MAC • Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack • Eyeliner

rated 3.1(241 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sivadore on 7/9/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by sivadore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have the MAC Wonder Woman Penultimate Eyeliner in Rapidblack (which looks like a jumbo magic marker), as well as a smaller normal version. Both are felt tip, and neither was a good investment.

The normal sized version is not very pigmented and it takes a long time to dry. You have to layer it in order do get a dark line, but you're more likely to smear rather than get a good line. It applies unevenly no matter how skilled you are.

The jumbo sized Wonder Woman version is actually much more pigmented, but the marker tip is so large it's impossible to use accurately. However, in choosing between a larger size and smaller size, the product works better with a larger size felt tip.

I would NEVER use this eyeliner over a finished eye look. The risk of messing up is just too high. The liner doesn't dry quick enough. If the tip is small, the pigment does not come out as strong. If you use the larger version, the pigment is strong but the likelihood of messing up is very high.

I have used this eyeliner first, before eyeshadow or primer, and I got better results because I could go back and remove areas where the felt tip applied the eyeliner unevenly . However, within a few hours, the liner transferred, faded, and wore off. If your eyes water at all, forget it, it's going to run like crazy.

I have uploaded a photo to show the finished look on the eye. This liner doesn't stand a chance against MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack or even Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black.

A felt tip liner is supposed to be convenient, but it takes way more time to fix the mistakes of this liner than it would to just use a gel liner and brush. This liner is a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 koreanabahnana on 7/6/2013 4:38:00 AM more reviews by koreanabahnana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge fan of felt tip eyeliners because they are easy to use. I am working on my second one at the moment and I am confused about how I feel about this product. My first purchase of this product was in June 2012, last year, and believe it or not, the product lasted me about 10 months, given the fact that this was my daily go-to eyeliner.I did store this product by putting it upside down. The packaging is great, it looks like a pen with a lid.The pigmentation was great, texture felt smooth and flexible, and there was no scent, and most importantly, long wearing. I loved it so much that I decided to buy a second one when I sensed the felt tip going dry. However, the second Rapidblack has been a disappointment so far. On my first try, I could barely draw a line on my lash line. I had to press the felt tip really hard to see the color payoff,which I do not like doing to my sensitive eyes. After first couple of uses, I stopped pressing so hard to get the color to come out, but I still have to push hard instead of having the pen glide on my eyes, like it should. I feel like I would repurchase this product because my first Rapidblack was amazing and surprisingly very long-lasting. I feel like or I hope I picked out a dried out Rapidblack out of all the regular ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 muneca217 on 6/30/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by muneca217

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Not pigmented at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Bella238 on 6/22/2013 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Bella238

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing to use, lovely precise line, I was very disappointed at the longevity though. I do have eyelids on the oily sides, but this breaks down within 2-3 hours on me which is the worst I've experienced in any liquid eyeliner- and I've tried a fare few.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 6/19/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Love the fine tip that allows precision for application, but like other reviewers have mentioned this dries out way to fast. I wore it daily for a week and a half and it's completely dry!! Thank goodness I can at least Back 2 MAC it. Definitely won't be wasting my money on repurchasing this liner again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lndydhr on 5/1/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by lndydhr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So so so disappointed. At first it works so well, the colour is intense and it glides through. But it dries so fast!!!! I only had about four run on this thing. And it smudges!! I applied it on 6 p.m and by 9 p.m I look like I have a black eye. Got this for HKD 170 (USD 22).Come on MAC, this is embarassing...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Heinsee on 4/11/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by Heinsee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I would never buy this again - it dries out so fast! Definitely make sure your lid is tightly closed. I checked that every time, but I think I only got five wears before it was dry. Not to mention it cracks and does not last long at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 marianaamorim on 3/22/2013 6:44:00 PM more reviews by marianaamorim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I waiting I quite more from MAC. The black of the product isn't intense when you use... I must pass 3 times to get a nice black! Shame on MAC!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 XOXBunniezzXOX on 12/10/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by XOXBunniezzXOX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I must say, I've always liked liquid eyeliners because of the intensity. I was quite new to shopping at MAC back then, so I was super excited to try this.

First time I went, it was actually sold out, huge bummer. Two weeks later, I finally came back to see it on display.

I gladly shelled out $22, hoping that it wouldn't dissapoint. And I bet my buttons, it works like a dream.

The tip is very fine, almost like a calligraphy pen. I always loved the look of black winged eyeliner, and this gives me a perfect wing. It's like using a sharpie, just open the lid and draw onto your eyelids. Staying power impressed me, I have such oily eyelids that within an hour, my makeup would decide to travel across to other parts of my face. This suprisingly, stayed put throughout the day. I'm still a student, so I wake up at 4:00am, do my makeup, leave the house, go to school, go to work, and I come back at around 6. That's more than 12 hours, and my eyeliner stills stay on my eyelids.

Pigmentation of the liner is great, it gives you a buildable intensity. I went over my line about twice to give a bold and edgy look.

One thing that I'm a bit dissapointed on is that the tip dried out really quick. I got a decent amount of uses out of it, but then it just completely died on me.

But all in all, I really reccomend this to people who are looking for an eyeliner that is bold, stays put throughout the day, and easy application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 localholyp on 11/25/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by localholyp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

HG! Used to use Stila waterproof liquid eyeliner but really glad I switched over - this one is less expensive anyway. I use it with MAC prep and prime eye vibrancy and it works better than any other liquid eyeliner I've tried! love the tip, really easy to apply, also the liner is very black. love it.

EDIT: Changed my review. I bought another one and it is just like a lot of the other reviews say - dried out super fast, barely black at all, I really don't understand why a brand new eyeliner would barely work. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products