is a great starter red or shy girl color. This color always looks good and never overdone. I will def repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products