Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(153 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dhook on 6/19/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by dhook

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. Doesn't completely give a matte finish right away but when used under my makeup, it really does keep shine down for the duration of my day (approx 10-12hrs). Even when traveling across the country for work - with different climates, it does it's job.

I apply to the areas that get the shiniest for me during the day - IE: forehead, t-zone & chin. A little goes quite a way too. Does great with a BB cream and light finishing powder & I'm set.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Flassie on 6/7/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Flassie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really like this. It is not amazing, and does not totally mattify my super oily skin. However, it does make it take a bit longer before I look like a complete grease ball. I also like that it have SPF 15, which is enough for me on a daily basis. Also I find that when using this in the morning I don't need to use a moisturizer in the morning (I still use a heavy moisturizer in the pm).

I don't know if I will buy it again, because I think there might be something better, but it does a good job.... just don't expect any miracles.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luineumaiel on 6/5/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by luineumaiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you:
- Expect to spend the whole day in an air conditioned environment
- Wear really light makeup (moisturiser, tinted moisturiser, powder foundation, finishing/setting powder)
- Have normal/combination skin

then this product will stay COMPLETELY PUT for you for almost 12 hours. I tell you this not by just my own experience, but also that of 3 of my other friends' experience. I find that I don't have to blot, I don't have to wipe off fallouts, nothing. For rather clear skinned people who don't like caking on too much make-up, this is a fantastic buy instead of liquid foundations or tinted moisturisers.

Other benefits of this product:
- It's got SPF 15 WITHOUT the greyish cast - That's GREAT news for dark skinned girls like myself
- You can skip makeup primer with this
- Doesn't settle into fine lines or make your pores look bigger
- I am acne-prone, and I find that it doesn't clog my pores AT ALL.

This is really quite amazing for everyday wear if you're like me and don't have the time, patience or necessity for full coverage makeup.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 barbi11111 on 5/27/2013 4:51:00 AM more reviews by barbi11111

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

my skin is oily and acne prone.using it at the morning under make up. really amazing product !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 laurenheartsmakeup on 5/22/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by laurenheartsmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Words cannot describe how much I FREAKING hate this stuff. I was looking for something that would control my oily t-zone when I wore makeup, which is basically everyday. The directions told me to apply liberally so I did. Big mistake. About a week or two after I started using this as part of my regular routine, I started getting ugly breakouts. I even broke out on my forehead and cheeks which was weird because I usually only get breakouts on the lower half of my face. My chin was awful! The pimples I got were the deep, under the skin kind that you can't really pop. They were painful and embarrassing. All I wanted was to control my oil but instead I just got massive breakouts everywhere which are still healing from after 3 weeks of not using this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rydellpink on 5/7/2013 1:00:00 PM more reviews by rydellpink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't use this as a moisturizer. I use it as a primer. It works well on my skin, and I like that it has SPF. It keeps my skin from looking oily.

It can be drying, so I use a heavy cream at night. I haven't had any issues with breakouts from this product. I have been using it for several months and will continue to use it this summer.

The tube is large and will last a long time. I have already bought a back up of this product since I like it so much.

I paid $39.50 for mine at Sephora.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 austinxbradley on 4/15/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by austinxbradley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Seophora and got my makeup done, they used this primer and it worked great!
I suffer with oily skin and they gave me a sample, so my sister wanted to use it too.
It worked amazing on both of us. We went Sephora a few days later and spent $45 on ONE tube. First few weeks was AMAZING, then it slowly stopped working.
My face usually gets oily and shiney around 10 to 11 a.m.
But, this primer made it last until about 4 p.m.!
But one to two months later it just stopped working!
Me and my sister were both pissed. I use it ocasionally, but it's not the same as it was. I wouldn't waste my money on this, But if your skin is not too oily, try it out.
My tube of this is still full.
What a waste of $45.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 3/20/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have extremely oily skin naturally...although it's been quite dry since I've started aggressively treating some hormonal acne (with Murad's acne kit) and this lotion was simply too matte. I couldn't even wear it, it was difficult to spread and started flaking when I tried to blend makeup over it. Oh well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrrUrr on 2/1/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by UrrUrr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ooh great product, works well on me to control the oilies. (disclaimer: I have normal skin that tends to oil up only towards the end of the day) However I do not think that this is a good standalone moisturiser. Even though the instructions seem to imply that this can be used as a moisturiser, I feel that it is more of a mattifier. It is very "dry" and has no slip. Therefore, I apply another moisturiser beneath it and put this mattifier on as the last step of my skincare routine.

Less is more for this. I use only a little for my entire face. If I over apply, my skin will peel around my nose. The smell doesn't bother me and I do not find it strong. It dissipates pretty quickly, in less than a minute.

I like this so much that I have ditched my primers. I use this as a primer now. My foundation can last for more than 12h and still look decently fresh. (not perfect, of course but ok without touchups) In fact, I used a primer over it the other day (Benefit's Pore-fessional) and I thought that my skin was worse off as it turned even oilier than usual towards the end of the day.

I like Murad's products and I am slowly switching over even though they are expensive (and way marked up in my country) I would totally buy this again but I'm guessing this tube I have will last me for about a year :D

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Skatax2 on 12/17/2012 4:40:00 AM more reviews by Skatax2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered this online, since it's not available in my country, without trying it first based on its great reviews. I've been using this over my regular moisturizer every morning for the past 8 months as a mattifier and I can't say I am impressed with the results.. Apart from the strong smell many reviewers have mentioned I find myself blotting after 3-4 hours after using this.. I even tried using this alone as a moisturizer and I find it not so moisturizing not even during summer!! I don't see the point in bying this product again, it's not working for me, it's not cheap and it smells weird.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products