Arm & Hammer Essentials Natural Deodorant

3.8

33 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 8/4/2011 4:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have sensitive skin and the main reason I switched to natural deodorant, aside from the fact that regular deodorant is truly terrible for your body, was because my underarms were getting red chemical burns from all the crap in regular deodorants. Not good. I tried quite a few; Tom's roller, the crystal rock one, a few others as well. None worked as well as this one. And after a few months of using this, the red burn marks that were left from the normal deodorants were gone.
In the mornings I put this on after getting out of the shower. Around the beginning of the evening, 4 or 5, my underarms start to smell a little off. So I usually have to apply this twice a day. Not the most convenient thing ever, but it is a natural deodorant that works very well. It also lasts forever. I have been using the same stick for at least five or six months.
The only downfall for natural deodorants for me, is the fact that I do sweat a lot under my arms. In the summers especially, my underarms feel disgustingly sweaty and I'm afraid to lift my arms. I am stuck wearing black a lot while using this deodorant because while it does stop the smell, it doesn't stop the sweat (no duh it's natural and doesn't contain antiperspirant.) I've been considering using Secrets clinical strength for sensitive skin, but I'm a bit frightened.
I'll be sticking with this for awhile.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/22/2011 10:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Meh. it's ok. actually it's the best non-aluminum natural deodorant I have found, but that's not saying much. I still get stinky with this relatively quickly if I am doing any excercise or wearing a sweater or something. That said, it keeps me from stinking more than any natural deodorant so far...but that's just not good enough for me. I do NOT want to smell, or have to be paranoid about others around me smelling me. Until I find a natural deodorant that makes me confident I am not smelling and won't smell for the whole work-day, I will have to use those bad old aluminum antiperspirants.
That said, if you are bound and determined to use only aluminum free - this may work for you - try it. You will probably have to keep a stick in your purse and definitely in your gym bag, in case you need to reapply. The reason this works better than others, I think, is the combination of baking soda and triclosan. A good combination...but overusing triclosan is bad too, as bacteria become immune to it so it won't work forever...(that's my theory anyway).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm in love with this deodorant. I've tried several natural deodorants including the crystals and Tom's. All of them left me stinky by the afternoon. The only one that worked prior to the Arm & Hammer was the Lavanila Healthy Deodorants. The Lavanila is $17 at Sephora and I had to order online. I would smell by the next morning with the Lavanila. I purchased the Arm & Hammer on a whim at my local supermarket because it was on sale. I bought the fresh scent, which smells herbal and a bit manly. They also had an unscented version that had a slight citrus smell. I was impressed with the natural oils listed in the ingredients. This stuff actually controls sweating for me and smells delicious all day! Even the next morning my underarms smell fresh! I will use this as long as they make it! I had no irritation either, unlike Tom's which made my pits peel after a few days.


on 12/27/2010 6:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I tried this because it was free after a coupon. I really like it, even though it has a somewhat masculine scent. Doesn't irritate my skin and it really works. Good product.


on 12/27/2010 6:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was actually my first experience with natural deodorant, and it definitely did not work out (although I have since found Face Naturals Organic Stick Deodorant, and have been very pleased). I wasn't sure if it was just the deodorant's scent or the fact that it didn't work very well with my body, but after a while of wearing it my armpits would smell really sour. It wasn't what my b.o. usually smells like, but it wasn't that different, and it certainly wasn't good. To be fair it was pretty intense conditions - Chicago in July without a.c. is not something I would necessarily recommend - but I would start smelling sour after a few hours of sprawling in front of a fan, so no go.


on 5/10/2010 8:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

only natural deodarant that works on me and lasts all day! great smell and doesn't cause pit stains on my white clothes!!! fyi: Tom's of Maine and the crystal deodorants did not work for me.

edit: I have found something better so revising my score of this product. At the end of the day, I still had some BO. I couldn't stand this so I am now using Thai crystal deodorant which has all the benefits of natural deodorant and no BO at all! This still gets a 4 though because in comparison to all the others, this worked the best and is also easy to find at stores, whereas the Thai crystal deodorant is not.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2010 6:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have tried so many "natural" deodorants, I thought for sure this one would disappoint me just like all the rest. I was surprised to find this one actually worked. No, it doesn't keep me dry but it does keep me from smelling, which is what I care about most anyways. The fragrance is just ok. I would like to see A & H come out with something a little more floral/citrusy smelling.


on 4/22/2010 1:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This product is hit or miss. I bought it for me and was appalled at how useless it was. I am not a naturally smelly person, but this deodorant made me reek of BO within 2 hours. It was gross. I am less smelly with nothing on at all. So i was about to throw it away in disgust after giving it a few days, when i thought maybe my DH should try it. HE LOVES IT! He's a sweaty guy and works out a lot, but he now uses this every day. I have not noticed any odor to him at all, and he even uses it on days he works out with no problem - it's definitely working for him. So like all natural deodorant, its all about your body chemistry. this one was an utter disaster on me, but works like a charm on my man.


on 7/31/2009 9:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just like other reviewers, I am not new to natural deoderants, and have had my share of disappointments. I tried the stone/stick deoderants that you have to wet with water before applying, but found that to be a hassle... also after a while the stone was no longer effective at controling odor and it caused my skin to be painful, red, and irritated. My husband was the first to try this Arm & Hammer deoderant, and he loved it. I decided to give it a go, and this is my first day using it. My first impression is that the packaging is no-frills and no-nonsense. I like the fact that there is no excessive use of plastic or fancy gimmicky packaging. The price is GREAT (under $2.50). The scent is pleasant (i purchased it in "fresh") and clean, not overpowering. Every time I catch a whiff of it I feel like I just stepped out of the shower. It disappeared into my skin after I applied it (can't say the same for regular antiperspirant, even if it claims to be invisible), and so far there are no streaks on my clothing. So far I am loving this deoderant. I will be keeping an eye out for redness, flaking, or odor. If there is none of that, this might be my holy grail deoderant!

UPDATE:
I've been using this for a while now and continue to love it. The only downside I have noticed is that if I apply too much it takes a while to dry and can sting my skin. For me, just a couple swipes is good enough for all day protection against odor. I have yet to get stinky while wearing this stuff, even though the texas heat & humidity can get stifling. I think the smell is addicting, I love when I catch a whiff of it throghout the day or night. It is so delicious and fresh. My husband uses it too and he loves it. The smell is not masculine or feminine, just fresh. Great stuff. I wish I could give it 10 stars! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2009 9:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried a lot of natural deodorants and all of them have left me smelly after a few hours. I was wary of trying this one but I saw the good reviews on another website and I'm so glad I did!
The pros:
Naturally based with baking soda and essential oils to keep you from smelling bad
Cheap price (I found mine for less than $3)
Dries Quickly
Goes on clear
Smells really nice (I got the unscented kind, but I love the smell of the ess. oils)
It really does control odor extremely well (even in high heat/humidity it controls odor all day long)

The Cons:
Doesn't stop you from sweating
The essential oils can irritate my skin sometimes (not that often, usually if I shave my underarms too much and they're a little red)

Overall I love this product and I will continue to use this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top