NARS Dolce Vita [old formula]

4.3

69 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/25/2012 3:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice accompaniment to Dolce Vita lipstick. The first time I wore it, I used the wand to put it all over my lips. This made it look too terra cotta-y and brown. It is extremely pigmented. Now I apply it by using my fingers to dab it on, and that way it's the same pretty color as the lipstick.
NARS's lipglosses have an inconsistent formula. Angelika & Wonder are moisturizing to my lips, but this is pretty drying. Not my favorite NARS product.



on 11/10/2011 3:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I am of Mediterranean and Hispanic descent, and I have a really hard time finding lip colors that work for me. Most colors are either too light or too dark for me. I was looking for a pretty pink that would look good either with a smoky eye or a more natural look. After trying on several colors, I found that "La Dolce Vita" is the perfect one for me. The color lasts surprisingly long, I only have to apply twice a day. It leaves my lips really moisturized too.

So, why the 4 stars instead of 5?? Because of the price! If it were 10 dlls. less this would be my HG of lip glosses!

UPDATE: If you are looking for a cheaper dupe of this product, go get LeGloss by L'Oreal in Really Rosť #156! (you can read a more thorough review there)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2011 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

Dolce Vita is a beautiful creamy rose/mauve color that is neither cool or warm........it's both. I am very fair/cool and Dolce Vita looks very pretty, it does not have any brown color to it, I wouldn't buy it if it did because I can't wear brown colors they look awful on me.
The color reminds me of like a vintage color, something a woman would wear during the Victorian era, it's very sophisticated and feminine, it's a timeless color that I will always go back to for that classic look. This is a great all year round shade but would look best probably during the fall/winter months.


on 6/7/2011 9:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The color is absolutely gorgeous! - a pinkish, deep rose that's somewhere between neutral pink and soft rose. This color could definitely work as an everyday lip gloss for me. The color is opaque, which means it contains more color and is less sheer than other lip glosses. Consistency is moisturizing and soft. Not too sticky either. Great for spring/summer!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this lipgloss. The color is beautiful and perfect for me. I have olive skin on the lighter side. I also have fairly pigmented lips. This color is like a "my lips but better" for me. Super expensive which sucks, but a nice product to splurge on.


on 3/10/2011 10:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

great everyday rose color. the texture is pretty sticky, which I like, since it seems to make the gloss last longer. I also like that the color is really opaque, this is more like a liquid lipstick than a gloss. I am also a fan of the packaging on these lipglosses which seems to keep them from having that gross buildup around the cap that seeps out.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

DV is a very pretty deep rose, applies evenly, easy to spread, not sticky. I find that dark Nars lip gloss shades are generally better than the milky light colored ones, which tend to have unnatural color and settle into lip lines.


on 1/23/2011 5:14:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've found there's a bit of a learning curve to this gloss. Previous reviewers were right - this definitely leans more toward liquid lipstick territory. It's quite thick and opaque, and isn't a lipgloss version of the famed Dolce Vita lipstick, but is rather a sister to it. It's more mauve than the lipstick, and deeper; I don't necessarily need precision to apply DV lipstick, but I'll be damned if I don't have a mirror nearby when applying DV lipgloss. I don't find it applies as evenly as I'd like. I also wish it was sheerer, and that it wouldn't transfer on my teeth so easily. Having said all these things, it's still pretty, but I doubt I'll rebuy - I prefer my glosses to be a little less high maintenance than this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2010 11:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for an every day lipgloss but this looks too purple on my already pigmented lips. Makes me look more yellow toned as well (im nc 37-40) I returned it and bought scandal instead..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2010 11:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Dolce Vita blush is one of my favorites so I had high hopes for this gloss. Wrong! It was too thick, more like lipstick than gloss. Some may like that kind of consistency but it didnt work for me. Not with this color. I don't mind a thicker gloss but this was just all wrong for me and the color was not great on my skin tone. It came out too mauvey.
I'm glad that all of the NARS glosses are not super thick like this one. Maybe the consistency varies with different colors. I hate to give an NARS item such a low rating but nothing about this item worked for me


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top