Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(325 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxPikadoodlexxx on 1/4/2014 4:19:00 AM more reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was strange. I wasn't impressed. The packaging was nice and I liked that it was a medium to full coverage but that's about it. This foundation dries so quickly there is no time to blend. The first time I used it I applied it to half of my face with my fingers with decent but nowhere near satisfactory results. On the other side I used my usual buffing brush with horribe results. If I ran over an area with the brush where the foundation had started to dry it would completely slide off. I had to apply more foundation to recover the area and then the areas where the first and second application met I it looked thick, waxy and uneven. I also tried applying this with a stripple brush but had the same problem I had with the buffing brush.I did find that the foundation lasted a good 12 hours but it looked very heavy and sunk into my smile lines. Adding powder made it worse. I may experiment more with this in the future but for now I'd have to say this is a flop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roarhissmeow on 12/30/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by roarhissmeow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using solely this foundation for the last few years. It gives a medium coverage, has staying power, and doesn't irritate my acne-prone skin. I use the "Buff" shade - it is a really good match for my skin because it has a yellow tone to it that matches my complexion. It can be a little hard to clean all of it off at night, I generally will wash my face first and then use the Clarisonic Mia to get the remaining makeup off completely. It's a really great find for a drugstore foundation, and I hope they don't discontinue it anytime soon because I think it would be hard to find such a great match for my skin as the "Buff" shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Notaglamourpuss1 on 12/29/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by Notaglamourpuss1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this but somehow just didn't. First, I was annoyed that despite it's claims of 16 hours of wear, it faded after 5. Second, the texture is like thick latex paint. When I had to gently scratch at an itch on my cheek, the product ended up underneath my fingernails. This was even after putting just a thin coat. Plus, you have to rush to blend it as it dries rather quickly. Pass on this .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elliemarangella on 12/19/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by elliemarangella

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I personally love this foundation. I bought it a couple weeks ago when I went to the drugstore to pick up mascara & for some reason, this caught my eye. I had nothing to lose so I decided to try it. I dont remember how much it was...but I'm gonna say somewhere around $10. I took it home & I completely forgot I had it until yesterday, when I ran out of my wet n wild coverall cream (also an amazing foundation! But I think I like this one more) so I got my sponge out & applied it like I normally would. It looked really thick but I had no trouble applying nor did I feel like I was wearing a mask.
THIS FOUNDATION WORKED SO MUCH BETTER THAN I EXPECTED! I don't have very much active acne, maybe two or three pimples, but I do have quite a bit of acne hyperpogmentation scars on the sides of my cheeks leftover from when I was on accutane. They're pretty dark so they're usually very tricky to cover & I always feel like I'm applying way more foundation than I really need to. But TLC covered them up beautifully! My skin almost looks flawless with this on. Airbrushed. Even after a long afternoon at a hectic job as a waitress at a busy restaurant this stayed on just as beautifully as when I applied it. It didn't oxidize at all or exaggerate any dry patches I get around my mouth & nose in the winter. I wouldn't say Its difficult to remove however I do always use a makeup remover before I cleanse my face so that isn't an issue for me. Love love love & I will repurchase as my regular foundation from now on.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Erinmh on 12/8/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Erinmh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I loved this product when I first got it. It is a truly long lasting foundation and it's actually incredibly hard to take off with just face wash so you definitely need a good makeup remover for this. However after about 3 weeks of use I noticed the foundation looks extremely cakey after not even 1 hour. I have combination skin and it clings to all of my dry patches and makes them look very patchy. It also settles into any and all of my fine lines, which is ridiculous because I really don't have any... Applying one layer is a very sheer coverage, almost like you're wearing nothing at all. I usually apply 2 layers, but when I do so it feels really sticky. No matter what I do I can't prevent this foundation from looking cakey and gross on my skin. Such a bummer as I had high hopes for this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 justmigrating on 12/5/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by justmigrating

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Good color match for my pale skin. No smell. Didn't irritate my rosacea.

Cons: Sticky and difficult to spread. Didn't cover my redness. Coverage not buildable. Dried out my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Calliopi on 11/27/2013 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Calliopi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the most long wearing, natural looking foundation I've tried. It's also my most repurchased foundation. When I want my complexion to look perfect and stay perfect all day, I reach for this foundation. I wear the color Ivory which is a perfect match. With the Cover girl Clean SS foundation my shade is Ivory as well for reference. Almay TLC foundation can be hard to wash off, but I guess that's the point right? Love this stuff.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 10/28/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I had given up on my quest for drugstore foundations days ago. After all, I have quite a few holy grail foundations that out-perform most drugstore fleshpaste. For example, MUFE's HD, NARS Sheer Glow, MUFE's Face and Body, and Bourjois' Healthy Mix serum in their respective fall/winter shades are already out on top of my vanity. Despite having my HG and more, I had to be sure that there wasn't a drugstore dupe out there that would do just as well.

I want undetectable, flawless, longwearing, and yellow. Yellow like a boiled chicken. And cheap. Maybe under $15 bucks. Drugstore foundations ultimately fail because they are often too thick, clog my pores, and oxidize too neutral or pink on my skin after a few hours. It's been a quest.

While many tote Revlon's Colorstay as the best a girl can get for cheap, I digress. While it's great and well, it can be too thick and dare I say cakey... even if the result is flawless. Weirdly, I've gotten compliments only by SA's and MUAs when wearing it, so they know I'm wearing foundation. Even Covergirl's 3-in-1 with its amazing formulation doesn't have enough yellow tones to match Jaundice Be.

Well, I think I've struck gold with Almay's TLC in Buff. Why?
Yellow and light harmoniously coexisting. It's not light and neutral (NW20), or yellow and dark (NC35+). It's perfectly NC25, the same yellow-ness as a MAC foundation.
It's cheap. I found it for $12.99 at Rite Aid but with a BOGO discount. It's an underdog. I mean, literally at the bottom aisle of the display, tucked in the corner like some forgotten brand. I've NEVER owned an Almay product in my life.
It's very thick in consistency but amazingly easy to blend into the skin, especially with a BeautyBlender. It's also very buildable from a normal medium coverage to full without caking. It's about the same consistency as my Bourjois.
It wears for years. The name TLC actually stands for Truly Lasting Color. I would say it is as long wearing and potent as Colorstay.
It also comes with a pump that dispenses a perfect amount, unlike Colorstay.
It's moisturizing and doesn't point out flakes. The finish is satin, perfect for winter.
*Hallelujah*

So is the quest for drugstore foundation done and over with? Maybe. I'd like something with a little less coverage than this for lazy days, but if you're one with skin problems it should be a huge hit. The closest thing to what I wanted was L'oreal True Match Lumi in W4 until I discovered massive clogged pores.

I'll give this one another two weeks and report back.

Be

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aprilsfool413 on 10/22/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Aprilsfool413

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I've been searching for a cheap foundation that won't break me out... When I first started using this product I loved it. It controlled my oiliness! But tht was rele the only reason I liked it... Now I'm afraid it has broken me out with cystic acne ): I'm so upset. I don't know what to do anymore. I can't afford jane Iredale anymore ):

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Djf1234 on 10/15/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Djf1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So I have been using this foundation off and on (mostly on) for a few years, and I love it! I guess I would consider it to be my HG foundation, only because I always have it even if I'm currently trying something different. I will continuously come back to this product.

First off I love the packaging because it's in a pump bottle, which is so much easier to use. And the product itself is a pretty nice consistency, thick so you don't need too much at a time, but still liquidy. I will say that my skin is generally very clear so I don't need a full coverage foundation, this gives a light to medium which I love. If you need a heavy coverage though, this probably wouldn't work.

I live in Texas so it gets quite humid (all the time) but this foundation doesn't make my skin LOOK oily (my skin isn't overly oily though). Another thing is, this is one of the few drugstore foundations that has a nice, solid yellow undertone which I need.

So basically this never causes me to breakout, works well with my skin type, and I love it! I would absolutely repurchase seeing as how I have for about three years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products