Nadinola • Fade Cream • Skincare - Face

rated 4.0(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 nanaknickers on 11/29/2013 12:11:00 AM more reviews by nanaknickers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I should have known better than to put this stuff on my face after smelling it. It has a noxious smell; reminiscent of nair or a relaxer. But alas, swayed by the positive reviews I decided to try it and definitely wish I didn't. I used this overnight for about a week and I've been dealing with the damage for just as long. My skin feels thinner and is painful to touch; it's extremely irritated. I've never had sensitive skin but I sure do now. My skin won't stop stinging and my pores are huge! I have hives that won't go away and my usual mineral makeup just doesn't look good right now. I'm going to put the nadinola fade cream where it belongs: the trash. This stuff is garbage and not work messing your skin up with. Just my $0.02.

**UPDATE**
After two weeks of tlc my skin has healed quite a bit. During this time I had to stop using most of my normal products because my severely irritated skin couldn't handle them. I used cetaphil to cleanse, rosewater to tone, almond oil as day moisturizer, and decleor rose de'orient night balm before bed. I didn't wear any make up. My skin doesn't burn when I touch it now, the hives are gone, and my pores are back to normal. There is some flakiness and patchiness in color due to being unable to exfoliate and wear my normal spf 35.

Overall, this was the worst skin experience I've ever had to deal with and I strongly urge you to reconsider using this product.

***UPDATE***
Long after writing that last update I found the nadinola while cleaning my room. I threw it in the trash (should have done that sooner) and wanted to re-visit this review since this is a product I feel strongly about. Please,please, please reconsider using this if you are on the fence. My skin healed after a few weeks and it's back to normal but my experience with this cream was such a nightmare and I can't believe there are people out there advocating its use. This stuff is dangerous and if you don't want to ruin your skin I would forget about nadinola fade cream.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ann2781 on 10/28/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by ann2781

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay...so I have been a long time lurker on MUA. This is my first review and you can bet it is because this product is so totally worth it. To start off, I am of asian descent with brown, dry skin that burns and pigments easily. To make things worse, I had this hyper-pigmentation scar on my face from a scratch that was 7 years old and I tried just about everything in my budget to fade it and let me tell you nothing worked. NOTHING!! I tried home recipes, the lemon-honey trick, mederma, bio-oil and nothing. Anyways, I bought this cream quite by accident, saw it at walmart for about $5 saw the word "fade" on it and I was like ok, its cheap enough to give it a try. Well, let me tell you it's not only dirt cheap , it actually works!! I saw lightening of my scar in just 2 days. Right now, I have been using it for about 1 month and I can hardly see my scar any more. What remains is a very(and I mean very) light discoloration that I am positive will be gone in a couple more months if not weeks. I have been using it on all other spots on my face as well and honestly my skin hasn't looked this good in ages. I don't care for the jar packaging or the smell(which is really not unique enough to critic either way) but I take away no lippies for those because the stuff inside the jar is that good.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimberlyann on 10/14/2013 12:09:00 PM more reviews by kimberlyann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the most important review I'll ever write on MakeupAlley. Let me give you some background: I was on Accutane for a few years total got a lot of sun exposure (Accutane makes your skin thin and sensitive to the sun) which in turn gave me a TON of sun damage on my face and body. So I was really discouraged and even contemplated chemical peels and possibly laser sometime down the road to correct the issues. I read about Nadinola on here and on YouTube so I decided to check it out.
-------------------------
There was one hyperpigmented spot in particular on my face that was really noticeable, dark and large and it was really embarrassing for me. I've tried greek yogurt and turmeric to lighten it but those didn't do anything.. So I tried putting a little nadinola on it every single night without fail and now a little over a month later, it's completely gone. I could not believe it. I got discouraged after a week or two because most people on here said they noticed a difference within such a short time frame but ladies: BE PATIENT!! Wait it out!
-------------------------
You can find the Nadinola cream in the ethnic hair care section at Wal Mart and it is $5. Also, I wasn't too sure if it'd work for me in the beginning because I only saw/read reviews that were African American skin types but it works on Caucasian skin as well. Another thing you should know is that during the first month or so of use, my skin turned a little red on the areas that I was applying the cream but nothing else, and it slowly got used to the cream and redness went away--I think a little bit of temporary redness is a small price to pay for such great results.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lucy2792 on 8/21/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by lucy2792

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this cream nightly for 3 weeks now and the moustache shaped hyperpigmentation on my upper lip has faded significantly. It has a slight rose, old lady fragrance which is tolerable but it would be nice if it were unscented. Very happy with the results so far.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yaki on 5/3/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by yaki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am NW45, with dark spots from acne and scars on my leg. I'm also oily skin and acne-prone.

I've tried Dr Fred Summit, great product but hard to apply without feeling oily.

I received Nadinola Extra Strenght yesterday along with a 10%AHA cream. I mixed the both products and apply it on my face and body.
This morning I was afraid to see pimples and red patches on my face. This would be a nightmare.
Instead of that, I discovered a younger-looking face (Ok, I'm 23). I mean my pores are less visible, my skin is tight and smooth. My yesterday pimples are gone (I'm not kidding). They are gone! The overnight results are great. I'm enthusiastic and optimistic about the results to come. I will update in one week.

I'm about to buy more.

Only negative point: the size of the jar ... come on, a bigger jar would be great!

The price is cheap so you have nothing to loose

Oh yeah, I try the product on my inner wrist 5 hours before applying all over me. It is compulsory if you don't want to mess with your sensitive skin if you have one like me.

Other point: As contrary to others, I like the smell, I mean it doesn't bother me.

I did not wear makeup today, this product made me feel very confident.

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyfarrahfowler on 4/21/2013 8:08:00 PM more reviews by amyfarrahfowler

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So far I have used this cream, nightly, for 4 weeks. As a point of reference I'm NC40 and have a few areas of hyperpigmentation that drive.me.NUTS! I have a quarter-sized stubborn melasma patch on one cheek, another stubborn "mustache-like" melasma patch and then a few old dark marks from acne breakouts that I should've left alone but didn't (hey, no judging allowed LOL!).

I've tried everything... mid-priced over-the-counter fade products from Clinique, Philosophy, Murad, Peter Thomas-Roth etc and I've also used very expensive, custom-compounded prescription creams from dermatologists and I've also used Obagi (alright, in all fairness Obagi IS the bomb-diggity but the stuff is pryyy-see!!! oy!). On a complete and total whim, I bought the Nadinola cream at Walgreens about 10pm on a Saturday night after reading some very encouraging reviews on the internet (and we all know it can't be on the internet if it's not true... bwaaaaaaaaahahahaha!).

That was 4 weeks ago yesterday and after using this cream 1-2x/day, every day, my melasma-moustache is almost gone! It's faded dramatically and I know in another month or so, it will be completely gone. My other dark areas are definitely faded too.

I read that people were getting faster results by combining with Retin-A. I don't have that, I have Tazorac which is pretty much the same thing so sometimes instead of applying the Nadinola cream to my whole face (hey, I'm not lookin to bleach myself like Michael Jackson, k??) I will apply my Tazorac and then on top of that I will apply this Nadinola cream ONLY to the areas I'm looking to fade.

I have dry skin and do not find this cream to be too heavy... HOWEVER... your mileage may vary and if your skin is not dry it might be too heavy for you to use in the daytime / under makeup. If that's the case, just use it at night.

Regardless of how often you use it you must... MUST.... ABSOLUTELY MUST... wear a good sunscreen during the day. If you don't, you're wasting your time, energy and money because the sun is just darkening back up those hyperpigmentation marks you say you want to fade.

Nadinola contains 3% hydroquinone which is the strongest amount available over the counter in the U.S. without a prescription. It also contains a ridiculously small level of SPF but don't let it mistakenly lull you into thinking you don't need to wear sunscreen during the day... YOU... DO!!!!!!

Anyway, if you're looking to fade some melasma and/or post-acne hyperpigmentation, pick up Nadinola cream and give it a try. It's pretty inexpensive - I think it was like $12 at Walgreens and would've been cheaper if I'd been willing to order and wait. Hey, if you're like me, when it comes to fading your dark spots, there's no way in hades you wanna WAIT for anything.

Get to the drugstore... pick up the Nadinola cream and START USING IT!

I definitely recommend and will certainly repurchase if necessary (though I'm sure my spots will be gone before the jar is empty!).

Are you still reading this? Get! Go on! Head on out and buy your own Nadinola cream and then come write YOUR review :)

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 3/10/2013 1:44:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this cream because I have acne spots & scars that are darker than my already dark skin. I've tried plenty of fade creams (both drugstore & expensive/high end brands), but found this this one actually works with me. I don't care for the smell, but other than that it's great. I also find that this makes my face kind of greasy & "dirty" looking, but I use it overnight so it doesn't matter much to me. I surprisingly didn't have any adverse or allergic reaction. I'd recommend this to anyone else with oily, acne-prone, & discoloured skin like mine. It does its job & for me, it worked relatively quickly.

Note: There actually is a Nadinola fade cream specifically for oily skin; I don't have that particular one, but again, the regular formula worked just fine for me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayteea on 1/19/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by kayteea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have breakout prone, oily skin and was a bit worried that I'd experience a breakout. Thankfully, no nadinola related breakouts!! I began using this with a thin layer of walgreens brand alpha hydroxy on top and saw great results. After about a month, I decided to stick with manual exfoliation and nixed the alpha hydroxy. I use it nightly all over my face, and glop it on dark spots in combination with neosporin.

After 3/4 months, my skin has never looked better. I started with a face full of pitted acne scars and dark marks. I'm pretty fair, so the only option was full coverage foundation. I can now wear a tinted moisturizer or light coverage fndtn and not feel like a monster! My whole face is brighter, old acne scars have diminished atleast 75% and new ones stand no chance against this miracle cream. My pitted scars are obviously still the same, but look much less obvious since there aren't any dark marks making them look worse than they are.

Overall, definitely worth it...i wish I could recommend this to everyone suffering with scars. There's hope!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mjenkins101 on 1/1/2013 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Mjenkins101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

-For those who don't know when you pop a pimple on your face, it becomes a ugly ass blemish. But for some reason I didn't care I hated pimples so I kept popping them. When I got into high school I stop getting pimples but I had blemishes everywhere. IT SUCKED! I tried EVERYTHING, even the things the doctors gave me. Nothing worked.
-I was on youtube and I found out about Nadinola (I tried everything else so why not give this a try) When I receieved it this is what i did:
1. Washed my face with Clearasil: Rapid Action Face Scrub (12 hrs, it really works within 12 hrs by the way)
2. Got a Q-tip
3. Put the Nadinola only on the blemishes (IF YOU PUT IT ALL ON YOUR FACE: your face will get bright as fuck and your marks will still be there)
-The first 3 days I seen a big difference, thats how fast it works. If you didn't know this is what some people in Jamaica use to bleach their skin, so it's strong, it works fast, and you should be careful while using this product.
-Depending on how big of a acne problem you have you shouldn't use this everyday, every other day would be great. But if your acne is that bad and you want the marks to be gone ASAP use it everyday.
-Do NOT use this product if you are going out in the sun. It does have sunscreen in it but don't risk it. Put it on before you go to bed. MAKE SURE IT ABSORBED IN YOUR SKIN BEFORE YOU LAY ON YOUR PILLOW (it might break you out)
-When you wake up in the morning wash your face and put on some type of dry skin lotion or baby lotion.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RobinFace on 12/4/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by RobinFace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in extra strength (3% hydroquinone) . It really works fading spots. I am using it for about 6 weeks. I would prefer it it were not in a pot. I don't like sticking my finger in it and exposing it to air. If it came in a tube or a pump, I would give it a 5 instead of a 4.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nadinola products

More Skincare - Face products