Unlisted Brand • The Egg Bomb • Conditioner

rated 4.2(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 amandadee97 on 8/12/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've decided that eggs and my hair simply don't agree. I've tried this in many different combinations, with coconut oil, olive oil, honey, you name it. I always end up with greasy, stiff eggy smelling hair(this is after shampoo and conditioner) I have other natural masks that I use that work much better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chimpanzee on 8/6/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by chimpanzee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't impressed with this. I was kinda excited for it because its gotten such rave reviews, its cheap and natural (im very pro natural) but it didn't give me the results everyone is talking about. I have thin, fine, wavy textured medium-length hair that is slightly frizzy and dry. I combined two egg yolks with two tbsp. olive oil and a bit of water, heated it up a little, applied it all over damp hair and tied it up for half an hour. It didn't smell too bad honestly. I tried to thoroughly rinse my hair in cool water before shampooing and conditioning my hair but I ended up with cooked egg pieces in my hair anyways which wasn't very pleasant. I had to drench my hair in conditioner cause it made my hair so so tangled, and even then it was very difficult to comb. Once it dried my hair looked limp, slightly greasy and still a little frizzy. If anything I think it worsened the texture of my hair. Won't bother trying it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hairisbeauty on 7/10/2013 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Hairisbeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is really good! I just used it today, and I got great results. My usual black hair with brown highlights (natural) is usually uncontrollable. Now, its smooth, silky and shiny! I'm defiantly going to use this again. Right now, the leftovers is stored neatly in a plastic container in my basement refrigerator. You need
1-5 eggs
1-2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
1 cup of water
Something to mix with
A plastic container
a microwave
Directions: Crack your egg(s) into your plastic container. Its optional to separate your yolks from you whites. I like to use all of my egg, so I don't waste. (make sure to crush you eggs, or mix them well. Last time, I had cooked egg pieces... They were white!)
2. Add 1-2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil to your mix.
3. Add one cup of water. Make sure you mix everything together thoroughly
4. Put your plastic container in the microwave. Microwave until its warm, not hot, or else you'll get cooked eggs that you can't eat.
5. Cap the cap on your plastic container.
6. Take a shower, don't bother on making your hair smell good... I guess you know why.
7. Dunk your hand in, and massage you head. Keep on doing that until your fully satisfied that the egg is covering your hair fully.
8. Apply a shower cap over it and let it sit for 20-30 minutes.
9. Rinse it out.
10. Let it air dry or blow dry it.
11. Enjoy and feel the softness!
12. If there is some left, seal the top of your container and store it in a fridge or else youll have rotting egg. Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Hope this works for you... This worked for me. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snosand on 6/10/2013 4:38:00 PM more reviews by Snosand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

How I make mine:
2 Egg yolks
2 tablespoons of Avocado oil
1 Cup of water

Mixture will work for medium thick hair with length above bra strap. If longer or thicker you may need to adjust the amounts. Double everything, if that is too much next time subtract by 1.

Use an easy pour container. Beat eggs, add oil mix well then add water mixing well. Have old towel handy. Place head over sink (hair is dry), slowly pour mixture near scalp. Work mixture into scalp and add to another section. Repeat until scalp is covered. Now pour remaining mixture through rest of hair. You may need to lightly ring out your hair to prevent lots of dripping. Wrap hair in towel and leave on for at least 15 minutes but 30 is best. Shampoo and condition as normal.

I've tried lots of different homemade recipes for my hair. Nothing has ever worked as great as this one. It leaves my hair soft and shiny. As a bonus the eggs help hair grow stronger, conditions the hair to help with breakage, helps prevent hair loss and helps maintain a healthy scalp.

The oil used can penetrate the hair shaft adding moisture. The nutrients in avocado oil promotes healthy cell growth.

The water helps for a easier rinse out to makes everything easy to distribute.

I'm very pleased with this treatment and I use it once a week. It is cost effective and after just 5 treatments I can see a difference in my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 6/3/2013 3:07:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

*Update: The day after reviewing this I did another mask. I made it this time with one egg (including the white) and 2tsp of honey instead of 1tbsp. It worked just as well, actually better I think - easier to spread and stayed wet in my hair longer. At this point it was possibly overkill, but although my hair needs moisture right now I feel like it also still needed a bit more protein just to be sure the strands had strength. From now on I'll likely make it this way, playing with the amount of honey, using it on an as-needed basis.

The majority of recipes listed in reviews here and in blogs contain egg yolk, oil(s) of some kind, yogurt, and/or honey. Many will list this as a moisturizing mask. My review is for a paired down version and before I continue on I must clarify that ALL of these masks (regardless of the ingredients that are added with the egg) are PROTEIN masks. Adding other moisturizing ingredients simply helps to minimize the straw-like result that straight protein can cause. Please TEST YOUR HAIR to see if it is in need of protein. In my case, signs of protein deficiency are lots of frizziness along with hair still being shiny (both when wet and when dry, but very noticeable when wet and scrunching); hair has a hard time holding onto moisture and can start feeling dry at the ends/lengths the longer I go without washing it; it will not hold its natural curl properly; hair will be too soft and mushy in the shower; and if I take a few shed strands (or ones still attached to my head - no more than 3 strands) and stretch them, they will stretch and stretch and then snap or remain at that stretched out length - balanced hair will return to its original length. So if your hair sounds like it's in need of some protein, this is worth trying out.

Recipe:
As stated above, most recipes contain egg yolk, oil, honey, and/or yogurt. I cowash my hair (wash with conditioner) and am trying to minimize clarifying to no more than once a month, while I know that I could need protein treatments more often. cowashing alone will not remove the oil without likely leaving residue behind, so I decided to make my recipe very clean:
* 2 egg yolks
* 1tbsp of raw honey
Both of these ingredients wash out in water alone, meaning this is a mask I can use even on days I do not wash my hair. The egg acts as the protein component while the honey acts as a humectant, which helps to draw moisture into the hair. Of the excluded ingredients, oil will mostly act as a moisture sealant and softener to the hair (an oil like coconut would have the easiest time absorbing into the hair, and coconut oil is a great choice if you are very much in need of protein as it can help the hair keep protein within the strands as opposed to simply coating the hair to prevent water evaporation) while yogurt will provide very mild protein and some softening to the hair.
Eliminating the oil and yogurt from the mixture leaves the mask runny and sticky in the hair. It also definitely smells pretty gross because of the eggs, but it doesn't linger in the hair (perhaps try some essential oils if the smell is too strong, although I'm not sure how those scents would mix together).

Performance:
Again, to clarify, my hair was in very dire need of protein. I've concluded that I have low to normal porosity hair. But because my strands are mostly fine to medium, they can easily become overmoisturized and thus lack protein. This results in high porosity symptoms, mostly hair that dries faster and hair that doesn't hold onto moisture. So I decided to whip some of this mask up, and applied it to my hair from scalp to tip. It's not going to comb through the hair so sectioning hair will make it easier to apply evenly (which I will do next time!). After applying, baggy or wrap the hair in some saran wrap or an actual plasticy hair cap, then put a towel on over that to help add warmth to the hair so that everything absorbs better into the hair (if you do not have lower porosity hair you may not need to do this). I let mine sit on my hair for an hour because of how much protein my hair was needing, and then rinsed it out in the shower and followed up with conditioner. I did use warm/almost hot water and had no "cooking" issues. I've used straight egg as a mask before and rinsed with hot water and have never had that issue. Applied some conditioner as a leave-in after scrunching with a tshirt. My hair took much longer to fully dry, it felt much much stronger in the shower, but it also felt a bit tangly. When tshirt-drying it I saw that there was almost no frizz like there was my last wash but my hair did not spiral curl. I do know that my hair has some build-up though so that is likely affecting the curl and weight of my hair, and I probably just need some more protein treatments.

Bang for your Buck:
Regardless of what you decide to put into your mask, it's a very price-friendly DIY regardless of how often it's used.

Final Consensus:
Cowashing has taught me that it takes work to get hair to be balanced and to look its best and perform its best. My version of this mask is a great way to add protein when my hair needs it and is definitely something that I will be using as-needed. But ONLY for protein purposes. I'll likely try for a bi-weekly to monthly use once my hair is more balanced, although weekly would be fine.
* Overall Rating: 5/5
* Price: 1/5
* Packaging Quality: 3/5 (not really applicable here though)
* Repurchase: Yes

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tillis on 4/18/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by tillis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this hair mask after reading so many awesome reviews, but I was a tiny bit disappointed. Still, overall I was impressed - I think I was just hoping for too much. My hair does feel a bit healthier than it did before using this.

To start with, my hair is just a couple inches above waist-length in the back, and thicker than thick. To give you an idea, I've had so many hairdressers pick up less than a quarter of my hair and tell me, "You've got more hair right here than most people have on their entire head." I actually had to use five times the recipe - I tripled it to begin with but it was definitely not enough. I've dyed my hair maybe five times in the past few years, straighten it once or twice a week and am way overdue on a trim, so I did have a bit of damage.

It did feel disgusting during the application, but I didn't notice much of a smell. I applied, covered my hair and let it sit for about forty-five minutes. It did take a few minutes to rinse out before shampooing, and even though I'd brushed it before applying the egg bomb, it was the most knotted mess it's ever been while trying to shampoo and condition. After air-drying it was still pretty oily, so I washed and conditioned again and that fixed it.

Now that it's all dry and clean, I do notice a bit of difference. It does seem a bit healthier overall, and somehow my ends look and feel fuller. Aside from that I don't notice much difference in the overall feel or texture of my hair, but I suppose it wasn't too bad to start with and the egg bomb did essentially what it was supposed to. My hair feels stronger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 seraphik on 3/24/2013 10:55:00 AM more reviews by seraphik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have long, blonde super dry and damaged hair and have tried everything, hoped that this would be the solution. Doubled the mix, did everything to the letter and zero difference, my hair is still as crappy as it was before I did it. Great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shampooaholic on 1/18/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Shampooaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I did this to my hair this morning (2 eggs and 2 tablespoons olive oil. Left on 30 min) and didn't notice any change in my hair. I used brown eggs too. But since it's a natural thing and can't damage my hair I'll for sure do it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Volchitsa on 12/23/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Volchitsa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this for a couple weeks because of how many people swear by it, but it just didn't do much for me. I have dry, frizzy, damaged hair and I came out of the shower looking the same. Very little shine, still poofy, and still dry. After a few weeks my hair looked slightly more moisturized, though.

I ended up cutting my locks off and going for a pixie cut. Because my (now short) hair isn't broken or thin, I can see more of a difference. It is a bit softer and shinier and the frizz is a little more controllable.

I like the fact that it is all natural and pretty cheep (pun intended). It's also really important to buy good quality eggs. I have my own hens who are free ranged and fed organically, and I use their eggs but one time I had to settle for some poor quality store bought eggs and the difference was pretty noticeable; just not as healthy looking and not as moisturized.

Overall, I like the product. I guess I was just disappointed that it's not some miracle cure like everyone was saying it was. Also, it takes a long time to notice a difference. I still occasionally treat myself to it in hopes that any new hair growth will be more healthy and moisturized than before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bethany94 on 12/22/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by Bethany94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I do this treatment once a month. I use three tablespoons of coconut oil, one egg yolk, and one tablespoon of honey. I leave it on for two hours. It makes my hair shiny and very soft. I have done it for two of my friends, and they love it too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Conditioner products