Physicians Formula • Shimmer Strips Custom Blush & Highlighter • Blush

rated 3.8(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rimmela on 1/1/2011 2:16:00 PM more reviews by rimmela

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely stunning to the eye. Love the packaging, and vibrancy of the waves of pink. Love the shimmer. Gives a very light pink sweep of radiance. Can be used as a highlighter alone. Can also pick and choose which shades to use. I like to pair the 3 darkest pink shades with a blush and use the first and/or second white/light pink shades to highlight. A 2 in 1 product. However, I don't see this working quite as well on skin that is tanned or darker (not enough pigmentation).

UPDATE: I like this, but it is a bit hard to wear without looking too frosty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amyboox on 12/12/2010 3:34:00 PM more reviews by amyboox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this product looking for a good highlighter. This works super well as a blush! When you probably blend it out, it gives a very nice light flushed glow and the glitter in this isn't out of your mind. I could totally see myself using this more often! However, this doesn't really do the trick for highlighting. The lightest shade is still very pink, so it fails on that point. The consistency is very powdery so be prepared for a mess!
Overall, I think this is a very good product as a blush, not so good as a highlighter, and expensive for a drugstore product at full price. If you have medium tone to dark tone skin, you do not want this as a blush. It would probably be a brilliant highlighter though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawl_1015 on 9/27/2010 12:55:00 AM more reviews by dawl_1015

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

At first I really hated this. I bought this as a duo pack, with the Shimmer Strips Waikiki bronzer, and I was looking forward to using it as a blush. The blush shade is "Healthy Glow", and in the compact it's a very pretty gradient effect from pure white to dark pink. Unfortunately though, it doesn't work well as a blush at all. When I put it on, it was just shimmery and practically white/iridescent, with no trace of pink or color at all. I was really mad because I'd been looking forward to using it, and it did absolutely nothing blush-like. (I'm very tanned)


I ended up purchasing a cheaper blush from the ELF collection (that actually does what "blush" is supposed to do), and I fell in love with it, and didn't give this one a second thought... until yesterday. I ran out of MAC highlighter last week, and was planning on a trip to the MAC counter this week to replace it. Randomly I was cleaning out my makeup cases, and came across this. Absent mindedly I swatched it on my hand, reminissing over it's disappointing white irridescent shimmer... and then it hit me, use it as a highlighter! So I tried it out on my cheeks and brow bone/inner corners etc and I love it, it's perfect!


It blends smoothly, doesn't cake, and can be applied sparingly for a more natural/sheer effect, or you can layer it to build the shimmer. And best of all, it was already in my makeup case so it saved me $30 for whatever I would've bought at MAC. The final effect is similar to what I get with a Bobbi Brown shimmer brick, just an irridescent shimmer on my cheeks. I will definately repurchase this again if I need to, but I have a ton in the compact so I definately won't have to for quite a while. All in all, this is awesome as a highlighter... and if you can get it to work as a blush, then I give you serious props... it just didn't work for me. As a blush it will probably work way better for those with paler skin tones, because the pink color would probably show up better... but I have a really dark tan, so on me it's just white and shimmery and the pink is very subtle. Either way, I'm happy with it now! :)


EDIT: Even though this is pink, it's gorgeous as an eyeshadow! I don't even wear eyeshadow alot of the time cause it just doesn't look good on me, but this is so sheer and actually looks beautiful and isn't an obvious bright pink. It's very subtle and looks natural, which is surprising because I was skeptical because of the color. My eyes are green and for some reason it really makes them stand out. I love this, people notice my eye color and not my eyeshadow!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HelloKittyHun on 7/9/2010 12:38:00 AM more reviews by HelloKittyHun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking at the MAC MSF's today that came out in the new In the Groove collection, but none of them looked good on me. There was Soft and Gentle which was a highlighter shade, but I didn't want to fork over $28 for just a highlighter.

So I decided to check out CVS as to what they had in their cosmetic isle. I stumbled upon these things. They were quite pricey for a drugstore brand, but $12 is better than $28.

I chose the one in "Natural Glow" because that's what I wanted, a natural glow.There was also a pink one, (the one in the picture), but I decided that these light brown shades might be a bit more natural looking.
I got home and I tried it out with my MAC 109 brush, and it was pretty good. A little bit DEFINITELY goes a long way with this product. So I can see myself using this for a while. The only problem is that, it is very shimmery/glittery. Maybe even a little more than I'd like. But I think that also has to deal with the brush I'm using, the 109 is quite dense and picks up too much product.

So for those people who are saying it's tooo much, try look at your brush. It's best to use a brush like the MAC 188 to highlight your cheeks. A small stippling brush is good. Or a smaller less dense brush. Because that way you get a more sheer application that you can build upon. Don't go for something too dense like the 109 or the 116.

Overall, good product, but I wish they toned down the shimmer just a little bit. The reason I wouldn't buy it again is because I might wanna try something new because I like testing out different things. Not because this is a bad product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Burberrylove on 4/8/2010 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Burberrylove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Good as a blush and eyeshadow. I apply it wet onto my eyes. I got it in Rosy Glow and the white is perfect for highlighting the inside corner of my eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsangelrr on 2/22/2010 11:43:00 PM more reviews by mrsangelrr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely adore this product in sun-kissed glow! Definitely a good alternative to Bobbi Brown's Shimmer Brick in pink. For the price I will purchase this product again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mbellej on 10/15/2009 2:22:00 PM more reviews by mbellej

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product would be wonderful on a younger skin. As I am getting older I am finding that the shimmery type blushes are really difficult to wear especially if the shimmer is really chunky. I love the colour but not the shimmer. Again wish it came in a non shimmer formulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shaunix3 on 10/14/2009 9:22:00 PM more reviews by shaunix3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I found this in a bonus package with the shimmer strips bronzer, and I have to say, I do love it. I don't use it often, but when I do I'm happy with it. I consider it pretty cheap because I got both the blush and bronzer for $10. Pretty good deal

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucy2688 on 10/14/2009 2:20:00 PM more reviews by lucy2688

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have this product in Healthy Glow, and I have to say I do really like it. The pinks in it really caught my eye. They are very pretty and vibrant. I don't normally wear blush, since my cheeks tend to be rosy already, but I figured I'd start trying some out.
I have to agree with other reviews, this product does not have a lot of pigment in it, which is something I was kind of hoping for. When I use it, I sweep my brush across all colors equally. It creates a very light, but pretty pink shade, that give my cheeks a subtle coloring and a nice glow. Also, I do love that it doubles as an eyeshadow. Since I really fell in love with the pinks, it's an added bonus that I can use each different color as an eyeshadow. The packaging is also great. It's in a thick, lucite case, which is extremely durable - Much better than other Physicians Formula packaging.
Overall, I like it. I wish it did have more pigment in it, but since I have pretty fair skin, it works okay; again, it's very subtle. The price in my area was about $10 - Which is okay since this product does double as an eyeshadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyaddict1982 on 10/6/2009 9:24:00 PM more reviews by beautyaddict1982

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Healthy Glow is What I Have N so far I like I do however only use as a eyeshadow Nothing else and it's very pretty...will update...if anything changes!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Blush products