Make Up For Ever • Smoky Lash Extra Black Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(305 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 emc22010 on 1/26/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by emc22010

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This mascara was a total fail for me. I received this as a gift from Sephora, so at least I did not waste money on this crap. First of all, I have naturally long lashes with decent volume and can generally hold a curl, so I am not starting from nothing...This mascara made my lashes look so bad.. When I first put it on, it looked ok...ok definition, ok length, ok volume after 2 coats.. then a strange thing happened.. about 1 hour after applying, I looked in the mirror and not only was the definition gone, but my eyelashes were sticking to each other!.. It looked like I had 5 fat lashes (twigs really ) on each eye!... not cute. About an hour later, I looked in the mirror and it was flakes galore, both upper and lower eyelids and I looked like a total freak..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 metwetpetset on 1/16/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by metwetpetset

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got this as a freebie gift from sephora, and wow, my lashes look great. I have been using covergirl lashblast for like ever. And it got the job done, but it was always a little clumpy and a little flaky. But this stuff, man. My lashes are lifted and lovely. I was surprised how mush of a difference it made. I'm not sure how expensive this stuff is though, because I got it for free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MonBlue on 11/10/2013 7:29:00 PM more reviews by MonBlue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara was a huge disappointment from such an excellent brand.
This formula is so HEAVY it pulled the curl out if my lashes. It doesn't lengthen well at all and it clumps like crazy. I am not one to return things, but this mascara left me cold, for $23.00 this is crap. It's clumpy and involves a lot of time to get it half way presentable - for this much money, I want to use it and go.
Some reviewers have said it flakes, I gave not had that issue. It does leave me with sloppy spider leg lashes and for $23...that's shameful. I will not be rebuking this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BuffyDaLipGlossEater on 11/1/2013 9:37:00 AM more reviews by BuffyDaLipGlossEater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I test-drove this mascara yesterday during Halloween, and I have to say that it performed really well. The application was smooth, and it didn't clump or gather. And even with the huge wand, it was very easy to apply. It also didn't flake off, which is a huge plus.



I think the price was a little bit extravagant, but I would repurchase this out I ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rhonda2010 on 10/4/2013 8:49:00 AM more reviews by Rhonda2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Very pretty, but it's just a good basic mascara, and performs the same as drugstore brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* postmoderngirl on 9/27/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by postmoderngirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first high end mascara I tried, and I loved it. It gave me volume & length without looking clumpy. I don't remember it being overly wet, which is why I liked it so much. I got this as a gift, and although I love it I probably wouldn't buy it for myself again because there are drugstore mascara I love just as much and can't justify the price.. but it is a fantastic mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elixmia on 8/29/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by elixmia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm very disappointed with this mascara. The most frustrating thing about it was the mess that it created. It was clumpy with only a single layer. The application was very messy, which I partly consider to be a problem with the wand. It also had a slight chemical smell that bothered me. At $23, this was a waste of money. The only good things I can say about the product is that the color is in fact black and once I had finished combing out all the clumps, my lashes were reasonably soft. I would not recommend this product, especially for those who can't dish out $23 on a tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Audny on 7/4/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by Audny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Moste opinions are on the same line and that was also the case for me.
It's an OK mascara, it gives those full smokey lashes that it promises but not on the first coat, you surelly need 2 coats. It didn't flake at first but because it does dry-up very quickly after a month you will get fall down. After 2 months I noticed that it was getting very dry, now after almoste 3 months I opend it, it's good to chuck away. Not only did it flake on my skin but I got those flakes in my eyes, it was horrible with my contacts, I had to take them out (at work might I add), I never had such a hard time with a mascara before.
I find the L'Oreal volume black smoke mascara is very similar for half the price and without the terrible flaking and drying out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xrysaki on 5/10/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by xrysaki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the previous reviewer! i'll give 3 stars for the result i had with 3 layers.. to be honest, I've seen worse mascaras than this one... i don't recommend it though..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jmay1223 on 5/2/2013 8:35:00 AM more reviews by jmay1223

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have fairly long lashes but this mascara requires a lot of layering in order to get the effect that I get with just one coat from other mascaras. It makes my lashes clumpy after one coat, it does not hold a curl and flakes off my lashes because of its really dry formula. Actually, it dried up after a month which is the biggest downside for me since I have used all of my other mascaras for almost 6 months. Regarding the colour I don't find it really that black.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Mascara products