Unlisted Brand • Sun-In - Highlighting Spray • Hair Color

rated 3.5(106 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aubrila on 1/7/2014 8:47:00 PM more reviews by aubrila

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Here the deal. Do I recommend this to others? Not necessarily. There's so many things that could go wrong with it, and I understand it's probably not healthy for you, especially on damaged hair. But it already has these warnings on the package! I LOVE it! Just be smart about it. My hair is already blonde to begin with. I don't dye my hair, and my hair is very healthy to begin with and has no red undertones to it. It works perfectly on me, and I absolutely love it! It gives it such a pretty lighter blonde color, and my hair turns shiny and sparkly after using it! It does not damage my hair, but that is because my hair was very healthy already. It is a very natural, pretty color. I get compliments on the color of my hair a lot. In fact, one time when I went to go get my hair cut, the hairdresser asked me what color I use in my hair, because she loved it. When I told her it was sun-in, she was so surprised! Haha, she told me that usually she see's people coming in with damaged or red hair because of it, but she told me that it actually worked out very well in my hair. I imagine that if you were to try this product on already damaged hair, it wouldn't end put so good. Also, be careful with the color of your hair to begin with. This is not recommended for people with darker hair. Of course there is always exceptions, but more likely then not it is not good for darker hair. Also, DO NOT use if you have dyed your hair in the past. Some of my friends have tried it on their already dyed hair, and none ended prettily. Also, be careful of the undertones of your hair, please! Even if you have the slightest red tint to your hair, or if your hair has the tendency to go a bit red with other products (some times you might not even know, but that's why you test it first), there is a good chance that this product will turn your hair an ugly red color. Bottom line: use common sense :). It warns you of these things on the packaging, and it tells EVERYBODY to test a strand before going crazy with it and dunking it on your hair. This will prevent you from disaster. Is this product for everyone? No, absolutely not!! Does it work though? Yes, it works more than perfectly on my hair! But everybody is different. I love this and will always use it once a year in the summer because of how easy and nice it is. If you're thinking about doing it on your already healthy, never before dyed hair, I'd say just try it; test a strand out! It's only about $3 a bottle (a bottle that will last you years, by the way). Just be smart about it! :)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pearlescent95 on 1/5/2014 1:44:00 AM more reviews by pearlescent95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Whatever the packaging says, do not believe its claims of "conditioning" and "hydrating". Ultimately, this product does strip your hair, especially if used with heat products. If you are planning on using it, pay careful attention to your undertones. My brown hair turned orange and dry after two uses and has stuck with me for years!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MelissaDunnMakeup on 1/3/2014 8:49:00 PM more reviews by MelissaDunnMakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a Big NO NO, I am a cosmetologist and trust me when I say this product is not healthy and can be dangerous for the hair! It has metallic salts in it and once you use this, do not try going to a salon to get your hair colored or highlighted or color corrected or permed! We just will not do it. The reason why is because the chemicals in the hair after the sun in is used combined with professional hair color or lighter can cause the hair to smoke, melt and just become a big scary mess! We learn this in Cosmetology school. I don't want to burst anyone's bubble I just want you to beware what you put in your hair! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beck1392 on 1/3/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by beck1392

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this stuff on and off for years, and I will probably always use it. I'm a natural blonde but my roots show in the winter since I can't let the sun naturally lighten it, so I just spray this on my roots and blow dry. it takes 2 or 3 times to get the hair light enough but at $5 it is definitely worth it! I can't afford to go to a salon and honestly real highlights seem to damage my hair while this stuff doesn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 camrynlle on 12/9/2013 3:46:00 PM more reviews by camrynlle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly I loved this product. I have medium LONG thick blonde hair, and after using this product four times, my hair is light blonde. This product doesn't come out of your hair and continues to lighten every time you are in the sun. Luckily for me i live in south Florida and being in the sun isn't hard. I don't recommend this product for people with light brown, medium brown, or anything darker. I don't even recommend it for people with dirty blonde hair, for it can give you a reddish tint. In some cases people have said it gave them dry and damaged hair, but not in my case. My hair did not damage or become dry in any way.


Tips for using sun in:
-wet your hair before using it you can apply the product evenly
-apply the product away from skin (especially the face)
- turn the blow drier on full heat for about 5-10 minutes (make sure you get everywhere)
-After drying your hair go out in the sun for about an hour or two to lighten it up some more
-use the deep conditioning "its a ten" after you are done lighting your hair

* you can get 'Its a ten' from any local hair dresser, CVS, or any beauty shop. Its price ranges from $10-$40 but it is worth it. It resorts damages and dry hair completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shereenmohsen on 11/28/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by shereenmohsen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

this product did not highlight my hair even a bit . I consider it a waste of money it is
a lotion mixed with proxide.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KCLADYZ on 11/28/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by KCLADYZ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this to lighten my dark ends. No results at all. Not even a little.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heyannette on 10/20/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by heyannette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I cannot believe this stuff is still on the market. People, it is water and peroxide, it's nothing magical and it will pull orange on anything less than blonde already hair. I do not get the high scores, RUN away from this damaging and dangerous product. Unless you are blonde already and your hair is thick and can withstand the damage that will result.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xenobia1968 on 10/19/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

No no no no and NO!!! This stuff is horrid! I have naturally blonde hair and this turned my hair a blue/green color! OMG! I had to bleach my hair with Clairol to get back to normal but by then my hair turned to straw! I had to get my hair cut, moisturize the hell out of it (still having to do that) and stop using shampoos with sulphates in them. Geez! This stuff is disaster in a crappy bottle. JUST SAY NO!!!!

EDIT: The reason I used this was to get some goldish highlights in my hair. Yeah, that didn't work out so well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tennisstarkim on 10/19/2013 8:46:00 PM more reviews by tennisstarkim

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this product ever since the summer of 9th grade and I have to say that Sun-In is by far amazing. It far exceeded my expectations! I went from a brownish hair color to a goldish/whiter blonde. When I first used it I did have some reddish results but as I kept using it I found that my hair has gotten lighter over time..and I absolutely LOVE it!! I get so many compliments on my hair now and everyone thinks that this is my natural hair color! Its funny to say but being a blonde is a part of me and I rarely remember my darker haired days, it seems that I actually stand out in a crowd now! I plan on using Sun-In well into the future! My hair also has little to no damage at all, and I have used this product a lot, using both hairdryer and being in the sun! Don't listen to other peoples bad experiences with it, I can guarantee that you won't be dissapointed. I highly recommend this and coming from a once darker haired girl, any person with any color shade of hair can use this, even brunettes! Sun-In is well worth the investment! You won't regret it! Love Love LOVE it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Color products