Unlisted Brand • Arm & Hammer Essentials Natural Deodorant • Deodorants

rated 3.9(32 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harmonyjensen on 3/3/2011 7:54:00 PM more reviews by harmonyjensen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm in love with this deodorant. I've tried several natural deodorants including the crystals and Tom's. All of them left me stinky by the afternoon. The only one that worked prior to the Arm & Hammer was the Lavanila Healthy Deodorants. The Lavanila is $17 at Sephora and I had to order online. I would smell by the next morning with the Lavanila. I purchased the Arm & Hammer on a whim at my local supermarket because it was on sale. I bought the fresh scent, which smells herbal and a bit manly. They also had an unscented version that had a slight citrus smell. I was impressed with the natural oils listed in the ingredients. This stuff actually controls sweating for me and smells delicious all day! Even the next morning my underarms smell fresh! I will use this as long as they make it! I had no irritation either, unlike Tom's which made my pits peel after a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 12/27/2010 6:18:00 AM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this because it was free after a coupon. I really like it, even though it has a somewhat masculine scent. Doesn't irritate my skin and it really works. Good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fuller159 on 12/27/2010 6:16:00 AM more reviews by Fuller159

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was actually my first experience with natural deodorant, and it definitely did not work out (although I have since found Face Naturals Organic Stick Deodorant, and have been very pleased). I wasn't sure if it was just the deodorant's scent or the fact that it didn't work very well with my body, but after a while of wearing it my armpits would smell really sour. It wasn't what my b.o. usually smells like, but it wasn't that different, and it certainly wasn't good. To be fair it was pretty intense conditions - Chicago in July without a.c. is not something I would necessarily recommend - but I would start smelling sour after a few hours of sprawling in front of a fan, so no go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kerroppi on 5/10/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by kerroppi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

only natural deodarant that works on me and lasts all day! great smell and doesn't cause pit stains on my white clothes!!! fyi: Tom's of Maine and the crystal deodorants did not work for me.

edit: I have found something better so revising my score of this product. At the end of the day, I still had some BO. I couldn't stand this so I am now using Thai crystal deodorant which has all the benefits of natural deodorant and no BO at all! This still gets a 4 though because in comparison to all the others, this worked the best and is also easy to find at stores, whereas the Thai crystal deodorant is not.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jatoria on 4/28/2010 6:00:00 PM more reviews by Jatoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried so many "natural" deodorants, I thought for sure this one would disappoint me just like all the rest. I was surprised to find this one actually worked. No, it doesn't keep me dry but it does keep me from smelling, which is what I care about most anyways. The fragrance is just ok. I would like to see A & H come out with something a little more floral/citrusy smelling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 whyknot on 4/22/2010 1:49:00 PM more reviews by whyknot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is hit or miss. I bought it for me and was appalled at how useless it was. I am not a naturally smelly person, but this deodorant made me reek of BO within 2 hours. It was gross. I am less smelly with nothing on at all. So i was about to throw it away in disgust after giving it a few days, when i thought maybe my DH should try it. HE LOVES IT! He's a sweaty guy and works out a lot, but he now uses this every day. I have not noticed any odor to him at all, and he even uses it on days he works out with no problem - it's definitely working for him. So like all natural deodorant, its all about your body chemistry. this one was an utter disaster on me, but works like a charm on my man.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnwfoster on 7/31/2009 9:24:00 PM more reviews by dawnwfoster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just like other reviewers, I am not new to natural deoderants, and have had my share of disappointments. I tried the stone/stick deoderants that you have to wet with water before applying, but found that to be a hassle... also after a while the stone was no longer effective at controling odor and it caused my skin to be painful, red, and irritated. My husband was the first to try this Arm & Hammer deoderant, and he loved it. I decided to give it a go, and this is my first day using it. My first impression is that the packaging is no-frills and no-nonsense. I like the fact that there is no excessive use of plastic or fancy gimmicky packaging. The price is GREAT (under $2.50). The scent is pleasant (i purchased it in "fresh") and clean, not overpowering. Every time I catch a whiff of it I feel like I just stepped out of the shower. It disappeared into my skin after I applied it (can't say the same for regular antiperspirant, even if it claims to be invisible), and so far there are no streaks on my clothing. So far I am loving this deoderant. I will be keeping an eye out for redness, flaking, or odor. If there is none of that, this might be my holy grail deoderant!

UPDATE:
I've been using this for a while now and continue to love it. The only downside I have noticed is that if I apply too much it takes a while to dry and can sting my skin. For me, just a couple swipes is good enough for all day protection against odor. I have yet to get stinky while wearing this stuff, even though the texas heat & humidity can get stifling. I think the smell is addicting, I love when I catch a whiff of it throghout the day or night. It is so delicious and fresh. My husband uses it too and he loves it. The smell is not masculine or feminine, just fresh. Great stuff. I wish I could give it 10 stars! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dragonballz on 7/10/2009 1:39:00 AM more reviews by dragonballz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this in the "Fresh" fragrance and got really excited that a natural deodorant could perform so well. I am not a fan of the gel consistency as I prefer solids or the fragrance but I didn't notice considerable odor at the end of the day. However, I won't repurchase because tricolsan is listed in the ingredients. I quit using antibacterial products with triclosan years ago because it is a controversial antimicrobial chemical and was bummed out that I won't be able to repurchase this product. Too bad.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenjoy on 6/29/2009 9:49:00 PM more reviews by goldenjoy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried a lot of natural deodorants and all of them have left me smelly after a few hours. I was wary of trying this one but I saw the good reviews on another website and I'm so glad I did!
The pros:
Naturally based with baking soda and essential oils to keep you from smelling bad
Cheap price (I found mine for less than $3)
Dries Quickly
Goes on clear
Smells really nice (I got the unscented kind, but I love the smell of the ess. oils)
It really does control odor extremely well (even in high heat/humidity it controls odor all day long)

The Cons:
Doesn't stop you from sweating
The essential oils can irritate my skin sometimes (not that often, usually if I shave my underarms too much and they're a little red)

Overall I love this product and I will continue to use this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonymous88 on 6/4/2009 3:37:00 PM more reviews by anonymous88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Was so excited to try this product because of all the great reviews. They had it no where so I had to order it online. What a waste! Yes, it smells nice and its "natural" but it irritated my skin sooooo bad. I guess it worked okay but it made my armpits itch like crazy and made them all red and flaky.Gross! My search for an aluminum free, non-irritating, effective, natural deodorant continues. As for now, I will continue using men's old spice pure sport because it works and it isn't an antiperspirant.
Update 1: I'm trying this stuff again. I love the way it smells and it works, my only problem is the irritation. I have been using it for the past 2 days with a little itching here and there but it isn't bad. I'm going to continue and see how it goes.
Update 2: Ok, so I have been using it for over a week (again) and I think I'm going to stick with it. Yeah, it still makes my pits peel a little but that's an ok trade off since I am using something natural and non antiperspirant. Plus I really like the smell. so fresh and so clean! :) Keep in mind I have tried A LOT of different natural deodorants and this one works best by far. I think I might actually buy it again unless I find some miracle natural deo.
Update 3: this is the best natural deo i have ever tried. it doesn't irritate me at all anymore... even after I shave. and it works amazingly. all day every day bo free! love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Deodorants products