John Frieda Root Awakening Strength Restoring Shampoo

3.5

78 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/3/2011 10:00:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have one word for this--LOVE!!! I just tried a sample of this,along with the conditioner, and it truly transformed my hair. First of all, the fragrance is like fresh minty, and so great! My hair has been through a lot with coloring, heat styling, and was prone to breakage,and was lacking shine:-(
But after using this, it's like.......whoa! It felt so smooth and silky, and the texture looked and felt thicker! This stuff makes your scalp feel really clean. I would definitely use again, along with other JF products. I highly recommend!:-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/2/2011 8:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I gave this product 2 lippies becuase
1) The bottle design is pretty
2) I really love the smell

Other than that this shampoo managed to BURN my neck!
as i was conditioning.... i left the conditioner in as i was shaving and after 2 minutes i started feeling a burning sensation on my neck!
I immediatly washed it out and rushed out of the shower, looked at my neck in the mirror and saw this HUGE burn mark.

Whatever is in this shampoo and conditioner that caused this burned i definetly DO NOT want to put in my hair.


on 8/11/2011 3:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i have dry/damaged breakage prone hair and a dry scalp prone to dandruff, and i have to say this product really helped!
DO NOT USE IF YOU HAVE AN OILY SCALP OR HAIR much better if your hair is dry because it is super nourishing, you massage it into your scalp which can make it a bit oilier. i have noticed improvement in my hair, less breakage and less fall out, after about 3 months, however i also use hair masks and split end sealants.
all in all, worthwhile if your hair is dry/damaged, not very good for volume, i didnt originally like the smell but it grew on me, very refreshing, ok for shine (though i always cold rinse at the end to lock in shine and smooth cuticle) but could be better for reducing dandruff

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2011 12:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a definitely no go for me.
Before I got this, I had been using the L'Oreal EverStrong Sulfate-free shampoo and condition, and my hair actually looked really, really healthy. I have fine hair (but a lot of it) with a bit of a wave to it, and before I started sulfate-free shampoo/conditioner, my hair looked bushy and frizzy 90% of the time.
When I first used this, I LOVED it. It smells great (it smells minty and refreshing with eucalyptus), and after the first wash, my hair felt light and soft and wonderful. After the second wash, however, it started feeling bushy again, and very frizzy. It looked awful.
Also, while washing, I DEFINITELY needed a conditioner. My hair felt stripped of moisture.
Also, usually I can go every other day without washing my hair. By the end of the day, my hair had been getting oily. Forget going another day without washing it.
Just a bonus con for me: The scent didn't last. I'm used to my hair smelling nice over to the next day. For this, the scent is lost as soon as I dry my hair. Bonus FAIL.

I will definitely NOT repurchase. I guess my hair just prefers sulfate-free.


on 7/21/2011 5:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

FAIL.
I have slightly dry (on the ends) but otherwise normal and healthy hair. My hair when left undone after a shampoo tend to take on really nice waves which I use to my advantage a LOT ;). When I go to work after a headwash and no comb touching my hair, I get so many compliments. Restores my faith in the fact that God made us all pretty low maintenance until we messed it all up with stupid complications :D.

Anyway, so after I used this shampoo, my waves DIED! Gasp! My hair fell flat on my shoulders with no bounce/life in them at all. It didnt feel soft to the touch at all.


on 7/13/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I hated that smell. I just can't stand menthol, or mint, or spearmint, peppermint, or any other mint-like scent.

No tingle, and no real sign of improvement. Another gimmick, but the bottle is pretty!


on 7/7/2011 10:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love the smell of this shampoo but sadly that's about all I love about it. I am looking for a new shampoo and conditioner because I"m trying to save money and the Nexxus I use is costly. I have long, medium fine hair and a lot of it. Root Awakenings left my hair really dry, especially at the ends. My roots were really greasier than usual by the end of the day which is really irritating. I also have noticed more hair coming out in the shower than usual so I will not be buying this shampoo again. :(


on 4/24/2011 3:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Nothing special about this shampoo. Tried it as the bottle seemed nice and I saw lots of advertising in subways and TV. The smell is nice but I didnt see any major improvement.


on 4/3/2011 10:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My hair is relatively thin, colored, has some heat damage on the ends, and gets very oily very quickly. I tend to stay away from "drugstore" hair care products like Pantene, Herbal Essences, Garnier, Aussie, etc. These do nothing to control my oil or lock in my color. I typically only buy Redken, Pureology, Biolage, etc. as these work much better for me. I knew this wouldn't be up to par with the more expensive brands, but I did like the John Frieda Smooth Start shampoo & conditioner so I decided to give this a try since I had been noticing my hair shedding more than usual.
This really did nothing for me. I liked the minty eucalyptus smell and the tube shape of the bottle, but that's it. It did not control my oil at all. My hair would look nice and shiny and healthy for a few hours after showering, but after 5-6 hours, my hair was a greasy mess. It also did nothing to restore any strength to my hair. After finishing the bottle, my hair was still breaking and shedding as much as it was before. This also tangled my hair like crazy (and the Root Awakening conditioner did nothing to help). Some people say you need to use this for 3+ months to see results, but I didn't want to waste my money on this anymore.


on 3/28/2011 10:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really enjoy using this product. Right now I'm on my 2nd bottle (of the breakage-prone) shampoo and conditioner. It smalls fantastic! I have read in a few publications that eucalyptus improves the quality of the hair follicle after 3 months of use. This is one of the few products that contains eucalyptus and smells great. I have noticed a difference after almost 5 months of use. I have less shedding in the shower and my hair looks very shiny and healthy. I have thin hair, and I don't feel like this product weighs it down like many others often do. I would recommend this product and I will continue to use it myself. All pro's and NO cons :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
396 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
327 Reviews


Top Rated John Frieda Products

Back to Top