Aphogee • Two-Step Protein Treatment (formerly Treatment for Damaged Hair) • Hair Treatments

rated 4.5(189 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 reneemeraz510 on 2/10/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by reneemeraz510

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is amazing and truly saved my hair! If you have over processed hair from bleach and have suffered from plenty of fall out, like I once had, please check out this product. You will be very impressed!

I naturally have very thick black hair and decided to go platinum blonde. After five months for continuously bleaching the black hair dye out of my hair, which I recommend you DO NOT do, my hair became extremely wrecked. Although it has finally reached the platinum color I was so desperately trying to achieve, my hair began falling out in huge clumps, became very dry, brittle, and was thinning at a rapid pace. At that point, I was very afraid to brush my hair and even wash it, afraid to witness the large amounts of hair clogging the drain.

I later went to seek help and decided to contact Sally's Beauty Supply store. The woman who picked up heard my situation and recommended me the Aphogee Two- Step Protein Treatment. I immediately went to the closest Sally's near me and picked up a bottle of the Aphogee Two- Step Protein Treatment and the Aphogee Balanced Moisture Conditioner.
Once I returned home, I automatically jumped into the shower to rinse my hair, since the directions state that you must apply this product to damp hair. After I towel dried my hair, I quickly ran the product all throughout my hair, mainly focusing on the roots. One thing I noticed with the Two-Step Protein Treatment is that it is very runny and has a strange scent to it. I then proceeded to blow dry my hair for approximately 10 minutes. I soon noticed the product hardening on my hair, causing it to look dry and crispy. Once it hardened, I let it sit for a couple of minutes and washed it out using the Balance Moisture Conditioner, which smells like fresh flowers according to my boyfriend. I did notice a lot of fall out in the shower, which made me a bit skeptical. Three days have passed since I've used this treatment and I have to say that I have noticed a significant difference in my hair. It no longer falls out in huge clumps and it seems a lot smoother than before. I can brush my hair now and haven't noticed a ton of hair in the drain during my showers. I highly recommend this product to those suffering from extreme fall out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 2/8/2014 7:50:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've had this product used on my hair both in a professional salon setting and at home, and I never saw any great results from it. It would suck every ounce of moisture out of my hair. My hair would always look and feel very dry after this protein treatment would be used in it.

Also, I think that it is way overpriced too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alissalouise13 on 1/31/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by Alissalouise13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Grey    

After using a colour remover, bleaching my hair, then re-colouring it all in the space of one week, my hair was looking and feeling pretty bad! After all of this my hair is still lighter at the back so will need colouring again. I needed something to save my hair! Aphogee protein treatment was that product.

Yes, it smells funny, but after reading the reviews I was expecting it to be repulsive! It really wasn't THAT bad... I left it on for about 20 minutes, using a hair dryer until my hair went crispy. I rinsed it with warm water, used my Ojon conditioner and voila! Shiny healthy looking hair again! Very impressed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blueroses2525 on 1/4/2014 6:16:00 PM more reviews by blueroses2525

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I decided to try this after reading all of the reviews on here, and I was not disappointed. My hair had been dried to the texture of straw by coloring and heat styling, and none of the balms or oils I'd tried had made any difference. After one treatment with the Aphogee Two-Step Protein, my hair had completely regained all of its softness and shine! I would give this product ten stars if I could. Thank you for the great recommendation, MakeupAlley!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GPollice on 12/12/2013 1:55:00 AM more reviews by GPollice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my very first review on mua or any website really so I apologize in advance if mess this up. This product may have well saved my hair after a Major major hair disaster that happened to me several months ago. To keep the long story on the short side, I lost a major portion of my hair to a dye job gone very very wrong.
I had been getting all over highlights on my naturally dark brown hair for several years, this I had noticed started to take its toll on my hair and I was starting to see some slight damage and I also kept noticing falling hairs everywhere so, I told the girl who had being doing my hair for well over a year that I wanted to take a break from the bleach for a while and just to dye my hair to my natural brown (to cover greys). It all went down hill from there...but my hair came out jet black, like goth princess black. Not what I wanted at all. So in order to fix her color choice mistake she chose to do some color colorection where she mixed shamppoo and bleach(or lifter whatever it is) we'll then my hair was pumpkin orange..it went from bad to worse. Only I didn't know how much worse it was gonna get.
We'll over the next day or so it was like my once full shoulder length head of thick hair was gone. Gone. I now had a chin length Orange shaggy bob
Anyway... So needless to say ended up @ Sally's to try to find something to get rid of my pumpkin head. When I was there and looking around I spotted the Apohgee which I read about online after my hair disaster. So I picked up the smaller trial pack. I did more reaserch on the aphogee and was kinda scared to use it cause the process kinda freaked me out a bit and was really scared to do anymore damage to my hair.
I have had the pack of aphogee since September when this happened and for some reason today I thought I would give it a try. Well, I wish I would have not waited so long to use it!
I have been using pure organic cocnut oil( on dry hair then let sit for at least 30 min w shower cap ) as well as the entire line of Joico kpak products which all work well
I know that at some point I need to get the dead ends cut which is the only thing that is really gonna help. But, so far nothing that I have used in all the many repair products and treatment has worked like the aphogee. It has literally brought the life and volume back to my hair.
My only suggestin is to buy 2 packs bc it is very messy and runny and it kinda runs thru ur fingers so u lose some down the sink.
Where a old tank top or something and take any rings off cause it dries to ur skin and clothes.
I think if I had been able to get more on my head instead of on my sink it would even had better results.
It is time consuming, I did not think the smell was as bad as some people said. It does harden up and freaked me out a bit and I also wish I would have left it on longer( I blew dry for a good 10-15 min) til it hardened up then let just sit on my head for about another 15 or so.
Got in shower and let water rinse it out did not really move or touch my hair til it was soft. Rinse it really well. Removed excess h20 from hair and then applied step 2, I left that on my hair in shower while I shaved, washed face etc... After that I towel dried my hair out of shower and did apply my joico kpak intense repair and let that sit on my head for about 10 min. I did that upon reading other reviews and some said they needed or did an extra condining/ moisturizing step.
I am curios to see how my hair holds up over the couple days. But so far I'm very happy and will def purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ridemebigsheIdon on 10/22/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by ridemebigsheIdon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Adding another shining review to the batch. I've used this product in the past but frankly, I was never patient enough to let the product completely harden on my hair. This time, with my hair completely ravaged from multiple color changes about a year ago, I decided to go big or go home.

I decided to apply the product while I was still in the shower. I squeezed the excess water out of my hair and went liberal with the protein product, drenching my hair from midshaft to ends. I avoided my healthy outgrowth since I did not want to upset it's balance. I wrapped a crappy old towel around my neck to avoid the product drips and set up my blow dryer. What do I mean by 'set up'? Well, I don't own a standalone dryer, so I took an old sneaker and put it on a shelf in my living room. I had the sneaker's rear facing the edge of the shelf and put my dryer handle in the shoe so I could sit under the dryer to let the product harden. It was seriously that easy and this time, since I didn't have to hold the dryer, I was able to completely allow the treatment to work. Be very careful when you go to wash it out. Any mangling of the hair *will* break it off, counteracting the treatment's purpose - it gets that hard.

I don't use the recommended conditioner, instead I use one of the L'Oreal EverPure ones and I let it sit for longer the recommended couple minutes, too. I allowed my hair to air dry and I was shocked at its health following this treatment. My hair was no longer frizzed and course from the ear down - instead of thinning as the shaft got longer, it just looked like hair. I'll be continuing treatment every 2 months or so since this is really nursing my hair back to life. Note that too much protein is a disadvantage to your hair - and be sure to heavily moisturize to balance after your treatment. Would I buy again? Most certainly! Does it stink? Absolutely. But it truly works if you do it correctly.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChelseaDOLL on 10/2/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by ChelseaDOLL

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product on and off for years! I have relaxed hair that recently succumbed to heat damage, so after cutting off 4 inches or so of hair I decided to put the 2 step treatment back into my hair regimen. I use it once a month to keep my hair strong and in tip top shape. I highly recommend this to women with thin, porous hair who are constantly using heat or chemicals to style or treat their hair. It really makes a difference. Just follow the directions, don't freak out when your hair gets hard from the treatment, be patient when rinsing it out, and sit under the dryer for a good 10 minutes to deep condition with the conditioner pack. Style as you usually would and you're set!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Inkdot on 9/13/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by Inkdot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If you have really porous hair (wet/stringy when wet and dry/brittle when dry) you need to buy this. I bought the sample packs (I bought two, but only needed one since I have short hair), since I wasn't sure if this would work for my overly damaged bleached hair and I didn't want to buy an entire bottle just yet. I am amazed at how well this worked. I thought I would have to go to a salon to get my hair back to a normal state, but this did the trick! My hair isn't PERFECT, but this made it much more manageable. I couldn't even get a comb through my hair, and if I tried, my hair would snap and break into little strings. I wanted to cry, and frantically looked online to find something to at least help in the tiniest bit. My hair feels soft now, and I can run a comb or brush through it now without any hassle. The smell is horrible, the actual product is messy, and it takes a while for the heat to harden the protein. Your hair will feel stiff, like gel. It's a hassle to do, but it is so worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 calblondie on 9/7/2013 8:10:00 PM more reviews by calblondie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Wow, so the reviews are really true!! I have very fine, dirty blonde hair that I've been getting highlighted for the past 15 years and lately it has really been showing it. I have also used heat daily for the past 5 years - blow dryer every other day and flat iron daily.

Recently, my hair had become so damaged that I had given up on my flat iron. I was still highlighting and blow drying, but something had to give. And let's just say that I absolutely hated my hair...it was rubbery and unmanageable when wet and frizzy and puffy when dry. The only thing that made it look presentable was a flat iron, but that is what got me in this mess in the first place!

I went online looking for something to cure my rubbery blonde hair and found Aphogee Two-Step Protein Treatment. I followed the instructions to the letter and also added Aussie 3-minute miracle at the end of the treatment, as recommended by another reviewer.

I can truly say that this product has been miraculous for my hair. I let my hair air dry half-way after the treatment and then used medium heat on my hair dryer with a paddle brush to finish drying it. While my hair was wet, it no longer felt rubbery. And now that it is dry, it is smooth and polished like I used a flat iron. I am really happy with this product and will likely add this to my hair routine as needed. :) I definitely recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 8/23/2013 2:19:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

BENEFITS
- Great for all hair types. Works for chemically damanged hair, but also natural 4A hair, and relaxed AA hair too. Protein doesnt discriminate.

- Strengthens hair
- Softens hair (when followed w/ appropriate moisturizing DCs)
- Adds shine because of smooth happy hair shaft
- Stops shedding
- Stops breakage
- Prevents/protects against/binds split ends
- Looks like a fresh trim and helps to retuain length
- Makes curly curls POP!
- Protects from heat damage for frequent heat stylers
- Great value. 1 small bottle lasts for about 4 applications on my very dense, textured naturally curly mid-length hair. Spreads well.

You MUST follow up with an intense MOISTURIZING deep conditioner after, preferably without silicones that will coat your hair. That can make your hair waxy blocking the potential of future humectants to enter your hair strand without using a claifying shampoo on subsequent washes.




I follow instruction steps, with some modifications:

- Use a clarifying shampoo first. I think removing any and all buildup from your hair with a clarifying shampoo first allows a clean slate for the protein to bind to the hair shaft. Then I squeeze all water out and blot dry with towel.

- Section hair into 4 sections, and loosely twist and pin before getting under a hooded dryer or hand blow drying until hard. This ensures all areas of hair are covered well. Concentrate more product on areas of damage. It can strengthen those areas but "dry out" healthy areas (e.g. roots where hair is newest, least exposed to heat and damage, and healthiest).

- Leave it on a few min after it hardens to ensure everything binds and cools and seals a bit.

- Rinse out without agitating. If there are tough spots to detangle that would require agitating, I add conditioner to help rinse. Having it in 4 sections helps during this part to.

- I use my own conditioner, its much better quality than the recommended balancing moisturizer in the kit. Also, my hair laughs at 3 minutes for a moisturizing treatment. So I leave it on much longer, and if I have time, get back under the dryer with heat. I would say 15 min. minimum with heat, 30 and a hot towel without. My favorite conditioner to use with this treatment is either Kenra Moisturizing Conditioner or Matrix Biolage Conditioning Balm. For a cheapie and those on a budget I would recommend using Tresseme Moisturizing Conditioner. It will melt all that hardness right away.




Final thoughts: Everyones hair is different and you have to figure out what works for you, know what is healthy for YOUR hair and what isnt - there are basic essentials of hair health like what causes hard hair, splits, etc. that are important to know before an intense treatment. You can't just read reviews from someone else and assume it will be the same because of age or hair type - no one has the same. We have different genese, styling practices, hair routines, product tolerance, scalp environments, etc. But this is a great staple and has very high strong reviews for a reason. Good luck!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aphogee products

More Hair Treatments products