Revlon • Matte Lipstick • Lipstick

rated 4.5(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NerdyLibrarianGirl on 1/13/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a big Revlon lipstick fan, but the matte lipstick is a miss for me. I tried it in 003 "Mauve it Over"' which is a great colour, but man, they are not kidding when they say matte! This lipstick is way too drying for me! It sucked all moisture out of my lips and left them chapped, flakey, and irritated. Not for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sephorgasm on 9/24/2011 3:31:00 PM more reviews by sephorgasm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Can't say enough about these mattes! The product is comparable to MAC. I love Strawberry Suede the best, but I hear it's discontinued. I also recommend the nude for a super mod pale lip. I haven't worn Revlon lipstick since I was obsessed with Blackberry in highschool, but I'm back as a customer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SparkleBabyShine on 7/19/2011 2:40:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBabyShine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

cheap lipstick sucks. expenisve lipstick burns a hole in your pocket. revlon= just right. the price is worth it. stays on well. blends well. looks nice. i bought pink pout cant wait to try the others.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thecharm on 7/17/2011 10:31:00 PM more reviews by thecharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really, really love the Revlon Matte lipstick line. I have Nude Attitude, Pink Pout, Pink About It, Strawberry Suede, Really Red, In the Red, Wine Not, and Fabulous Fig. I'm thinking about getting Stormy Pink soon. The only color I've ever disliked enough to return was Sky Pink. These lipsticks are opaque, buildable, and totally matte. The matte finish looks super sophisticated on and they last for hours and hours, even through eating and drinking. The lipstick packaging--simple matte black, silver Revlon label, clear window--is my favorite in the drugstore. They will not condition your lips and they are dry... they're matte... but they won't ruin your lips either. Because they are matte, they will draw attention to any flakes on your lips--especially the pale shades--so make sure your lips are exfoliated and conditioned beforehand. They're so versatile because you can wear them matte, wear them over or under balm, or under gloss. The lasting power is impressive, even when the lipsticks are topped with a gloss or balm. I love the color range. There are some gorgeous colors in this line, as small as it is. Amazing. As other reviewers have said, this is like a high end collection got stuck in a drugstore twilight zone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slippingbeauty on 4/23/2011 4:18:00 PM more reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

All of the shades I have tried, with the exception of Mauve it Over, have been winners. They are all nicely pigmented and wear well. I haven't found them to be very drying, but I do wear a light balm underneath. My faves are Strawberry Suede (d/c) and Smoked Peach.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Belann on 2/22/2011 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Belann

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This lipstick does not bleed and is long lasting. I bought this based on the reviews here and I am so happy I did.

My favorite color is Pink of Me. It is one of the first pinks that look good on me. This shade is super for a day lipstrick. A lot of color and not too bright. For me, this has worked better than MAC as far as feather goes. I have been stocking up since lipstick shades are often discontinued.

Love the price..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 neddykapoozle on 1/22/2011 12:24:00 PM more reviews by neddykapoozle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I adore these lipsticks. If I wear lipsticks, I want them to be bold. I think, if I'm going to wear a MLBB shade or something like it, my own lips are probably fine. But these are great for the look I like, richly colored and matte. I either blot them on as a stain or do the whole lip liner, powder lips, apply from the bullet, use a lip brush routine for POW lips. I really like Strawberry Suede, In the Red, and Really Red. Love them with flicked black liner.

I don't find them drying, but I always apply some balm about 5 minutes before I put them on so I have a smooth canvas. Make sure your lips are exfoliated first. The packaging looks really nice, nothing you'd be ashamed to whip out and touch up with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beaumonde on 1/8/2011 11:23:00 AM more reviews by Beaumonde

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    


Revlon's Best - Matte Lipstick


All the reviews are right. There's not much more to add, really. Another rare case of cosmetic advertising being true AND accurate.

I was thrilled when these first came out. The colours that work for my skin tone are Strawberry Suede, Pink About It, Really Red and oddly enough, Mauve About It.


Re: MAUVE ABOUT IT ~

It's hard enough to do a good Nude Lip anyway, and doubly-so if you have medium/olive-toned skin. (You risk looking freshly enbalmed if you don't get it just right!) I apply a long-lasting strong base colour, wipe it off, line my lips and apply "Mauve About It" on top. And that works beautifully for me.


(My old stand-by, L'Oreal's Color Endure in 'Honey Honey' has long been discontinued).
I don't care for the 2 new shades to this line, though I can imagine it working for other skin tones.

Kudos to Revlon for this line of Matte Lipsticks for they've got it just right. It's matte but not flat, it doesn't dehydrate your lips like the first generation of matte lipsticks, the staying power is very good and the pricing is unbeatable. This line is small but well-edited with colours that would suit most skintones. They can be found for less than $7.00 in mass market retailers and are never over $11.00, even in pharmacies.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TrashyPanda on 12/25/2010 10:02:00 PM more reviews by TrashyPanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have this in fabulous fig and it is my favorite color out of all my revlon brand lipsticks. the color is sooo great on my skin tone, and ugh. its just fabulous. its rather close to my skin tone a bit, cuz i'm a rather red african american, but its soo lovely! i can c it looking good on anyone who's not too pale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lauriesworld on 12/25/2010 3:30:00 AM more reviews by Lauriesworld

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love these lipsticks! I have a couple different shades, and they all have great pigmentation! They stay on pretty well throughout the days, with little bleeding of the color, or smuding. They really brighten up a boring makeup day. They are matte, but aren't really drying either so you just have a goregeous color left on your lips. I <3 <3 <3 these lipsticks, they have the quality of highend but half the price. :]

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products