E.L.F. • Mineral Booster • Loose Powders

rated 4.1(94 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 beachsexybronze on 1/25/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have the boosters in Sheer AND Shimmer. I LOVE these. I mostly love the shimmer better. Here is why:

Sheer- This is sort of like a setting powder for me. There is no shimmer or glitter and it helps keep my oily skin intact. I've read that some say this is more of a pinkish tone, but it works so well for me (probably because i have pinkish/blue undertones). I love this as it makes my skin look nice and refreshed somewhat and gives me that airbrushed look. Its very similar to BE mineral veil but "slightly" tinted sort of. Although it works the same way for me. :)

Shimmer- I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS! It looks white until you shine it infront of a light you can see the pearly pinkish glowy color-but it is NOT glittery or overly shimmery. I cannot explain this, but it just gives you a SUPER "pregnancy" pretty glow! BE radiance I LOVE-but some of them are too shimmery (bare radiance I LOVE, but pure radiance is very shimmery for my oily skin so I love using that one as a highlighter or even for my eyelids). But this one just makes you glowy-withOUT that "too shimmery/glitter" look-and it does this at the same time makes my oily skin stay matte. I have never found such a product that keeps my skin matte while at the same time, providing me with that perfect "glow". THIS IS IT!

If you cannot decide on which one to buy, I would say the shimmer one is perfect! Glowing without having to look like a disco oily glitter face! I love it so much I am stocking up on this. I hope they never discontinue the shimmer one-EVER!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rawortley on 12/25/2012 12:59:00 AM more reviews by rawortley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff. I have several different foundations and setting powders for different situations (like if Im going to be out all day I'll wear colorstay) This stuff works really well with my garnier bb cream and a couple spritz of elf makeup mist and set. I would actually make this an everyday foundation routine (along with my sephora primer) but I sweat alot and it doesn't stay with me as well as the colorstay. It's not as matte as the rimmel stay matte (which is what I use with colorstay) and I like that sometimes. I HATE ordering from elf online, but thats my only complaint. btw I use sheer and I would really like to try the the yellow one for under eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kinta80s on 12/13/2012 4:39:00 PM more reviews by kinta80s

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've had this in sheer (large). Used to purchase studio high definition powder in corrective yellow and translucent (which is smaller in quantity and in the end more expensive). This does exactly the same job to me, it sets my oily face to a matte silky finish for around 4h with l'oreal BB prior to application.

Would continue to repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smtiquia on 10/7/2012 12:20:00 PM more reviews by smtiquia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product. I wear this product on tinted mposturizer, BB cream or foundation. It does a good job in providing my face with a flawless finish. It enahnces your face. I like this better than the Elf HD powder. I have it gives my face a flawless finish, it does not help in making my tan skin glow. Maybe the tinted one would work better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RiskQn on 6/3/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by RiskQn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this powder! I previously owned the booster in Sheer, and I currently own the Shimmer and the Corrective Yellow. The Sheer mineral booster is an epic fail for me. The color is not sheer at all, but rather on the pinky/medium side. This worked for me when I was out in the sun a lot, and I had a good amount of color to my skin, and in fact really gave me an air-brushed look when I was using it alone with no foundation. However, When it came to the winter time, I was pale, I used this powder, and a co-worker asked me if I'd gone to the tanning bed and suggested I blend my makeup line. YIKES! EMBARRASSING! This is why I took off a lippie. It is NOT SHEER! However, the corrective yellow and shimmer are FANTASTIC! My mother and I both use the shimmer on a daily basis. It has wonderful skin-loving ingrediants like Vitamins A, B, and E. It provides a minimal, barely perceptable glow which I like (I'm not trying to look like I attacked my face with glitter.) I also provides nice oil control and matte coverage, without looking like I have powder on. (I hate the "I just powdered my face" look.) The Corrective Yellow does the same thing, but counteracts redness. I find I end up using the shimmer more on a daily basis as a finishing powder, as my foundation evens out any redness from my skintone. But, if I use the booster alone, I use the yellow. Both powders help minimize the look of pores. These two powders both both are fantastic, and deserve 5 lippies, but since the sheer is part of the booster line, I have to give the booster an overall 4 out of 5.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 4/17/2012 10:24:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I own both the small and large sizes of the "Sheer" mineral booster. This is color is not a true translucent shade at all. It has a strong pink cast to it. The color shown on E.L.F.'s website is actually very misleading. However, I have found this shade to blend in pretty well with my medium skintone. It appears practically undetectable.

It does keep my skin relatively matte for a long period of time (which I like). And, if you happen to buy the large size, you will have enough powder to last you for several months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 4/10/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in Sheer as a set with a full-sized brush in my local Grocery Outlet for about three bucks so I figured why not. I think it's also at Target. I really only wanted the brush which is a perfect smaller-than-average-blush-size brush that I wanted for some of my GWP blushes that are too small for a regular size blush brush. As it turns out, the powder is just as nice which was a bonus. I was expecting a pink, chalky craptastic cakey mess. Although it does appear pinkish in the jar, it claimed to be sheer so I gave it a whirl on my fair but warm (NC20) skin. I was amazed that not only does this not fly all over the place making a mess (in fact I have to really shake it to get any out as I use it), there is little to no pink once I applied, nor does it oxidize later and change color in any way. I was quite surprised at how good my skin looked with this, not to mention how long it lasted. I had to double-check to make sure I was actually using ELF and not BE Mineral Veil or my beloved Smashbox Halo.(Granted, it's not up to par with Halo but for the price of the tax on that alone, it is well worth it.)


I don't use the brush it came with though. It would work, but it is too small for adaquate buffing the way I prefer so I apply with a soft kabuki (the angled EcoTools from the LE 4-piece set) or MAC 187 to get a sheer application over my foundation or BB cream, which could also be why I get no pink tones. It needs to be applied in a way so it stays sheer, and it's not a foundation regardless. Applied this way I get a flawless finish with no caking, no breakouts or irritation (this was the only one in the series without Bismuth that I saw, which I am allergic to;) no dryness (even on my normal to often-dry skin) and no setting into any fine lines. This sets my foundation/BB cream beautifully, makes it last forever while minimizing pores, and gives a lovely airbrushed look without the 'flatness' of most mineral powders without shimmer. It's more like a satin or velvet finish. It reminds me of BE Mineral Veil at a fraction of the price; same kind of product in the same type/size jar (in the set, I've no idea re full or other sizes yet).This may not be as finely milled as the BE when you get right down to it, but it's not far off. I think there are quite a few skin-friendly ingredients in here, vitamins C and E along with others that my skin seems to soak up and beg for more (in a good way). I'm likely going back for another set before they sell out when others figure out how great this is too, because I hate ordering from ELF and not sure my Target has in store. It really is as good as some of my higher end powders, and I never ever thought I'd say that about this brand not having any luck except for this powder, the Studio brushes, blushes and eye primer in a pinch. Worth the five bucks or whatever it costs to try, even if the rest of the line has left you cold like it did me until I found this little diamond in the rough.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Popcornshrimp on 4/4/2012 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Popcornshrimp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

*sigh* another E.L.F powder bites the dust for me. I used this as a setting powder (sheer), tried with a few different brushes, and different foundations....All looked cakey. I tried it over Revlon photo ready mousse which is awful in the first place, but add this...looked like I had a skin flake disease. Also tried it on top of Boots No.7 lifting and firming and NYX HD...both again looked cakey and made baby fuzz look like I was part hamster. The only time I really noticed the pinkish hue a lot of people are saying, is at the gym where their lighting makes every flaw look 20 times worse. Other mineral powders I've tried, especially Physicians Formulas version usually mess up my skin, but this I had no problem with---which is a good thing about it. This is probably not a bad product, it just doesn't work for me, but would be fine for someone with oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bananasplitlady on 3/19/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by bananasplitlady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I only have the shimmer and I am interested in trying out the other shades. I find that the shimmer is a bit too sparkly and I don't think that I'll get this again. I want to try the other shades though because of the good reviews regarding them and I will edit this after I try them out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kr1sti on 2/11/2012 10:33:00 AM more reviews by kr1sti

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I got it in SHEER.

E.L.F. say: "Completely sheer and ideal for all skin tones".

I say: Completely pink, ideal for some skin tones.

Nice texture and finish, good oil-control, but it makes my very fair skin with pink undertones look severely sunburnt.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Loose Powders products