Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

768 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 3/5/2015 8:36:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I continue to love this product. I really like the coverage, staying power and buildability. I use over Mally primer. I have tried other foundations and keep coming back. I also add some revlon highlighing lotion (not sure of the exact name) to give this product some luminosity. I am 50 and have good skin, but a bit dry and fair in color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/28/2015 3:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After searching for my HG foundation... I think I found the one. Never in my life have I purchased two shades of the same foundation because the thought of not having it in my shade for any season freaked me out. With that said,

I have true combination skin- a very oily t-zone as well as the cheek area around my nose and dry/normal skin elsewhere. It's hard for me to find a good match because most foundations tend to break on the oily areas from 2-3 hours which is normally not sufficient and too high maintenance for me to touch up.

I have been using this foundation for about 3-4 months.
I have the shades 1.0 (fair to light with neutral undertones) and 2.0 (light to medium with yellow undertones). 2 was too dark for me and 1 is way too light, so I usually mix in 1/3 of the 1.0 and 3/4 of the 2.0. My skin has dominant yellow undertones (yay, asian) and 1.0 works for me because I mix it with the other one.

This foundation is definitely a dry, semi-matte finish that is surprisingly natural especially if you get the correct shade. It looks so natural and not cakey using a brush or fingers ( it is boyfriend approved!). What I love though the most is that it is LONG WEARING without being overly drying. I blot at least every 2 hours with other foundations but with this I find it only necessary to blot every 6 hours. It also doesn't fade blotchy. I sometimes mix this in with another foundation if I feel more dry in the colder days, and it allows it for a great combo for my combo skin. Just the other day I was out from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. (way too long) and when I looked in my bathroom mirror, I didn't feel gross and in fact my face still looked quite presentable (almost impossible with other foundations!).

I am aware there are other great foundations for oily skin types. For my use, I didn't want something too heavy and thick , which is why I opted for the light version instead. I also do not like complete matte finishes.

Worth checking out if you are a combo oily gal like me!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2015 4:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this foundation after finding the normal double wear too heavy for everyday wear..I always find this to be a hit or a miss! Some days I'll wear it and it looks so nice stays on all day just great (I've noticed that's normally when I've put my moisturiser tan on the night before so my skin isn't as dry) but when it's colder outside its horrible!! Looks so cakey and clings to all my dry patches so I had to stop using it! But I think this foundation might be better in the summer when it's a bit warmer and my skin isn't as dry, but when it's cold normal weather it's a no go as it feels heavy and dry

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 9:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I think this is a great foundation, but not perfect for me. It is a nice level of coverage, medium I'd say, it doesn't totally cover my redness or hyper pigmentation, but it definitely helps to camouflage. And it lasts so well! my days are long and this is the only foundation I've tried so far that really holds up all day. I have quite an oily t zone in the warmer months, and I don't get as shiney with this either.

However, I find it to have a very matte finish, and look a bit dry and makeup-y. I have large pores, and I really feel like this enhances them. Because it's so matte on me, it just doesn't have a very pretty look. I've tried layering it and mixing it with other products, but I have had only minimal success.

It's also too drying in the winter months. today it is feeling sort of itchy and bothersome on my face, but I'm really hoping it'd just that my winter skin is a little dry and sensitive, and not that I'm reacting to the product!

I'm actually still trying it, and holding on to it hoping I can make it work a little better come summer. Because I just don't want to give up on such a nice, long wear that keeps summer greasiness in check.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this after looking through the reviews and thought it sounded like the product for me. But alas it was not. The first day i tried the product it made my skin feel tight and dry, making any dryness and imperfections stand out. I thought it was just my skin at the time as it had been slightly dry. I used it for around a week and noticed my skin break out terribly as well as becoming increasingly dry. Another downside for me was that it also oxadised, making my face look an odd shade of orange.....not a good look when your as white as me. I went back to using my previous foundation, and occasionally tried using the double wear light again to see if it was any different. My skin would break out instantly. Safe to say i was dissapointed. But each their own, you never know unless you try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Breaks me out every time I wear it. I'm not acne-prone and don't usually have issues with face products. I didn't catch up with it right away, and a week after wearing it daily I had to deal with the worst skin I've had since my early teen years. A month later I attempted again - same result. I remove makeup with oil and double cleanse, so it's really just something that's causing havoc during hours it's on. It's killing me because I really like it otherwise and being in EU I can't return it.


on 2/13/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

HG MATERIAL!!! I love this stuff SO much. They finally have a shade that works for my superpale skin, 0.5. It's pretty close to a perfect match.

Why I love it:
- perfect colormatch (0.5 leans warm, about NC15)
- apply with fingers for sheer but buildable coverage, evens out my ruddy skintone beautifully (note: when built up to med-full coverage, this can look a bit mask-like/obviously makeupy)
- finish is not too matte, not too shiny -- just perfectly skinlike
- coverage lasts all day with minimal fading, even when I forget to set with powder
- causes no irritation or breakouts (I have VERY reactive rosacean skin)
- does not oxidize or separate
- does not highlight flakes
- easily found at Sephora and all major department stores in the US

There aren't many negatives with this stuff but if I had to nitpick:
- cost: it's just a bit steep for what feels like a tinted moisturizer/BB cream
- the tube packaging format: I wish it had a little airtight pump to be more hygienic
- packaging design/branding: I feel like this brand needs a facelift -- it still seems to target old ladies with that classic gold and blue. EL has several products that young makeup junkies love to use -- can't they make it look more hip/cool? No young person wants to be seen with the current packaging/branding.

Overall, a rave review for a product that I already can't live without. LOVELOVELOVE IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 6:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have very oily skin so have lost all hope of finding a foundation that stays put but also isn't too thick on the skin. I used to use classic double wear but I tried going back to this foundation recently after my skin became oilier and it looked so heavy for daytime wear I decided to try the light version. This foundation is worlds apart from classic double wear. It blends beautifully, looks quite natural in daylight and is really buildable although looks best used sparingly. Coverage is good, I would say when used with a decent concealer and a light setting powder you can achieve the same coverage as doublewear classic but with a much nicer natural finish. Granted this doesn't look perfect on my skin all day long however when applied at 6am and not taken off until 8pm I can't expect any foundation to!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation.

I bought it as the Mac F&B I was using was a bit too dark as I bought it in the summertime, and also I wanted a little bit more coverage (without having to layer it). This is fab.

The EL MUA gave me a full makeover so I was properly colour matched - the colour is perfect. The formula just suits my skin so well - it blends well, covers well (although I use the Doublewear concealer under my eyes and on redness), doesn't transfer - even without powdering! - and doesn't wear off my face on my oily T zone. This for me is unimaginable - every other foundation will wear off a bit, or sort of 'clump' sometimes. Not this one, which surprised me as I am normally a sheer foundation sort of girl. I also love the packaging - simple and effective - no glass bottle and therefore no wastage!

I think this has surpassed Clinique's CC Cream as my favourite. I will probably buy this again, even though it is pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2015 8:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful disaster.
I wanted to love this foundation but unfortunately it breaks me out. This clogs my pores just like the Double Wear foundation. I originally switched to this in hopes that it wouldn't break me out like the original DW but it does so just a warning for any ladies with extremely acne-prone skin like me!

I use Shade 3.0 which matches my yellow-toned, tan-medium-light skin. I'm in the shade Tawny for the original DW (which is just a tiny bit orange for my light tan skin). The longevity is also great. It lasts the whole day and doesn't make me oily. I might have to blot at least once in the day but it's not necessary as it just makes you a bit dewy but not that oily look. The coverage is indeed light-medium like the name itself but it evens out the skin well. I don't mind a few spots showing through but if you really want full coverage, you can use a concealer or try building up the foundation. I apply this with a sponge btw as it makes it easier for me. The price is hefty but the packaging itself is so much better than the original DW. It's in a tube container and you just squeeze out how much you need unlike the DW with no pump (a mess).

All in all, it has everything I'd want in a foundation but since it breaks me out, I will not be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top