Almay • Almay Intense i-Color Eye Shadow Play Up Trio for Greens • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Nell405 on 10/21/2009 5:33:00 PM more reviews by Nell405

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've tried all the Almay trios for green eyes and this is my favorite. I liked the idea of eyeshadow to bring out your eye color but I hated the purples and greens they kept coming out with. This one comes with "Smoky Rose", "Wine" and "Champagne." It makes my eyes look more green but is pretty neutral and I like the colors way better. As with all Almay shadows, my only complaint is that I wish it were less shimmery, but I would proably still buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maybelle on 10/15/2009 9:32:00 PM more reviews by maybelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought one of the trio of greens a year or so back, and recently bought the new incarnation, because the green colors changed a bit. My original one had brighter set of greens, and pinker mauve; the new set has greens that tend more towards sage, and a more muted mauve. I use these sets in combination quite a bit because I do like the greens. They stay on well as long as I have eye primer underneath, and blend decently, not too chalky and very little fallout.
Edit: After trying more brands of eyeshadow in similar, I'm finding this one a bit more lacking, and I'm not using it as much. Minus a lippie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/1/2009 4:18:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

These are such great colors, I wear them every day (and my eyes aren't green but a muted teal/grey color but I swear my eyes look so much greener wearing this!)The color at the top of the pan is a pretty pale gold shimmer highlighter which isn't too obviously shimmery. The middle eyeshadow is a deep wine color which looks amazing as a liner, although you have to be careful not to overdo it. This can make you look like you have pinkeye, and it's not fun having people run out of the room to avoid you (speaking from experience here). Although it did mean that I got my choice of seats at the work lunch table....The bottom color is a wonderful rose-gold shade which is shimmery and pretty. I often wear this one alone as it is so nice. These really last on me and I would recommend them even if you don't have green eyes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 winian on 6/1/2009 6:21:00 PM more reviews by winian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I've been wearing this a lot, I really like it, but you know you've found something good when everyone else notices. I get a lot of "Wow, your eyes look so green today!" and what's really funny are the people who think I'm wearing green colored contacts! Hard to convince them otherwise, though they've always seen me before with this color of eyes! Good stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aseretmarie on 3/3/2009 7:06:00 PM more reviews by Aseretmarie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I normally buy high-end makeup, but every once in a while I try a department store brand. This time I'm glad I did. These are great colors that really do emphasize the green in your eyes. There is a golden shimmer highlighter, a darker burgundy for the crease, and a muted neutral mauvish color for the lid. Went on smoothly and lasted as well as the more expensive brands (used UD PP underneath).
I tried the other one for green eyes and thought it sucked - this one is 100 times better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shilohcalista on 2/13/2009 7:17:00 PM more reviews by shilohcalista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have green eyes but I like this trio #204. Really I like the middle dark mauvey brown color the best which is what made me buy it. I agree you have to apply alot to get the desired color but its easy to work with so this is not a problem for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* krumrill on 1/18/2009 7:54:00 PM more reviews by krumrill

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wow. Ok, I've always been the type to wear a lot of eyeliner and mascara to make my eyes stand out, since they're one of my better features. I really didn't have high hopes for this, but just bought it, along with the Raisin Quartz mascara. The results are gorgeous. The colors of the shadow match so beautifully with the colors of my eyes, it's not too much, but just enough to make green eyes piercing. I couldn't believe wearing so little makeup could look so stunning. I would reccomend the Play It Up sets to anyone and everyone.

Edit: The colors are great, but they blend a little too well. So well that they end up fading into each other. At the end of the day, it doesn't look as defined as it did in the morning, and it looks more like I got punched in the eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetvictory23 on 12/30/2008 12:50:00 AM more reviews by sweetvictory23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

While I gave the other almay trio a negative review, I really don't have anything bad to say about this one! I love this trio and I get compliments on my eyes all the time. I suggest applying it like the instructions say to, the highlight champagne color is amazing, and the crease color is just dark enough, while the lid color has a tiny bit of shimmer and complements the crease color fantastically. The pigments are great and I definitely recommend this trio to anyone, but especially green eyed girls. :) :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Karin1539 on 10/24/2008 12:35:00 PM more reviews by Karin1539

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the rose/mauve/champagne trio for green eyes. I know there is another trio with different colors for green eyes. Anyways, I really like these sets that companies put out specifically to bring out eye colors. I've used this and the one by L'Oreal for green eyes and everytime I use them, I get comments on my eyes being really green.

My only complaint with this set (and the one I've used by L'Oreal) is that the colors wear off easily after a few hours of wear. But I guess I can expect that with drugstore brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkbrush on 8/27/2008 1:42:00 PM more reviews by pinkbrush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I found this product for green eyes, in the shade 024 at pharmaplus, it was on sale for $5.99, all the almay products were I think. This product is really nice, the colours all nicely blend together into a mauve type shade. It does bring out my green eyes and makes me want to buy the other greens and other colours too. Don't know if it creases yet, haven't had it on long enough yet. Like the product a lot though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Eye Shadow products