Aphogee • Two-Step Protein Treatment (formerly Treatment for Damaged Hair) • Hair Treatments

rated 4.5(198 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LittleTornado on 7/11/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by LittleTornado

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used this process almost 15years ago and forgot about it until it was mentioned on the HB.
I ran to, Sally's , ran home, wet my already clean hair and applied the 1st step the protein. OMG it hit me again the smell is like, liquid cadavor. I run a large toothed comb through and use my hand held hair dryer to heat the treatment. I have shortish hair so it didn't take the full 30 mi.
After my hair was hard as a helmet I jumped into the shower and applied step 2, the moisture. Left that on for about 5 min. Rinsed it out, ran a rake comb through incredibly soft hair and let air dry.
This product is amazing. If you have damaged hair try this before something more drastic. Less than $4 and 30 minutes in your own home is hard to beat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 neekssupreme on 7/7/2014 8:54:00 AM more reviews by neekssupreme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As a girl who bleaches her naturally almost black hair blonde, this product is a STAPLE in my routine! For the past 5 or 6 months, I have been going through the process of getting my hair to platinum blonde, meaning bleaching, soap caps, toning, over and over again. I'm surprised I still have hair on my head, and I'm convinced a huuuuge factor in that has been using this treatment! IF YOU HAVE COLOR TREATED HAIR YOU NEED TO BE USING THIS!

Here is how I use it:
A week after I bleach and tone my hair, ( I wait a week because a protein treatment can push the color out of your hair if you use it too soon after,) I shampoo then towel dry my hair. Then I apply the reconstructing bottle with my hands and try to get it all over, especially on the ends of the hair. With my hair texture, there's no way I'm getting a comb through my hair like the directions say to do, so I try to get every section. It has a very strong distinct smell, idk how else to describe it, but it's worth it. Once it's all over my hair, I take a blow dryer on medium heat, and blow dry my entire head, until all of my hair is hard. Once it's hard, you need to be verrrrry careful with it, like no playing with it or combing or anything. I go back to the shower and run warm water on my hair, until I feel all that dried up stuff is all out, then put the moisturizer in my hair and leave it on for 2 or 3 minutes and rinse. Then your done! You can do whatever you usually do to your hair.

Before using the treatments, when my hair was wet it was really slimy feeling, stretchy, and when straightened it was just dry and rough. After using it, especially this last time, it feels soooooooo smooth and silky! I can't believe it took my hair from what it was to being healthy, well as healthy as bleached hair could be lol. I will be using this product again in another 2-3 weeks!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmjaepenniman on 6/4/2014 8:22:00 PM more reviews by emmjaepenniman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product 2 or 3 times on my relaxed hair and it has helped a lot in reducing my hair shedding. It has made my hair stronger therefore it's getting longer. I buy the duo in the package size and Sally Beauty Supply, it's only about $3 and does serious work on your hair after repeated monthly use. A must have for chemically treated hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalalovee on 5/28/2014 1:32:00 PM more reviews by lalalovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

its good. but you need an extra deep conditioner for better results

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 amgriffiths718 on 5/19/2014 10:38:00 PM more reviews by amgriffiths718

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I read all the reviews first and thought "wow! This will fix my hair!" Wrong. After a disaster trying to go from dark to light my hair was fried. This product made it so much worse. The smell isn't as bad as some say but the product sucks. It is super challenging to get it to stay in your hair at first. After all this fuss my hair is now stringy and lifeless again. I cannot get a comb through it now. I will never recommend this. And yes, i did follow all directions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mishkee on 3/25/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by mishkee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Don't cut your hair! You won't have to if you use this. My split ends were horrifying. Even my split ends had split ends. It was basically like straw. I left this on for 15 minutes as I blow dried it. It becomes very hard. Don't make any sudden movements your hair could snap right off. I also don't recommend wearing a shirt while using this. It will glue your hair to it. This really glued my ends back together. I didn't think it was possible! Amazing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarkra5 on 3/25/2014 11:14:00 AM more reviews by clarkra5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Let me preface this by saying that I don't usually write reviews.. but this stuff is MAGIC so I had to. My hair is naturally dirty blonde with some lighter blonde highlights, but for the last few years I had been coloring it a deep cool brown. About 3 months ago I was so tired of the upkeep that I decided to chop my hair off and go back to my natural color.
The whole ordeal required a lot of bleaching and toning (even now I have to use a purple shampoo or I turn into a pumpkin) so of course my poor hair was beaten to a bloody pulp. It wasn't unlivable, but I was experiencing a lot of breakage, especially at the ends, and I do a lot of heat styling so it was becoming a problem.

At that point, I had tried pretty much every deep conditioning mask at Sally's to try and remedy the situation with little to no long-lasting success. This isn't to say that they are all bad, but I think my hair was at the point of no return when it came to moisture. So, as a last resort, I picked the 2-step protein treatment up not expecting a drastic change in the condition of my hair.

Needless to say, I am extremely impressed. Not only is it considerably less dry and crackly at the ends, but it's also much shinier and softer. I will mention that if you decide to go this route, following the directions exactly as they are printed is very important. Your hair MUST be bone dry when you rinse the 1st step out, or it will be less effective. When you do this, it more or less has the consistency of straw, but resist the urge to panic. The conditioner is amazing. Also, I have shoulder-length hair and I barely had enough to get it all the way through, so if you have long hair I would recommend buying 2 packets or the full bottles.

I know some reviewers had a big problem with the strong smell of both the protein treatment and the conditioner, but personally I'd take a smelly half-hour over a head of straw any day.

Hands down, best quick fix for excessive damage you can buy!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 3/14/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

my hair is so sad right now. the ends are as split as a banana.

i remembered trying, and being mildly impressed by, aphogee 2-step in the past. it worked, but i wasn't *blown away*...probably because i didn't take the time to actually blow dry it properly. or maybe my hair was in better condition then. either way, i realized that wearing a baseball cap every single day is seriously unacceptable, and went to my local sally's for this product (i also got the green tea keratin spray from aphogee to be extra-sure my ends were protected post-treatment.) as a side note, though i did use the balancing moisturizer that comes with the treatment, i coated the ends of my hair in l'oreal oleo masque--i've had a lot of success with that masque. i swear it feels just like kerastase. but anyway. i followed the directions to a T this time, and let my hair air dry. the next night, i coated it in a concoction of coconut, castor, and macadamia nut oil.

two days later, and my hair still looks like i need a hair cut, dont get me wrong. but the ends arent sticking together like they were before--it looks like actual HAIR again, not some weird gummy junk i attached to my head. i actually cant stop touching it cos it feels so much healthier, and thicker! i'm very pleased with the results. highly, highly recommend this treatment.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 designerskyline on 3/9/2014 5:01:00 AM more reviews by designerskyline

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Hair Length: medium-short (a little longer than chin-length)
Hair Type: Thin-medium, lots of split ends, damaged & frizzy from straightening it every day

This product completely saved my hair. I used to have hair down to my lower back, and I dyed it pink frequently - as you can imagine, my hair was in horrible shape from the bleaching (I have black hair). I used this treatment during this time and my hair looked brand new. I couldn't stop touching it after I got out of the shower!

After cutting it all off, it looked a lot better - but I still had frizzy hair and split ends from straightening my hair every day. I bought this treatment in the sample size, which is about $5 each for the treatment (protein treatment + conditioner). I had to use 2 even though my hair is fairly short; I guess it's because I have a lot of it. Anyway, after using this, it amazed me even more the second time around. I usually blow-dry my hair after washing it, and it ends up really frizzy and feels dry and coarse. After using this, it was like touching someone else's hair. I shed literally ZERO hair after using this (normally I shed like a cat), and my hair is smooth even after blow-drying it. When I first used it, this effect only lasted about 3 weeks, but it's definitely worth it.

The only problem I have with this is the smell - it smells like cat pee to me. My cat even tried licking my hair when I had this stuff in. I blow-dry it after applying with a dye brush for about 5 minutes, then let it air-dry for 30-45 mins (and 2 hrs when I had really long hair). It is QUITE sticky so make sure you use gloves when applying it; I didn't have any around so I had to hold my hair with my hands, but it's easy to wash off so it wasn't a huge problem. Also, you have to comb your hair RIGHT AWAY - DO NOT let it dry and then try to comb it, as the hair hardens within minutes and becomes impossible to deal with. Shower with warm/hot water and let your hair soak for a minute before trying to apply shampoo or running your fingers through it.

The conditioner is also great - it feels very creamy and nourishing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 reneemeraz510 on 2/10/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by reneemeraz510

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is amazing and truly saved my hair! If you have over processed hair from bleach and have suffered from plenty of fall out, like I once had, please check out this product. You will be very impressed!

I naturally have very thick black hair and decided to go platinum blonde. After five months for continuously bleaching the black hair dye out of my hair, which I recommend you DO NOT do, my hair became extremely wrecked. Although it has finally reached the platinum color I was so desperately trying to achieve, my hair began falling out in huge clumps, became very dry, brittle, and was thinning at a rapid pace. At that point, I was very afraid to brush my hair and even wash it, afraid to witness the large amounts of hair clogging the drain.

I later went to seek help and decided to contact Sally's Beauty Supply store. The woman who picked up heard my situation and recommended me the Aphogee Two- Step Protein Treatment. I immediately went to the closest Sally's near me and picked up a bottle of the Aphogee Two- Step Protein Treatment and the Aphogee Balanced Moisture Conditioner.
Once I returned home, I automatically jumped into the shower to rinse my hair, since the directions state that you must apply this product to damp hair. After I towel dried my hair, I quickly ran the product all throughout my hair, mainly focusing on the roots. One thing I noticed with the Two-Step Protein Treatment is that it is very runny and has a strange scent to it. I then proceeded to blow dry my hair for approximately 10 minutes. I soon noticed the product hardening on my hair, causing it to look dry and crispy. Once it hardened, I let it sit for a couple of minutes and washed it out using the Balance Moisture Conditioner, which smells like fresh flowers according to my boyfriend. I did notice a lot of fall out in the shower, which made me a bit skeptical. Three days have passed since I've used this treatment and I have to say that I have noticed a significant difference in my hair. It no longer falls out in huge clumps and it seems a lot smoother than before. I can brush my hair now and haven't noticed a ton of hair in the drain during my showers. I highly recommend this product to those suffering from extreme fall out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aphogee products

More Hair Treatments products