MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 koreancutie on 12/8/2012 2:35:00 AM more reviews by koreancutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I usually find it hard to wear red, it always somehow clashes with my skin but lady bug is my perfect red. It's not a fussy red, I don't wear lipliner with it and can just slick it on and head out the door. If I ever run out of it, I would probably repurchase, however I'm not a huge lipstick fan so idk if that will ever happen lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 notquitesleeping on 9/24/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by notquitesleeping

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been searching for a red that is perky, subtle and a great day-time wear. I feel comfortable wearing this to work and still have that powerful, pulled-together feeling that accompanies red lipstick. It's on the tomato side, but has a warmth to it, almost berry-ish in lower lighting. Either way, I feel I can completely avoid the "clown" look that I felt when I put on Russian Red (and I LOVE matte lipstick). Best part is, I don't have to apply with a mirror, or even wear liner for it to look polished. Better alternative to bright gloss, with a similar wear time. Very moisturizing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 plasticbambi on 9/19/2012 2:35:00 PM more reviews by plasticbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite red lipstick I've used up to now. I think it works very well with my light-med olive skin tone. The lasting power could be better but the moisturizing power is awesome. The color goes on sheer and is very easy to build. Looks great either way. This is a great starter red or shy girl color. This color always looks good and never overdone. I will def repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 msfrost on 7/25/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by msfrost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a boring red. That's right, a boring red lipstick. The formula is great, like all MAC lipsticks, it's smooth and easy to apply, but the color in this one is just SO dull! It reminds me of a girl with zero attitude who is trying to look fierce and gets it all wrong. Horrible.

-EDIT-
Well, it's been growing on me. I still don't love it, but I've worn it a couple of times with lipgloss and it's all right. A red that allows you to play up the cat eyeliner. Still won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LuHu82 on 7/1/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Moisturising formula, great orangey red colour. As it's a lustre it goes on quite sheer, so it is very wearable as a muted 'day' red or you can blot and build layers for a more dense colour. It is a very versatile shade and an ideal red for anyone who is a bit scared of reds and wants to ease in a bit first.


Wear time ? Not great, because of the super light lustre formula. For me, about 2.5-3 hrs without eating etc, but it doesn't claim to be long wearing and reapplication is no hardship.


The smell is the usual MAC vanilla frosting smell, which I'm not mad about but I can live with.


The packing is the usual black/grey and silver bullet shaped tube. Understated. Iconic.


The price ? 13.50 in the UK (approx $20 USD at time of writing!) which is fine for a mid range l/s in the UK but compared to the MAC US price it is again a bit galling, as you pay UK drugstore prices for MAC (I try not to be bitter ;o) )


Buy again? Yes, because it is a fab 'go anywhere' red at a reasonable price from a respected brand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lerinpalmer on 6/22/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by lerinpalmer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite red! It looks surprisingly natural and gives me that cherry stained lips look. A must buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 groovymutation on 5/11/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by groovymutation

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hands down, the best lipstick I've ever worn. The color is fabulous and looks, surprisingly, rather natural. It doesn't clump up, even on dry lips, and it's fairly long-lasting. This red would work for any skin tone (I'm NW15, fwiw) and is very vintage 40s without being too fire truck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missty86 on 2/26/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by missty86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

i love this shade of bright red! it goes perfect wtih my indian skin tone (nc42). i have tried plenty of other red lipsticks from drugstores but they always looked horrible on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeighS on 2/9/2012 7:43:00 AM more reviews by LeighS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

With my very pale skin and reddish blonde hair it has been so hard to find a red lipstick that I can wear. But this is a beautiful warm red and it is just stunning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xBl0cPartyx on 1/29/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favourite lipsticks from MAC! I adore red lips and now that my hair is black, I've really gotten into the whole black hair, red lips thing. However, I'm more of a natural makeup, MLBB girl and I'm afraid of walking around with over the top lip colour as my lips are quite full. So I like to work into it slowly and this is a *perfect* beginner's red, with yellow undertones, it's not loud at all.
*
One swipe across the lips leaves a beautiful sheer wash of red. Two swipes is decent coverage. but not full coverage. I love that it's buildable. It's very wearable for day time as it really doesn't stand much, it's not as intense as Russian Red or Ruby Woo AT ALL for example, although it does look very pigmented in the tube. It has a beautiful sheen to it, not too much (I'm not a fan of shiny lips) but not matte either. I find that it looks fun and brightens up my face
*
I *always* apply MAC lipsticks with balm underneath them and I recommend this to everyone because then there wouldn't be as many complaints about dryness and you could just enjoy beautiful colour. Just a simple step people! I would find this drying without balm but then again I always apply balm because I'm always smiling and laughing and I find that my lips get dried out easily because of that.
*
I have no idea which lipstick that is in the picture for the product, but it is definitely NOT lady bug. I would definitely purchase again. Looking at Dubonnet next! :D (for reference I'm roughly NC37-NC40).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products