Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(171 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 texasbeautyaddict on 9/11/2013 10:37:00 AM more reviews by texasbeautyaddict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I took my hair platinum blonde about a month or so ago after being platinum multiple times in the past. I had read online that coating your hair the night before in coconut oil before you bleach it reduces the damage greatly. So, I soaked my hair in it, and bleached my hair the next day (I kept the oil on while I bleached).

Following the bleaching, while my hair still felt bleached (can't do anything about that), it was the nicest my hair had ever felt after bleaching. I did the treatment again the next day, and the benefits were still noticeable. Coconut oil is a great deep conditioner and a lot of other boards online and youtubers site it as incredibly beneficial for people who maintain/go platinum blonde. My hair is soft, manageable, and gets lots of compliments.

HOWEVER...I also tried to use it in a sugar scrub and found that it broke various parts of my body out (in weird places too like the backs of my legs). I also tried to use it as a make up remover once and it broke me out then as well. If you have sensitive skin...be careful. I also had a problem with olive oil.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itslindsey on 9/4/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by itslindsey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I kept hearing a bunch of people swear by this stuff so I picked some up the last time I went shopping at Trader Joe's. I raked it through my hair and let it sit for a couple of hours and then washed it out with Devacurl No-Poo (took a couple of rounds and a lot of scrubbing). I then just let my hair air dry without putting any of my other usual products in it and was amazed at how great it looked! My curls were soft and shiny with very little frizz. I'm a believer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rawlins1 on 9/2/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Rawlins1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love using coconut oil in my hair. I like to put it use a couple handfuls and let it melt in my hands, then I flip my head over and work it through my hair. The more I use, the better! I typically pull my hair up into a loose bun and go about my routine and then wash it out a few hours later. It leaves my hair so silky, smooth and soft. I am not the biggest fan of it being in a jar though. I do this about once a week. After getting to the last little bit, it is hard to get out unless you melt it on the stove. It's a small price to pay though for the health it brings back to my hair!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neivahismyname on 7/23/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by Neivahismyname

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in February 1 because I love coconuts and 2 I wanted to grow out my hair. Can I just say this stuff is AMAZING. Hair- I use this once a week as a hair treatment. I keep it in for as long as I can before I take a shower then I shampoo TWICE and condition. Then when I get out of the shower I apply a tiny tiny tiny tiiiiiiny less then pea size amount to the ends to replace argan oil or morroccan oil. I also use it before I add heat to my hair.. It acts as a protectant. Skin- I apply this to my face and no, it doesn't make me break out. It moisturizers my face and prevents break puts. I have excema and let me tell you it is a pain. It doesn't exactly get rid of it but it keeps the redness away! I also use it as a shaving cream and ohh I love it! Lips- it helps with dry lips! I get dry skin around my lips and it helps it go away! I get inflamed lips which is soooooooo annoying and it helps it a little! OVERALL I love this. It absorbs right away and it's just wonderful! Go out and buy it I promise you'll love it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarfreepersonality on 7/20/2013 11:36:00 PM more reviews by sugarfreepersonality

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Since there are three coconut oil review boards, I'll start with this: all the coconut oil I use is cold pressed, unrefined, extra virgin organic coconut oil. And I use it for my hair! My fine, easily damaged hair... and let me say, coconut oil works wonders for hair. I coat my hair in it every night, root to tip, and it feels so much softer and looks healthy/shiny when I wash it all out. You won't find a better deep conditioner than this, and it's unquestionably good for your hair. Coconut oil is one of the only oils proven to actually penetrate the hair shaft. When I use it, I coat my hands in oil and make sure to cover my hair with it- starting at the ends, and concentrating most of it there. Once I'm sure every strand is covered, I lay a small towel/sheet over my pillow and keep the oil on overnight (if you have longer hair, you may want to braid it). I don't only use it at night, though- I've also used it to protect my hair during swim practices, at the waterpark, on vacation (lots of UV ray exposure), and even at school... Although many people will attest to coconut oil's benefits for skin and acne, I actually find that it always causes acne at the hairline on my forehead, temples, etc. I don't mind much because acne at the hairline is hardly visible, but it is annoying and can be painful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 7/16/2013 5:56:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought a big jar of this from Trader Joe's after reading all the hype about coconut oil. I used it as a hair mask several times, just slathering it all over my ends and then I started to use it on my scalp too after I heard it can help with growth. I leave it on for about an hour and then shower it out. I would usually shampoo three times to make sure I rinsed all the oil out because if you don't, obviously, your hair will feel greasy. It smells great and it does seem to condition and soften my hair quite well. I'm not sure about adding shine but overall it works as well as a good deep conditioner.

I've also used it as a homemade exfoliator. Once I was getting to the bottom of the jar and it was hard to get it out for my hair, I poured some sugar into the jar to make a simple scrub. It exfoliated some of my dry skin and the coconut oil kept the sugar from being too abrasive. The oil soaked in pretty quickly after rinsing off and left my skin super soft and smooth and smelling great.

I'm looking forward to trying some of the other uses for coconut oil I've heard about, based on the good results I've had so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiraty on 7/12/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by kiraty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I actually use the brand in the picture, and it's wonderful! I use it as a body moisturizer after I shower, and my skin has never been softer. I use it as a deep conditioner for my hair and it works great. My hair is SO soft! The only downside is that it is quite heavy and having a head full of greasy hair gets annoying very quickly. But its totally worth it. The cost is very little when you consider a) it's totally natural! and b) it will last quite a while. I don't use this on my face, I'm afraid it might break me out. I do use jojoba oil on my face at night and I love it! I also use jojoba in my hair during the day and it makes my hair look lovely. It's a lighter oil so it doesn't look greasy at all (on my face it does, but not in my hair)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JBaby23 on 7/11/2013 10:51:00 PM more reviews by JBaby23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I only use organic coconut oil to hydrate my face. It's very light & gets the job done. Also make body scrubs with it and hair masks. I actually prefer it as a hair mask over EVOO. It is truly wonderful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoZoeyxo on 7/4/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by xoZoeyxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Coconut oil is a must have for EVERY GIRL! I use it for my hair, body, skin. It is simply amazing. I out some on my hair before bed, put some clean towels in my pillow and sleep on it (it isn't the best smelling over time and you don't want oily pillowcases). I the morning I wash it and voila. Even after I use it. When my hair is damp I scrunch some in the ends of my hair since I have curly-wavy hair. It is awesome. Why spend money on all these hair masks when you can just use coconut oil or make your own with it?! Sure it can be pricy put its totally worth it and all natural!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meowkitties on 6/23/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by meowkitties

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I live off of this stuff. Coconut oil is my best friend. I use it for and on everything! My hair, my skin, cooking and as a makeup remover. It's an all purpose beauty product.

About a year ago I cut my hair into a bob for god knows what. I have wavy hair and the only way my bob would look good is if i straightened it or blow dryed it, leaving me to grow out unhealthy hair. Mainly the top portion is whats the most dry. I started using coconut oil about 3 months ago and i will never go without it. It does wonders for my hair that i'm determined to grow out healthy. I soak my hair in it once a week over night and wash it out in the morning (it takes two shampoos to get it all out). It always leaves my hair feeling super healthy, silky, shiny and less prone to frizz.

I wish i had known about the wonders of this stuff earlier because i can only imagine the condition my hair would be in now had i been using this since middle school.

One of the key things to coconut oil is consistency, your hair will improve after your first treatment but you need to stick with it and do it at least once a week to keep your hair on the path to health. It's a pain sometimes to be a grease head for a night but the benefits are worth it.

It's also amazing on your skin, it absorbs really well. I don't use lotions anymore, just some good ol' coconut oil mixed with almond oil and my skin is glowing and nourished. :) As a makeup remover, i just dip a qtip in it and use it to remove my eye makeup. Loves it! I will be using coconut oil for the rest of my life.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products