La Roche Posay • physiological micellar solution • Cleansers

rated 4.2(44 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 click on 11/1/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by click

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For a cleanser, this does a really poor job of removing dirt, oil or makeup. And it doesn't even think about budging mascara. Got this in a sample size in a kit so I felt it was worth a try. I wouldn't buy it again, when Bioderma makes several micellar products that are far superior.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkerfly42 on 10/28/2012 11:32:00 PM more reviews by pinkerfly42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so glad I discovered this product. I had been using Caudalie's micellar solution and was not a fan of the fragrance or crappy makeup removal. I've been using La Roche Posay products for years, and I was happy to find this in CVS. I have very dry, sensitive skin and I wanted to start using micellar solutions in the mornings instead of a full on cleanser because it tended to dry out my face. I use this on a cotton pad every morning, you don't need a lot, and it gives me a nice fresh feeling without stripping any oils away. This is also an AWESOME makeup remover and often removes makeup better than other products I've used. It does go a bit quick, and it's about $20 at CVS, but I think it is definitely worth the money. No sticky residue, just a nice clean feeling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Madwilso on 10/24/2012 8:13:00 AM more reviews by Madwilso

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would like to preface this review by stating that I use the Micellar solution only in the mornings and I have not used it to remove make up/sunscreen.

Since I am a retin-a cream user, I'm supposed to remove it in the morning by washing my face. I am not really a 2x/day facer washer, so I decided to try this solution in lieu of cleanser and water. It works very well for that! I only use a little amount, I counted 11 drops to be sufficient, on a cotton round and wipe my face down with it. After wiping my face, there is definitely some dirt and grime on the pad to indicate that it is cleaning. But it feels very gentle, I can wipe my eyes and there is no irritation. In fact, my skin didn't change at all after I started using it. Which I actually think of as a plus!

It has a light smell that reminds me a little bit of bubblegum, I do not find it offensive or very noticeable.

The price seems expensive for liquid, but it's pretty comparable to a higher end face cleanser that I would be using in its stead.

I have been using it once a day for almost two months and I have used a little more than an inch of the bottle.

I will purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 boysavesworld on 10/23/2012 2:08:00 AM more reviews by boysavesworld

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So, I got a little cocky with my skin. I finally had it clear for the first time in years. Instead of my usual routine, I decided to mix it up and try this micellar solution. Big mistake. This thing made two cysts erupt right smack dab in the middle of my face. I look like a damn unicorn now.

I bought this, as the Bioderma micellar water isn't available here in America. I thought this would be a great alternative. Apparently not. Aside from breaking me out, it made my face feel a bit tight after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GriffithsGirl on 8/19/2012 5:14:00 AM more reviews by GriffithsGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT have upped this to a 5 lippie rating as I realised that using it with a cotton pad rather than a cotton ball makes it go further, as the product soaks down into the cotton ball and therefore u get through more taking your makeup off! Its fantastic stuff, have repurchased already.
I have been using this with the Effaclar foaming gel and Effaclar K, and these products have made such a fantastic difference to my skin, they are without doubt the best I have ever used. My skin is oily with redness, red acne scarring, dry patches and blackheads/ whiteheads, and I desperately wanted to help the situation.
I use the micellar solution to take off my makeup before cleansing with the foaming gel. Its like removing my makeup with pure water, it is so refreshing and gentle. No stinging, rubbing, it doesn't make my skin red, nothing. It could literally be water. It takes all my base off with about four cotton pads. Because of how gentle and kind to my skin this stuff is, I have given it four lippies. However, it didnt get five lippies for two reasons, firstly how quick this stuff goes down. In three weeks, usng it only once a day, the bottle has gone down to only a third left. Considering it cost 11 thats not very good value. Also, i dont find it good for removing eye makeup, it takes too many cotton pads to get it all off, and I only use mascara. Will repurchase, but maybe not constantly otherwise I will have no money left!
Overall though, these three products have removed 90% of my blackheads, left my skin happier and even with vastly reduced redness, and no dry bits. Fabulous.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tess35 on 2/23/2012 12:22:00 AM more reviews by Tess35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my most favorite cleansing product. It is very comfortable to use and quite hydrating as well. I use this as a MU remover before foaming cleanser. I put a little amount on my palm and gently massage my face and neck before washing it off. I also had some late nights out with my gf's and used this product alone with cotton pad before hitting the bed and never had any issues with my skin the next morning. I tried Vichy and it is light years away from LRP.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sandra1900 on 1/19/2012 7:17:00 AM more reviews by sandra1900

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have sensitive skin and since a couple of months I have a very sensitive skin.

This cleanser saved my life. It is so soft and gentle, I have not come across to a simulair product.

I use this in the evening to remove my make up. I dont use this cleanser to remove my eyemake up though (I use Nivea for that). In the morning I use this cleanser as well. I use for both a cotton pad.

Edit February 6th 2012. I have been using this for a couple of weeks now and it does dry out my skin whenever I use it. The dryness is gone the minute I apply my moisturizer, but still, its drying. So Im taking off 2 lippies for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luisajames on 12/27/2011 3:57:00 AM more reviews by luisajames

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this because i didn't want wait to order bioderma online and wanted to try other micellar solutions a try. first off, i'm not a huge fan of the scent. though it's not unbearable i didn't find that this product was that effective in removing all my makeup thoroughly. i mostly wear a bit of light foundation, bb cream or mineral powder, blush, liquid liner and mascara and i felt like i couldn't get my face clean enough with this cleansing water. i felt like i had to use A TON of product and ended up going through 3/4 of the bottle within about 5 days which i feel is a HUGE waste considering this cost me 19.95 + tax at cvs. i also felt like when i was using this product i developed some clogged pores on my forehead and chin. maybe it was from the product not thoroughly removing my makeup. i'm sure that if you wear very minimal makeup this could work for you. overall, i would not repurchase and i would recommend bioderma crealine over this product any day.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 waters2 on 12/6/2011 12:32:00 AM more reviews by waters2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This runny product hurts my eyes, and does not remove eye makeup as quickly as a gel cleansing oil. For the price, the fact that it's a pain to use, and it caused discomfort, I feel it's highly overrated. I did not use this for removing makeup on the face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashestoamour on 11/30/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by ashestoamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my favorite micellar solution. I like to use a micellar solution to clean my face in the morning because it is both fast and gentle. Since I switched to using the Clarisonic at night, my face gets so clean that I don't feel I need to cleanse with water in the morning anymore. This is especially true since it is winter here in the US and lots of washing tends to dry out my skin. I also like that with a quick swipe of a cotton pad I can combine cleansing and toning and get out the door a lot faster.

This micellar water comes in a tall, cylindrical, plastic bottle with a convenient flip-top cap. The cap has a small opening so you don't wind up dumping cleanser all over the place. The packaging is plastic, but it looks relatively sleek on the counter.

This cleanser leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed, without any greasy or filmy after feel like other micellar waters I have tried. It also does a reasonable job of removing makeup, so with a quick swipe I can be off the the gym. The cleanser is slightly scented, but not over powering. I have gotten used to it over time.

There are a few things I don't like about this product. First, the price is the highest of all the cleanisng waters I have tried ($19.95 for 6.7 fl. oz or 200mL). Second, I don't like that it is tested on animals. However, I continue to purchase this product because it works excellently, and far out performs other cleansing waters that I have tried.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Cleansers products