Jergens • natural glow express medim/tan • Self Tanners

rated 3.6(110 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pandorax on 7/25/2012 2:56:00 PM more reviews by pandorax

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this stuff. I use it every time I want to look tan, and it really does make me quite a few shades darker in just one day, with one application. I usually will put it on at night and sleep in it, and then wake up tan. I think it takes at least 8 hours to get the full result, but you will start noticing color within a few hours. The tan lasts about a week on me, although fades gradually during that time.

I haven't had problems with streaky color, but I'm also pretty careful about putting it on evenly. The only pitfalls I've had are getting more concentrated color at my wrists, and my hands being pale because I just can't not wash my palms after putting this stuff on. But even that hasn't been that noticable.

I would say, unless you are as porcelin pale as Nicole Kidman, don't bother with the light/medium express stuff, go for the darker version. I bought the lighter one to try it out and it just didn't give me much of a tan - no more than the foam gradual build up version. I am pretty light skinned and burn easily, but I do have some olive undertones, so maybe that helps it to look decent on me.

I also use the Jergens foam sunless tanner that gradually builds up, and I like that a lot too (especially for my face), but this is the one I use when I want to look tan FAST.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gracedeiss on 6/13/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by gracedeiss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

First off, I have very fair skin, I can't even turn a sunburn to tan. I had been skeptical at first of this product but decided to try it after using the medium to tan jergens revitalizing, which the only downside to that was that it took 4 or 5 daily uses to build a nice color. The Express version is amazing, in one application I get the same color as I would after a spray tan. The only issue I have is that it goes on with no color and so you don't know if you missed any spots for a few hours which may be too late, but with some practice it's not a problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashleyhorn on 12/25/2011 12:01:00 PM more reviews by ashleyhorn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like it. One coat was great - I even put it on my face and it did really well (a very LIGHT coat on my face). I definitely saw results within a few hours. I looked like I had a tan alright. But I do get the feeling that more than one coat would make me orange. I would like to use it again, and go darker, but I'm afraid of the orange undertones. They look bronze with one coat and it looks good - so if you do use this, use a single, thin coat and then assess your tan. Great if you are in a rush and need some color A.S.A.P. Not so great if you want to look like you have a dark brown tan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sunnydazefeelingirie619 on 9/13/2011 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Sunnydazefeelingirie619

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I gave this and the other natural glow lotions a couple chances. The first tine I used it and after 3 days it turned me orange with streaks. I gave it another chance.... after one day of using the express I'm orange with streaks . Then I used a small amount of the moisturizer to blend it more. Oh no.... I'm a lovely shade of bright orange with streaks. Lol. I know it depends on your body chemistry and it obviously didn't work to great for me. :) kudos to the ladies that have a nice looking tan from this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarolinaMidwife on 7/26/2011 6:59:00 PM more reviews by CarolinaMidwife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand how anyone has had success with this product.


I'm a very seasoned self tanner and using this was like a disaster, an orange, streaky disaster. Generally when tanner comes in lotion form it's easy to avoid the streaking but not with this stuff. My legs were unsuitable for public viewing for about 3 days until I finally scrubbed it all off.


Boo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 naturallyfab on 7/26/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by naturallyfab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I had high hopes for this tanner, but those were quickly replaced with feelings of disappointment. I used this for my senior prom 2 years ago, and it gave me a really great color. The HUGE issue I had with it was that it bled onto my (white) dress, completely ruining it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mita0309 on 7/10/2011 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Mita0309

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this a while ago and just used it recently. I applied it at night (I had exfoliated and shaved my legs earlier that day) and let it dry for a while before going to bed. I woke up to a noticeable tan. I did make the mistake of applying a bit to my the tops of my feet and ankles where the skin is thicker and I go have alot of orange splotches all over this area. I am hoping I can scrub them off. Other than that I am satisfied with the color payoff but not thrilled. I have medium brown skin and was hoping for just a bit more color for my legs for the summer. I can definitely detect some orange notes, although not overly so. But when I compare my legs to my naturally tanned skin on my arms I can definitely see that the color is not that natural looking. I will likely finish the bottle but will not repurchase. I have heard Bare Excentuals Faux Tan is better and may try that when I run out of this. Also this stuff stinks in my opinion and I had a hard time falling asleep with this on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pntsay on 6/29/2011 1:06:00 AM more reviews by pntsay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype on this...I have medium skin tone, and I just put this on paler areas of my body (thighs, inner arms etc) 3-4 times consistently, to even out the tone...but there's NO color at all! smells good tho

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nyxisis on 4/25/2011 9:25:00 PM more reviews by nyxisis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very good product - noticable results after one use (I like to put it on right after a shower, especially after I've shaved my legs). Very important to not apply to ankles, knees or any other "rough" skin areas as it will definitely darken them more than the rest of you. I'm careful to wash my hands with soapy water right after application to prevent any coloration of my palms after working the product into my skin (and that works well for prevention). No streaking if I massage the lotion in well. I use this throughout the summer to give my legs a nice glow (my legs are pale white otherwise!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hannahbby2 on 4/23/2011 1:12:00 PM more reviews by Hannahbby2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great product!!! I'm using this for my senior prom that is coming up in a little less than a month, and since I am STRONGLY against tanning beds, I decided to try self tanner. (I got a spray tan last year... NEVER AGAIN!)
I saw this in a magazine, and I figured I'd try it out. I purchased the medium to tan formula even though I'm pretty light right now, but I think it gives a more natural color than the fair to medium shade. I've used the foaming kind before, which I liked, but it definitely smells a lot worse than their lotions. This stuff gives you a tan the first time you use it, which is really nice because you can see where you're putting it. The only downside is that the lotion formula makes it a lot easier to get streaks. Just be careful not to use a lot around knees, ankles, and elbows because they will accumulate product and look darker than the rest of your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jergens products

More Self Tanners products