John Frieda • Luxurious Volume Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 9/5/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

(This review is for both the shampoo and conditioner since used together).
These are great! I had been using the very expensive Living Proof Full S&C because I couldn't find a good volumizing S&C for less - but now I have. I am so happy with this stuff.
Great packaging. You can squeeze out every last bit.
Price is very reasonable and you get a lot for your money.
Smells nice; just a soft, clean scent.
Shampoo works really well, leaving my hair feeling very clean.
Conditioner moisturizes nicely.
Both products used together give great volume, body and overall thickness to hair. I was so impressed by the amount of volume.

I am really happy with this. My hair feels clean, soft and looks voluminous, shiny and smooth. Overall, I absolutely love this stuff. It is just as good as the Living Proof products, which are 4x the price. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for great volume!

Update: Don't think this is moisturizing as well as it was at first. Halfway through the bottle and my hair is starting to feel a bit straw-like. Knocking off one lippie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wickedfan97 on 8/8/2011 12:21:00 AM more reviews by wickedfan97

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Smells great, even though the scent doesn't last long.
I like the packaging. The tube is nice for getting out all the product.
It didn't add volume, and it made my hair greasy.
I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jembon on 2/15/2011 11:39:00 AM more reviews by jembon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have very thin/fine hair that is also dry (from coloring and heat treating) so I've been using moisturizing shampoos/conditioners for years. I was sick of feeling like my hair was limp and weighed down, so I thought I'd try volumizing products instead. I did tons of research on MUA and tried this John Frieda Luxurious Volume Conditioner (and also the JF LV Clarity shampoo). LOVE IT! Amazed at the results. I have volume without dryness. The conditioner manages to somehow give lift and body but also moisturize enough for me to easily get a comb through it (always a concern, and part of the reason why I was hooked on super-moisturizing conditioner). Try it, you won't be disappointed!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amosina on 1/27/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by amosina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Very disappointed in this conditioner. It weighed my hair down, and even made it look greasy. I tried using very little of it to see if I had just used too much the first time, and it still weighed my hair down and gave it a greasy look. I will definitely not be using it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Itisred on 12/21/2010 7:46:00 AM more reviews by Itisred

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

1 Lippie = bitter disappointment in this conditioner! As a huge fan of John Frieda's Luxurious Volume Mousse and blow dry spray, I expected more from this product. I have a lot of fine hair - which is naturally poker straight. It is cut in a blunt chin length bob (which doesn't help when adding volume) so I demand a lot from anything that promises to volumise my hair! Firstly the conditioner itself doesn't smell very 'luxurious' - it has a vague almost plastic scent which is very cheap. Although very creamy - and I guess that's where the 'luxury' lies - it did nothing for me other than to make my hair very soft to the point of weighing it down! Having spent over 5 on this product I was determined to make it work and tried using it in varying amounts, roots only, ends only and even leaving it on for different time lengths, before giving in and using it as an 'intensive' treatment occasionally! Sadly this didn't work but TREsemme "24 Hour Body" range which is far cheaper and not as luxurious - definately gets my 5 lippies every time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsMinipony on 10/17/2010 8:49:00 AM more reviews by MsMinipony

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like both the shampoo and the conditioner. For reference, my hair is fine and straight or slightly wavy depending on how I style it. It is also in quite bad condition as I highlight it on a regular basis and wash / blowdry it daily. It tends to be a tangly mess after I wash it and even with a leave-in conditioner or detangler I have a hard time getting my comb through it. I finally decided to get something a bit more expensive after another horrible hair day and this really delivers. My hair is smooth, manageable, and not heavy at all unlike with most other conditioners. I even get my slight waves back if I let it dry on its own. Also the smell is very faint and clean, which is perfect because I get fed up with strong scents pretty quickly. Will deffinitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Swoop on 7/12/2010 5:18:00 PM more reviews by Swoop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Being an asian I have very boring flat hair with no volume at all.
I have tried dozens of stuff to add volume and this one works best for me.

Its a quite expensive brand, I buy it from the local beautystore, where it is sitting next to brands like nivea, l'oreal, pantene and so on.
This one pops out in price, but its worth it.
I also tried the brunette conditionar from this brand, but my hair went flat all over again, so for me its definitly noticeable.
It makes my hair look healthy, shiny and adds the precious volume to it.

You dont need much product, I let it sink into my hgair for like a minute and thats it.
It has a nice smell, altho its a bit of a 'plastic' smell to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 inkonapin on 12/4/2009 9:12:00 PM more reviews by inkonapin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Really like this for a volumizing conditioner. It was very lightweight and rinsed easily. Pleasant to use and the smell was all right. I would buy this again if I ever stop my L'anza binge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Becky12 on 10/26/2009 11:47:00 PM more reviews by Becky12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have straight, fine hair that really needs a bit of help in the volume department. I also have to wash my hair everyday b/c it tends to get oily. I don't usually use conditioner unless I'm blowing my hair out. This was just so-so. Left my hair feeling kinda greasy and not at all soft. It's better than the cheaper Herbal Essence's Volumizing conditioner or Aussie;s, but not as good as Dove.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilaclufy19 on 8/7/2009 6:21:00 PM more reviews by lilaclufy19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is pretty much your standard conditioner. Nothing special or "voluminous," but it does the job. I probably wouldn't repurchase, because 250 mL is a very small amount for a hair product (only lasts me 3 to 4 months, with daily use).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Conditioner products