Neutrogena • Ultra Sheer Face Sunscreen SPF 60 with Helioplex • Sunscreen

rated 3.1(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 benzoate on 12/16/2011 10:11:00 PM more reviews by benzoate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is way too greasy for my face and neck. It gave me a bunch of whiteheads on my cheeks!! I can only use this on my arms and legs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HappyTheFace23 on 7/23/2011 2:37:00 PM more reviews by HappyTheFace23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have this sunblock with the helioplex in spf 70, and it works nicely. I was given the neutrogena daily moisturizer with spf 50 and it was terrbile, it made my face brake out and turn red, so I was reluctant to try another neutrogena moisturizer. However, I needed facial sunblock and this is the only we have, since it is my mom's holy grail. I tried and it and I didn't have a negative reaction, and I haven't had a terrible sun burn yet, even though I am getting slighlt tanner and I don't think it is as bad as normal, so I am pleased. I reccommend to others to try one of the ultra sheer sunblocks from neutrogena. Oh and a little goes a long way, and I am extremely cautious as to how much I apply every day because the dry touch texture confuses me a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lol392 on 5/25/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by lol392

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty good sunscreen, haven't gotten sunburned after using it.

I use this after I shower and then put on moisturizer (which is quickly absorbed + non greasy). I just dot it all over my face and then blend it out. A lot goes a long way and I always find I get too much so I use the excess on my neck. You only need a dime size or less...

The consistency is pretty thick and it tends to leave a bit of a white cast but I don't mind because I don't pile it on and it goes away after a while. I have pretty oily skin normally but this doesn't add on to it much (doesn't matify though) and I would be oily by the afternoon anyway.

I have REALLY sensitive skin so I'm worried about trying new products but this didn't do anything to me at all surprisingly :D

Wouldn't repurchase because I would like to try other sunscreens that maybe more...matifying (if possible lol).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jenyfyr on 5/22/2011 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Jenyfyr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My husband had melanoma a few years ago and his both his dermatologist and oncologist recommended that he use Neutrogena sunblock in a high spf factor. We found a 3-pack containing two bottles of 55 and one 60 at Costco so we bought several. The 55 is great but we both find the 60 to be considerably thicker. It doesn't absorb nearly as quickly and actually leaves white streaky marks even after it's been rubbed in. It also sticks to your eyebrows and facial hair, in my husband's case. We'll use up what we've already purchased but won't be buying the spf 60 again - we'll see what else the dermatologist can recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pandora7 on 5/21/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Pandora7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Sorely disappointed that this is yet another product I'll be giving away/tossing out. I could deal with the greasy feel/look if it hadn't left me with a tonne of little whitehead bumpies across my nose, cheeks and chin after only a few hours. I've figured out that my acne the last few years is a direct result of cosmetics - washes/creams/makeup...and after finally going back to natural basics, clearing my skin up...I'm at a loss for what to use in the sun. Argh. This isn't the first Neutrogena product that has done this to me either. But I'm afraid it's the last. My poor skin can't deal with some of these additives that skin care companies have been using.

:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenny4489 on 5/1/2011 8:41:00 AM more reviews by jenny4489

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Last year I bought shiseido SPF 55 face cream and I absolutely loved it but it cost me 50 dollars for 2 oz which was a little bit ridiculous, so this year I tried finding something comparable that still had a very high SPF because I am extremely fair and I burn very easily. I found this sunscreen at the drugstore for 14.99 and that's a good price compared to the 50 I spent the year before and I have to say that I actually really like this sunscreen. I usually mix it with my daily moisturizer and put it on in the morning and it sinks into the skin fairly fast, it doesn't leave a white cast and it isn't oily, basically everything it advertised is how it worked with my skin, by the end of the day my nose was a little bit oily but I have found that if I put a little bit of transparent mineral veil on my t-zone after applying the sunscreen and then putting foundation on after seems to get rid of that problem. All in all I really like this sunscreen, it has a high SPF of 60, works well, protects my skin and I will most definitely purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nik0 on 4/30/2011 11:38:00 AM more reviews by nik0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Until recently I've used nothing but Laroche-Posay Athelios for the past two years, and I've been quite happy with it. It's become almost ritualistic for me to go and pick up 3 tubes of it (at 29.99 each), which would last me just over a month. After comparing the ingredients and reviews with Neutrogena Ultra Sheer, I decided to give it a try, expecting to dislike it and give it away.
I was dumbfounded from the moment I put it on. It has a dry feeling to it and takes quite a bit of effort to smooth into the skin, but about 30 seconds after you have it smoothed in and blend in the white lines, it just gives your face an even tone and eliminates any shine.
I also have quite fair skin, so I was skeptical about switching to a cheaper product, but it definitely holds up.
In short: works great, makes your skin even and smooth, costs about half the price of comparable products. As for the cons, don't apply without a mirror, or you'll look like an idiot - it takes a while to blend in and will leave white spots everywhere, and also, watch the eyebrows, it's thickness makes it prone to clumping in your eyebrows (or facial stubble as the case may be).

As a guy, fragrance free, low-maintenance, completely deniable skin products are important to me, and this product definitely wins the pot in my mind. Not to mention by switching I managed to save a couple hundred dollars a year...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enotkatya1 on 2/6/2011 3:14:00 PM more reviews by enotkatya1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't like it. Face is oily. Will not repurchase. And it is chemical sunscreen and not great ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* inneroracle on 11/12/2010 10:54:00 AM more reviews by inneroracle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't love this. I was looking for a replacement for my $48 Jan Marini Daily Antioxidant sunscreen, and I thought I'd try this because the active ingredients look the same. It is not the same at all. This makes my skin tingle/feel a little irritated. Plus, it feels kind of sticky and doesn't seem to absorb into the skin. I definitely will not be repurchasing this. Maybe I'll just keep it for summer time when I go kayaking and will be in the sun all day with no makeup. This doesn't go under makeup well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geegerrl on 9/25/2010 11:59:00 PM more reviews by geegerrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is really light on the face, it absorbs well and doesn't leave your face greasy. I could still wear this under my moisturizer and my face still don't feel oily and heavy, considering that I have pretty oily face. Although, when I put on my moisturizer with this, my face burns a bit, just for 5 seconds then it goes away. No lingering irritation or rashes. I don't know if it will do the same with another moisturizer coz I haven't tried that yet. I will try another face sunscreen but I will most likely purchase this again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Sunscreen products