E.L.F. Mineral Booster

4.1

98 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Talc, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Retinyl Palmitate (Va), Panthenol (Vb), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vc), Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve), Sodium Dehydroacetate May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)


on 6/21/2013 5:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use the Corrective Yellow shade of ELF Mineral Booster and absolutely love it. I've been buying this since ELF introduced this colour. Previously I had been using the Sheer shade which was nice but was a bit too pinky on my skin. The Corrective Yellow shade is excellent for creating an even finish to my make up. It looks very natural and helps to tone down any redness and brightens under eye shadows. It is the perfect mineral setting powder. I use it every day and highly recommend it. Excellent value for money - a real beauty bargain!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the Mineral Booster in Corrective Yellow. Years ago, when I had some problem redness on my face due to acne prescriptions, I used Benefit Bluff Dust and wrote a glowing review about it. Since I still have some redness around my rose, and my blemishes tend to looks VERY red against my fair skin, I decided to give this a try to see if it was anything like Bluff Dust. Unfortunately, it does not do the job nearly as well- although I have less extreme redness in my face now, the E.L.F. Mineral Booster really doesn't do too much of anything to correct it when I sweep it on as a setting powder. I guess it's less pigmented than Benefit's powder...? It's also not as finely milled (to be expected). This product does its best work when I take a tiny bit on my finger and dab it on a red blemish (like a spot concealer), but I've got to be careful not to overdo that or else it will look obvious. Unfortunately, using the same technique around my nose only helps the redness a bit, not as well as a skin-tone concealer does. Another thing Bluff Dust did that this didn't is help to correct my dark circles- the Mineral Booster just settles into the lines, making the dark circles look obvious, while doing nothing to correct the tone.

Now, as a basic setting powder, this is pretty decent; it does an alright job at setting makeup and controlling oil. However, my real beef with this product, and the reason I wouldn't buy it again in any shade, is the tiny little packaging. I'm okay with getting a small amount of powder for a cheap price, but the container would need to be thin and wide, not narrow like this. Since this is roughly the size of a little container of loose-powder eyeshadow, you really can't get a nice fluffy brush like a kabuki inside, much less swirl it around in the lid. It's super awkward to get the brush in there, and absolutely impossible to get an even distribution on the brush. You end up with lots of powder on some parts of the brush and hardly anything in others, and because the container's too small you can't tap the excess back into the package (I blow the excess off, but that's a tad bit wasteful). Obviously, this effects the application of the powder on your face, making it tricky to apply evenly. Plus, the powder only lasted a couple of months, which is ridiculous for something I had to order online and pay Canadian shipping for. I find these packaging woes incredibly frustrating, and it's enough of a deal breaker for me to never buy again or recommend.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2013 2:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have the mineral booster in shimmer and I really like it. It's subtle but still definitely "there." It's sort of similar to the Too Faced Candlelight Highlighter, except some of the 'pieces' of shimmer in this are a little bigger. It almost looks like it has a pinkish tint to it in the package but it's just a sheer shimmer on. This is great for cheeks, collarbone, etc.; any spot you want to highlight. The packaging is sleek and efficient and a little product goes a long way. It's super cheap compared to other similar products but works just as well. Has never caused me any skin problems. Definitely recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2013 4:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have this Mineral Booster in shimmer.
When I first saw just how shimmery and the blue-ish hue this had I was worried this would make me look like a character from a Twilight film! Luckily that wasn't the case and this is a very nice product indeed, I use this lightly over the top of Collection 2000 Perfecting Minerals foundation and this helps everything look a lot more polished and glowy.
The shimmer version of this product doesn't seem to effect the colour of foundation / skin so is quite translucent in that sense.
PROS: Helps foundation look lightly more polished / finished. Not quite as shimmery as you think if applied lightly and buffed in well
CONS: The pot does get quite messy. Not really an essential product

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the boosters in Sheer AND Shimmer. I LOVE these. I mostly love the shimmer better. Here is why:

Sheer- This is sort of like a setting powder for me. There is no shimmer or glitter and it helps keep my oily skin intact. I've read that some say this is more of a pinkish tone, but it works so well for me (probably because i have pinkish/blue undertones). I love this as it makes my skin look nice and refreshed somewhat and gives me that airbrushed look. Its very similar to BE mineral veil but "slightly" tinted sort of. Although it works the same way for me. :)

Shimmer- I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS! It looks white until you shine it infront of a light you can see the pearly pinkish glowy color-but it is NOT glittery or overly shimmery. I cannot explain this, but it just gives you a SUPER "pregnancy" pretty glow! BE radiance I LOVE-but some of them are too shimmery (bare radiance I LOVE, but pure radiance is very shimmery for my oily skin so I love using that one as a highlighter or even for my eyelids). But this one just makes you glowy-withOUT that "too shimmery/glitter" look-and it does this at the same time makes my oily skin stay matte. I have never found such a product that keeps my skin matte while at the same time, providing me with that perfect "glow". THIS IS IT!

If you cannot decide on which one to buy, I would say the shimmer one is perfect! Glowing without having to look like a disco oily glitter face! I love it so much I am stocking up on this. I hope they never discontinue the shimmer one-EVER!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2012 12:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. I have several different foundations and setting powders for different situations (like if Im going to be out all day I'll wear colorstay) This stuff works really well with my garnier bb cream and a couple spritz of elf makeup mist and set. I would actually make this an everyday foundation routine (along with my sephora primer) but I sweat alot and it doesn't stay with me as well as the colorstay. It's not as matte as the rimmel stay matte (which is what I use with colorstay) and I like that sometimes. I HATE ordering from elf online, but thats my only complaint. btw I use sheer and I would really like to try the the yellow one for under eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2012 4:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've had this in sheer (large). Used to purchase studio high definition powder in corrective yellow and translucent (which is smaller in quantity and in the end more expensive). This does exactly the same job to me, it sets my oily face to a matte silky finish for around 4h with l'oreal BB prior to application.

Would continue to repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2012 12:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great product. I wear this product on tinted mposturizer, BB cream or foundation. It does a good job in providing my face with a flawless finish. It enahnces your face. I like this better than the Elf HD powder. I have it gives my face a flawless finish, it does not help in making my tan skin glow. Maybe the tinted one would work better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2012 5:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this powder! I previously owned the booster in Sheer, and I currently own the Shimmer and the Corrective Yellow. The Sheer mineral booster is an epic fail for me. The color is not sheer at all, but rather on the pinky/medium side. This worked for me when I was out in the sun a lot, and I had a good amount of color to my skin, and in fact really gave me an air-brushed look when I was using it alone with no foundation. However, When it came to the winter time, I was pale, I used this powder, and a co-worker asked me if I'd gone to the tanning bed and suggested I blend my makeup line. YIKES! EMBARRASSING! This is why I took off a lippie. It is NOT SHEER! However, the corrective yellow and shimmer are FANTASTIC! My mother and I both use the shimmer on a daily basis. It has wonderful skin-loving ingrediants like Vitamins A, B, and E. It provides a minimal, barely perceptable glow which I like (I'm not trying to look like I attacked my face with glitter.) I also provides nice oil control and matte coverage, without looking like I have powder on. (I hate the "I just powdered my face" look.) The Corrective Yellow does the same thing, but counteracts redness. I find I end up using the shimmer more on a daily basis as a finishing powder, as my foundation evens out any redness from my skintone. But, if I use the booster alone, I use the yellow. Both powders help minimize the look of pores. These two powders both both are fantastic, and deserve 5 lippies, but since the sheer is part of the booster line, I have to give the booster an overall 4 out of 5.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2012 10:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I own both the small and large sizes of the "Sheer" mineral booster. This is color is not a true translucent shade at all. It has a strong pink cast to it. The color shown on E.L.F.'s website is actually very misleading. However, I have found this shade to blend in pretty well with my medium skintone. It appears practically undetectable.

It does keep my skin relatively matte for a long period of time (which I like). And, if you happen to buy the large size, you will have enough powder to last you for several months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top