Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(174 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Jasminezkh on 9/30/2013 5:45:00 PM more reviews by Jasminezkh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have had keratosis pilaris for around 3-4 years and i am now 18 years of age with very fair skin. i have a family history of eczema and keratosis pilaris so my skin is also considerably dry.

after researching countless ideas for ultimate skin health, coconut oil was seen as a 'must have'. having used this before, i noticed like the rest of you that my skin broke out not long after continuously (and generously) applying it to my skin. this DID make the KP worse, and considering i already have severe KP all over my arms, it made it even more noticeable than it was already. during the summer i could not show my arms because they were so bad, and with a blend of skin brushing and coconut oil i felt lost for hope with these darn marks all over my arms (and by the way, skin brushing is ridiculous. sure it increases circulation but you are damaging the state of your current spots in the process. definitely not recommended)

its now approaching winter and because of the dry and cold weather i thought i would use coconut oil in the shower so i could add moisture to my damp skin. once i thought about it -- of course i was going to break out if i applied oil to dry skin every day! why do you think there are so many products out there to just get the extra natural oil of our faces to prevent blackheads//breakouts//etcetc?!
so after gently massaging a little oil to each arm and then rinsing it under the shower (still massaging it in) i noticed much improvement. once i finished with my arms i got a pinch of oil for my face (no bigger than half a pea size) and patted it on my affected areas there, too. the mild KP on my face has completely gone!!

so my advice is, use coconut oil with consideration and care. i recommend using it for shower//shaving//consuming purposes only, definitely not as a day moisturizer. i use palmers cocoa butter for the day!

hope this helps.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ha77 on 9/30/2013 3:59:00 AM more reviews by Ha77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

After reading several reviews on several different sites I decided to try coconut oil for my hair and skin. At the time I purchased Trader Joes Organic Virgin Coconut Oil I had a severe allergic reaction on my face, from trialling a facial cleanser. (I had just had surgery so I couldn't start out with using the oil in my hair.) I began applying the oil to my face and it immediately began to calm down my skin. I have been using it my night moisturizer for about a month now and my skin looks amazing. It is perfectly hydrated and I have had no break outs, in fact I have only had 2 heat bumps, considering it's still in the 90s here that is amazing. It has also eliminated some fine lines. I have used the oil to massage my incision site and also used it as a foot cream. I have been unable to use it as a total hair treatment yet (shoulder surgery), but have used it as a frizz smoother with great success and beautiful shine with no greasy residue. I had such good results on my skin, I started using it on my daughters "chicken skin" on her arms and cheeks. The oil has greatly reduced the appearance of her bumps and they reduce in number with every use!! Amazing product!! I can't wait to have the use of both arms so I can work it into my hair for even more benefits. My only warning is to avoid getting it in your eye as it will sting a little. I will definitely repurchase. For skin care: I put a few ounces in a 1/2 pint mason jar (with lid and dated label) to place in the bathroom and I apply it with a q-tip or cotton ball, that way there is no cross contamination issues at all. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sawg12 on 9/26/2013 1:38:00 PM more reviews by sawg12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff!! I use it on my hair by itself and in a treatment that I make also using olive oil, macadamia deep conditioner and honey. I put it on and sleep in it or just wear it around when I can. Makes my hair feel and look wonderful. I also use in on my skin all the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 texasbeautyaddict on 9/11/2013 10:37:00 AM more reviews by texasbeautyaddict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I took my hair platinum blonde about a month or so ago after being platinum multiple times in the past. I had read online that coating your hair the night before in coconut oil before you bleach it reduces the damage greatly. So, I soaked my hair in it, and bleached my hair the next day (I kept the oil on while I bleached).

Following the bleaching, while my hair still felt bleached (can't do anything about that), it was the nicest my hair had ever felt after bleaching. I did the treatment again the next day, and the benefits were still noticeable. Coconut oil is a great deep conditioner and a lot of other boards online and youtubers site it as incredibly beneficial for people who maintain/go platinum blonde. My hair is soft, manageable, and gets lots of compliments.

HOWEVER...I also tried to use it in a sugar scrub and found that it broke various parts of my body out (in weird places too like the backs of my legs). I also tried to use it as a make up remover once and it broke me out then as well. If you have sensitive skin...be careful. I also had a problem with olive oil.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itslindsey on 9/4/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by itslindsey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I kept hearing a bunch of people swear by this stuff so I picked some up the last time I went shopping at Trader Joe's. I raked it through my hair and let it sit for a couple of hours and then washed it out with Devacurl No-Poo (took a couple of rounds and a lot of scrubbing). I then just let my hair air dry without putting any of my other usual products in it and was amazed at how great it looked! My curls were soft and shiny with very little frizz. I'm a believer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rawlins1 on 9/2/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Rawlins1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love using coconut oil in my hair. I like to put it use a couple handfuls and let it melt in my hands, then I flip my head over and work it through my hair. The more I use, the better! I typically pull my hair up into a loose bun and go about my routine and then wash it out a few hours later. It leaves my hair so silky, smooth and soft. I am not the biggest fan of it being in a jar though. I do this about once a week. After getting to the last little bit, it is hard to get out unless you melt it on the stove. It's a small price to pay though for the health it brings back to my hair!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neivahismyname on 7/23/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by Neivahismyname

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in February 1 because I love coconuts and 2 I wanted to grow out my hair. Can I just say this stuff is AMAZING. Hair- I use this once a week as a hair treatment. I keep it in for as long as I can before I take a shower then I shampoo TWICE and condition. Then when I get out of the shower I apply a tiny tiny tiny tiiiiiiny less then pea size amount to the ends to replace argan oil or morroccan oil. I also use it before I add heat to my hair.. It acts as a protectant. Skin- I apply this to my face and no, it doesn't make me break out. It moisturizers my face and prevents break puts. I have excema and let me tell you it is a pain. It doesn't exactly get rid of it but it keeps the redness away! I also use it as a shaving cream and ohh I love it! Lips- it helps with dry lips! I get dry skin around my lips and it helps it go away! I get inflamed lips which is soooooooo annoying and it helps it a little! OVERALL I love this. It absorbs right away and it's just wonderful! Go out and buy it I promise you'll love it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarfreepersonality on 7/20/2013 11:36:00 PM more reviews by sugarfreepersonality

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Since there are three coconut oil review boards, I'll start with this: all the coconut oil I use is cold pressed, unrefined, extra virgin organic coconut oil. And I use it for my hair! My fine, easily damaged hair... and let me say, coconut oil works wonders for hair. I coat my hair in it every night, root to tip, and it feels so much softer and looks healthy/shiny when I wash it all out. You won't find a better deep conditioner than this, and it's unquestionably good for your hair. Coconut oil is one of the only oils proven to actually penetrate the hair shaft. When I use it, I coat my hands in oil and make sure to cover my hair with it- starting at the ends, and concentrating most of it there. Once I'm sure every strand is covered, I lay a small towel/sheet over my pillow and keep the oil on overnight (if you have longer hair, you may want to braid it). I don't only use it at night, though- I've also used it to protect my hair during swim practices, at the waterpark, on vacation (lots of UV ray exposure), and even at school... Although many people will attest to coconut oil's benefits for skin and acne, I actually find that it always causes acne at the hairline on my forehead, temples, etc. I don't mind much because acne at the hairline is hardly visible, but it is annoying and can be painful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 7/16/2013 5:56:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought a big jar of this from Trader Joe's after reading all the hype about coconut oil. I used it as a hair mask several times, just slathering it all over my ends and then I started to use it on my scalp too after I heard it can help with growth. I leave it on for about an hour and then shower it out. I would usually shampoo three times to make sure I rinsed all the oil out because if you don't, obviously, your hair will feel greasy. It smells great and it does seem to condition and soften my hair quite well. I'm not sure about adding shine but overall it works as well as a good deep conditioner.

I've also used it as a homemade exfoliator. Once I was getting to the bottom of the jar and it was hard to get it out for my hair, I poured some sugar into the jar to make a simple scrub. It exfoliated some of my dry skin and the coconut oil kept the sugar from being too abrasive. The oil soaked in pretty quickly after rinsing off and left my skin super soft and smooth and smelling great.

I'm looking forward to trying some of the other uses for coconut oil I've heard about, based on the good results I've had so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiraty on 7/12/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by kiraty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I actually use the brand in the picture, and it's wonderful! I use it as a body moisturizer after I shower, and my skin has never been softer. I use it as a deep conditioner for my hair and it works great. My hair is SO soft! The only downside is that it is quite heavy and having a head full of greasy hair gets annoying very quickly. But its totally worth it. The cost is very little when you consider a) it's totally natural! and b) it will last quite a while. I don't use this on my face, I'm afraid it might break me out. I do use jojoba oil on my face at night and I love it! I also use jojoba in my hair during the day and it makes my hair look lovely. It's a lighter oil so it doesn't look greasy at all (on my face it does, but not in my hair)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products