L'Oreal • Cream shadow paint in Lofty • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 7/31/2009 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Lofty is a perfect wash color for me. I'm NC15/20 and Asian with flatter eyelids (not a monolid). It's a light peachy-pink nude color which probably is a great base for some. Personally for me this color has just the right hint for those low-key days providing a touch of color with minimal work. There is a very subtle golden sheen to this that provides a glow to the lids, finish it off with some liner and I'm good to go! Typical champagne type washes like Secretive make my eyes seem flat or I'll have frost/glitter sitting on my lids with no color so I'm glad I found this shade. While it has a bit of gold in it, the color is a satin finish so it's not over the top or glittery nor is it flat matte. Great for everyday or work.


The tube packaging is a pain whenever I initially open it, I always risk gooping out a lot... but overall application is easy with a clean finger + some blending. This is one of my favs along with Nervy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betonyourself on 7/26/2009 2:31:00 PM more reviews by betonyourself

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What a great product. I'm so glad I found this at Walgreens for $3.19 otherwise I would never have bought it at regular price ($12.99!!!!). It's such a tiny amount of product so I'm glad I got my $'s worth! The staying power of this eyeshadow is amazing. I love it as a base or to wear it alone. It's such a pretty beigey pink color with just the right amount of shimmer. I like the little brush added as a bonus, however I don't use it for this product (I use my pinky). Instead I use the brush for my powder eye shadows, it's great for contour & highlighting!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjx3pooh on 6/17/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by cjx3pooh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Color: Shimmery toupe color
Price: ~$12, kind of expensive if you use it up quickly
Texture: Very creamy, kind of "textured" like a reviewer said below, makes my lids look older, in terms of skin aging (and I'm not even 18 yet!)
Purpose: I absolutely love this as a primer, I actually have a very small crease (almost a monolid) and everything creases on me, but underneath my other shadows, this doesn't make my lid crease at all! Pretty amazing if you ask me
Packaging: In a squeeze tube, I accidentally squeezed out this whole blob by when I first opened it. With very little pressure a lot of product comes out =/ I probably shouldn't pick a hole that big next time with the little spike in the cap. The brush it comes with if very stiff, fine for applying this, but I like using my finger
Verdict: I actually got this on sale for $3, so I'm pretty sure I'm not going to get this for retail, since Walgreens has sales on HiP products all the time; but this is a great buy for anyone looking for a anti-creasing primer. It doesn't have a whole lot of color though so, don't expect too much when you put it on and blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EyelinerLover on 5/26/2009 5:25:00 PM more reviews by EyelinerLover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is nearly a miracle for me. I use it as an eyeshadow base, and it's perfect for me. I have very oily eyelids that only get worse as the day goes on, so usually by the end of the school day, most of my shadow is discolored and has either faded horribly or has all ridden up into my crease. My eyeliner also usually fades away from inky black to a dull gray. On top of all that, my eyes look unattractively shiny/greasy. But with this, by the end of the school day, my eye makeup is almost exactly the same as when I put it on in the morning, with the exception of a slight bit of creasing. My shadow is nearly the same exact color and intensity as when it first goes on, as is my eyeliner. My eyes don't get the yucky greasy look to them either. This product isn't perfect, of course. I've already mentioned some color fading and shadow creasing. It also gives my eyelids a somewhat dry and rough look. That's not too much of an issue with me though considering that I only use it as a base and put eyeshadow completely over top of it anyways. It also must be very carefully used in order to not have the product come out too fast and end up squeezing out too much, wasting the product. Only give the tube a slight squeeze. Not much is needed anyway, because with this stuff a little goes a very very long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 erynnia on 3/30/2009 8:02:00 PM more reviews by erynnia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Hmm. Shows up well and lasts all day for me over UDPP; however it has some cons that make me less than pleased:

1) It is very textured, I noticed this about Commanding also. With Commanding the texture looks 'smoky', with this, at least on my lids, I feel like it's just making the skin of my eyelid look very rough and aged. Hard to explain, it just really magnifies the texture of your skin, so this color may be a bad idea for older skin above the crease. Your skin, but rougher!

2) It seems impossible to open the tube and puncture properly without wasting a lot of product that spurts out immediately (and then eventually stops). Even though I was expecting it on the second tube and was extremely careful not to squeeze the tube body while puncturing, it still happened again and wasted a lot of product.

That said, they have an interesting look that is different from powder shadows, and they are easy to work with and wear well, at least with primer. Maybe worthwhile for BOGO, which is the way I bought them, but not at $11/$12 a pop.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chrysantza on 3/3/2009 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Chrysantza

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great pinky-beige pigment for every day. And, surprisingly, the little brush included isn't that bad (though I still prefer my MAC and Sephora brushes). I wear this over UDPP and it lasts quite a long time and is flattering on my PPP skin and dark brown eyes. Got this with a BOGO, so can't beat the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 2/22/2009 9:20:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this also as part of Walgreens' BOGOF sale. On me it shows up as a fleshy pink with some shimmer. Almost a nude, but I can still see a bit of pink. It is very pretty on as a wash of color on my lids. It is certainly not at all dramatic or anything, but I rarely wear anything too bold. I loved the application - it was so easy. Also it did not budge at all - no creasing, no quick fading. I did put primer on my lids however. I would give this a five if the color completely wowed me, which sadly, it didn't. I like this, I think it would be nice for casual evenings - especially for spring. I will probably repurchase this one but would like to try a few other shades first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dakgirl on 2/18/2009 5:44:00 PM more reviews by dakgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I could have sworn I reviewed this but I haven't. I find that in general HIP products are not made for PPP's and instead are meant to work on deeper skintones that have long been neglected or poorly provided for, by the cosmetic industry.

I was hoping for Lofty to be a fleshtone for me. Unfortunately its someone else's flesh. (I guess I should have just bought Wite-Out! Just kidding, Mac's Chiaroscuro works nicely on my eyes.) This browny peach-pink is the same color as my eyelids, which makes me look tired. That's why I use things like LM Linen Eye Basic to neutralize it.

HOWEVER! Today I grabbed this without thinking and put it on my cheeks, temples and softly above my brows on the outer half. Lo and behold it works like a beautiful soft boost of color, but not quite a bronzer (which can look muddy or orange on a PPP) I am really pleased with the result!

It blended well on my skin and left a sort of...velvet nude glow. On the eyes it has a touch of shimmer which on the cheeks isn't a shimmer, more of a nude glow. Before, Lofty was a "doesn't-work-on-my-skin-another-waste-of-money". Now, I will definitely be using this on my cheeks!

It went very well with HIP Liquid Lipcolor in 860 Pretentious and MAC Mineralize Shadow dusted on dry in Family Silver, with a touch of black brown mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vyvyanne on 12/30/2008 8:36:00 PM more reviews by vyvyanne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have these cream shadows in steely, secretive, and lofty. I had nervy, but it was too dark for me. At first I used secretive as my second base, after UDPP and it was always too light and I didn't think twice until I got lofty and decided it was a better color.

What can I say? Lofty matches my skin tone pretty well, and it doesn't crease for me; I apply it lightly on my whole lid up to the browbone as a base for my shadows. A little goes a long way and I have been using this for a long time and still a have long way to go (I even already purchased a backup... too early).

This keeps my makeup from creasing 12+ and even after a long night of partying I come back and my eyes are still going strong. Although I have not tried its MAC counterpart, I do not really want to. I guess I'll wait until I finish my two lofty.

Also one or twice with my other paints, it did leak a weird oily goo. I just wiped it away and continued to use it. It was gross but it did not affect the quality of the product. I only buy HIP products on BOGO so I think I got it for around $6? Not sure, it was way too long ago.

I usually buy HIP at either rite aid, cvs or walgreens

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetie_cake on 12/30/2008 2:05:00 PM more reviews by sweetie_cake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is is ok color wise. I don't use it very often. It applies ok, and I don't have any problems when I do use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products