Boots • Expert Anti-Blemish Serum • Treatments

rated 3.5(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 brindled_mer on 10/13/2010 12:37:00 PM more reviews by brindled_mer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

While I cannot rely on salicylic acid alone to control my acne (I need the strength of 2.5% benzoyl peroxide once a day), it is a useful part of my acne-fighting kit. It helps clear my pores more gently and with less drying effects than benzoyl peroxide. I like that this serum contains no alcohol, menthol, or fragrance. The top three ingredients are water, glycerin, and willow bark extract. Although it does contain synthetic ingredients, I have not experienced any irritation from this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aredore on 8/14/2010 10:40:00 PM more reviews by aredore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It didn't do anything for my blemishes.

On the bright side, my acne was not made worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yguo on 7/11/2010 2:25:00 AM more reviews by yguo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This caused me to break out even more and with larger pimples than before. My skin may be sensitive to salicylic acid, which is contained in this formula. After a week of use, my skin appeared worse than before. I stopped use last week and am waiting for it to recover.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brendonoahsmom on 6/27/2010 2:18:00 PM more reviews by Brendonoahsmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't going to write a review for this because I thought it was just "o.k." I bought this because I needed serum (I always wear serum under moisturizer) and was low on cash (this was only 8 bucks at Target). At first I saw no immediate results, but i continued to use and was surprised that after a few weeks my skin looked clear. I have a few pimple scars with redness and this made my skin look a lot smoother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brendonoahsmom on 6/27/2010 2:17:00 PM more reviews by Brendonoahsmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't going to write a review for this because I thought it was just "o.k." I bought this because I needed serum (I always wear serum under moisturizer) and was low on cash (this was only 8 bucks at Target). At first I saw no immediate results, but i continued to use and was surprised that after a few weeks my skin looked clear. I have a few pimple scars with redness and this made my skin look a lot smoother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 grasshopper1 on 6/11/2010 1:06:00 AM more reviews by grasshopper1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have seen zero improvement after a week of nightly use-- and I don't have crazy break-outs so it's not like I'm asking too much of a product that claims to combat blemishes. I simply need something to help get rid of the whiteheads along my jawline and the occasial blemish on my nose without overdrying. Hopefully I'll be able to return this to Target.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ashalicious on 5/8/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Ashalicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't see any changes in my break outs at all after using this every single day. It does make my skin softer, but I didn't see it doing anything else. Because it's so gently formulated I am going to to try it on my daughter, she has a light case of keratosis pilaris, and see if it helps her skin any. If not, then it was a complete waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JInglygypsy on 2/9/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by JInglygypsy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Occasionally, I have to deal with (read: I constantly battle) breakouts along the jaw line. Not little surface whiteheads and pimplies (i.e. tiny, barely there bumps), but the more painful types that hover under the skin and never come to a head, causing skin to look red and irritated. While the rest of my face has improved thanks to some lovely facial products, my jaw line refuses to cooperate. After hearing some great things about Boots' Expert line at Target, I bought this serum. I figured if it didn't work, I wouldn't be out much money because it is so cheap. Well, it DOES work. The thin, watery consistency might have you thinking there's not much to this serum, but that's the good thing about it. It is light, and it sinks in fast with little to no evidence that it is there. After a few weeks of nightly use under a moisturizer I am seeing less of the aforementioned jaw blemishes and more of clearer skin!!
Definitely worth trying for yourself!

PROS: Everything from price to effectiveness!
CONS: Nothing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LAMadde on 2/6/2010 10:34:00 AM more reviews by LAMadde

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love this product. During my first pregnancy my face became a M E S S and I tried COUNTLESS acne/oily skin/clear you up-systems. All different price ranges, I tried expensive ones like Dermalogica and ProActive and cheaper ones like Neutrogena and Clean and Clear. Of all these different products I actually cared the least for the expensive ones.. reason 1.) They worked great as long as you use them. If you don't use it for 2 days, your skin breaks out like crazy. 2.) Price 3.) Availability, it's so much easier to pick up your products at any local drugstore or walmart or target than having to order it online or having to visit a special counter at Macys. So, I had heard some good things about Boots in the past and took a look during a visit to target. I saw their 'anti blemish' line and thought I'd give it a go. I bought the serum and cleansing foam. These products together w/ the clean and clear 'spot treatment' has worked wonders for my skin. My daugther is almost 2yrs now and I'm 20 weeks pregnant and my skin looks great compared to what it did 6months ago. Thank you Boots :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xlitlbitx on 11/2/2009 3:02:00 PM more reviews by xlitlbitx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this along with the other anti-blemish products and found that none of it works for me.
It stated that it would help keep my face matte along with helping with my acne, It did neither.
Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boots products

More Treatments products