Vaseline Cocoa Butter Gel Body Oil

3.6

79 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Hydrogenated Styrene/Butadiene Copolymer, Brazil Nut seed oil, Sweet Almond oil, fragrence.


on 4/26/2013 5:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this body gel oil. It did not make me break out been using it for a week. Leaves my skin very soft long term not just for the first hrs like a lot of other creams.



on 3/8/2013 2:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Eggghhh I really don't like this at all. I thought since it was a gel it would sink it to my skin better, but it just sits there for hours and makes me all greasy and shiny (my fiance commented when I had it on, "ewww you're all greasy!) I have only been using for a few days, but I'm concerned that it may be breaking my chest out as well. I am not a fan of the smell... it's a thick sweet smell that makes me think of chocolate frosting (I hate food scented personal products!), but maybe that floats your boat. It's not obscenely expensive, but it's certainly not cheap compared to most drugstore moisturizers. Would never purchase again... maybe I'll save it for beach vacation use or something.


on 1/27/2013 11:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

Use with Caution! I read that Halle Berry uses it after a shower and decided to try it. I checked out reviews of it online before I bought it and there are LOTS of posts that says it casues RASHES. I tried it the first time and loved it immediately but did have a rash on the backs of my knees and inside my elbows as well as under my chest. I loved it so much that I let the rash go away and tried it again a few days later. Still got a rash but less of one. Let that one go away and the next time I tried it NO RASH!!
I can't explain why I got a rash at first and no longer do but I just bought some more after using up the two bottle package I got at Target for $.
This gives you glowing soft skin and I absolutely love it!!


on 10/19/2012 12:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure if I would buy this again. I know I've bought the CVS one and it was cheaper, but still not cheap. I don't mind the greasyness, because I knew what I was getting into as someone had gotten me the Johnson's baby oil gel, so I knew it was baby oil based. I love the smell and I love how it moisturizes after shaving. The only complaints are that it doesn't actually HAVE cocoa butter in it!!!! That bothered me. So I'm finishing what I have but I'm not quite sure what will happen after that. Probably...with a coupon ;)


on 4/12/2012 12:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is used in the same way one uses Neutrogena's Sesame Oil: After your shower/bath you are to lightly dry yourself off w/a towel leaving skin a bit damp before rubbing this in, throwing on a robe for 5 minutes or so as to let it set and sink in. It traps the water and holds it in thereby hydrating the skin instead of using a body lotion/cream. It works very well to soften and hydrate the skin, lasting for quite some time. Here is another usage for this product in which I would not be without. I apply it over wet skin which is about to be shaved. I then apply shave cream/gel. Your blade will literally glide over the area to be shaved much moreso than w/out it. It's an added layer of protection and works particularly well when your blade's moisture strip has dried out yet your blade may still be usable/sharp. If your shaving your legs then a light dose of this applied after shaving onto slightly damp skin gives added protection/soothing. Highly Recommended. CVS has their own copy of this which is identicle ingredients and works just as well yet for a considerably lower cost. I would also recommend this to men for beard shaving as well though I'd skip appling afterward as it's a bit heavy for facial use.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product just left my skin oily, and did nothing to help my eczema. It's not too surprising, as the main ingredient in this product is paraffinum liquidum (mineral oil). While not usually harmful, mineral oil isn't moisturizing either. It just sits there.


on 2/6/2012 9:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The first ingredient listed in this product is Mineral Oil and since nut allergies are ruled out the only culprit is mineral oil as to why applying this product over the past couple days has caused me to break out in welty hives on the side of my hips and ribcage and thigh. This allergic reaction hurts and itches. It is probably impossible to report to the FDA since beauty products are not considered food or drug. It is not fair that products can be sold without warnings.


on 1/21/2012 7:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I agree with AmbiRose completely. I love this on my dark brown skin. Glows so much. The only other thing that does this is my Sabon bath scrub but the Vaseline gel lasts longer on my skin. One point off cos it's ridiculously expensive at most places


on 1/18/2012 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

After my joy with Palmers Body Oil (see post), I got excited and wanted to try more stuff. Regret buying this as find it just too greasy and not a pleasant experience using it. Put on after shower and it sat on the skin, making it difficult to work in my eczema creams. It is better than normal baby oil I guess but I am gonna stay away from the mineral oil - I like the oils in the Palmers Body Oil much much better.


on 11/8/2011 4:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I wouldn't suggest to use this as your daily body lotion. I use this for my eczema. If you have eczama, you KNOW how painful and horrible the disease is. This helps soo much, if you don't have the money to get a prescription from the Dr. office.

After a shower I slather this stuff down like crazy. I usually take a shower at night, so I don't worry about oil stains.


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
697 Reviews
Healing Cream
310 Reviews
Baby Oil
354 Reviews
Back to Top