Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.9(53 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jellyblob on 1/1/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by Jellyblob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the concept, hate the execution. I know this is one of the safest sunscreens out there but it is too greasy and tacky to feel comfortable wearing it. And I am dry/combination! I can see it working if your skin is ultra dry and you don't ever need to wear any makeup on your face cos with an oily base like that, your foundation will break up regardless of what primer you use. So will your mascara, your eye shadow and so on. Melting face = not a good look.


I tried to use the rest of the tube on my arms and legs but it smeared on to my clothes when they brushed against my skin and I ended up with sticky skin and clothes! If they reformulate this, I'll be in the first in line to buy it because I support companies that are ethical with regards to people, animals and the environment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lady_muimui on 9/18/2012 10:31:00 AM more reviews by lady_muimui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I would like to say this is a great product, but I can't. I LOVE that it's natural, but I HATE that it makes your face white. I'm a pretty sun-killed Asian, so this really didn't work well on my complexion. It almost made me look gray. I had to "water" it down with jojoba oil or some other type of oil to lessen the white overcast, but it just made my already oily face super shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rhody on 8/17/2012 10:43:00 AM more reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Completely hideous. There is not much to add to the other negative reviews: this is shockingly greasy, smelly, heavy, occlusive, and leaves a white cast. Also, despite the good safety ratings this receives, I got a LOT of colour while wearing this.

Adding insult to injury, this sunscreen completely ruined a gorgeous new bathing suit by staining it with oil. I have tried to get the stains out but the suit (an expensive one from J Crew) is ruined. That should give you an indication of how oily this stuff is.

I don't think I have ever hated a sunscreen as much as this one, and I am no stranger to natural products. There are WAY better natural sunscreens out there. All Terrain Aqua sunscreen is mineral-based and does not leave any greasy finish.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SkinCareAficionado on 8/5/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by SkinCareAficionado

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a review for the Badger SPF 30 Unscented Sunscreen, although all of their sunscreen products are virtually the same.

About the product: (see their website also) This sunscreen is labeled as PA+++ (Asian rating) UVA 4/5 (European Rating) SPF 30. It uses Non-nano (but micronized) Uncoated Zinc Oxide at 18.75% as the sun screen and should retain this after 40 minutes of sweat or swimming.

Not tested on animals, certified by the natural products association and recycled packaging. The other ingredients are organic: Olive Oil, Beeswax, (the same as their balms which means it is gloopy and heavy - shouldn't they have have selected a base of ingredients which would be lighter?) Jojoba Oil, Cocoa butter (may be pore clogging) Shea butter, Tocopherol and Seabuckthorn (great antioxidants).

Price: It cost 12 for a 87ml tube quite expensive even to other mineral sunscreens.

It comes in a soft, squeezy tube with Badger's typical lovely artwork, you will have to spend a lot of time kneeding before each use otherwise you will get rough Shea butter particles and separated Olive Oil. It is quite white and shiny (as expected due to the zinc) although a nuisance you can rub in to make it disappear a certain amount but this may be reassuring for those who want to see their protection from the zinc and slippyness helps it to be water resistant, although I didn't try it in the sun I bought it for everyday use so I don't know how well it would work for hot sunshine preventing sunburn. I stopped using it as makeup will slip off after using it (although I didn't experience any balling up) you will look greasy, and fluff or dirt will stick into the areas where you have applied it unfortunately - I can't use it near wool let alone near sand. TERRIBLE for acne. I have never got spots on my neck after using this for 2 days I notice painful small bumps and milia appearing not only my face but on my spot free neck, this took 2 months (too long!) to go and never came back.

In summary** I wouldn't recommend this, they should have used a different combination of ingredients instead of basically making a balm with zinc in it, who wants to apply a balm anywhere except their lips and cuticles? Nice philosophy and attempt but terrible execution.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kokolani on 5/19/2012 3:09:00 PM more reviews by kokolani

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this for my young son, i would never put these ingredients near my face in 100 years. it is sooo white and greasy. it was rubbing off on our clothes and not even staying on it was so slippery. i don't even see how this could protect since it rubs off so easily. i doubt i'll be using this because, though it is rated highly for safety, i dont trust it is protecting him after my 1st look at it and now since reading the reviews, i am returning this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LazyLittleLady on 4/20/2012 8:21:00 AM more reviews by LazyLittleLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was by far the worst Badger product I have ever tried. The formula was so thick and white, it was hard to blend in. It felt like it sat on top of my skin and melted off. I'm pretty sure its not very waterproof since I still burned where I applied the sunscreen even after reapplying. Total fail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xcheck on 4/12/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by xcheck

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This sunscreen works. However.....I made the terrible mistake of using this on my face - a big NO NO. It goes on leaving a white tinge (which fades away) but it left my skin an oily mess. It felt like it kept melting the whole time I wore it while I was outside. The next day I had a huge breakout. Good product for the body but you're taking a chance if you use it on your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saromakeup on 3/31/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by saromakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this product. When I put it on it melts into my skin honestly without that much whiteness (I use it on my face everyday, and I'm a tanned / olive skinned person so actually whiteness can show up on it).

I know people have found it white / thick / greasy or even lumpy. Some thoughts on this.

I am used to natural skincare products, using olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter on my face and body variously as cleansers and moisturisers. So I'm not put off by a 'greasy' feel - I actually find this super-luxurious and softening. I also don't mind a thick product as long as it's spreadable and workable which I find this one is.

The lumps are not zinc oxide! :) They are beeswax. They work into my skin pretty quickly, more so if I soften them between my fingers with the heat of my hands. Again, something you're maybe more used to if you use natural skincare products.

For me Badger sunscreen is an absolute daily pleasure, because the ingredients are exactly what I would normally seek and use for my skin (olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter, jojoba oil) because those ingredients are anti-oxidant, hydroxy acid rich, plus gorgeously moisturising. I used to be put off using a daily SPF because I don't like chemicals on my face (not so fussed about my body), so I've been very happy since using this almost daily on my face.

But - if you're someone who is very used to conventional skincare products (even the high-end ones!) that contain a lot of mineral oils / petroleum derivates and silicones, you may well find this product greasy and weird to work with. I can only say that I love it!! The whiteness I guess is an issue for ppl but honestly I find it disappears after about 10 - 15 seconds of gentle spreading on my face. I do roll the tube as they say in the directions, perhaps that also helps.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Snowblind on 1/30/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by Snowblind

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Like everyone have already mentioned, the stuff is very white. I used the lipstick from the same brand and it was a horrible, white mess but the sunscreen ain't that bad. The whiteness disappears almost completely after a good rub and some time. After an hour of placing the sunscreen I notice it has melted on the skin taking most of the whiteness away.

My main issue is the fact it's so hard to spread. You need to rub it well in order to get rid of the whiteness which isn't that good a thing if you use sunscreen on your face as an anti-ageing measure. All the rubbing and pulling will cause you wrinkles if the sun doesn't. I've tried to make the suncreen more watery and easier to spread by trying to mix it with water or day creams, but it never mixes with anything because it's waterproof!

The waterproof factor is another point of irritation since it leaves your skin very shiny and seems to suffocate the skin in a way washable sunscreens don't. According to Badger Balm they will be releasing a non-waterproof version of this in the near future, which I can't wait.

All in all it's an OK product. It takes a lot of time in the morning to put this on with all the rubbing and waiting for the whiteness to disappear. That's why I often find myself using the Green People sunscreen instead, since I don't have the time for this one. Unfortunately Green People uses lavender which isn't something to put on your skin but it's the safest sunscreen I've found apart from Badger Balm. And doesn't require a lot of work to put on.

Let's wait and see if the non-waterproof version is easier to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KrystalEmmaMarie on 11/6/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by KrystalEmmaMarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I loved how strong the sun protection of this sunscreen was, I would prefer to use this after another layer of sunscreen the first hour because it's very thick and it has a lot of Zinc Oxide. Because the product contains so many organic oils such as coco butter, shea, olive oil, joboba oil, and ect, it can REALLY get into your pores, possibly making small little bumps and pimples around your face and back. Another miss was the large quantity of Zinc Oxide; how pale and shiny it made me. Maybe I'd use this on my arms, legs, stomach, and hips if they were dry, but for it's price on such a small tube, I will pass on it. Acne prone skins should avoid this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products