Sally Hansen • insta-dri petal pusher • Polishes

rated 3.1(46 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 10/21/2012 12:56:00 AM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very streaky, dries way too fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chetorasti on 9/13/2012 6:41:00 PM more reviews by chetorasti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This nail polish SUCKS! I've used it three times already and every single time, without fail, there are air bubbles. It drives me insane! The brush is bad and the polish goes on goopy. The "Insta-Dri" is also a bit misleading because although it appears to dry fast, it is still wet enough that the polish can get messed up. I ended up waiting for it to dry as long as I do for my non-insta polishes.

The color is nice, but not worth buying!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 9/9/2012 11:39:00 AM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to agree with the reviewer before me. This is pretty bad nail polish- as far as formula and packaging goes. The ONLY wonderful thing about this Petal Pusher polish is the color-- and that's it! If I could find a dupe of this color in any other (better) brand, I would definitely buy it! But my reasons for not liking this Sally Hansen polish are listed here:

1) Brush is HORRIBLE! Too wide, and fibers are cheap and "hard." A piece broke off and stuck to my nail on the first swipe, and I had to pick it off my nail and out of the polish before it dried. tsk, tsk...

2) The polish is too goopy, and it seems almost impossible to avoid bubbling. I haven't had bubbles in my manicures in years... but this one managed to defy the odds. Every single nail is chock full of bubbles, thanks to Sally Hansen insta-dri Petal Pusher. Good thing my Poshe topcoat was able to smooth them over and make them hard to detect- except if you look closely.

3) This polish dries rather dull, so you "need" a glossy topcoat to pick this one up.

4) Overall, I think this polish is way overpriced (I paid about $7 for it) for the poor packaging and performance.

What I did like (and mentioned before) is the perfect color! I have quite a few "nude" polishes, and this one looks best with my skin coloring without having to add decorations or white stripes (ala French manicure) to "fix" the death-look on my fingers. I also had no problems with chipping... I have been wearing this for 3 days now, and not one nick or chip yet. That could be because I put 2 topcoats on: Zoya Armor- and then Poshe on top of that- after Armor dried. Anyway, I would not buy this Insta-dri polish again- despite the great color- because it is not worth the frustration of applying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CatTheBlond on 7/28/2012 8:01:00 PM more reviews by CatTheBlond

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the WORST nail polish I have ever purchased. The only possible upside is the colors are nice. But the brush is awful and can't put on an even coat without being gloppy and gross, when it dries (20 minutes later) it is still tacky. A day later, it starts to chip and by 2 days later, I remove it. Don't trust this with the gimmick of "fast drying". Never buying again!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrianaRynae on 7/24/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by BrianaRynae

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This nail polish just didn't work for my skin tone I guess. One coat you couldn't even notice, and two or more and it looked like I had the nails of a dead person. The consistency was goopy from the start. I will not be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 my4kidsarecuter on 4/14/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by my4kidsarecuter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this color. Its my go-to for neutral nails. Shiney, perfect combo of pale petal pink and beige. Dries super fast and lasts. Been using it for a few years now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CaroSaid on 3/1/2012 1:22:00 AM more reviews by CaroSaid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Awful. I bought this brand on account of the reviews here. I picked up petal pusher b/c it seemed like a pretty neutral. I should have stuck with Maybelline Express Finish. No doubt about it. This product is only good for one coat, which, frankly, doesn't do much for me. I've tried to apply a second coat three times now and it consistently ends up looking uneven and sloppy. I've had to move myself into bright lighting and concentrate like a jedi; Hardly the goal when it comes to "easy" nail polish. I have no such problems with Maybelline Express Finish -- it is so easy to apply in a neutral that I do it at stop lights (stoplights where I live are 2-3 minutes long + no I'm not talking my entire hand!). The brush on this product is aggravating, and the end result is anything but polished looking. Bad job, Sally Hanson!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janetchan216 on 11/20/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by janetchan216

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this color, sweet and romantic looking. Great for bridal if you're looking for a subtle sweet image.

I usually put 2-3 layers, depending on how thin of the layers I put. Of course the thinner the better--dries faster and allows you to layer more to your preference of transparency. I find that the first thin coat I put usually dries within a minute.

I'm sure people have their preference of the thickness of brushes. Once I tried the thick fat brushes, I can't go back to the thin ones. I have wide nail beds, so the fat brush only takes me 2-3 strokes to have my nails covered evenly. If I use thin brushes, it tends to take me 4-6 strokes, which makes the polish looks very streaky, or if in-between strokes the polish dries up a bit, I'd mess it up and end up doing the whole nail again. Also, the tip of the brush is rounded, so it's easy to achieve smooth edge at the base of the nail where the cuticle meets.

I can't tell you much about how long it lasts, because I tend to change nail polish every few days. I also don't use base or top coats. And even though I don't use base coats, this polish never turns my nail yellow.

I will buy this again, and I already have several bottles of these! However the price is on the high-average range from drugstore.

UPDATE 28 Dec'11: I know I said I really love this nail polish, but only because I didn't know any better. Recently I tried Orly and China Glaze (colors that I liked, and also had good reviews on MUA), and I have to say now I know the difference between drug store and salon brands! The Insta-Dri chips a lot quicker, and I find that by the time1/3 of the bottle is used, the nail polish starts getting really streaky. It also dries a lot thinner, whereas Orly or China Glaze dries like it has a layer of lacquer on it as it should. Even though some colors of Insta-Dri are really nice, I'm not sure if I'll buy them anymore. However this line is still a lot better than some other drug store brands, and that's why I only took one lippie off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elambie on 11/12/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by elambie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this simply because I was in a wedding and didn't have a nude-ish nail polish in my travel bag. I quickly picked this up at Ulta and it really is fantastic. I do know that with this type of Sally Hansen polish stains my nails yellow, but that's easily avoided with a basic base coat. This color is MUCH more opaque than most Essie light nude pinks and my OPI Bubble Bath. I was in a hurry and only had time for two coats and I was more than surprised when I saw that it was completely opaque!! I use Seche Vite as a top coat so I never have any real troubles with chipping unless I'm doing a lot of hands on activities. A great, cheap classic polish!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edie4711 on 9/24/2011 11:25:00 AM more reviews by edie4711

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First the good news. The color is beautiful, a nice nudey pink that doesn't lean beige or yellow. It's super-shiny, particularly for a fast-dry polish, when it dries. If it dries. Because of the color and the shininess, I feel compelled to give it a 3.

This brings me to the bad news. I have no idea what these other manis in this review stack are looking like upon completion, but I agree with the one who said this doesn't ever really dry. It doesn't matter how long I wait between coats. 18 hours doesn't seem to be enough. Two coats in the morning--in the morning!--go to bed at a decent hour, I wake up with sheet marks. This is with or without basecoat. Same results either way.

I'm more willing to put up with this nonsense from a polish that does not claim to be fast-drying. I am assuming "Insta" is short for "Instant." My concept of "instant," Sally dear, differs from yours. Did you think 'Titanic' was a short film? When your life passed before your eyes the last time you got into a fender-bender, did it take all day? Do you pick up your prints from the one-hour photo place six weeks after placing your order?

With regard to application, I'm not sure whether to blame the awful brush or the formula for the streak festival this polish is. I hate that horrid brush. It is impossible to wipe off the stick part, because it's so fat, so it just stays covered in polish, which constantly runs down and re-loads the brush, which already carries too much polish to begin with. I did like the way the brush was curved/angled on one side--I appreciated being able to choose which side to use, and it did seem to help. But it's frickin' ginormous. Much too wide for my nails. I appreciate Sally's concern for my time, but it is OK with me to have to do more than one brushstroke per coat of polish. I don't have to try to coat my entire nail in one shot.

Application was a streaky mess on my wider nails, and too thick on the smaller ones. Bald right down the centers of my middle fingernails.

I am willing to go the extra mile to make this polish look nice, because the color is so appropriate for my skintone (NC20-25ish) and because it has that translucence I am after in a nude. I don't like straight-up opaque, wall-paint shades in a nude. So this is how I go the extra mile. I lay on a coat of this. Wait the ten years or so for it to dry. Then I buff it down with a rectangular buffer till the shine is gone and the surface is smooth. Lay down another coat. Wait. The kids grow up, they graduate from high school. Buff. Re-coat. Grandchildren arrive. Buff. Re-coat. I am in my hospital bed, signing the do-not-resuscitate order. Lay on a top coat. Finally, as I breathe my last, the mani is as it should be.

Thank goodness it was on sale for like $2 or I'd be really pissed.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products