Maybelline • Define-A-Brow • Brows

rated 4.2(438 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xojlg on 7/3/2014 1:41:00 AM more reviews by xojlg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG brow product. I use the dark brown shade and it's the perfect color for my dark brown/black hair. It even worked well when I had blonde hair as well. I find it lasts all day long and gives the perfect amount of color and definition to my brows. I literally can't leave the house without using this on them. Love it, definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theopenwindowmaniac on 6/8/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by theopenwindowmaniac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I've always been apprehensive about doing my brows, as I have medium/dark brown hair naturally (level 5A), but I bleach to a pretty light cool blonde (level 9N-9A). So of course my brows are quite dark compared to my blonde hair. I consider my brows to be my best feature, so I've started filling them in and defining the arches. I heard about this brow pencil from makeupalley, of course, and I went to CVS and picked it up in dark blonde. My brows are closer to a light-medium brown, but I didn't want something too dark. The dark blonde shade is perfect. It adds just enough definition without looking obvious. All my blonde girls with dark brows need this pencil in dark blonde. This is not a traditional wooden pencil that needs sharpening, but a twist-up self sharpening pencil. The texture of the product is harder than I thought it would be, but it still applies easily enough. It really isn't bad, I just wish it was softer and more blendable. I did take off one lippie because of the texture and because I wish there was a spoolie at the end instead of a comb. But if you're a brow newbie like myself, this is probably the best brow pencil to start with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lk1119 on 5/8/2014 10:10:00 PM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my holy grail eyebrow pencil. I've been through many eyebrow products, however this is the one that gives me the best result thus far without breaking the bank. I'm currently on my 3rd or 4th one as of now. I use this color in medium brown. I like that it's a retractable pencil. It comes with a little comb at the end, which I never use. If you apply too much pressure it can tend to break, so be careful with that. It's very easy to use and I realize it gives me the best result with less time to apply it. Although, I love this product and the appearance it gives me. It seems like there's not that much product in it because I will find myself have to buy a new one frequently. However, I do use this daily which may be the reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenngasm on 5/7/2014 1:33:00 AM more reviews by Jenngasm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

4th one I've bought back to back! I love how precise and easily I can build my brows up with this! I am so in love and I always recommend to friends when they ask what I use!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 janekeen on 4/28/2014 9:36:00 PM more reviews by janekeen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this, and I cannot even get it on without it breaking off.. I'm returning this right away. The price is probaly the only good thing, but cheap makeup isnt always good makeup. You get what you pay for, sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klban on 4/19/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by klban

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Had to write a review cause this stuff stayed on after I ran a half marathon trail race AND took a shower! Plus it was even a hotter day than expected so I sweat some too. I usually keep this in my purse as a back up and threw it on at the last minute, so I had no expectations. But at 60, my brows are sparser than ever, so this now becomes my main brow staple! I've been using it ever since and the only problem is how fast you use the little stub of color--has to be twisted up after each use. But at 5-6 dollars this is no problem.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racheldoll on 4/14/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by racheldoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've been brow-obsessed for years and I've used tons of different brow products. My HG brow pencil is MAC Eye Brows but this Maybelline pencil is honestly just as good. Similar packaging/size, color is good, and it stays on all day. Love this stuff. I always have at least two in my makeup bag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sabbia on 4/11/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by sabbia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Because my brows are becoming increasingly sparse (from age, I suppose), I am in need of a product that will not wipe off easily on portions of bare skin. I noticed during my research that Define-A-Brow is advertised as being "long wearing" and from the product website "Smear-proof formula wears all day" so I purchased it in Medium Brown.

To test the durability, I drew a line from the pencil onto my wrist (which was extremely dry and clean), waited 5 minutes, and surprisingly was able to wipe it completely off my skin with one light swipe of my finger. I didn't even have to rub! I then waited over 30 minutes to be certain the product had time to set but was still was able to wipe it off just as easily.

I am utterly astonished this product is advertised as smear proof. Also, Medium Brown has too much orange to blend with my eyebrows (which is a very dark brown color).

I'm so glad I purchased at RiteAid where I can return it for full price.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thejessone on 3/29/2014 12:34:00 AM more reviews by thejessone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love these pencils. I have a thyroid disorder and had about half my eyebrows fall out last year... now I'm stuck drawing them on 'cos they won't grow back. The small tip makes it easy to draw precise lines and it's just the right consistency to where it doesn't go everywhere but where you're trying to put it (which is a problem I had with a lot of other brow products!) I also find that they're pretty blendable with powders... I tend to dye my hair a very dark burgundy and I generally use the pencil and then blend in a dark powder to match my hair.

The ONLY thing I don't like about these is that if you twist the product up too much, it tends to break off easily. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 absolutelykatie on 3/23/2014 11:12:00 AM more reviews by absolutelykatie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I genuinely loved this brow pencil when I had it - it wasn't too creamy, has a VERY fine tip which makes it easy to make precise lines, and it twists up so you don't have to hassle with sharpening all the time. What I REALLY love about this brow pencil is that the Dark Blonde shade has almost no warm tones whatsoever. I have very ashy blonde hair, and find that most blond shades of brow pencils come off far too warm on me, but this one is a perfect match for my hair!

What I absolutely do not love about this product is that it comes with .001 ounces of product. .001 OUNCES. I bought this pencil in early January and it only lasted me up until maybe two weeks ago. As someone who does their eyebrows everyday, I was soooo sad because I thought that I'd finally found my HG brow product. But I seriously just can't justify spending $6-7 every month on a brow product. That's like spending $84 every year on eyebrow pencils alone. Shame on you, Maybelline, for creating such an awesome product and then giving you enough product to last for barely a month and a half.

The only reason I think I may re-purchase this is just to have it until I can find a brow product at a comparable price point with more product that actually matches my hair. :(

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Brows products