Estee Lauder • Youth Dew • Fragrances

rated 3.1(253 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 MaggyB on 1/29/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by MaggyB

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Someone I know had an overbearing teacher who wore this. The students called it "the scent of fear" because they could smell her coming down the hall lol! I think it may be ok if used sparingly and not "layered" like lasagna. Perfume is such a personal thing that I don't think people in the next zip code should be able to smell it. I like perfume but this stuff makes me gag.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ningurl on 1/29/2013 8:28:00 AM more reviews by ningurl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the ipidemy of old lady stench. I sold fragrance for years and not one single man said he enjoyed it. Only rich little old ladies with fur coats would purchase this. When you're trapped in a small space with some old woman, and you can't figure out what that smell is, it smells musty and sophisticated, yet sucks all the air out of your lungs, you can bet its Youth Dew.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 svprior on 1/29/2013 8:20:00 AM more reviews by svprior

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Men love this perfume - and luckily I love it too! :-D I totally disagree with the reviewer above. I'm not a little old lady nor do I own a fur coat. Youth Dew is complex and full bodied, with delicious coca cola notes. It is strong - but it changes character through the day and dries down to a lovely powdery warm scent. Best way to apply, is spray into the air and walk through it - needs only a light application.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TerracottaSun on 1/20/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by TerracottaSun

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I understand perfume preferences is a personal choice but how anyone could possibly like this great-grandma smelling stinch is mind blowing. This has got to be the most wicked, offensive, rancid smelling scent in the market. My friends' 80 yr old mother told me that's all she's ever worn, I couldn't get myself to buy it for her for Christmas, I just couldn't do it so I bought Versace Bright Crystal instead just to enlighten her on what nice perfume should smell like. This perfume takes the word "gross" to a whole new level. Granted, everyones' sense of smell may vary but damn!...........how is it possible you find this appealing? How?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MimiMonstermash on 11/30/2012 3:14:00 PM more reviews by MimiMonstermash

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

WHAT THE HELL ARE PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT!! This is such a beautiful, complex, and magical perfume at an OK price. I am in love<3! I am a young 19 year old, and i do not think this perfume smells like dead people. I was hoping so much that it wouldn't smell as BAD as people said it would! I was so scared, but this.. this is pure classiness! I am a lover of complex fragrances such as Chanel No. 5, Lolita Lempicka, Tabu, Shalimar, Chanel "Coco" (the first one, not the Coco Mademoiselle), Opium, Hypnotic Poison, Poison, and so much more. THIS perfume, deserves just as much credibility as those other perfumes that i mentioned.
I bought the bath oil (which i recommend more because its a higher concentration meaning you can just apply a tiny finger bad and it will smell as if you sprayed one or two times), and its amazing!! THAT IS ALL YOU NEED, ONE SMALL DAB on either your neck, back of knees, your wrist, or in between your breast and THATS IT!

This perfume smells of patchouli, amber, jasmine, orange, cinnamon, cloves, tabacco, woodiness, ( i get a bit of civet smell), musk, (some aldehydes). I just applied it 20 mins ago so im sure the smell will change to its different notes. BUT THIS PERFUME IS GREAT!

For people that say this is an "old lady perfume", i like do disagree a bit with the wording. Older type of fragrance from a different time, YES. Only old ladies wear this perfume, NO. I wear Tabu, a perfume that smells just a bit similar to this and i have gotten compliments from many males my age, my fathers age, and my grandfathers age. So there is no logic in saying men will dislike this. I am sure those "old ladies" are still getting hit on by those old gentlemen!

I guess now a days, the fragrance companies have changed due to the 90's gourmand movement, creating an audience that likes fruity, candy, sweet smells. Sadly, in my opinion, people now are so used to having people smell so simple, so... ONE note. This perfume is for people who are NOT AFRAID of having a complex smell and sultriness.

I can see this as a unisex perfume because it does have a sort of hippie incense bit to it. I once met a black man who has some hippie musky fragrance on, and let me tell you, HE SMELLED FREAKIN' GREAT!

I do see my mother and grandmother wearing this. My mother (who is 41 years old) says it smells great, and my father who is 42 also agrees. I dont consider them old folk.. i dont know anyone in their young 40's to be old..

Instantly, i get the image of a seductive, spicy, witty, smart, sexy, beautiful woman walking down with lovely hair, red beautiful lips and long eyelashes wearing this. If someone were to make love to someone wearing this, IT WOULD BE A LOVELY smell.

anywho.. i think i have written so much.. so let me just get down to the nitty gritty.


I AM a NINETEEN YEAR OLD YOUNG WOMAN who WEARS "Youth Dew", and gets compliments on THIS PERFUME by many people!

So if you want to smell like the above stated, wear this!

Expand your fragrance experience to complexed smells, soon enough, you will not go back!

PS. I do admit, "Youth Dew" is not a good name for this.. It needs a darker, velvet, mysterious name. "Youth Dew" doesnt give it justice.

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 11/24/2012 1:21:00 AM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

WHAT THE @&$?!. ?? THIS is "youth dew"? Ummm I think there's some kind of mistake. Like my other review for Cinnabar, I cannot find out why anyone appreciates this scent. It's just so stuffy, and old, and crotchety. No offense but why do these scents appeal to old women? Is it because they are so old they can't detect how bad they smell? Their sense of smell diminishes when you get older?? Is that what's gonna happen to me when I get that age? Good freakin grief. The good news is my mom agreed, she was grossed out too and this lady is in her early 50's who loves Bulgari, Donna Karan, Chanel, Givenchy...Anyhoo!!! I'm just shocked. I don't get it, and maybe I have to be 80 years old to understand. Bleh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tyekristopher on 11/5/2012 5:22:00 PM more reviews by tyekristopher

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Oh youth dew... The name alone doesn't appeal to me... the girls at estee lauder counter spray themselves down with this and I'm not talking two sprays either I'm talking like standing under a waterfall in youth dew... YUCK it is so strong and cloying... Nothing about this gets me excited... nothing youthful about it at all.... I always hold my breath when I go by the counter...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 10/17/2012 6:57:00 PM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this fragrance. It's so comforting, spicy, wonderful. It smells "old world" if you know what I mean, with that richness, darkness and depth to it. I can't pull it off unfortunately, and I will probably never wear it in public, but I need one bottle around for the comfort aspect. I don't know anybody who wears it. I just find it so snuggly, cozy, warm, evocative, and lovely.Absolutely wonderful. Ladies who can pull this off and wear it daily, high five, you smell gorgeous. All the people who love this, please don't bother being defensive in your reviews, you have great taste. Don't feel you have to justify it to those who don't get it. It's a beautiful perfume, and if someone doesn't get it at first "sniff", they won't get it no matter what.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeautBetty on 10/1/2012 2:30:00 PM more reviews by BeautBetty

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I also hate when people spray this very strong formula on; you need to be close to the air conditioner!. But I wouldn't want EL to come up with a fresher one to sell to the younger crowd.

BUT, the oil is amazing. I bought mine at an estate sale. Use dab behind ears, elbows and the wrists

All fragances like this will smell strong-similar to Opium or Calix, Carolina Herrera

I read somewhere that Estee Lauder would spray a fragance into the room and then walk through it. Whether she did or not, I think it would definitely work for this

Just keep it light. Use a cotton ball to spray and then put on. Again! it is not Bath and Body Works stuff, which some I adore, they are gone by the time you leave the house

more for a special evening, a "don't forget me date" essence. NOT for work.

and more likely will appear to older and not younger ladies-but there's a fragance out there for those and everyone in between

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 10/1/2012 1:30:00 PM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've never bought this.



Would I EVER buy this? Oh...HELLZ...NO!



This stuff smells like old-lady-in-a-bottle. What are they talking about..."Youth Dew"? Just call it "OLD LADY FUNK" and call it a day!




Whenever I am unfortunate enough to catch a whiff of this, I think of bent, stooped old ladies sitting around the retirement home. It smells like old fashioned hair powder (whatever that smells like) and just general "oldness"...ha...ha...WHATEVER THAT SMELLS LIKE. I guess I have never smelled "oldness" but I have come pretty dayam close when smelling Youth Dew.




Years ago I worked a Clinique counter across from the Estee Lauder counter. Little old ladies used to love to come in and douse themselves with this rank smelling concoction. Ugh...I would get dizzy from the fumes.



I just can't shake the "old ladies love Youth Dew" equation in my mind. Forever and ever, until the day I meet my maker, I will associate the scent of Youth Dew with people aged 80-plus. My grandma used to love this stuff. It lingered on her clothes, in her bedroom on ME when she bent to hug me when I was a kid. UGH! That horrid smell used to get on MY clothes too!



My mom insisted on replenishing Grandma-ma's stash every Christmas and on her birthday. "Can't we buy Grams something else" we kids would whine...like how about something that does not smell like it died two weeks ago! "Now kids, you know how much Grams looooves her Youth Dew...don't be so selfish...this is for Grams....NOT FOR YOU....you little turds"!



Errr...riiight...like couldn't we just tell Grams that they stopped making this shiat years ago????

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Fragrances products