Badger SPF 30


55 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals


Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 20.5% (micronized) Other Ingredients: Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Natural Beeswax, Organic Jojoba Oil, Organic Cocoa Butter, Wild African Shea Butter, Organic CO2 Extracts of Seabuckthorn Berry and Essential Oils of Lavender, Moroccan Blue Tansy, Ylang Ylang, Lime and Orange

on 5/1/2013 4:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This review is for the new Badger's daily sunscreen spf 30 in a green tube (claims to be non comedogenic and can be worn under makeup).

I have to agree with others, I hated this product at first I got it. I wanted this product for so long but it was hard to find a retailer in Canada. I attempted to purchase it online but it always seems to be out of stock. And finally, I found this with a few other Badger sunscreens retailed in London Drugs. I was sooo... excited like I had found the gold mine. However, working with it had been extremely hard for me, it was impossible to apply it evenly, and it always ended up small white pieces so I had to wash it off my face and tried to apply again. The new formula feels super dry also, even it claims can be worn under makeup, it makes my foundation appear cakey on my face. In one point I was almost going to return it, but this is such a wonderful natural gem to me that I wouldn't give it up unless I tried my best. Then I saw the review on MUA and learned that I need to warm it up in my palms then gentlely put my hands over my face and letting the heat melts the product into my skin. Wow, it really works, now it even can be applied on top of makeup nicely so I won't have problem to reapply it when I'm outside. Also I always wait till my moisturiser absorbs completely at first then apply the sunscreen, and make sure just use a small amount.

I love my badger sunscreen now, sure you can't compare it with all other sunscreens in the market for easy application, fast absorbing, etc, but which sunscreen can compare with badger when it comes to caring for our health, our animal and our environment? I'm sure they are still working hard on innovating the formula to do a better job. But so far, this is what natural can provide to us. I don't care about all the sunscreen benefits made from all kinds of chemicals (seriously, read the ingredient label on the sunscreens out there HE or drugstore, I doubt it that you still want to put it on your skin), as long as Badger is still making sunscreen, I will keep supporting and repurchasing.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 1/3/2013 2:57:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Let me start out by saying I hated this product for a good 6 months....all the usual complaints; must knead the tube to get product out, product gooey and thick, skin white, pet hair sticks to face, ruins dark clothes, etc. However, I stuck it out because I had bought a case of the Baby formula with chamomile and it is very natural and PC. forward 6 months to noticeably smoother skin. Here is the protocol:

1) Wash face and keep hair off face and clothes away from face

2) Apply antioxidant serum of choice. Let it absorb.

3) Put a pea-sized amount of Badger in hands and warm product up until all the bumps are melted.

4) Pat and gently smooth all over face, neck & eye area.

5) Let dry for at least 10 minutes before letting clothing touch face or applying foundation over it, which I do. It works very well as a primer with my La Mer foundation.

Another few notes: This works excellent on dry skin, in dry climates, and in the cold weather. If you are acne-prone or live in melting hot weather, likely this will be too gooey for you.

Also, I am a fan of laser treatments and peels. This sunblock is brilliant for post-peel use, as the chamomile soothes and the natural ingredients do not irritate the skin. In this case, melt the product really well in your hand and pat on- no rubbing until skin is healed.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 1/1/2013 2:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love the concept, hate the execution. I know this is one of the safest sunscreens out there but it is too greasy and tacky to feel comfortable wearing it. And I am dry/combination! I can see it working if your skin is ultra dry and you don't ever need to wear any makeup on your face cos with an oily base like that, your foundation will break up regardless of what primer you use. So will your mascara, your eye shadow and so on. Melting face = not a good look.

I tried to use the rest of the tube on my arms and legs but it smeared on to my clothes when they brushed against my skin and I ended up with sticky skin and clothes! If they reformulate this, I'll be in the first in line to buy it because I support companies that are ethical with regards to people, animals and the environment.

on 9/18/2012 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I would like to say this is a great product, but I can't. I LOVE that it's natural, but I HATE that it makes your face white. I'm a pretty sun-killed Asian, so this really didn't work well on my complexion. It almost made me look gray. I had to "water" it down with jojoba oil or some other type of oil to lessen the white overcast, but it just made my already oily face super shiny.

on 8/17/2012 10:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Completely hideous. There is not much to add to the other negative reviews: this is shockingly greasy, smelly, heavy, occlusive, and leaves a white cast. Also, despite the good safety ratings this receives, I got a LOT of colour while wearing this.

Adding insult to injury, this sunscreen completely ruined a gorgeous new bathing suit by staining it with oil. I have tried to get the stains out but the suit (an expensive one from J Crew) is ruined. That should give you an indication of how oily this stuff is.

I don't think I have ever hated a sunscreen as much as this one, and I am no stranger to natural products. There are WAY better natural sunscreens out there. All Terrain Aqua sunscreen is mineral-based and does not leave any greasy finish.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a review for the Badger SPF 30 Unscented Sunscreen, although all of their sunscreen products are virtually the same.

About the product: (see their website also) This sunscreen is labeled as PA+++ (Asian rating) UVA 4/5 (European Rating) SPF 30. It uses Non-nano (but micronized) Uncoated Zinc Oxide at 18.75% as the sun screen and should retain this after 40 minutes of sweat or swimming.

Not tested on animals, certified by the natural products association and recycled packaging. The other ingredients are organic: Olive Oil, Beeswax, (the same as their balms which means it is gloopy and heavy - shouldn't they have have selected a base of ingredients which would be lighter?) Jojoba Oil, Cocoa butter (may be pore clogging) Shea butter, Tocopherol and Seabuckthorn (great antioxidants).

Price: It cost 12 for a 87ml tube quite expensive even to other mineral sunscreens.

It comes in a soft, squeezy tube with Badger's typical lovely artwork, you will have to spend a lot of time kneeding before each use otherwise you will get rough Shea butter particles and separated Olive Oil. It is quite white and shiny (as expected due to the zinc) although a nuisance you can rub in to make it disappear a certain amount but this may be reassuring for those who want to see their protection from the zinc and slippyness helps it to be water resistant, although I didn't try it in the sun I bought it for everyday use so I don't know how well it would work for hot sunshine preventing sunburn. I stopped using it as makeup will slip off after using it (although I didn't experience any balling up) you will look greasy, and fluff or dirt will stick into the areas where you have applied it unfortunately - I can't use it near wool let alone near sand. TERRIBLE for acne. I have never got spots on my neck after using this for 2 days I notice painful small bumps and milia appearing not only my face but on my spot free neck, this took 2 months (too long!) to go and never came back.

In summary** I wouldn't recommend this, they should have used a different combination of ingredients instead of basically making a balm with zinc in it, who wants to apply a balm anywhere except their lips and cuticles? Nice philosophy and attempt but terrible execution.

on 5/19/2012 3:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just got this for my young son, i would never put these ingredients near my face in 100 years. it is sooo white and greasy. it was rubbing off on our clothes and not even staying on it was so slippery. i don't even see how this could protect since it rubs off so easily. i doubt i'll be using this because, though it is rated highly for safety, i dont trust it is protecting him after my 1st look at it and now since reading the reviews, i am returning this.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This was by far the worst Badger product I have ever tried. The formula was so thick and white, it was hard to blend in. It felt like it sat on top of my skin and melted off. I'm pretty sure its not very waterproof since I still burned where I applied the sunscreen even after reapplying. Total fail.

on 4/12/2012 7:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This sunscreen works. However.....I made the terrible mistake of using this on my face - a big NO NO. It goes on leaving a white tinge (which fades away) but it left my skin an oily mess. It felt like it kept melting the whole time I wore it while I was outside. The next day I had a huge breakout. Good product for the body but you're taking a chance if you use it on your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 3/31/2012 7:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this product. When I put it on it melts into my skin honestly without that much whiteness (I use it on my face everyday, and I'm a tanned / olive skinned person so actually whiteness can show up on it).

I know people have found it white / thick / greasy or even lumpy. Some thoughts on this.

I am used to natural skincare products, using olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter on my face and body variously as cleansers and moisturisers. So I'm not put off by a 'greasy' feel - I actually find this super-luxurious and softening. I also don't mind a thick product as long as it's spreadable and workable which I find this one is.

The lumps are not zinc oxide! :) They are beeswax. They work into my skin pretty quickly, more so if I soften them between my fingers with the heat of my hands. Again, something you're maybe more used to if you use natural skincare products.

For me Badger sunscreen is an absolute daily pleasure, because the ingredients are exactly what I would normally seek and use for my skin (olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter, jojoba oil) because those ingredients are anti-oxidant, hydroxy acid rich, plus gorgeously moisturising. I used to be put off using a daily SPF because I don't like chemicals on my face (not so fussed about my body), so I've been very happy since using this almost daily on my face.

But - if you're someone who is very used to conventional skincare products (even the high-end ones!) that contain a lot of mineral oils / petroleum derivates and silicones, you may well find this product greasy and weird to work with. I can only say that I love it!! The whiteness I guess is an issue for ppl but honestly I find it disappears after about 10 - 15 seconds of gentle spreading on my face. I do roll the tube as they say in the directions, perhaps that also helps.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Top Rated Badger Products


Cuticle Care

66 reviews

Sleep Balm

78 reviews
Back to Top