LORAC • Visual Effects • Mascara

rated 2.8(36 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 maudelynn on 7/7/2010 3:26:00 PM more reviews by maudelynn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Probably the worst "high end" mascara I've ever purchased. Goopy, gloppy and smeary are the first complaints that come to mind. The applicator is just horrible. I tried it several times, thinking maybe I didn't have the hang of the comb applicator. No, that was not the issue, the applicator itself was the issue. The mascara went on so messily and goopily with it that I cannot even tell if the actual mascara has any merit at all. I am so disappointed in this product. On second thought, it may actually be the WORST mascara I have ever purchased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 downtownbebebrown on 5/19/2010 7:37:00 PM more reviews by downtownbebebrown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I would have to say this was a great Mascara BUT the wands bristles broke off and are in the bottle after a year of use. The Mascara is still good and the product does deliver on the Visual Effects.
However b/c its missing the bristles it can clump if not careful. I will not buy again b/c its rather pricing and i feel my go to drugstore Voluminous is almost the same and cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 3/19/2010 1:41:00 PM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so shocked that this mascara has such low ratings and can only think people are expecting too much or a dramatic look from it alone! lol I am such a mascara natzi and ahve tried so many drom Dior, Lancome, YSL, to drugstore. Have never really run across anything that has wow'd me and considering mascara is something that dries up and you need to throw away pretty often I find spending alot on it a waste of moeny as opposed to other cosmetics. I actually got a free full size tube of this with my last Lorac 3d Gloss purchase and sooo glad I did otherwie I would have never though to try it. I have tried mscaras with plastic wand like this (aka Bourjois, etc) years ago and love that they helped with somewhat more definition and getting to every lash but hates that I could apply a million times and wouldn't give me any volume of color and jsut look like my lashes were tinted lol. I luckily to begin with have very long and full lashes but they are light brown so I ocourse like to get a very bold black volumous look with mascara especially 4 night looks. I have never had problems using drustore mascaras with smaller wands and jsut layering for a super rich volume (instea dof using fat brushes that clump in 2 seconds and smear your eyeshadow for so called volume that look like you ahve spider legs on your eyes lol. I find this Lorac Mascara however is one of a kind with it's plastics apllicator with is basically a 4 sides comb (which is so genius as you never have to redip teh wand since you jsut turn to a different side of it and there is always enough prodcuts with great color payoff). It doesn't jsut tint your lashes and actually layers pretty richly (even the dark blue shade) and the best part is that it defines my lashes like I have never seen before. Completely fans them out like a dream and makes them look like one of those mascara commercials. Yes other mascaras give me a bolder look but none have ever come close to so pefectly fanning out and defning my lashes like this and making them pop. So all I do is put a few layers of this on first to define and then when it dries with my lashes perfectly fannded out I add a volumizing mascara over fro more color and boldness. Makes for the best look I have ever acheived with mascara or even false lashes minus the hassle. Truly perfection if you know how to use Visual Effects properly and perfect fr day or night as it looks natural and bold but not overdone. Unless you are born with super thich, full, long and dark lashes honestly one coat of one mascara can't get that dream look most of us go for with mascara lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teacherjess on 9/19/2009 2:57:00 PM more reviews by teacherjess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I also am shocked at the low reviews. I have extremely short, stubby, "non existent" African- American lashes and have tried everything! Everything that works either ends up flaking into my eyes (I wear contacts, so you KNOW that hurts by the end of the day), or clumps beyond belief, doing nothing. This product curls, lengthens, and has dramatic black pigment power. Clumping is only an issue if you're heavy handed with it. Try wiping wand on a clean tissue before you begin. It also works beautifully with MAC Prep + Prime lash. This duo is an everyday staple in my beauty routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 joolz2u on 9/12/2009 7:28:00 PM more reviews by joolz2u

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the midnight blue as I was looking for a blue mascara. The color is the ONLY feature of this product that I liked. This mascara clumps terribly so it takes extra time to apply in the morning and it doesn't curl, which it claims. Not recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 msgenie516 on 8/6/2009 2:25:00 PM more reviews by msgenie516

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I do like this mascara but clumping can be a problem. I found that if I remove the excess mascara from the wand by wiping it on the edge of the top of tube, it works a lot better. So I think the problem is that the wand just picks up too much mascara. And I find it very difficult to try and fix it with the wand once I have applied too much mascara. So then I have to get my eyelash comb out, which shouldn't be necessary for a mascara that isn't cheap. You also need to apply this slowly and deliberately from the base to the tip of the lashes and then I find it gives a good lengthening effect. When the application is done with a lot of care, the results are very good. But this does take effort!

I am planning to try it with Shiseido The Makeup Mascara Base, which I ordered from Amazon and am expecting to arrive tomorrow. I will be very happy if this fixes the clumping.

I got the Midnight Blue color, which I love with my blue eyes. This is the first mascara I have purchased recently (and I've been trying a lot of brands) that the blue really looks blue after you get it on and it has dried. I bought others that just tended to look black or gray, but this is BLUE! Not bright and garish, though, just blue instead of black. The color is the main reason that I would purchase this again.

I took off two lippies because I don't think for the price, that I should have to work with it so much or purchase a base to help it go on better. But the color is AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lisa71 on 4/22/2009 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Lisa71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara for free. I think that its just okay. I think there are drugstore brands that would give you the same results or even better. It's good for length but I dont think it makes your lashes thicker. It you apply more than two coats it starts to clump up your lashes even the comb applicator doesnt separate them well. Bottom line save your money and try something else my recs are Loreal Voluminoius or Telescopic, Lancome Definicils or Dior Show

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gem18tam on 3/15/2009 9:51:00 AM more reviews by gem18tam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara doesn't deserve its low rating. I loved it and am on my second tube. Yes, the wand is weird and takes getting used to. However, once you get the hang of it, the mascara goes on smoothly and is not clumpy. One of the great things about the mascara is that you don't need to re-dip for both eyes. If you use one side of the comb for one eye, there's still plenty left for your other eye. Just make sure you start with the outer lashes and try not to have too heavy a hand. Also, the color is a really great black, and it doesn't smudge or flake. I sometimes fall asleep with my eye makeup on and I've been able to wear this for almost 2 whole days with my lashes still looking perfect.

As far as things I don't like, one is that it doesn't dry as fast as some other mascaras I've tried - sometimes I blink and the tips of my lashes hit my upper brow and mess up my eyeshadow. Also, when the product is running out that's when it can start to get clumpy. Finally, I'll agree with another reviewer that if you do get too much product onto your lashes, the comb is not good at removing it or spreading it out. But that can be avoided as long as you don't have too heavy a hand while applying, or if you get an eyelash comb I suppose (but I've never had to resort to that).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLips on 3/10/2009 8:07:00 PM more reviews by MsLips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Utter crap..got it as gratis and will not purchase. It does nothing..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissDanniBoi on 2/20/2009 10:20:00 PM more reviews by MissDanniBoi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is amazing. It differs from the rest in having a plastic comb-like, 4-sided applicator that has different length bristles to contour to your natural lash line. I think the comb has its pros & cons. Pros being that it helps put a good amount of mascara on your lashes without having to dip into the tube 2 or 3 times, and it helps comb through your lashes getting each and every one covered. The cons are that the comb lacks the ability to take off excess mascara, so i found it best to use a different brand mascara's brush after to just to touch up and remove clumps. The mascara itself has a great formula and within seconds of using it my lashes look awesome, the length and thickness is noticablly different! It lasts all day, doesnt smudge, and re-applying is never an issue, whether i need to or not. I have tried "Lotsa Lash" which is also made by Lorac, and i wasn't impressed. The micro-fibers which are supposed to "extend" your lashes, constantly fall down onto your cheeks. My big issue with mascaras is the ability to KEEP my lashes looking long and thick, many don't do that for long periods of time, Visual Effects does just that! Its one of the best i've tried and i'd recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LORAC products

More Mascara products