Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(331 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 gmmuto48 on 2/21/2014 3:40:00 AM more reviews by gmmuto48

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Other    

So I love/hate this product. Here is a quick overview of why and further down I'll put more details for those of you who aren't in a hurry/ are more thorough when deciding on a potentially new product.

Love:
- Consistency
- Coverage
- Lasts All Day (12 Hours)
- Looks Natural/Skin Like
- Velvet Matte
- Also my face has not broken out once this whole month with this product- even through stress and humidity and TOM- not one single zit which is a miracle!

Hate:
- Color Range= too pink/dark (I got the shade 120)
- Oxidizes BIG TIME
- Settles in fine lines under eyes and accentuates them! (only 21! my eyes should not look like I'm 50!)
-Drying Time (15 minutes)


Love Details:
-Consistency: Very thick/ creamy- just nice (I apply with a beauty blender)

-Coverage: Evens out skin but will need concealer for under eyes- I can't really say how well it covers zits because this makeup didn't clog my pores enough to get one! :D despite being very hard to take off at night :P

-Lasting Power: This foundation really does last all day. I have had the opportunity to try it out in every climate over this month- from freezing with ice to humid and sunny 85 degrees. I'm a college student so I need my makeup to last my 12 hour school days from 8am when I put it on to about 9 at night and this stays on although it does get a little shiny (but not oily looking) around 10 hours but that's still better than most! Also I do wear a primer and I DON'T set it with powder and I DON'T blot either.. foundation is garbage to me if I have to do either of those two things.

-Looks: This makeup also looks like my skin which is so refreshing to find in a matte foundation! That being said... It doesn't really help cover pores if that's something you're looking for but it doesn't accentuate them either. Also the matte is velvet not just flat looking which is nice also because for everyday you just don't want to look super fake/perfect just mostly perfect.

- Skin Types: I have combination/oily skin and I find that makeup can break me out, especially some of Revlon's line like the Colorstay Whipped and Kat Von D's Lock It Tattoo Foundation but this foundation actually allowed my pores to stay clear enough to the extent that I was able to keep an acne free face which I didn't know was possible with a liquid foundation. I also found that on the icy/dry days of this month, this foundation did not accentuate any dry patches I had which is also nice because then you can wear it during any season.



Hate Details:
-Color Range: Looking at this in the store I knew it was going to be too pink/ dark but I picked it up anyways in hope that it would blend out which it does but then it oxidizes but I'll get to that later. But anyways there's only like 6 shades so very poor color range form Almay. :P

-Oxidizing: Yaayyy! Who doesn't love an orange face?? So yeah, it's very strange because this makeup although too pink, it blends out and while it's wet, it matches my neck which is white/yellowy so I have no idea what's going on with this makeup! First it's too pink, then it's good and then it turns orange so who knows! All I know is that anyone can tell that my face is orange and dark even with inside lighting! Outside is probably even worse! So that's my major con with this makeup and why I probably won't buy it again.

-Settles: This makes me so mad.. like almost perfect foundation but then it makes my eyes look so old its not even kind of acceptable. Although it doesn't settle into my smile lines which is just beyond me because you'd think it would do both if it did one? So another huge con for me.. nobody wants to look 30 years older than they actually are.

-Drying Time: This is just annoying and it really confused me the first I tried this product. When I put this on, it looks like my face is sweating.. like not oily or dewy but sweating and its not pretty. So the first time I put it on, I was like euww.. and walked out the door (for class) and hoped it would dry by the time I got there. Also this takes like 15 MINUTES to dry on my face! That's soooooo long! And annoying! My blush brush is absolutely disgusting looking because the foundation is still wet when I put my blush on because who has an extra 15 minutes in the morning to wait for their makeup to dry? Not me.



SO do I recommend this makeup? Yes and no.. If you can find a good match in the store and you do not tend to oxidize then yes. But if you do tend to oxidize and you can't really find a good match I'd say skip it and spend your 14 bucks elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 allycat7005 on 2/12/2014 8:04:00 AM more reviews by allycat7005

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is awful. It's not easy to blend, and no matter how much you try, it always looks cakey. This foundation is NOT meant for dry skin. A couple of hours after I applied it, I noticed that the skin on my nose stated peeling. Will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Boricua333 on 2/11/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by Boricua333

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not going to call it a Holy Grail foundation, because I don't think that really exists for me. When it comes to foundation, I like to mix it up. Some days I wear a very light foundation with concealer, other days I want a doll-like Colorstay finish. My foundation preference depends on the occasion, my mood, and the condition of my skin. That being said, (and I hope this does not come off as contradictory) if I wasn't as fussy, this would be HG.

MY SKIN: I will try to make this section brief, since it's proabably not ejoyable to read and it's not enjoyable for me to write. :/ I am very acne prone and oily. I have hormonal, cystic acne as well as white heads that cover my cheeks, cheek bones, jaw line, and chin. I'm sure it's not the worst acne a person has ever seen, but some days it can be a nightmare. I have a lot of blackheads on my nose, cheeks, and chin because of my very oily complexion. My face is so oily that an ELDW Rep. that was matching me to foundation actually said, "Wow you're very oily, aren't you?"

FINISH: This foundation has a very smooth, matte finish, but the formulation doesn't have the mask-like finish that Revlon Colorstay or ELDW has. My face truly has that "my skin but better" look with this foundation. On rare occasions, it might be little more matte than I would want (because, once again, I can be fussy and I like to mix it up), but since I'm an oily disaster this is something I'm probably going to reach for a lot. If you're dry, this is NOT the foundation for you. The finish is not luminous, sticky, wet, or satiny whatsoever and would definitely emphasize dry patches.

COVERAGE: This is a medium coverage foundation. I think this does what, ideally, foundation is supposed to do. The foundation creates a smooth base for the rest of your make up by covering most acne scarring and redness. I would not describe this as full coverage because it didn't cover my very deep acne scarring and prominent cysts, but most full coverage foundations that can do this tend to look cakey. I prefer to have a light base, building it up as much as possible without looking cakey. Then, I would take a concealer and dot it on the imperfections that I couldn't cover with the foundation. I would prefer to use two products, than build up a high coverage foundation and look cakey. I don't always have to look perfectly made-up and fully concealed, sometimes I don't mind having some of my imperfections show as long as the foundation improves the overall look of my skin.

SIDENOTE: This is possibly my favorite thing about this foundation mostly because I never believed it could be possible until now. I'm not sure if this is also related to the finish, but I could honestly say that this is the most comfortable foundation I have EVER put on. I've never understood how people could sleep with foundation on. Usually, throughout the day, my foundation feels very heavy and oily on my face. I always feel freed whenever I take off any foundation, no matter how light-coverage it claims to be. I didn't encounter any heaviness with this foundation, although it is medium-coverage and long-lasting. In fact, I almost fell asleep with this on. I could touch my face and lie down on a pillow without worrying about the foundation transferring, and that is a miracle to me.

LONGEVITY: This stuff stays on better than Colorstay! I couldn't believe that after an entire day (9:30am-9pm) it was almost exactly in the same condition that I applied it in the morning. My nose area, the oiliest part of my face, was still perfectly matte. On some of the acne markings, it wore away a little. I could tell the markings weren't as concealed with foundation as I had previously concealed them. This is not a big deal, because my face still looked matte and put-together, just not as perfectly concealed as before. With a primer and a good concealer, this won't even be an issue. :D

PRICE: This foundation was about $11-$13. I have tried many high-end foundations-- Mac Studio Fix Fluid, Makeup Forever HD foundation, ELDW-- and some of these are entirely worth the money, but the price tag does not always guarantee great results. A lot of these high-end foundations have the same ingredients as drugstore foundations and break me out equally. Consumers are usually just paying more for the brand name. Try this out even if you prefer buying high-end foundations, you might save yourself a lot of money.

CONSISTENCY: This is hard to explain, but I'll give it my best shot. :P This is the thickest liquid foundation I've tried. It's very emollient, yet it's still liquidy enough to pump out of the bottle. If someone took a whipped or mousse foundation and mixed/diluted it with water, it would have the texture of this foundation.

APPLICATION: Since the foundation is creamy, I like to pat this on with my fingers and then l pat a damp sponge to blend it out even more. The damp sponge is not necessary, but it helps to blend it out. I didn't find this foundation very hard to apply, just make sure to do light, patting motions.

PACKAGING: It has a pump! And 1.0 fl. oz amount of product. :D

OTHER: I'm NC15 in MAC and TLC's Buff/Chamois 140 matched my skin perfectly.

UPDATE: I still like this foundation, but I realize that it oxidizes on me. I love the texture and longevity of this foundation, so I still use it and I mix it with other foundations; but it turns into a more yellow shade after wearing it for awhile. I wish Almay would improve the color range and the oxidizing problems. :/

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 knt2009 on 2/3/2014 7:12:00 PM more reviews by knt2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is honestly one of the worst foundations I have ever used. I tried it on myself, my best friend, and my sister. We all have different skin types and it looked horribly dry on all of us. No matter what i put under or over this foundation It just looks dry and scaly. I DO NOT recommend this for anyone but especially those with dry/mature skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaveofWonders on 1/21/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by CaveofWonders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far this is the only foundation from the drugstore i've tried that keeps my skin matte. I have very oily skin and whatever foundation i wear will usually be shiny within a few hours. This foundation doesn't do that. It keeps me matte all day. On that note i don't think it would be good for dry skin. On dry skin it could probably be patchy or something. The dry consistency is what keeps my oil at bay and looks quite flawless on my skin. This foundation is also quick to dry as you're blending. I recommend using a flat top brush with this to get best results. Also i have medium skin with yellow undertones so i got the color sand which fits me well but is just one shade lighter than my skin color. The coverage of this foundation on me feels like full coverage because i really don't need much coverage anyway but i've read some reviews that don't think its full coverage. So i really don't know but i think its medium coverage. Overall though I very much like this foundation and will keep repurchasing as this is my 2nd time buying it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wacole1069 on 1/20/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by Wacole1069

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Amazing Foundation!! I normally use LancĂ´me tient idole ultra 24 hour foundation and this foundation is very compatible in wear as the lancome. It gives a beautiful full coverage in my opinion,it is very buildable and is easy to apply. The texture is somewhat thick but creamy. It rubs in nicely and you can easily add to it as long as your skin is well moisturizer. I come home at the end of a 12 hour day and it looks just as good as when I left. I do use a primer and powder to set it. I got the color neutral 220 and it is not perfect but it is really close and it offers everything else I'm looking for in a foundation for $11!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 1/9/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was a total surprise to me....a drugstore foundation with a great color match for me, a semi matte finish, and lasts all day!

I have NC15 skin with neutral/warm undertones and the Buff color is actually a really close match to my skin color. This foundation applies easily (but you have to be fast as it can set quickly).

The coverage is medium but since I wear over sunscreen the coverage is a little sheerer than if I wore on bare skin. I do apply an extra layer of this under my eyes as I have darkness there and, because I do this, I don't need to use concealer. I love the way this looks after it has set, semi matte but not flat.

I have dry skin on my cheeks and really oily nose and chin, and although I do get oil breakthrough, it doesn't really interfere with the staying power of this foundation. It really does last on me, and gives less of a cakey look than Revlon Colorstay. I like the finish better than Colorstay also.

For the price this is a really good foundation that I don't hesitate to recommend. I still prefer Shiseido's Sun Protection Foundation for longevity, finish and SPF, but this Almay foundation comes in a close second.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxPikadoodlexxx on 1/4/2014 4:19:00 AM more reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was strange. I wasn't impressed. The packaging was nice and I liked that it was a medium to full coverage but that's about it. This foundation dries so quickly there is no time to blend. The first time I used it I applied it to half of my face with my fingers with decent but nowhere near satisfactory results. On the other side I used my usual buffing brush with horribe results. If I ran over an area with the brush where the foundation had started to dry it would completely slide off. I had to apply more foundation to recover the area and then the areas where the first and second application met I it looked thick, waxy and uneven. I also tried applying this with a stripple brush but had the same problem I had with the buffing brush.I did find that the foundation lasted a good 12 hours but it looked very heavy and sunk into my smile lines. Adding powder made it worse. I may experiment more with this in the future but for now I'd have to say this is a flop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roarhissmeow on 12/30/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by roarhissmeow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using solely this foundation for the last few years. It gives a medium coverage, has staying power, and doesn't irritate my acne-prone skin. I use the "Buff" shade - it is a really good match for my skin because it has a yellow tone to it that matches my complexion. It can be a little hard to clean all of it off at night, I generally will wash my face first and then use the Clarisonic Mia to get the remaining makeup off completely. It's a really great find for a drugstore foundation, and I hope they don't discontinue it anytime soon because I think it would be hard to find such a great match for my skin as the "Buff" shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Notaglamourpuss1 on 12/29/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by Notaglamourpuss1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this but somehow just didn't. First, I was annoyed that despite it's claims of 16 hours of wear, it faded after 5. Second, the texture is like thick latex paint. When I had to gently scratch at an itch on my cheek, the product ended up underneath my fingernails. This was even after putting just a thin coat. Plus, you have to rush to blend it as it dries rather quickly. Pass on this .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products