L'Oreal HiP Metallic Duo - Gilded #806

4.2

79 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/23/2011 5:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I never felt really enticed to get this L'oreal duos, but I had heard some great reviews about this so I thought "What the hell, just try it out!" And oh my god. I don't think I've ever found shadows of this great quality at the drugstore before. They come close to my Wet 'n' Wild shadow, but these blow them out of the water. Let me break down the colors.

Left Side:
In the pan this color looks like a muted gold, but my god on your lid it looks PHENOMENAL. I honestly like this shadow more than some of my MAC shadows. I layer this with Rubenesque pain pot and it looks stunning. The texture is silky and it applies with ease. Hit hit hit!

Right side:
I didn't think I'd love this color, but its really unique and I don't have one color similiar to it. It's hard to describe. I'd call it a toned down black with color sparkle. But no fallout at all. This works perfectly in the crease with the gold on the lid.

So this duo blows my mind. The quality is amazing and I think its necessary for EVERY make up lover. So run, DON'T WALK to your drugstore and get this ;)



on 1/16/2011 8:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the combo of these two metallic colors. Great for nighttime, a little too glittery for day but beautiful nonetheless. I am fair with Medium Auburn hair and it suits my coloring, it is very flattering on me. The colors are highly pigmented and you really don't need much at all. Overall, great product. In general HIP makes some of my favorite eye products along with NYX.


on 1/16/2011 7:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this combination! I use it for when I want to look dazzling. I wore this to church today and received lots of compliments on my makeup. If your looking for a combination to wear to look good, look no further.


on 1/14/2011 7:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i really like this line, they are nicely pigmented and stay in place, however, i am not in love with this particular combo, i like the gold, it's very very shiny, like liquid yellow gold, it is the exact color on your eye as inside of the container, the brown is fadey though, i had a hard time with it, overall great, but given the opportunity, i would not buy this particular combination again because the gold is actually -too- intense for me. lol


on 1/7/2011 11:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

What a pleasant surprise!

This is my first purchase from the HIP line and I am very impressed.

I can only speak for the gold side at present. I used it on my sister on New Year's Eve (over a layer of MAC Painterly) and though she is blessed with the same oily eyelids as I, the gold was still on the next morning. If only our poor hungover minds were as fresh and sparkly as her shadow...

This stuff is highly pigmented, blends well, stays put, and I loved the color. It looks amazing on blue eyes.


on 9/26/2010 6:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

to tell the truth i love this combination and find this one much better than the crystal ones. the bronze is just so shiny and i love shiny eyeshadows and ones that r smooth. the black...ehhh its alright kind of fadyish but when dabbing it on a couple of times its good. overal i love the bronze color and the combo. very nice and would buy agn.


on 9/24/2010 12:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Wooooow, this duo was fantastic! The gold is super rich in color and absolutely gorgeous, while the dark brown/black with gold sparkles did a really good job of complimenting my crease and eyelashes. It made a really smoldering look that's too extreme for everyday use but just perfect for a party or something. Probably my favorite HiP eyeshadow duo, because as beautiful as the blue-on-blue Showy one was, my Asian skin just can't pull off blue eyeshadows as well as gold ones.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my most favorite eye shadows ever. The gold is bright and enchanting and the darker color, in my opinion is a black, not a brown, with golden glitter which doesn't really show up. I don't even need eyeliner with this look since I just use the black and I love how intense the color goes on. Just a dab on the shadow will turn your finger gold and it goes on the brush so well and blends beautifully. Though it's a bit intense for school, I learned to tone it down a bit and I always get compliments. I just start the gold from my tear duct and end right below the end of my brows then blend the black in slowly. I feel like Cleopatra whenever I wear it! I'm an NC40 and I am a monolid and this product is perfect for me as well as my NC20 blonde friend.


on 8/31/2010 3:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Yes I own too faced/nars/smashbox/urbandecay/ the list goes on but let me tell you... Dab your finger with that primer then effortlessly watch the magic begin. Every single eyeshadow bye Loreal HIP line does the job. I pinky promise. (the little brush sucks though go buy some brushes) But yes do not doubt these little suckers of ingredients that lead to Satisfaction. :]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love the gold side. The only bad thing is that the brown is kinda less pigmented but it works well. Gold shimmers in it is real cute. Good buy :)


Back to Top