Sally Hansen insta-dri petal pusher

3.1

48 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/24/2012 6:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very lovely nude peach color. I had been eyeing MACís Myth nail polish but I did not want to spend that much on a nail polish. This color unlike other Insta dri colors requires to coats to show up. Love it will repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/2/2012 3:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Petal pusher is a pale peach-nude nail polish. It goes really well on the application,it brings a soft nude color to the nails! Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2012 12:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very streaky, dries way too fast.


on 9/13/2012 6:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This nail polish SUCKS! I've used it three times already and every single time, without fail, there are air bubbles. It drives me insane! The brush is bad and the polish goes on goopy. The "Insta-Dri" is also a bit misleading because although it appears to dry fast, it is still wet enough that the polish can get messed up. I ended up waiting for it to dry as long as I do for my non-insta polishes.

The color is nice, but not worth buying!


on 9/9/2012 11:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have to agree with the reviewer before me. This is pretty bad nail polish- as far as formula and packaging goes. The ONLY wonderful thing about this Petal Pusher polish is the color-- and that's it! If I could find a dupe of this color in any other (better) brand, I would definitely buy it! But my reasons for not liking this Sally Hansen polish are listed here:

1) Brush is HORRIBLE! Too wide, and fibers are cheap and "hard." A piece broke off and stuck to my nail on the first swipe, and I had to pick it off my nail and out of the polish before it dried. tsk, tsk...

2) The polish is too goopy, and it seems almost impossible to avoid bubbling. I haven't had bubbles in my manicures in years... but this one managed to defy the odds. Every single nail is chock full of bubbles, thanks to Sally Hansen insta-dri Petal Pusher. Good thing my Poshe topcoat was able to smooth them over and make them hard to detect- except if you look closely.

3) This polish dries rather dull, so you "need" a glossy topcoat to pick this one up.

4) Overall, I think this polish is way overpriced (I paid about $7 for it) for the poor packaging and performance.

What I did like (and mentioned before) is the perfect color! I have quite a few "nude" polishes, and this one looks best with my skin coloring without having to add decorations or white stripes (ala French manicure) to "fix" the death-look on my fingers. I also had no problems with chipping... I have been wearing this for 3 days now, and not one nick or chip yet. That could be because I put 2 topcoats on: Zoya Armor- and then Poshe on top of that- after Armor dried. Anyway, I would not buy this Insta-dri polish again- despite the great color- because it is not worth the frustration of applying it.


on 7/28/2012 8:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the WORST nail polish I have ever purchased. The only possible upside is the colors are nice. But the brush is awful and can't put on an even coat without being gloppy and gross, when it dries (20 minutes later) it is still tacky. A day later, it starts to chip and by 2 days later, I remove it. Don't trust this with the gimmick of "fast drying". Never buying again!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2012 9:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This nail polish just didn't work for my skin tone I guess. One coat you couldn't even notice, and two or more and it looked like I had the nails of a dead person. The consistency was goopy from the start. I will not be buying again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this color. Its my go-to for neutral nails. Shiney, perfect combo of pale petal pink and beige. Dries super fast and lasts. Been using it for a few years now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2012 1:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Awful. I bought this brand on account of the reviews here. I picked up petal pusher b/c it seemed like a pretty neutral. I should have stuck with Maybelline Express Finish. No doubt about it. This product is only good for one coat, which, frankly, doesn't do much for me. I've tried to apply a second coat three times now and it consistently ends up looking uneven and sloppy. I've had to move myself into bright lighting and concentrate like a jedi; Hardly the goal when it comes to "easy" nail polish. I have no such problems with Maybelline Express Finish -- it is so easy to apply in a neutral that I do it at stop lights (stoplights where I live are 2-3 minutes long + no I'm not talking my entire hand!). The brush on this product is aggravating, and the end result is anything but polished looking. Bad job, Sally Hanson!


on 11/20/2011 9:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this color, sweet and romantic looking. Great for bridal if you're looking for a subtle sweet image.

I usually put 2-3 layers, depending on how thin of the layers I put. Of course the thinner the better--dries faster and allows you to layer more to your preference of transparency. I find that the first thin coat I put usually dries within a minute.

I'm sure people have their preference of the thickness of brushes. Once I tried the thick fat brushes, I can't go back to the thin ones. I have wide nail beds, so the fat brush only takes me 2-3 strokes to have my nails covered evenly. If I use thin brushes, it tends to take me 4-6 strokes, which makes the polish looks very streaky, or if in-between strokes the polish dries up a bit, I'd mess it up and end up doing the whole nail again. Also, the tip of the brush is rounded, so it's easy to achieve smooth edge at the base of the nail where the cuticle meets.

I can't tell you much about how long it lasts, because I tend to change nail polish every few days. I also don't use base or top coats. And even though I don't use base coats, this polish never turns my nail yellow.

I will buy this again, and I already have several bottles of these! However the price is on the high-average range from drugstore.

UPDATE 28 Dec'11: I know I said I really love this nail polish, but only because I didn't know any better. Recently I tried Orly and China Glaze (colors that I liked, and also had good reviews on MUA), and I have to say now I know the difference between drug store and salon brands! The Insta-Dri chips a lot quicker, and I find that by the time1/3 of the bottle is used, the nail polish starts getting really streaky. It also dries a lot thinner, whereas Orly or China Glaze dries like it has a layer of lacquer on it as it should. Even though some colors of Insta-Dri are really nice, I'm not sure if I'll buy them anymore. However this line is still a lot better than some other drug store brands, and that's why I only took one lippie off.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
130 Reviews
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
345 Reviews
Nail Polish
212 Reviews


Back to Top