Lipstick Queen • Medieval • Lipstick

rated 4.3(122 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hodetovervannet on 11/2/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by hodetovervannet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Oh Poppy, I love your lipsticks. They evoke a fantasy with ease but darn it how I wish this lipstick was more red. It's so sheer I can barely detect it at all on my lips. Now I don't have overly pigmented lips or anything. Rather, this is more like a very lightly tinted balm. It is is absolutely not for a lipstick queen like myself. This is even significantly less pigmented than the saints lipsticks. Oh sigh... Such a fantasy of mine has now perished.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rhinosaurus on 10/28/2013 3:48:00 PM more reviews by rhinosaurus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is better at moisturising my lips than all the lipbalms I've ever tried. It also feels much better on, not grainy at all, not too slick, and not sticky. I wish the colour was a tad brighter, but since it's so sheer it doesn't really matter. The tube looks like new after months spent in a bag, on the go. Not even a hint of wear!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gingrrrella on 9/25/2013 6:01:00 AM more reviews by Gingrrrella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I freaking LOVE this lipstick! It's basically just a really nice tinted balm, true, but it's super flattering, has cute-as-hell packaging, and a nice light feel. No fragrance or flavour thank god, so I don't end up licking it off immediately.

My only major gripes are the limited stockists (none in NZ anymore!) and the price - kinda expensive for what it is! Depends on your budget I guess.

Conclusion: super great casual lipstick for people with decent incomes (so, not students).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* appletea on 7/18/2013 5:51:00 PM more reviews by appletea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Normally, I wouldn't pay so much ($22) for a lip color, but the copy and the packaging sucked me in. Fortunately for me, I find this product to be worth the money. I like a bold red lip, but it can be a bit much for daytime wear and I also find that some pigmented red lip colors tend to fade unevenly, leaving an unpleasant look behind. Since I'm not the type that has a lot of time to constantly check my lipstick, this is a really great product. I find it moisturizing and easy to apply. On me, the color is a sheer rose red. It gives the lips a bright and sexy tint without being over the top and makes me look more polished overall. I think just about every skintone would look great with this color but of course, if your lips are very pigmented, you may not witness much of a payoff. If the price tag doesn't deter you or you manage to find yourself with a sample of this color, definitely give it a try. In spite of the price, I plan on repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlradja on 6/22/2013 5:17:00 PM more reviews by jlradja

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Had read about this product and then saw it in Ulta. I really love it. I am a fan of "sheer" color versus bold color and I like something that "stains" as it wears off versus leaving me with "ring around the mouth". This product meets these criteria. It's a flattering, berry shade of red and leaves behind a subtle red stain as it wears off. Easy to apply and is becoming my "go to" product. I like the packaging - simple, not too big or bulky. Another reviewer mentioned the Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey as a better option but I would disagree. I found the Clinique product wore off and left nothing behind so I had to constantly re-apply. This product is one I will definitely buy again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 julalg on 5/30/2013 6:21:00 PM more reviews by julalg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a sheer reddish berry. It may be because I am starting to like bold lips better, but I am not a fan. It is very sheer which is nice, but so replicable. I feel like lip smackers Dr. Pepper and ClInique's Black Honey are cheaper and more moisturizing versions of this. If you are looking for a neutral beginners red, there are better options out there. This is too expensive and sheer for what it is. Oh, and I hate the metal packaging, it's weird but the noise that it makes when I open it makes me cringe!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jillybelle on 3/21/2013 2:45:00 PM more reviews by jillybelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a sheer, rose lipstick. It is supposed to be red, but it definitely didn't play that way on my lips.

PROS: I really loved the emolliant quality. It was very moisturizing through the entire wear time and didn't get goopy when I reapplied. Also, unlike others I found it to be very buildable.

CONS: It was so sheer I needed several coats to get anything close to red (which I never quite achieved). The color faded significantly after about 2 hours (no eating or drinking).

I scored this on clearance at Anthropologie for $9.95. I don't think it is worth $20. I wanted to be madly in love with it, but we are just friends.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rapt1m3 on 3/1/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Rapt1m3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This lip product is versatile enough for every situation I'm in, looks natural and complements my NC15-20 coloring nicely.

I've had a hard time finding a lip color that looks great on my pale complexion, and isn't too dark or bright. If you have a skin tone like mine and can't find a good shade, try this!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2ksmom on 2/1/2013 8:38:00 AM more reviews by 2ksmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely sheer red lipstick. It goes on me as more of a pinkish-red than a true-red, but I like it nonetheless. There is no scent or taste, and it has a balmy look and feel that gives just a hint of color (my favorite texture for a lipstick, anyways). Its not really 'buildable' so its best for a more natural look. The staying power is typical of any sheer lipstick (1-2 hrs). I am strangely attracted to the Lipstick Queen brand, as much for the stories behind the products as I am for the products themselves. This was a bit pricey for me ($20 reg price, I think), though I got it during a 20% off promo from beauty.com. This is a versatile shade thatís easy to apply & wear. I would repurchase should I ever have the need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alise1968 on 1/29/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by alise1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a wearable red, quite moisturizing and comfortable to wear. The lasting power isn't great, but I don't mind that. So many reds are matte and drying. This one is not. It's a natural wash of red that goes well with a fair complexion. I'd recommend it for someone's first go at a red lipstick as it is sheer and not overbearing at all. Wonderful color and product!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products