MAC Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack

3.1

244 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/1/2014 8:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used many eyeliners of various types for fifteen years. I bought this because it had a firmer tip than the pen eyeliner I had been using before (stila) and thought it would help with precision. While it is more precise, there is basically no pigment...so precision is pointless when you have to put several layers on allowing for more chance of mistakes and smudging.

Will not buy again.



on 8/26/2013 7:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this eyeliner because the seller of MAC advised me that this is ideal for beginners like me in the art of eye liner.
It's very easy to use because it is in pen and the felt applicator adapts very easily to the shape of the eyelid.
However this eyeliner hasn't the finish and the pigmentation of a professional eye liner.
This is being the ideal for me to improve my technique but the next eye liner that I will buy gonna be a liquid eyeliner.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

It doesnt stay all day, just a few hours. But i love the way the brush follow de shape of ur eye so perfectly. Totally cool for beginners.. But i prefer something more professional for special occasions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2013 10:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have the MAC Wonder Woman Penultimate Eyeliner in Rapidblack (which looks like a jumbo magic marker), as well as a smaller normal version. Both are felt tip, and neither was a good investment.

The normal sized version is not very pigmented and it takes a long time to dry. You have to layer it in order do get a dark line, but you're more likely to smear rather than get a good line. It applies unevenly no matter how skilled you are.

The jumbo sized Wonder Woman version is actually much more pigmented, but the marker tip is so large it's impossible to use accurately. However, in choosing between a larger size and smaller size, the product works better with a larger size felt tip.

I would NEVER use this eyeliner over a finished eye look. The risk of messing up is just too high. The liner doesn't dry quick enough. If the tip is small, the pigment does not come out as strong. If you use the larger version, the pigment is strong but the likelihood of messing up is very high.

I have used this eyeliner first, before eyeshadow or primer, and I got better results because I could go back and remove areas where the felt tip applied the eyeliner unevenly . However, within a few hours, the liner transferred, faded, and wore off. If your eyes water at all, forget it, it's going to run like crazy.

I have uploaded a photo to show the finished look on the eye. This liner doesn't stand a chance against MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack or even Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black.

A felt tip liner is supposed to be convenient, but it takes way more time to fix the mistakes of this liner than it would to just use a gel liner and brush. This liner is a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am a huge fan of felt tip eyeliners because they are easy to use. I am working on my second one at the moment and I am confused about how I feel about this product. My first purchase of this product was in June 2012, last year, and believe it or not, the product lasted me about 10 months, given the fact that this was my daily go-to eyeliner.I did store this product by putting it upside down. The packaging is great, it looks like a pen with a lid.The pigmentation was great, texture felt smooth and flexible, and there was no scent, and most importantly, long wearing. I loved it so much that I decided to buy a second one when I sensed the felt tip going dry. However, the second Rapidblack has been a disappointment so far. On my first try, I could barely draw a line on my lash line. I had to press the felt tip really hard to see the color payoff,which I do not like doing to my sensitive eyes. After first couple of uses, I stopped pressing so hard to get the color to come out, but I still have to push hard instead of having the pen glide on my eyes, like it should. I feel like I would repurchase this product because my first Rapidblack was amazing and surprisingly very long-lasting. I feel like or I hope I picked out a dried out Rapidblack out of all the regular ones.


on 6/30/2013 1:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

Not pigmented at all.


on 6/22/2013 9:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Amazing to use, lovely precise line, I was very disappointed at the longevity though. I do have eyelids on the oily sides, but this breaks down within 2-3 hours on me which is the worst I've experienced in any liquid eyeliner- and I've tried a fare few.


on 6/19/2013 5:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love the fine tip that allows precision for application, but like other reviewers have mentioned this dries out way to fast. I wore it daily for a week and a half and it's completely dry!! Thank goodness I can at least Back 2 MAC it. Definitely won't be wasting my money on repurchasing this liner again.


on 5/1/2013 4:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So so so disappointed. At first it works so well, the colour is intense and it glides through. But it dries so fast!!!! I only had about four run on this thing. And it smudges!! I applied it on 6 p.m and by 9 p.m I look like I have a black eye. Got this for HKD 170 (USD 22).Come on MAC, this is embarassing...


on 4/11/2013 12:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I would never buy this again - it dries out so fast! Definitely make sure your lid is tightly closed. I checked that every time, but I think I only got five wears before it was dry. Not to mention it cracks and does not last long at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top