L'Oreal • Double Extend Beauty Tubes • Mascara

rated 3.6(675 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 LizEM1 on 6/22/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by LizEM1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this stuff. The primer is great, but the mascara felt too heavy on my lashes. I also thought it was labor intensive to apply. Primer, comb lashes, mascara, comb lashes, mascara, comb lashes. It comes off with plain water; that was a plus, but this is not my favorite mascara. It did last all day and did not smear, but if it wasn't applied correctly and the lashes combed, it caused the clumsy spider eye look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ColoradoChick303 on 6/12/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by ColoradoChick303

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this for at least 3 years. LOVE it so much that I have 3 unopened packages in "stock" in case they discontinue it. I will never give it up!

This product dries quickly on your eyelashes - NEVER pull or tug on your lashes once they're dry. You could break the eyelash.

COMBINED WITH LATISSE
I use Latisse (Love that too - see my review), and adding the L'Oreal Double Extend Beauty Tubes gives me AMAZING eyelashes. Because my lashes are so long from Latisse, using the white conditioner primer in this mascara makes me look like I have false eyelashes.

BEAUTY TUBES
The white end is the conditioner/primer - it looks like white mascara, and has fibers that thicken and lengthen your lashes. The red end is the mascara - just put that over top of the conditioner (really easy and no mess). It creates a fiber "tube" around your eyelash.

WEARABILITY
It stays on all day - smudgeproof, sweatproof, and waterproof under normal conditions. It NEVER runs, streaks, smudges, or gives you raccoon eyes. If conditions are such that your lashes get completely soaked, then it would come off your eyes as described below. But .. it still doesn't leave you with black smudges.

REMOVING THE MASCARA
It's really easy to remove the mascara. You don't need soap or makeup remover (although you can use them if you want to).

1.Splash warm water on your face and get your eyelashes soaking wet (like soak them for a minute or two). You'll feel your eyelashes softening up with the water.

2. Once they feel soft, close your eye, put your index finger horizontally along your lash line, and very gently sweep it downward (it should take very little pressure). If your lashes are soaked enough, the mascara "tubes" will literally slide right off your eyelashes.

It looks absolutely bizarre - sort of like a lot of black lint. Just pick it off your face like you would lint. At that point, just keep gently sweeping your index finger downward, and the "tubes" just slide right off your eyelashes. All the color of the mascara is bonded to the "lint", so that's why you don't get any left behind on your face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kris109 on 5/8/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by Kris109

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I'm in love with this mascara! It's the first one I have continually bought over and over. I recommend it to everyone! I've even stopped people in the store and told them to try it! It does not smudge or flake AT ALL. I never have to clean under my eyes over the course of the day, or heck, even if I sleep with it on, my mascara is still perfect in the morning! Though, it comes off so beautifully and easily, for the first time ever, I almost always take it off before bed! No black running down your face, even if you just wash your face without first taking it off! I simply wet a cotton ball, and hold it to my eye, and the tubes just pull right off, no mess. I like my lashes to look natural, but dark and dramatic. This totally does the job. I buy it every few weeks, to build up a reserve...because if they ever take it off the market, I'll just die.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WynterOlly on 4/28/2014 2:20:00 AM more reviews by WynterOlly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a mascara junkie and have tried everything from Dior to Maybelline, always a little unsatisfied. I like the long, thick, false lashes look. This mascara is extensions in a bottle. I love it. My HG. Lahes hit my eyebrows. I do one eye at a time; one coat of white, three coats of black. I get compliments on my lashes non stop with this mascara. It doesn't flake or smudge AT ALL even if I sweat, cry, or am out all day. But, it comes off with a little hot water and gentle rubbing. My lashes are stronger, longer and healthier because of this. HG!<3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 4/26/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Even tho I've given this a 3 rating, I would still re-purchase...I've tried 2 WP mascaras in the last few mo & they've ripped my lashes out upon removal every time...So even tho this literally gives no significant length OR volume (the volume part I require b/c I've long yet sparse lashes), it is great as a staying mascara for natural looks...I like that the primer has nourishing properties...I'm down to 5 mascaras now (Lash Accelerator, Grow Luscious, Voluminous, Lash Domination, 24 Hr Lash Blast) & now this one...Point is, I'm trying to use mascaras that have conditioning properties as I've noticed they've thinned out over the yrs. So this is a great summer time mascara or staying mascara for when I do my cardio etc to hold me over until I splurge & try They're Real (which I heard has great staying power too). I never used to have a problem w/ mascaras flaking until just recently, so this mascara thus far is great insofar as I don't feel little specs in my eyes ever.
P.S. For all the cat people out there -- mine's obsessed when I remove the little tubes as he loves sitting on the vanity & goes crazy watching them slip down the drain!! lol. CATS. Ha.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 goldenpeach86 on 4/20/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by goldenpeach86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this mascara because I wanted something with a primer. I was looking for a primer with the hopes of my lashes looking longer and more defined when applying mascara. I do like the primer. When I apply the primer my lashes look really long and it even makes my lashes appear thicker. However I dont like the mascara portion all that much. When I apply the primer and then this mascara I just dont get the lash look I really like. I like my lashes to be really long,thick and super black. I dont get that look with this. This does give my eyelashes some length and the color is pretty black but I dont get the super length or thickness which is funny because applying the primer alone gives me those results. When I apply the primer and my trusty Jordana mascara and then a coat of this mascara over that, I love the results! My lashes look very black, very long and full. I didnt expierence a problem with this mascara clumping. I do find this mascara easy to remove but I actually find the fibers coming off to be be annoying. Sometimes I will see left over fibers in my sink after washing my face but its not a big deal. I dont think I would repurchase this again. I really like the primer but I dont think that alone is enough to get me to purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LarissaQ on 4/10/2014 11:35:00 AM more reviews by LarissaQ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For a mascara that comes with a primer, its price is sensational.
I like it because I can remove the product very easily, he does not let the raccoon eyes, doen't flake and melt with time.
When removing it, it comes out like a plastic film, very easy!
The negatives to say is that it clumps very easily, can stick your lashes together (it is quite common if you are not careful) and it dries pretty quickly.
So you should have a little patience to get the best effect from it.
That's why i gave it 3 lipsticks.
It is a difficult mascara to work with, but if you are careful enough it becomes a good mascara.
i know that a lot of people don't like it because of the "clump potential" , but I do!
I usually use it when i have time to work with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 3/19/2014 1:45:00 AM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I last used a two step mascara probably about 5-6 years ago but gave it up because it was time consuming. I'm always on the quest for my HG mascara. I found this quick and easy to apply as there is no dry time between stages. Surprisingly Double Extend beauty tubes is one of the most natural look mascaras I have used. It adds just enough length and volume to give lashes a little extra oomph. I tend to like very dramatic (heavy) mascara, but I find myself reaching for this a lot. The wear is excellent, doesn't flake or smudge all day. It's a bit odd to remove, but a small price to pay for not flaking

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NonGuru on 3/6/2014 1:51:00 AM more reviews by NonGuru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
1. The prices is really good for a mascara that comes with a primer.
2. It lengthens really well for my short lashes as well as adding quite a bit of volume.
3. It stays on pretty much all day.
4. It doesn't smudge so I never have to worry about raccoon eyes.
5. It is really easy to remove.

Cons:
1. It does dry extremely quickly so you have to work quickly. I preferably work on each eye separately so it doesn't dry as I'm putting on primer/mascara on the other eye.
2. My lashes do stick together but this can be solved by taking an eyelash brush or even just an old mascara brush that's all cleaned and brushing through your lashes while it's wet. This will separate the lashes and it will dry like that.

Other than that, the two cons are easily fixed so I would definitely buy this again once I ran out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rasbperries on 3/5/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by rasbperries

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara doesn't give a particularly dramatic look and can be kind of finicky to apply, but it's one of the few mascaras I can use without worrying about smudging under my eyes. When I want black mascara, this is the one I reach for. I have a real problem with eyeliners/mascaras giving me that heroin chic look a few hours into wear, and when I'm at work or if I'm out in public I don't want to have to worry about that. This mascara is a little more time to apply than a regular one, since you have to wait for the white side to dry first, and I need to curl my eyelashes when I use this which I don't usually do. The formula is pretty dry - you have to do a few coats to make sure all the white is covered and to get the full effect. Also you have to be sure you don't apply eyeliner or do anything after applying the mascara that will make your lashes stick together - because they WILL and it will ruin the effect. I did this the second or third day I used this mascara and I looked like a moron with about three eyelashes - but only on my left eye. Very attractive.

However, if you're careful with applying it does give a very nice look, decent volume - not amazing, but it's not difficult to keep eyelashes separated when you use this so it adds to the effect - and a nice amount of length. I have a few higher end mascaras and they do look a little nicer and are easier to use, sure, but they don't wear as well so I reach for this one more often. I wake up really early for work so I don't need anything adding to my already pronounced dark circles. I gave three lippies for price just because it was $13.99 in Canada (not on sale, at a pricier pharmacy) which I think is moderately terrible for a drugstore mascara. I guess you get two products in one and that's why the price is high, but L'Oreal consistently marks its products pretty high considering you can buy them at Walmart, so. I'll buy it again anyway but I'm not thrilled about the cost, hopefully next time I can find it on sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products