Make Up For Ever • Smoky Lash Extra Black Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(300 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* postmoderngirl on 9/27/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by postmoderngirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first high end mascara I tried, and I loved it. It gave me volume & length without looking clumpy. I don't remember it being overly wet, which is why I liked it so much. I got this as a gift, and although I love it I probably wouldn't buy it for myself again because there are drugstore mascara I love just as much and can't justify the price.. but it is a fantastic mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elixmia on 8/29/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by elixmia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm very disappointed with this mascara. The most frustrating thing about it was the mess that it created. It was clumpy with only a single layer. The application was very messy, which I partly consider to be a problem with the wand. It also had a slight chemical smell that bothered me. At $23, this was a waste of money. The only good things I can say about the product is that the color is in fact black and once I had finished combing out all the clumps, my lashes were reasonably soft. I would not recommend this product, especially for those who can't dish out $23 on a tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Audny on 7/4/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by Audny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Moste opinions are on the same line and that was also the case for me.
It's an OK mascara, it gives those full smokey lashes that it promises but not on the first coat, you surelly need 2 coats. It didn't flake at first but because it does dry-up very quickly after a month you will get fall down. After 2 months I noticed that it was getting very dry, now after almoste 3 months I opend it, it's good to chuck away. Not only did it flake on my skin but I got those flakes in my eyes, it was horrible with my contacts, I had to take them out (at work might I add), I never had such a hard time with a mascara before.
I find the L'Oreal volume black smoke mascara is very similar for half the price and without the terrible flaking and drying out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xrysaki on 5/10/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by xrysaki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the previous reviewer! i'll give 3 stars for the result i had with 3 layers.. to be honest, I've seen worse mascaras than this one... i don't recommend it though..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jmay1223 on 5/2/2013 8:35:00 AM more reviews by jmay1223

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have fairly long lashes but this mascara requires a lot of layering in order to get the effect that I get with just one coat from other mascaras. It makes my lashes clumpy after one coat, it does not hold a curl and flakes off my lashes because of its really dry formula. Actually, it dried up after a month which is the biggest downside for me since I have used all of my other mascaras for almost 6 months. Regarding the colour I don't find it really that black.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avonderl on 4/12/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by avonderl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am surprised by all the negative feedback on this mascara! It is amazing and lasts ALL day no flaking for me and I load it on! Curler lashes mascara and VIOLA beautiful long looking lashes!! Believe me it takes a miracle to make these short puny stick straight lashes look BEAUTIFUL! Will buy over and over and over again'

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wrecktechno on 3/22/2013 1:16:00 AM more reviews by wrecktechno

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I asked the sales assistant at Sephora for a mascara recommendation - I like my lashes long, dark and thick (i.e. dramatic but not overly overly mascara-ey like thick spider legs if you know what I mean). My lashes are already long and curl easily (but not for eternity) so that isn't essential but is always nice to have some curl and length.
She recommended this one and she was pretty spot on for blackness (the blackest mascara I have ever used. Ah MAZING), thickness (my lashes are awesome thick) and they look long too and curl ok. I love this stuff EXCEPT....
CONS!!! - if I get rained on. or get wet eyes. or cry. or get snowed on. or wear my snowboarding goggles (or I assume any type of glasses with some moisture in the air), I look like I have a set of fake eyelashes stuck on my eyelids and below my eyes and I'm not even kidding you. I look like a drag queen version of the frickin Clockwork Orange guy. Holy crap. I got snowed on and got home and had this and was so embarrassed. It's not just smudge, IT'S LIKE YOU HAVE PAINTED LINES ON EITHER SIDES OF YOUR EYES. Is fine on the normal day/night, but in the snow, wet or whatever, if you get any moisture on your eyelashes at all, the thickness and darkness of the mascara you've applied goes on your frickin FACE! Not just a light smudge, but a 'I play for the NFL and it's glary as anything out today' type smudge.
Also bad is this stuff is hard as hell to remove easily in the shower. You need to use a proper eye make up remover which is annoying for a non-waterproof transferring as hell when it gets wet mascara.
If not for this, if it had better waterproof qualities, it would be THE BEST but for this reason, although I will repurchase, I will not wear mascara on snow days or the like. (PS for your information, I live in Whistler Canada where it doesn't snow a whole lot or really rain a lot during the day in the valley. If you live somewhere else that is rainy or wet a lot while you're out, don't wear this. Wear something else. or wear nothing at all. )

Maybe they make a waterproof version. I will keep looking and will keep using this til I find something awesome. (Le Volume De Chanel you say...?!?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaGrace86 on 3/18/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by AnnaGrace86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews. I've never had an issue with this mascara flaking, and I've gone through about 5 tubes of it so far. I LOVE it! I think it's the most amazing mascara. It's very dark which i like. i don't like to wear a lot of makeup during the daytime and even if I go out at night I like to play it up but just a little bit - keeping the focus on one thing, usually the eyes. This mascara alone can do that for me! Granted, I was fortunately blessed with natural long, curled lashes but this mascara really emphasizes them and makes them pop, and I imagine it would do that for everyone too. The only con I find to this mascara is I feel it dries out a lot faster than other mascaras i've used. Even still it's not enough to make me switch. I'll be using this mascara for as long as it's around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 caligirldotcom on 3/8/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by caligirldotcom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is annoying because I love dark dark eyelashes and this gives me the color I want but it is soooo flaky. I hate that when I wear this I have to check constantly to make sure there aren't flakies under my eyes and on my cheeks. It is pretty hard to use, it is really clumpy which might be because it is a volumizing mascara but it causes me too much grief to continue to purchase. After reading the MUA positive reviews I have a couple tips that might make this more bearable to wear before I run out. I just hate wasting what is left in the tube and will keep it for at least a purse mascara. It would be great if that advice can turn my opinion around even a little bit because normally I am a HUGE Makeupforever fan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ecmoore08 on 2/28/2013 7:47:00 PM more reviews by ecmoore08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG mascara! I love that it curls, lengthens, and give my lashes the darkest black color. It is very dramatic and does clump a little but that's why its called SMOKEY LASH!!!! It is amazing. I have re-purchased numerous times and will continue to do so. Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Mascara products