Dermalogica • Skin Clearing Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.5(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 tpshadow on 12/7/2011 8:13:00 PM more reviews by tpshadow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this line since I was 19. Now I am 33, I was using dermal clay cleanser. As time went by my skin has changed alot.So I wanted to try the medibac. Huge mistake. One night i used it to rinse off my daily makeup, and then my face was dry. So I returned it the next day. I think I will stick to the dermal clay cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brokejaw on 11/27/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by brokejaw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this cleanser! I've had acne since I was quite young (it started appearing on my forehead when I was maybe 11 or 12. I'm 19 now), along with very oily skin. This cleanser has just been great for my skin. I've used so many other acne lines, from Clinique to Proaciv to Neutrogena, but this is the only one that has kept me consistently clear. It lathers nicely, smells good, and I'm so happy it's not loaded with a ton of chemicals. I feel that the natural ingrediants in the cleanser are what have kept my skin so nice. The actual cleanser is a nice consistency too. I've used some other gel cleansers that are so diffucult to get off because they're so thick, but this one comes off with ease, especially if you use Dermalogica's sponge cloth. It is really expensive, however the results are worth it, plus Dermalogica products last so long. A full size bottle of this normally lasts me about 6 months, if not more. I will be buying this again, and woulf recommend it to anyone with acne!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MSFIT75 on 10/25/2011 10:47:00 AM more reviews by MSFIT75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have cystic hormonal acne that really flares up if my diet is anything shy of practically perfect (which is quite often) so I'm often trying out new products for some improvement. The main ingredient in this face wash is salicylic acid which is fine, however, I found it to be pretty harsh when used daily. It really dried my skin out & following up with my hydrating booster of primarily hyaluronic acid was more noticeable due to the dryness caused by this product. IMO, it did nothing to improve my acne & generally just dried out my skin so looks like I'll be sticking with Clearasil's Ultra Daily Face Wash for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* machochick on 9/23/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by machochick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my 3rd bottle! I'm not sure if it works by itself on my acne issues, but I know it helped maintain it.
True it also has the same % of salicylic acid like other drugstore brands, but this one doesn't dry out my skin.
I need to switch to a gentler cleanser though, but will definitely buy again when my skin gets better :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 danabeltz on 9/4/2011 10:39:00 AM more reviews by danabeltz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Had high hopes for this cleanser...not so much. I suffer from hormonal breakouts and have tried most everything to help the condition. This product broke me out terribly and gave me cystic acne along my jaw and chin within just a few days of use. Of course I bought the largest bottle of this thinking it would be a miracle. If you are wanting to try any of Dermalogica's products, do yourself a favor and try the sample sizes FIRST.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ajurlina on 7/10/2011 8:06:00 AM more reviews by ajurlina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Felt compelled to write a review for this product. If I can help at least one person go spot free then cool. Oiler skin type and grew up with acne, had to use medication for it as a teenager, blah blah. Anyway, post teenage years definitely still had the occasional breakout but nothing dramatic...until I got into my 30's - and went off the pill. Skin went crazy (coupled with onset of wrinkles - didnít seem fair!). Anyway tried several products and spent a lot in the process, got a sample of the Skin Clearing Wash though and honestly noticed a difference overnight. This product has seriously been amazing for me, I now only VERY occasionally get a spot - hence hands down for me - 5 stars for what it says it will do. BUT - it is not for everyone. If you have sensitive to normal skin I would potentially not even go near this product. I have recommended to friends and it has given them terrible rashes etc. So, please, it has worked on clearing up my skin...and I am not bullshitting...I had bad skin...but please try a sample before you use as I feel this product is only for people with more 'robust', 'thicker' skin. Even for me, I am getting more concerned about wrinkles now and as this product is pretty heavy duty, I donít think it is doing me any favours in this department. So, on the look out for a new 'gentler' cleanser but let me just say that I will make sure I have a supply of this close at hand if the nasty bumps decide to rear their ugly heads again.... (note was not impressed with any other products in this line, only the cleanser helped).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kalicalifornia on 6/7/2011 1:37:00 PM more reviews by kalicalifornia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I hate this cleanser. I didn't have acne as a teenager and when I hit my 20's I started breaking out. The claims this product had seemed to suit my needs (exfoliate, soothe and treat) and because I have heard such amazing things about Dermalogica I gave it a try. I haven't had dry skin in my life, but after using this it changed my combination skin (normal/oily skin) into a sensitive flaky patchy mess. HATE this product! Extremely drying, does nothing to treat current or prevent future breakouts. Waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 atlas84 on 5/1/2011 12:38:00 PM more reviews by atlas84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Hands down the absolute worst facial cleanser I have used. I never knew what it felt like to have parched, flaky, irritated skin until I used this product (my skin is oily and a bit sensitive). I used this about three times in as many days and it took weeks for my skin to heal. This product is marketed as an acne cleanser but has way too many extracts in it that have no benefit for acne (or skin in general for that matter), and is ridiculously overpriced.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 r0semarysays on 4/24/2011 5:26:00 PM more reviews by r0semarysays

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm on my third bottle of this stuff. It is probably the best skin cleanser I have used. I have combination, very fair, sensitive, acne-prone skin and this has drastically reduced the number of breakouts I have.

However, acne-prone peeps need to resist the temptation to let this stuff sit on your skin. It's a gel--it's meant to dry your skin out--and it WILL if you leave it on for too long.

I use this with the Daily Microfoliant (which I don't use daily), as gel cleansers don't really exfoliate.

I recommend that you buy this stuff on Amazon--it's going to be like half the price of any other web site.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christinarose on 4/12/2011 8:50:00 AM more reviews by christinarose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product is amazing at drying out pimples or any blemishes. It smells fresh and it has a really nice cooling effect to it. The packaging is very nice and simple and I love how the larger size has a pump. You only need a very small amount so the larger bottle size will last you a very long time. Cons of this product would be it is extremely drying to the skin especially if you miss a spot when rinsing it off (i experienced this around my nose and mouth). When I first started using it, i experienced an itchy sort of red rash on my neck and jaw and around the front of my ears. After I started to regularly use it, the rash went away and my skin hasn't reacted again. I would probably buy this product again but I would only use it for a small amount of time to get rid of blemishes because it is VERY drying to the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products