Unlisted Brand • Retin A • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(513 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Misstt on 3/26/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by Misstt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

So I'm currently 24, I've been battling acne scne 17! Cyctic acne that is for sure hormonal a year ago it got to the point where I would wana cry when I look in the mirror because I would see a new cyct every day! Nightmare! So I used Retin A 0.025 at night and clindoxyl get in the am. My skin got worse in the begining, it was red, it was peeling, but than it got better after 3 months and after 6 I would say I was acne free! It was amazing, however than Retin A was out of stock for couple of months and I got my acne back! Now I bought it againg, but I have to start the whole prosses againg waiting for my skin to get better. At this point I'm willing to because Retin A is the only thing that helps me. I like thia product, you need to mistrise a lot and use lots of sunscreen and BE PATIENT because every skin problem takes awhile to be fixed so dont give up, dermatologist promis a flawless skin after 6 months of using it! Good luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lindsex24 on 3/24/2014 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Lindsex24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a serious beauty product; there's a reason you need a prescription. If you use it inappropriately or without the proper combination of other skincare products, it will be terrible for your skin. However, with the right regimen it is a godsend. First of all, go very, very slowly when beginning to use it or your skin could have a bad reaction (irritation, peeling, severe dryness). Only use a tiny amount mixed with your moisturizer a couple times a week (at night). You can slowly up this amount as your skin gets used to it, but don't exceed once a night. I highly recommend not using any other medicated acne products while you're using this. Also, make sure you are using some serious moisturizer and maybe a serum. This stuff will clear up your skin and practically erase fine lines on your face. I would recommend using it from a fairly young age (20's) so that you're preventing wrinkles and acne scars. I plan to keep using this indefinitely.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tepps on 3/9/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by tepps

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of, if not the best, products out there that fades hyper pigmentation, and rids acne. There are a lot of negative reviews, but I believe it is due to not using the medication correctly. Keyword being medication. You cannot use this cream like a regular moisturizer. A lot of irritation can be reduced if it is used correctly. It took me a while to get the correct routine, but I finally got it right. A lot of the irritation I got was because I was using it infrequently and also because I used it with the wrong moisturizer. I normally have oily skin but my skin has now normalized. I use Cerave Foaming Cleanser because it does not have sulphates like Cetaphil. I then wait 30 mins and then apply a pea sized amount of retin a. I then wait an hour after retin-a and rub a pea sized amount of aquaphor in between my fingertips, and apply it by gently pressing it onto my skin. When I wake up in the morning my face is not greasy nor dry, and I no longer have redness. The best part is I can now use retin a everyday while only getting the benefits- no irritation! Hope this helps :)

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nickyy on 3/3/2014 11:15:00 AM more reviews by nickyy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

No one with good or ok skin should buy this cream!
Unless ur skin is so bad that u have nothing to lose dont buy this, do not do chemical peels or laser either!
Dont fix something that is not broken.
This is chemical cream what unnaturally peel off your skin and force new skin to grow! This is insane if you think of it. u damage your skin and of course skin is forced to reproduce or renew.Also i made real long research and there is really no person who got rid of the wrinkles by using this cream!So if you using it as anti aging you are doing stupid mistake! If you look at real people's reviews and videos there is no result!
This could be helpful to people with bad acne that nothing else helped and they skin is so bad they have nothing to lose and side effects and damage they ll have from this is nothing to compare of what they dealing with anyway only in this case i would recommended it. Dont be stupid believe you ll look younger! To peel your skin off you can use apple cedar vinegar for every night for month and u ll have same effect but at least it is natural. ( do not go close to you eyes and mouth)
Stop using chemicals on ur skin! they was made for chronic acne and even this im not sure if is helpful with out taking oral medication. Do ur research how much damage this retinoids can do and if it is really worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cutupangels78 on 2/9/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by cutupangels78

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I buy my Retin-A (I rotate between 0.5% and 1.0%) from InHousePharmacy. My insurance doesn't cover Retin-A and it's an outrageous price at the pharmacy (several hundred dollars per bottle). I pay something like $35 from InHousePharmacy. Always been very happy ordering from them. My little tube of of Retin-A lasts me several months.

Anyways, Retin-A is no joke. It's potent. Please be knowledgeable and prepared before you begin using this product or you'll regret it. I used SkinCeuticals 0.5% (and then 1.0% Maximum Strength) for 2 years before moving into Retin-A. SkinCeuticals Retinol is like a less potent version of Retin A. Skinceuticals 1.0% is comparable 0.0.25% Retin-A. My skin is slightly sensitive BTW but can tolerate retinols.

If you're new to Retin-A, please use a low-strength retinol first for a few months to get your skin adjusted. I recommend Skinceuticals Retinol 0.5%. If your skin can handle it, start using the lowest strength Retin-A (I believe it's 0.025%) ONCE A WEEK (no more) and a PEA-SIZE amount on 100% dry skin at night. Don't use any other treatment (night cream, serums, etc) on your skin the night you use Retin-A (other ingredients might irritate you). Evenly apply it over your entire face. Again, no more than a pea-size or you'll regret it. If you have very sensitive skin, use a "buffer" before applying Retin-A (I recommend Cerave or another thick cream moisturizer with as a few ingredients as possible). Again - ONCE A WEEK. See if your skin can handle it. If a month has passed with minimal/no peeling or redness, bump up to twice a week. Some people can't use Retin-A more than once a week. Ever. That might be your limit. Some people can use Retin-A nightly after several months of adjustment. Some people can handle the 1.0% (I cannot). 0.5% is plenty strong for most people.

Peeling and redness is normal when adjusting to Retin-A. But, you need to scale down if this happens. If you peel keep products off your face. Use the gentlest cleanser you can find with the fewest ingredients. Keep your skin hydrated. Use a thick moisturizer (Cerave is good).

Retin-A isn't for everyone. But it's the gold standard in skincare for most. My mother is 50 and doesn't even have LINES on her face. She has been using retinol and Retin-A for 20 years.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aleemabak on 1/25/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Aleemabak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this product for a while, and let me first say that it's really drying!!

My skin is oily, acne prone and brown.

Retin A has really helped reduce my hyper pigmentation marks caused by my acne scars.
I use a little on my marks (not my whole face) and it lightens it within 2-3 weeks.

However, it is really drying. I used it for 3 months every night, then I started using it every other night. Now I use it every three nights.

Depending on your skin type/ regime, you may need to skip days so it doesn't over dry.

I hope this review helps! It really did wonders for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rose80 on 1/23/2014 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Rose80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My worst nightmare. I used it for 3 months 3 years ago and still my skin has not recovered. I look much older than my age. I used to look younger. My sister who is 10 years older has better skin than I do.
Retin a (avicid) made my skin thin, saggy and top layer wrinkled. It has not recovered since. Nowdays I only use organic coconut oil on my face so it wont get even more irritated.

If someone knows how to a way to heal A-vitamin damage, please let me know. My face really has not recovered, even it has been over 3 years since I used this horrible cream.

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 verwaande on 1/22/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by verwaande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this cream about 2 to 3 months and it has ruined my skin. I suddenly got wrinkles around my mouth and on my forhead. My skin also became dry as a dessert. Now I am using all kind of moisturizers to get rid of the side effects caused by the retin a. I kept using it for almost 3 months because I read that you had to go through an ugly stage to get the good results. Well, I can only hope for recovery and I wish someone had warned me about this.
Stay away from Retin A when you have young & delicate skin. This cream could do more harm than good.
If someone knows how to get rid of the wrinkles caused by Retin A, please let me know.


12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 1/19/2014 11:54:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

There's nothing like Retin-a for clearing up acne, this stuff is a godsend. I've been using it since I was nineteen and was suffering from pizza face-level acne, this one product gave me smooth perfect skin in a matter of weeks. No blemishes, no post-acne marks.
I've kept a tube of it around ever since. It's the best spot-treatment in existence, and I also use it all over my face when my complexion starts to really act up (which it still does once in a while even though I'm in my thirties now.)
There really is no substitute. And on top of its acne-fighting powers this is an anti-aging product as well. I hate the fact that it's prescription-only but there are ways around that (thanks, Internet!) The only drawback to this product is the occasional peeling, which is always mild and temporary for me.
This is a staple and an HG. Will always repurchase :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kimmiebat on 1/7/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by Kimmiebat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Go slow with retin-A. It takes your skin quite some time to get used to it. Use it twice a day right away and your face will get red and peel. Start slowly, and build from there. For those with acne: you can get a cream with both retin-A and an antibiotic in it-most effective. Be aware there are different strengths of this medicine. It may help with sebaceous glands (cysts). For aging it's very helpful in combating wrinkles-If you are taking this to even skin tone or get rid of dark spots, you have the wrong product. You want to get prescription (4%) hydroquinone. OTC fade creams have a max of 3%- they work, but it takes longer. Good luck everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products