Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(340 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 munchkin123 on 8/20/2014 3:18:00 AM more reviews by munchkin123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Best foundation that I've ever used. I wear this in buff and it matches my skin perfectly all year round. It's so easy to apply with your fingers or brush without it streaking or caking.
Although it is a long wearing formula I find that it has a very light texture similar to wearing nothing, which makes it perfect for building coverage. One layer will give you medium coverage and two should give you full coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CatherineElizabeth90 on 8/18/2014 6:16:00 AM more reviews by CatherineElizabeth90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

have bought this several times now and will continue to repurchase. I have acne prone skin and i find this foundation is the best in terms of prevention :) while it can transfer to clothing a little, it does well and truly last throughout the day, isn't shiny or oily looking, it has good packaging and is good value for money :) is my default go to foundation :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaitsy on 7/14/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by kaitsy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this foundation quite a lot whilst going through university, when I thought my makeup collection was at it's best and when I took more time applying it. I'm a drug store makeup girl (mostly) but I have tried some high end brands from Sephora recently. I had luck with the higher end brands, certainly, and the coverage was incredible but I found they oxidized on me. And that is my problem with a LOT of foundations, in general - Turning that awful orange mask-y colour. I had a bit of a love affair with Garnier's BB Cream recently, and I loved the coverage/finish of that but - again - too dark, too orange-y by the end of the day, and I also became quite oily (not unexpected but I knew I could do better). I've tried Maybelline's Superstay foundation in recent months (oxidized), and Cover Girl's 3 in 1 Foundation, too (not bad, the colour was good but I would get oily).

Anyway, it was inevitable I would come back to this, I guess. Almay is more expensive than those brands by about ten dollars where I shop, but it was time. It is kind of sticky like I remember it to be, but I'm such an oily person that I don't find it hinders my application at all. The coverage is less than I remember, but I'm okay with that because I didn't want something too full in the summertime. It's nice coverage, natural, but covers my dark spots, acne, and acne scars without too much product. It lasts long, I don't get very oily, it does NOT oxidize (Buff matches me quite perfectly), and my skin in general just looks better whilst, and even AFTER wearing it. My pores are smaller, I'm less oily, and my overall complexion while wearing this foundation is just so nice. Not too matte, not too dry, just a nice, natural, but serious coverage. I am RELIEVED to be using it again, if I'm quite honest. I've used L'Oreal's Infallible in the past, and I found it rubbed off high traffic areas of my face quite easily (around the mouth/chin), but Almay's TLC stays put and treats my skin well. So glad I came back to it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Zagliadod on 7/12/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by Zagliadod

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The texture of my skin is rough and dry, and I am very easily irritated and broken out. I am still looking for a great foundation, but am using this in the mean time. It has good coverage and is gentle on my face, which is a rarity. The problems I have with it are that it is a bit sticky and can be hard to apply smoothly, and that it dries a bit chalky on my already dehydrated skin. It would probably be very nice on normal or maybe even slightly oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skilo888 on 6/23/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Skilo888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep coming back to this foundation after years of trying many other more expensive foundations. I have the most sensitive skin ever and have reactions to even the most "sensitive skin friendly" products. I mix two pumps of TLC with 3 pumps of Aveda hydrating lotion to thin it out. This works for an all over coverage that's still natural enough for a sunny day. I'm a lifer now!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 reneemeraz510 on 5/4/2014 5:42:00 AM more reviews by reneemeraz510

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I have continuously repurchased this foundation for around four years and I still use it whenever I apply my makeup.

Back when I was in high school, I suffered from terrible acne. I found that the only foundation that did not break my skin out at the time was Bare Minerals Matte SPF 15, however, I was in need of a more affordable foundation and just happened to be shopping at Target. I decided to walk into the makeup department, and purchased the color Buff on a whim. I figured since Almay's cosmetics target those who have sensitive skin, I hoped that this line would live up to its words and would not cause any further breakouts. When I got home, I decided to read up on some reviews and many people raved about this product. I then decided to give it a try.

The first thing I noticed with the packaging is that it has a pump, which is great because I dislike pouring out foundation and wasting a bunch of product. My skin tone is about an NC-30 in MAC and contains plenty of yellow undertones. The color Buff is a bit too light for me, however, a touch of bronzer made it look just right. I noticed the shade I got has yellow/ golden undertones which suits my skin tone perfectly unlike most drugstore foundations I have tried in the past. The consistency was not too thick, nor was it runny. I applied this foundation with a stippling brush and it glided on seamlessly. This foundation has a light to medium coverage and dries to a matte finish, which is a plus in my book due to the fact that I have oily skin. It lasted all day with very little oil break through, zero oxidation, and did not cause any breakouts. It also feels very light weight on the skin and did not settle into any of my pores. The coverage of this foundation is somewhat build able, however, it was unable to completely cover a few of my scars and hyper pigmentation I had on my face. One thing that I did notice with this foundation is that it can cause a white cast when taking photos with flash because it contains SPF 15, but I overlooked this problem since I normally apply SPF 50 under my makeup anyways.

My acne has subsided ever since and I no longer have to continuously break my bank by purchasing higher end foundations when I can spend less than $10 on a drugstore foundation that works just as good if not better in my opinion!


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elsamarie on 4/22/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by elsamarie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for the past couple of weeks waiting for something to go wrong with it. I always find something wrong with a new foundation. It oxidizes, causes a breakout, gets too oily, looks too dry, doesn't last, or doesn't match. I have always had a terrible time finding a good match. Now that you understand that I'm very picky with foundation I'll say that I can't find a thing wrong with this foundation. It's really working for me. It wears very well. Last weekend I put it on at 8am and washed it off at 10pm. I looked long and hard at my face before I washed it off to see how it looked and it still looked great. It didn't separate, get oily, look icky under my eyes, pool in my pores, or wear off. It actually looked almost exactly the same as it did in the morning. I have not put powder over it because it doesn't need it. It actually looks better throughout the day because it starts to look a bit softer. I doesn't cause the skin under my eyes to look crepey at all. It also has not caused any breakouts for my sensitive skin.
I'm using Neutral and it's a great match for my NC30/35 skin.
I use one pump and apply with my finger tips by pressing it gently rather than spreading it around like a moisturizer. Any more than one pump and it starts to look cakey. I would say it has medium coverage, which I usually don't choose because I have a lot of redness and uneven skin tone, but I really like it anyway.
I don't put it on my eyelids because my eyeshadow creases terribly over this. I give the foundation a few minutes to dry while I put on my eyeshadow primer and then I'm ready to put my blush on.
You can't beat the price, either. I paid about $8 at Rite-Aid when it was on sale. Save your receipt and you can return it there if you don't like it.
I really love this foundation and I rarely say that about any foundation. I'm so thrilled that I found an affordable drugstore foundation. I will definitely buy this again and again. Please don't discontinue! It's my HG!

***Edited to add***
After getting a bit of sun I would normally use mac nc40 and I've found that Almay TLC Honey is an OK match. Just OK because it's too pink for me. I may try Warm in the hopes that it will actually be a warm shade. I really wish Almay would do something similar to Loreal's warm, neutral, and cool foundation shade choices.

***Edited to add further info***
I recently bought this again in the color Sand and it's almost an identical match to MAC Studio Fix in NC40. I've found my color! It's definitely warmer than Neutral and Honey. I've also found that the best way for me to get beautiful results is to put this on immediately after my moisturizer. I get better results this way than when I let my moisturizer absorb into my skin for 10-15 minutes. It takes a few minutes to dry, but when it does it looks soft, pretty, and natural and neither matte nor dewy. It's just perfect for me and lasts all day. I really, really love this foundation and don't need to keep looking for a better foundation. Another bonus is that the stubborn blackheads on my nose and chin are getting better since I stopped using Studio Fix and switched to this. Love this stuff!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roman0vmarisa on 3/21/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by roman0vmarisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I personally love this make. I have some surface acne scars and a little bit of acne and just started using proactive and threw away my other makeup that was non-com. I bought this not knowing how it would be. I absolutely love it! I don't think it's thick at all, it feels like I have nothing on my face. I usually have used heavy concealer and foundation before but with this foundation I don't need to use concealer, but I set this foundation with a little elf powder - it's cheap and the best powder I have used, even more so than bare minerals! It stays on very well, all day and it doesn't change it's color or rub off from my hands or clothes. Overall, it's fantastic. Amazing coverage. Long-lasting color, good price and it truly lasts all day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kelro on 3/21/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by Kelro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll start by giving a background here. I have suffered from acne on and off for 5 years. My skin is very oily and very sensitive (yay for me!) so needless to say, it's quite fussy. I've recently been put back in the hands of a dermatologist to get rid of the massive breakouts occurring all over my face.

That being said, my previous HG foundation was Estée Lauder Double Matte which was sadly discontinued. Foundation gods, why must you mock me?! In light of that tragedy, I was back on the hunt for a good foundation, preferably drugstore because that would make my wallet very happy!

So I go and start carefully reading labels on countless bottles, trying to find something oil free and non-comodegenic. This is surprisingly hard to find, but I picked up Almay's TLC, saw where the label stated that it met those two qualifications, and bought it.

I tried it the next day. The consistency is very thick, which was fine. I thought that meant it would cover pretty well, but sadly it did not. I first tried it with a sponge (which gave me very light coverage) and then a stippling brush. The best I got was medium coverage with the brush. Again, this was fine, I can live with things peeking through. The finish was very nice, sorta satiny on my skin. It looked natural. The color also was a good match, I purchased the shade Buff. Staying power surprised me in the best way, it lasted a good 10 hours when I wore it.

Now on to why it gets such a low rating in my book: the blemishes. Now, I normally test foundations for a while before I judge them, but I could not go more than 3 days. The first day I wore it, when I washed it off I noticed a new blemish by my nose. Although I'm used to getting face demons, my face has been free of new ones since starting my new acne routine. I brushed it off as nothing and applied again the next day. Once again, when I was removing it at the end of the day there was a new blemish, only this time on my cheek and quite painful. At this point, I was pretty sure it was the foundation, but I decided to try it one last day just to be sure. Big mistake. As I took my makeup off, not only was the one on my cheek significantly bigger and more painful, there was the addition of two more blemishes on the same cheek. That was the final straw for me.

To wrap this up, I wanted to like this foundation because it looked great on, lasted, and was easy on the bank account, but I suffer from enough acne without a foundation adding more to it. It may claim to not be pore clogging, but I beg to differ.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 2/27/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is another foundation that is going back to Rite Aid after only one use (the other being Revlon Photoready), and for almost the same reasons. This foundation was stinging my skin the moment I put it on. I wore it the whole day anyway (I know, I know...pretty stupid but my skin is rarely that sensitive). After the initial stinging went away, I noticed that my face just felt tighter and tighter all day. Stinging sensation returned after about five hours of wear. My wrinkles under my eyes looked horrendous. I couldn't take it anymore, and went to wash it off, and when I took out my contacts and could see my skin close up, I was oddly fascinated to observe that it seemed to have caused my entire chin to peel, and the foundation was caked around the peelie islands. Aside from the fact that my skin hated this foundation like a mofo, I can't think of any redeeming quality to it aside from the nice pump bottle. It didn't provide much coverage at all, and the color selection is severely lacking. I would need a warm shade between neutral and buff, which they don't have (NC25).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products