MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre

4.2

339 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 1/1/2015 10:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this as an alternative to traditional primers. I have skin issues (psoriasis and eczema) on my eye lids. I noticed Too Faced was exacerbating the issues, and while other brands weren't as bad, they certainly were still causing it to be worse. I noticed a lot of YouTube ladies use the paint pots as primers, so I decided to give it a try. My issues have decreased dramatically since I started using this. While I don't think the skin stuff will ever go away (have had the issues for about 10 yrs now), using something that doesn't make it worse is a good step in the right direction.
I find that my shadows aren't as enhanced with this as they are with other primers, but that's okay. It's easy to blend on this base and I like that it conceals the redness. I like that the jar has a wide opening, it's so easy to swirl a finger or brush in and get the right amount of product. As long as it doesn't start to irritate later on, I will be buying more of these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/31/2014 4:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I never skip using soft ochre as a primer for my eyeshadows. I have very oily eyelids that end up creasing with most brand of eyeshadows but this paint pot helps me get a good 8-10 hour wear.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. The only reasons I took off a lippie is because in the winter/fall it is to dark for my eyelids and it does sort of cling to flakier areas on drier eyelids. I'm assuming soft ochre is the shade nc20 or nc22.5. Me in the winter being an nc15 it does stand out between the shade of my foundation and it almost looks like eyeshadow. I have somewhat oily eyelids and it helps my eyeshadows not crease and appear more vibrant. It does have a learning curve because it can easily look patchy, but I prefer this to most eye primers and this will be great for anyone of all ages.


on 11/18/2014 10:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have a very oily t-zone, and oily lids as well. So I apply a primer, then a base, then I apply my powder eyeshadow. I have painterly, which is a pinkier beige, and I purchased this for a yellower beige. It definitely is the color tone I was looking for, but I found that the consistency was a lot drier, and as a result, my finger or brush would get stuck as I applied it, and it looked patchy on my lids. So sadly, I had to return it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 10:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Update: i am reducing 5 stars to 3 stars to product. I tried it now when its winter and yikes, it do not moisture the skin and the skin looks even dry with this product. Lasting power-2hours. But the colour is lovely. I guess it is for someone with perfect eyelids. Old review is here:)))Looking how many negative reviews are here, i am surprised. I have decay primer and they are different products. I apply UDPP before MAC and it works amazing. . MAC makes your lid to look perfect- nude beige/ yellow. You can wear it alone!! I love it no matter what. Amazing and cheap eye primer is from Artdeco if you want cheap and good. However MAC is amazing! It do not dry or crease. Maybe some one can suggest dupe for MAC ?


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is easily in my top 10 MAC products. I use several of the Paint Pot shades and find them better than any other eye base that I've tried. I purchased Soft Ochre when my go-to Painterly was sold out one time.

Soft Ochre Paint Pot is a warm-toned creme-finished nude cream eye shadow that works as a base for power eye shadows. It has incredible staying power and give great vibrancy to whatever you layer over the top. It's very opaque and easily blanks out any discolouration on the eyelid, giving your eye shadows a smoother and more even appearance. Given its warm tone, Soft Ochre would be great for neutralising purple-toned discolouration on the eyelid.

Personally I prefer Painterly because I'm cool toned, but this works just as well so I wouldn't hesitate to repurchase if Painterly was out of stock again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2014 8:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am so sad I waited so long before trying this. For reference, I have very oily eyelids and without a proper primer, my shadows crease very quickly. I've been using Wet N Wild, Milani or UDPP (transfered to a jar to dry it up a bit) with success to prevent creasing but wanted something to help even out my lids, help shadows grab on and make them more vibrant. This product delivered on all 3! I do still put a thin layer of regular primer underneath and then follow with a thin layer of this. By thin I mean I'm literally only tapping my ring finger into this and then tapping it onto my lid. It works so beautifully at making my shadows pop, preventing fall out from glittery shadows and last all day. I have tried to get the same effect with the following: Maybelline Color Tattoos, Laura Merciers eye canvas, UDPP in Eden, Clinique Touch Base, various jumbo pencils (NYX, Annabelle, Milani) and MAC Paint in Bare Canvas and NOTHING works as well as this product. I am converted and will use this everyday!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2014 5:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff is amazing. Better than any eyeshadow primer I've ever used, including Urban Decay's primer potion. Evens out skin tone on the lids and keeps you're eyeshadow as perfect as when you applied it, for well over 12 hours. FLAWLESS stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 7:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hm..tried it, and returned. much better than UD for my oily eyelids, but after 3 hours the eyeshadow (and I'm using MUFE matte shadows that are super pigmented) was gone. Returned it. It's not bad if you don't have oily lids, but if you do...the eyeshadow won't last. With the matte eyeshadows the color faded; with the pearly ones it creased.
(Tried it for a week) It's pricey but has a lot of product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2014 11:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Reading some reviews I just wanted to say that if you're having issues using this as an eye shadow primer this product is meant to be worn as a base NOT a primer. You can use UD primer potion or two faced shadow insurance as a primer and THEN use this as a BASE. By doing that one step you will be able to have a much easier time with the application process and prevent potential dryness along with any other problems you may be experiencing. I do love this color, however, I prefer painterly because I find the formula to be more moisturizing. For reference when I used to use MAC foundation I wore NC20 and I wear MAC's light plus mineralize skin finish powder. The painterly never showed up too pink on my skin even if I used it as a primer for my eyebrows.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top