Giorgio Armani • Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup • Foundations

rated 4.1(234 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lottiescarlett on 5/31/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by lottiescarlett

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is the FIRST foundation I have ever found that actually matches my near-transparent skin tone. The GA consultant at Selfridges helped me pick out shade 0.5 and it is absolute perfection.
I am 18 with very fine lines and combination/dry skin with freckles and the occasional blemish. For sorting out imperfections and eyebags I use with Estee Lauder DW concealer and the compliment each other very well as Face Fabric is a cross between a heavy primer/very very light foundation - in the best possible way. In no way does this foundation disguise blemishes!

I wear this foundation when I want to even my skin tone out and give it a more airbrushed look. When i'm having a bad skin day I switch over to Diorskin Nude which is a little heavier. Face Fabric also has SPF 10 (or 12 I can't remember) which is great for my fair skin. I've used this nearly every day for 2 months or so and their still seems to be 90+% of the product left in the subtle, simple packaged product.

After a days wear the product needed no 'topping up' even though I don't usually use a primer. I set the foundation with Chanel's poudre universelle libre and the result was stunning!
I think people should compliment you on how lovely your skin is, not how lovely your foundation is and this product certainly fits that. It's your skin very clearly - just made that little bit better!

ADVICE
Do not use under eyes as it doesn't seem to settle as well here
this product is NOT FOR YOU if you're looking for a heavy-weight foundation
this is a complexion ENHANCING foundation, not a complexion masking one
don't be scared by the price - it will last you ages

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nhwhazup on 4/6/2013 6:26:00 AM more reviews by nhwhazup

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this foundation! I have 57 year old pale skin and have been searching for a light feeling foundation with good staying power that doesn't dry out the skin during the work day.


For my pale cool toned skin, it's difficult to find the right color. If the foundation is too yellow, my skin takes on a sallow tone. If it is too beige, can make my skin take on a muddy hue. I use the #1 right now but also have the #2 for the summer months. I believe this foundation is very neutral and for me works very well coloring wise.


Now about the finish - just perfect. I use a primer underneath and use a beauty blender to apply. The finish appears air brushed but is so comfortable. I do need to blot and powder my nose midday but otherwise it looks the same at the end of the day as the beginning.


I've tried so many foundations that I've lost count. This one is it for me. I'm definitely going to purchase a tube or too for back up and for my daughters who I think might like it as much as I do.


The tube is great but if I could offer one suggestion to make it even better - would be to have a flip top instead of screw off.


If you are looking for light weight flawless coverage - try this foundation - you won't be disappointed.


Update: Initially loved this foundation. However, after a few days of wear, I started getting dry patches. I exfoliate and moisturize well and use a primer. Once I switched from this back to my old brand the dry patches went away. I'm not going to change my rating on this foundation as I think the feel and light coverage is awesome - just doesn't work for me. So if you have sensitive, combination skin, this might not work for you. Get samples first.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oulianas on 4/3/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by oulianas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The texture of this product is amazing, it is soft and thin but gives good coverage. It has a matt effect and is very easy to blend. I highly recommend it, have been using it for over 2 years. I used to use Dior before that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kasia_S on 3/5/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by Kasia_S

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm just finishing off my second tube of this foundation, and I will probably buy a third one. It's feels very light on the skin, well like the name says it doesn't really feel like you have anything on. It gives light coverage, but it's sufficient enough for me. I have this in nr 1 and it matches my light skin perfectly. Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jake84 on 2/14/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by Jake84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

If you want a lightweight, semi matte foundation, this is a great one to choose. It is so lightweight, and feels like nothing on the skin. It doesn't have a lot of coverage, but it does even out the skin tone. I really like the feeling of it and the matte finish. It's like a no makeup makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KaiJones on 2/12/2013 11:43:00 PM more reviews by KaiJones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had to edit my post because I absolutely fell in love with this foundation. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was because of its length of wear. The foundation just does not wear for long. However, I have tried other foundations (MAC and Bobbi Bown, as well as Sally Hansen airbrush (for photoshoots)). This foundation suits my skin THE BEST. MAC always makes me appear like a mime. Im either too pasty, too yellow, too red. I cant seem to get MAC right in any lighting even with Matchmaster or SF (liquid or powder). With MAC, I usually will walk out feeling like I just purchased an amazing product only to go out in daylight looking like a cartoon character. I swear I want to love MAC-just cant.

Anyway, back to this foundation. Face Fabric is absolutely natural. I think for people with acne scars, deep scarring, or very dark pigments, this product wont cover or work as well. However, if you have generally ok skin, this product will glide on like silk, feel like silk, and look silky. The technique for coverage is the tool you use. For coverage, I tend to pack it on where I need it the most from the flat side of my brush and then sweep and swirl lightly all over. For removal, I simply go around my face once or twice then wash. With MAC, I have to go over my face at least 5 times to remove it. Face Fabric is truly amazing to remove.

This product is pricey, but after applying it with the armani blender brush, I found I didnt need much product. I would try mixing two colors together for the season, although I am pretty much good with one.

Go ahead and splurge on this product. One thing is for SURE, you wont look like you have makeup on and you surely will not look like a mime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miriam44 on 1/23/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Miriam44

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! It glides on and feels as if it's turning to powder right on your skin. It's wonderful. The color (I use shade 3) seemed at first to be too yellow for my complexion, but since the color is not that opaque, it ends up looking great on my skin. Blends perfectly. When I want a more sheer coverage, I mix in some highlighter or moisturizer and it gives just a slight hint of color. It's expensive but since I use just a bit for light coverage, mine lasts for a long time, I only repurchase every other year or so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 polita on 1/22/2013 6:54:00 AM more reviews by polita

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

For me this works like a primer, it glides on your skin but does not cover imperfections. I wore it yesterday to work on its own with some concealer , and my boss aske me if I was ok , because I looked tired !! Does not work for me at all. I think it would only work on those with perfect skin, and if your lucky enough to be one of them, why bother wearing foundation in the first place ??. So if your still tempted, try it on first before you purchase it, itīs not cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 freerunhen on 1/19/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by freerunhen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like it so much! It makes my pores invisible and is the best solution for my very pale (almost white) skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hisquiggle on 1/6/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by hisquiggle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Black    

This is the first foundation that I really love and would repurchase over and over again. The main concerns I have with my skin are the blackheads on my nose and the enlarged pores on my cheeks, and Face Fabric makes them disappear. When it comes to hiding pores, it works better than primers specifically marketed as "pore-refining". I find that Face Fabric applies well with fingers, but using a kabuki/buffing brush hides the pores even better. I'm an NC30 and wear #3, but because the coverage is so sheer you could go up or down a few shades if you wanted to brighten or darken your skintone. Face Fabric gives a semi-matte, soft focus finish that looks like perfect, poreless skin and feels weightless on your face. I do need to use a separate concealer if I have blemishes or if the redness on my cheek is particularly bad. On days where I want a more dewy complexion, I love mixing Face Fabric with Becca's Shimmering Skin Perfector. The only downside to this foundation is that it does accentuate dry flakes slightly, but it's easily fixed by using a heavier moisturizer beforehand. For anyone who has struggled with concealing pores, I highly recommend checking out Face Fabric.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Foundations products