DERMAdoctor • Ain't Misbehavin' cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ashestoamour on 11/30/2011 11:42:00 AM more reviews by ashestoamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser has strong exfoliating power. When Ifirst used it, I felt a tingling and slightly burning sensation all over my face. I put it away in a cabinet to come back to later, and I am glad I did. After slowly acclimating myself to chemical exfoliants, I returned to this cleanser. It does a great job of clearing up whiteheads and brightening my skin. I use it once a week in place of my normal nightly cleanser with the Clarisonic deep pore brush head. My skin feels a little stripped and raw afterwards and so I use a gentle face lotion to hydrate. When I wake up the next morning my skin is smooth and bright. This cleanser is moderately priced at $25.00, and the bottle is huge, a full 7 fl. oz. I have been using this weekly for a few months and have hardly made a dent. I love that it is a bottle that stands on its flip-top cap. This makes dispensing quick and easy. I would definitely repurchase this item, but I think it will last long enough that I won't have to in the near future. I am giving it four lippies, because although it works well for me as a weekly exfoliator, it is too strong to use everyday. I only give the best performing products that I consider essentials five lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rrrrbravo on 10/14/2011 12:42:00 PM more reviews by rrrrbravo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only used this cleanser a few times so I can't quite say if it's done anything significant to my acne but it does irritate my face a lot. My face stings and burns while it's on and is really RED when I wash this off. I don't like how it dosn't foam or how to you have to use it on dry skin. I feel like you really have to rub it in hard for it to be effective, which made some pimples break open. I was really excited to use this when an Ulta SA recommened it to me and said it would work wonders on my skin. She said to use it morning and night??! I was just going to use it nightly but now I doubt even that..probably like twice a week. Debating if I should just return it. The lady at Ulta said the key ingredient was the glycolic acid. Anyone know any products similar to this?? (with glycolic and salicylic acid)

Edit: Returned. It irritated my face waaaaaay too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeGee35 on 8/21/2011 9:53:00 PM more reviews by BeeGee35

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure how to rate this. Did it clear any of my breakouts? No. Did it exfoliate my skin and make it feel smooth? Yes Maam. Thats about all it did for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FlipSide on 8/17/2011 2:52:00 PM more reviews by FlipSide

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have battled with cystic acne off and on for years. I have a medical condition which screws up my hormones and even worse than feeling cruddy with my condition is having my face all screwy too.
So- tried about 4 different antibiotics, a laser treatment and a drug called spirnolactone which is the ONLY thing that made the cysts go away. it was a last resort med for me and finally I had some progress. I took this drug for about 8 months and then went off thinking I'd somehow be better now. Not so!

While waiting for the Rx to kick in again (takes up to 2 months) I tried this product per a Sephora SA recommendation. I love it. I love that you rub it on dry, wait 60 seconds and remove with a wet washcloth. It's easy. The serum is also great. It's not too drying for me, but I only use these items at night. I'm still cleansing in the am with Peter Thomas Roth's 5% aha/bha. The serum smells sort of yucky but it's medicine so I wouldn't expect it to smell like a flowery field. I like than I can feel it working.

It's helped my skin look great during this wait. My pores look smaller and the tone is even. I'm a tually on my way to the dermatologist to have 2 cysts injected, but this regimen helps them hel quickly and cleanly.
I will continue using it even after my Rx kicks back in.
It's a big tube for $25 and it takes only a small amount per use so I can't commiserate with those saying it's expensive. My Peter Thomas Roth is $35 doesn't last as long or produce a result worth typing about.

If you have cystic acne, give it a try. You do have to use it for like a month though so stick with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ET3638 on 8/8/2011 2:16:00 AM more reviews by ET3638

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this stuff because I had read such great reviews on it. People have said that it's helped them with their cystic acne, hormonal acne, adult acne, stubborn... Acne of all sorts. I have very stubborn acne that won't ever go away and pops up whenever wherever and it was annoying to try and get rid of. I thought this was heaven sent so I ordered a tube of it. I started off with using only in the morning and found that my acne was slowly improving. So I decided to kick it up a notch and use it both morning and night. My acne cleared up quite a bit in 2 weeks. I was ecstatic and so happy since I have never had any luck with any acne cleansers. But after that, my acne never got any better. By the 4th week, my acne started to come back again, worse than before. I stuck it out and used it for another month but yet no improvements, acne just kept coming back.


At the end of 2 months, I decided this stuff just wasn't working for me anymore. I think it might have irritated my skin so much that it just started breaking out, even when I tried using it once a day again. I've switched back to using Boscia in the evening and Jose Marian's Argan Cleansing Oil in the morning to help heal my acne scars a lot faster. My acne has improved and my skin's been fairly clear for a month now. I tried using Ain't Misbehavin' cleanser once a week just for a deep cleaning but it burned my skin and caused more pimples to erupt. Would not repurchase this and probably won't recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 manlhk on 7/31/2011 4:47:00 AM more reviews by manlhk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is one of the very few acne cleanser that I do like. It cleans well. I usually applied a layer on my face then waited for a minute or two then washed it. I won't buy it again is because I am using a cleansing tool in which I have changed my cleaning method.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xxAlandraxx on 6/26/2011 6:16:00 PM more reviews by xxAlandraxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My skin personally could not tolerate this product.It was recommended to be by a Sephora SA when I tol her about my cystic acne. I checked with my derm if this product would be acceptable as I alm on Finacea, Aczone, and Ziana Gel. She said it would be good to use maybe twice a week to exfoliate. Well not so much. I tought it was a life saver for the first week. I had used it twice and my skin was bright and looked like some previous scarring had lessened. Well all of a sudden I broke out with 5 HUGE inflammed lesions on my cheek and neck. I had to go get multiple cortizone shots. I suspect from the meds this stuff may just be too intense for my skin. I will say however, I loved the idea of applying it dry. And I did not experience any burning or tingling as some other reviews have stated. Could be because i am on Finacea and my skin can tolerate that

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* perpetuallycute on 4/24/2011 7:43:00 PM more reviews by perpetuallycute

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing!
Background: I have pretty normal skin, mostly clear - except for hormonal cystic acne and when that isn't happening I wake up with little white heads on my chin. Annoying and gross.

I started using this cleanser about 5 months ago (the tube is HUGE and will last me forever). At first I used it AM & PM, but have switched to PM only and Purpose during the day.
I haven't had a single cystic breakout in all that time, but I still would get the occasional white head. So I picked up the Ain't Misbehavin' Serum and my skin is pretty much perfect. Not one single blemish. LOVE this stuff. And the serum really seemed to clear the pores on my nose. The cleanser is great, but the serum was the real kick in the pants!

I stopped using this for a week to see what would happen, and sure enough I broke out on my chin. Huge fan of this stuff.
Aside from these two products, I use plain old wonderful Purpose cleanser, CeraVe PM & Anthelios fluid spf 60.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sugardust on 10/10/2010 11:38:00 PM more reviews by sugardust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product for around 3 months. I like to use a product for a few months before I make a review (especially a bad one). I had high hopes for this especially after I read plenty of good reviews on this product. First impressions were pretty good. This cleanser instructs u to apply this product on DRY skin. When applied on exsiting acne it burned a bit. When rinsed off my skin tingled feeling clean. However after a few weeks this effect disappeared. This product is feels very milkly when applied. The smell reminds me of mildew & mild soap. It lost its effectivness after a few weeks. Kinda pricy at $25 @ sephora. I will NOT buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jonti on 9/26/2010 1:34:00 PM more reviews by Jonti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have only been using this cleanser for about a week but I absolutely love it. At first it would feel like it was burning when I used it but that doesnt happen anymore. My face is so much smoother now and has been clearing up a lot. Love this! Kinda pricey but I feel its worth is since theres nothing like this at the drugstore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DERMAdoctor products

More Cleansers products